Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Engine cradle rot is a serious problem in the 2004-05 Chrysler Pacifica. Chrysler admits they didn't apply enough coating to the vehicle's sub-frame during assembly, but only offered to cover a very small portion of the vehicles they messed up.

So what happens when your engine cradle rots? Well, the engine could fall out for starters. It could also cause problems with the suspension and other components but did I mention THE ENGINE CAN FALL OUT? The worst part is you might not know because there's no way to see the problem without getting under the car.

If you have a 2004-05 Pacifica, make sure to have your mechanic inspect your sub-frame for rust and corrosion.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
131,532 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chrysler Pacifica miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chrysler Pacifica:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chrysler Pacifica Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #21

Sep 022015


  • 85,000 miles


Brought my car in for a routine oil change at my independent mechanic and was asked to come in and look at underside of car while it was on the lift. There is when it was pointed out to me the engine cradle had a severe rust condition, I was advised this could be a safety hazard. After I was given a repair estimate from more than one source, that exceeded the value of the car, I decided to trade it in another vehicle. I never received any notification from Chrysler regarding this safety problem.

- Grayslake, IL, USA

problem #20

Aug 212015


  • 56,000 miles
I recently changed my own oil on this vehicle. When I was underneath of it I observed 1 medium sized rust hole thru the subframe and 2 smaller rust holes in the subframe. This is an issue with these vehicles after I further looked into the issue that others were having with this vehicle. I have pictures of this issue. This is known as cradle rot. The lower motor mount of the engine is bolted into this subframe. And if continues to get worse the engine can fall out of the vehicle. Not only I have 3 holes in it there is a lot of rust on this subframe that looks could be more of an issue in the years to come. I do not understand thru all the years of being under vehicles this is by far one of the worse I have ever seen. I do not feel safe now driving this car. Especially with my family in it. This car may be 10yrs old but has low miles and is in very good condition. You would never know by looking at this vehicle inside and out that there is something majorly wrong underneath it, unless you yourself crawled under it. And the vehicle has always been garage kept.

- Cambridge, OH, USA

problem #19

Sep 012015


  • 116,432 miles
The auto lights went out on passenger side, when turning wheels to the left it has cracking & popping noise, brakes are hard to stop, to many recalls, under carriage is rusted

- Evarts, KY, USA

problem #18

Jul 242015


  • 130,000 miles


I was informed my engine cradle was rusting out when I was there for a routine oil change. I had contacted Chrysler and they told me to go to a dealership and have pics taken. The garage submitted the pics 10 times before Chrysler received them. According to Chrysler they will not fix this issue as my vehicle is too old. I have a letter issued in Nov 2010 that said this exact problem was an issue and that they were extending the warranty. My vehicle falls into the warranty guidelines and they are telling me it does not cover my VIN. They had my VIN long before they requested the pics, why did I have to wait 2 months to hear they wouldn't fix it then" I am not happy as the letter clearly states "this engine cradle extended warranty coverage applies to Chrysler Pacifica model years 2004-2005." Why are they not covering this if I even have a letter saying they will" the vehicle is unsafe to drive and I have had to since rent another vehicle and am out the cost for that because they have taken 2 months to reply with a no answer. I want this fixed. There is nothing else wrong with the care. The body is in excellent condition and will run another 100K miles at least! if they knew it wasn't going to be covered from the beginning, why did they make me wait 2 months. I bought the car when it was 2 years old and have only driven it 1 winter so they can't even say winter damaged the frame.

- Hastings, PA, USA

problem #17

Aug 272015


  • 118,000 miles
On routine check by my mechanic, he noticed that the engine cradle had rusted so badly that he can stick his fist through one section. Called Chrysler corporate and opened up a case with them. They told me to take it to the dealership for a "diagnostic". called Chrysler back and told them the Pacifica was at the dealership and they could call to get the results. They refused to speak with the dealership and told me I was out of warranty and that they would not replace the defective part. Why send me for a diagnostic then"? just to get my $125 dollars?" extremely frustrated. Chrysler dealership mechanic said he would not be driving his family around in the car if it were his…. this seems to be a recurring problem from what I have found on line. Please investigate!

- Manasquan, NJ, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #16

Aug 172015


  • 125,000 miles
I own a 2005 Pacifica limited, I purchased this car in 2009 from a Chrysler dealer. I have taken this car back to the same dealer who sold me the car for servicing (oil change, repairs, ect). Not once was I informed (during the purchase or any time during servicing the Pacifica) about the rotting subframe. I have all of my records showing the inspection underneath with no mention of the rotting/rusted subframe. This car belongs to my wife and she drives our two kids in this car (not anymore). After reviewing other similar complaints I am very upset and frustrated with this whole situation. I have had electrical problems with this car and the whole time it could have been from the rotting/rusted subframe (that was never mentioned). I have put soooo much money into the repairs of this car and I feel like most could have been avoided, had I known about the subframe.

- Maineville, OH, USA

problem #15

Mar 032014


  • 80,000 miles


Entire subframe, engine cradle, riddled with corrosion and rust. Spoke with Chrysler customer service last year and was told that my Pacifica was built/ assembled in delawer therefore my car is not covered by the recall. I found several car with the same issue, my mechanic placed the car up on the lift and got the shock of his day. The whole engine cradle was rusted and corroded. I could put my hand through it, it was so corroded. He told me, basically, that I should get the car fixed or get rid of it I had the car for almost 3 years and the dealer never reported the problem, and I don't believe I could catch it unless I got under the car, additionally it will take more the 3 year for the much rust to shows

- Willoughby , OH, USA

problem #14

Jul 012015


  • 119,000 miles
Went to get my car inspected today and it failed do to "sub frame rot". Chrysler admitted that there was frame problems during these model years but won't cover the repairs since it was manufactured on May 10th vs the six weeks between Feb and the end of Mar. The car is undriveable.

- Litchfield, NH, USA

problem #13

Jun 212015


  • 147,388 miles
I contacted fca Chrysler after I was told by mechanic that the engine cradle of my 2005 Pacifica was rotted through and that it was extremely dangerous to drive. Brought car to mechanic for immediate repair. Contacted fca and was told that extended warranty applies to cars only built between Feb. 2004 and Mar 2004. My car was built may of 2004 and has the same problem. How can this not be recalled when this is an extremely dangerous matter.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #12

Jun 232015


  • 150,000 miles
On 6/23/2015 I brought my car (2005 Pacifica) for a yearly inspection, however the car did not pass inspection due to structural insufficiency. The front sub frame was rotted (engine mounts to this) indicating there is a great risk of the engine falling out of the vehicle as it is being driven and increasing the risk of a potential accident. My husband contacted the dealer we purchased the vechile from in May 2008 with the information I was given at the inspection center and he was told to contact Chrysler directly. When he contacted Chrysler they told him only a small amount of vehicles where affected when the complete step to provide rust coating to the front sub frame occurred and that the previous owner was notified. Chrysler claims this defect only affected cars manufactured from March 2004-April 2004. According to the manufactures tag on my vehicle door my vehicle was manufactured in may of 2004, however my registration states it's a 2005. I have contacted a lawyer to be part of a class action suit against Chrysler. I was given a quote of $4500 to have this part replaced so the vehicle will pass inspection.

- Chelsea, ME, USA

problem #11

Mar 192015


  • 55,371 miles


Took vehicle in for oil change and service tech ask me to come look at the rusted engine frame cradle. You could latterly push your finger through the rusted frame. My on line investigation led me to find out that all Chrysler Pacifica's from 2004 to 2008 had not been properly coated at the factory, plus the water draining from ac was drained in this same area. The end result is the engine will eventually fall out. Chrysler did a recall on Nov. 9th 2010, but then rescinded that to only include vehicles built between Feb. 23rd 2004 and March 31st 2004. I had my mechanic weld a plate on some of the major holes, but it was so rusty he could hardly find any good metal to weld to. I am told this repair is $4000 to $5000 dollars hardly seems fair on a car that is housed in a garage daily with only my wife driving to and from work with what I would call very low mileage. I would appreciate any help you could give.

- Canton, OH, USA

problem #10

Mar 202015

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 122,000 miles
The subframe/engine cradle of my car is completely rusted through. This issue came up a few years ago and Chrysler said because my car was built after 2/23/04-3/31/04 it was not part of their recall/extended warranty for this known issue. I took my car in for annual inspection last week (I personally paid for the repairs the last time) and the subframe is rusted through on the other side and on the "H" bar. Again, Chrysler said there is nothing they can do and that because my car was built 8/19/04 (outside the recalled vehicles) they could not help. At any point in time my engine can fall through the subframe. The steel is paper thin, peeling, and to the point that there are holes I can put my fist through.

- New Holland, PA, USA

problem #9

Nov 262014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 122,000 miles
Went for an oil change and was told by mechanic that the sub frame(engine mount chassis) was rusted and would be dangerous to continue to drive the car. Said the sub frame needs to be replaced very soon. After some research I have come to understand this is a common problem for this model. Also seems Chrysler is not owning up to the large amount of vehicles with this problem. It seems the NHTSA is also guilty of some inaction in trying to get Chrysler to resolve this problem. This is clearly a manufacturing defect and this should be taken care of on a recall for these vehicles.

- Mentor, OH, USA

problem #8

Jun 272014


  • 156,465 miles
My car was running great, suddenly all the warning lights on the dash came on- car still ran fine until I parked it, and couldn't get it to come out of gear. Finally was able to put in drive, took it to the Dodge/Chrysler/Jeep dealer and told them the problem and I had looked on line and many other vehicles like mine were having the same problem, several suggested it to be the starter switch even though it would be suggested it was the computer (BCM). Dealer told me that very thing, it was the BCM and on top of that they tell me my engine cradle was "severely cracked causing the vehicle to be unsafe to drive" cost $5298 to fix. Needless to say I tried to find out if there was a recall- there must be, my car is only 9yrs old and shouldn't be ready for the scrap yard. Well it turns out there was a recall for the engine cradle but only for a select number of Pacifica's which of course did not include mine. I would like Chrysler to voluntarily recall these cars for the cracked engine cradle, there could be hundreds of people driving out there that don't know they risk their engines falling out while they drive. This could cause serious accidents which no doubt could lead to fatalities.

- Cream Ridge, NJ, USA

problem #7

Jun 192014


  • 1,300,000 miles
I'm writing in regards to Chrysler's recall NHTSA # 06V432000 no.F44 fuel pump / power train control module software. My vehicle is having the same issue as the recall. I contacted Chrysler on July 30 2014. And was told that my VIN was not apart of the recall. I told them my vehicle is stalling as im going over 50mph my gas tank goes from half full to empty and the E light turns on. If I don't rush to the gas station my car will die as if it had no fuel left. My gas pedal gets stuck while driving and I have to tap it with my foot to unstick it. I'm a stay at home mother to 3 boys under the age of 5 years old. I read online the horror stories of people with the same problem and year make model everything and Chrysler is not doing anything to fix the problem. Please help me fix this problem before me and my children and everyone else before a serious accident is to happen.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #6

Nov 112013


  • 140,000 miles
Our 2005 Chrysler Pacifica subframe/kframe is rusting through. I have read numerous complaints about this issue and feel there shoul've been a recall

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #5

Sep 062013


  • 142,000 miles
I have a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica and I was experiencing problems with a "clicking noise" coming from underneath the front end of my car. Upon inspection by my mechanic it became evident that the "engine cradle" which holds up engine was completely rotted through with about 80% of visible corrosion (I really wish I could actual attach pictures of corrosion provided to me by my mechanic). Upon further investigation, I discovered that this "engine cradle" corrosion problem has been acknowledged by Chrysler and an extended warranty was issued to repair this part for 04 and 05 Pacifica's. extended warranty letter id is: 0004617/#45543/X26...however, when I contacted Chrysler, I was informed that based on the VIN # of my car, I did not qualify for Chrysler extended warranty for this issue (10 yrs or 150,000 miles) - the letter Chrysler issued for this extended warranty clearly states that it covers 2004-2005 Chrysler Pacifica's, and even though I fall within the model year, geographical region, and the 10yr/150,000mile guidelines of extended warranty, Chrysler claims that my 2005 was not manufactured within some narrow manufacturing window to qualify for this extended warranty. In closing, unfortunately, due to financial constraints, and the costly nature of this repair (2-3K), I have no choice but to drive this car the way it is at the moment - I do understand that it is clearly unsafe to drive this car and it probably shouldn't be on the road - however, I do have a valid state inspection sticker from previous year, so my car is "legal to drive", and I really have no choice but to continue to utilize this car until I can come up with a resolution (all I can do at this point is keep my fingers crossed and pray that I don't cause any harm to myself or anybody else). What should I / can I do to next? can you please help me and advise accordingly. Thank you sincerely

- Melrose, MA, USA

problem #4

Dec 012011


  • 102,000 miles
A letter was sent to some 2004-2005 Chrysler Pacifica owners that the front engine cradle and suspension mount frame warranty was being extended to 15 years or 150,000 miles to owners in states that use road salt because off corrosion problems. They go on to carelessly explain that if your are not experiencing vibration and shaking you need to do nothing-- by the time its that bad its almost to late! mine was not shaking but I had my Pacifica inspected any way and found rust holes in front frame, one was the size of my fist and on the other side may be three or four fingers wide. I stopped driving the vehicle immediately and called the phone # listed on the notification letter twice, both times they denied a problem because it was not listed as a recall on their web site and besides my vehicle did not fall into the VIN block "? there are cases listed on the internet where state dmv inspection stations have failed these vehicles because they were unsafe to drive because of frame corrosion. I am having the engine cradle replaced at my expense. How can a manufacturer have such a flippant attitude about a known serious safety issue" does this fall under a hidden warranty or recall.

- Cedar Rapids, IA, USA

problem #3

Mar 032011


  • 57,318 miles
The accelerator pedal sticks when the vehicle is in reverse. The pedal has to be pushed down with excessive force in order for it to release, causing a forceful reaction.

- Peoria, IL, USA

problem #2

May 012010

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 50,021 miles
Brake pedal fell away from my foot and ABS light came on while braking at highway speeds. Light went off, but came on again later. Days later, more brake failures that made stopping difficult.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?