Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Engine cradle rot is a serious problem in the 2004-05 Chrysler Pacifica. Chrysler admits they didn't apply enough coating to the vehicle's sub-frame during assembly, but only offered to cover a very small portion of the vehicles they messed up.

So what happens when your engine cradle rots? Well, the engine could fall out for starters. It could also cause problems with the suspension and other components but did I mention THE ENGINE CAN FALL OUT? The worst part is you might not know because there's no way to see the problem without getting under the car.

If you have a 2004-05 Pacifica, make sure to have your mechanic inspect your sub-frame for rust and corrosion.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,460 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chrysler Pacifica engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chrysler Pacifica:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chrysler Pacifica Owner Comments (Page 7 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #16

Mar 162006

Pacifica

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,574 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle has stalled/lost all power twice when making a slow left turn - once in the neighborhood and the other in a busy intersection. 6,574 and 8,639 miles. Service has been unable to determine problem as they have not been able to recreate or confirm the problem.

- Half Moon Bay, CA, USA

problem #15

Mar 302006

Pacifica

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,500 miles
2005 Pacifica touring was leased in July 2005. Since then, the upgraded infinity sound system has required repair twice and regularly makes a loud popping sound. The ABS warning light came on signaling a failure in the anti-lock brake system March 2006. I scheduled an appointment for March 30, 2006 to repair the ABS system and on my way to work, I needed to turn left, put my foot on the brake, and the car suddenly sped up instead of slowing down. A few weeks prior, we slowed down to make another left turn and the vehicle stalled and shut off completely. I had leased the Pacifica for 36 months, and last week when the ABS system failed and my car sped up while braking, I took it back to the dealership and demanded that they get me out of that vehicle. I was able to terminate my lease and purchase a Jeep vehicle (the dealership sells Jeep) because after I read dozens of consumer complaints, reviews from NHTSA and Consumer Affairs about the safety issues of this vehicle, I couldn't, in good faith, put myself or my child in that vehicle ever again. Not only would driving the Pacifica put our lives at risk, but that of others. I could not live with myself if I knowingly operated a hazardous vehicle and hurt someone as a result. Push for a replacement. You'll get one!

- Wake Forest, NC, USA

problem #14

Mar 022006

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,000 miles
Vehicle stalls during turns. Usually this occurs when turning rapidly. Has occurred since the vehicle was new and still occurs 1 year later. Otherwise vehicle runs and smooth. When a stall does occur, is happens without notice and very quietly.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #13

Nov 012004

Pacifica

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated the vehicle stalled intermittently. During the last incident the vehicle stalled while traveling between 45 and 50 mph. The only operable part of the vehicle during the stalling was the heater and radio. After the vehicle was placed into park the engine restarted. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the problem could not be duplicated. Updated 03/20/06.

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #12

Nov 102005

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • miles
Consumer 2005 Pacifica touring engine power failed. ** answer required***

- Weirton, WV, USA

problem #11

Dec 062005

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22 miles
Chrysler Pacifica stalls all the time.

- Medina, OH, USA

problem #10

Nov 202005

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,450 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Pacifica 3569 miles has stalled 5 times when turning left every time with the exception of once it stalls twice in the same day, causing a loss of power steering.

- Orange Park, FL, USA

problem #9

Nov 292004

Pacifica 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,675 miles
The contact stated vehicle stall with no warning while making a left turn. The vehicle was taken to the dealership, and they could not duplicate the problem. The vehicle was taken back to the dealership, and they installed the autopilot. When they checked the autopilot, they state it was not working. Upon further inspection, the dealership found there was a problem with the fuel pump. The part was ordered, but according to the manufacturer, the part was being redesigned, and will not be available until the end of the year. The engine light came on, and the dealership suggested he ignore it. After filling the gas tank the gas gauge showed empty. The dealership stated this was part of the fuel pump problem. The gas gauge still is inoperable, and he has to constantly put fuel in the vehicle. Updated 12/7/2005.

- Weston, FL, USA

problem #8

Oct 152005

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,000 miles
The contact stated vehicle stalled twice. She was able to restart the vehicle. After two attempts the dealer was unsuccessful in locating the problem. The manufacturer was contacted, but offered no further assistance.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #7

Oct 282005

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,012 miles
While making a left turn, the engine stalled on my vehicle, leaving me stuck with oncoming traffic approaching. This occurred at night and the shut down caused all lights to go off, steering and braking were reduced. I was able to restart only after putting the car in park and turning the key to off. This failure put me in a seriously unsafe position. I have read reports online from other owners of the Chrysler Pacifica experiencing this same problem. I had a half tank of gas, the engine was warmed up and I made no maneuver out of the ordinary.

- Harleysville, PA, USA

problem #6

Aug 202005

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2005 Chrysler pacfica stalled in the parking lot of my friends house. This is the second time this has happened. The car is brand new (got it in may) and there is only ~5000 miles on the vehicle. Both times the car stalled at low speeds (parking lots) while turning, and my foot was not on the gas pedal. First thing I noticed was the power steering was out, then eventually noticed the car was not running (stalled). Saw a recall on 04 Pacificas for a similar problem, brought the vehicle to the dealership I bought it at and they could not find anything wrong. Brought it in a second time and they made an adjustment to the throttle.

- Catlettsburg, KY, USA

problem #5

Sep 092005

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,850 miles
The vehicle has stalled four times in the last five months while turning or going around a bend in the road. Fuel levels at the time it stalls are varied. We no longer feel safe driving the vehicle in traffic. The vehicle could potentially stall and cause a serious accident. Dealer service acknowledged that multiple Pacificas have been brought in for this issue but there was nothing they could do since Chrysler had not acknowledged the problem and had no fix. This is unacceptable for any vehicle regardless of price.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #4

Apr 012005

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 200 miles
The vehicle would stall sometimes when the consumer drove around a curve. The problem occurred more often when the consumer made a left turn. This has happened at least 12 times. The problem first started around 4-1-05. When the consumer took the vehicle to the dealership, they were unable to duplicate the problem. There have been no accidents. The vehicle can be restarted immediately after it stalls. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but they were unable to duplicate the problem. They found no fault codes stored in the power train control module.

- Bel Air, MD, USA

problem #3

Aug 262005

Pacifica

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The consumer owns a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. The vehicle stalled for no apparent reason. This incident occurred while decelerating and braking. There was no prior warning before this incident. The consumer put the vehicle in park and restarted the vehicle. The vehicle restarted properly. This was the first time this incident happened. The vehicle has automatic transmission. The dealership said there where no codes shown. Therefore, the dealership would not do anything about the vehicle. She was scared to drive the vehicle because she had three children. The vehicle had less than 3000 miles on it. She was traveling 55 mph before slowing down to make a turn.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #2

Jul 022005

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,400 miles
Vehicle has stalled 3 times while turning at low speeds. The three events resulted in three close calls of nearly hitting other vehicles and pedestrians at the time. Vehicle was returned to dealer on 7/7/05 at 2530 miles for problem. Problem could not be found. Vehicle has stalled two more times since; at 3100 miles and again at 5800 miles. We are currently waiting to see if a technical service bulletin tsb gets issued by dcx regarding this problem so the vehicle can be repaired.

- Clinton Township, MI, USA

problem #1

May 052005

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Dt consumer stated while driving, the vehicle will completely quit running. The local service dealership stated they had tried everything to fix the problem, but they can't find anything wrong with the vehicle. If the vehicle is placed into park it will restart.

- Monroe, MI, USA

Not what you are looking for?