Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
109,502 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chrysler Pacifica body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chrysler Pacifica:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chrysler Pacifica Owner Comments (Page 5 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #10

May 192014

Pacifica

  • 90,090 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had my 2006 Chrysler Pacifica in for a routine inspection and two places on my subframe it has rusted all the way through the frame. I know there has been an extended warranty letter sent by Chrysler to all 2004-2005 Pacifica owners but the 2006 Pacificas have the exact same subframe. I filed a case with Chrysler's corporate offices and am waiting for their response. I have only 90K miles and my car is in mint condition. Often I am asked if it is a brand new vehicle.

- Medina, OH, USA

problem #9

May 202014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 96,000 miles
Took my 2006 Pacifica in for inspection. The engine cradle is rusted through and unsafe. I found out that there is extended coverage on some of these cars. I called Chrysler and was told I should pay for it (2500.00) now and save my receipts because there may be a recall someday that will cover my car. They obviously know this is a major problem but are not standing behind their product. I have found several hundred complaints on multiple websites about this same issue and even found a petition on change.org, which I signed. I also found that several people are trying to put together a class action lawsuit, count me in.

- Hinckley, OH, USA

problem #8

Apr 052014

Pacifica

  • 155,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that the vehicle was at the dealer for routine maintenance when the mechanic discovered that the engine cradle was severely rusted on the passenger's side. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 155,000.

- Pittstown, NJ, USA

problem #7

Mar 202012

Pacifica

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On March 20th 2012 I was driving home from work when the driver side strut mount broke, slightly allowing the strut to damage my hood and break my inner tie rod end. I immediately parked the vehicle called aaa and had it towed to my house. On March 23 I purchased a new strut mount and on the 24th replaced the broken one with the new one. Unfortunately I did the work myself and didn't notice my inner tie rod broke. Which led to my vehicle needing to be checked by my mechanic about 8 months later when my outer tie rod end gave way damaging in the process the wheel bearings and the driver side axle. I had everything fixed and ran into no more problems until July 17th 2013 when my front end alignment started to slip and a noticeable knocking noise started coming from my front end. I immediately set up an appointment to have my vehicle serviced at kelly Chrysler dealership in lehigh valley and they were able to get me in a week later. It took them roughly a week to fix my car. But they replaced my upper engine mount, front lower engine mount, L/F inner outer tie rod ends and removed a damaged exhaust shield. But they still couldn't' tell me why my alignment was off and what the knocking noise was. Towards the end of August my passenger side strut mount broke and I had it replaced right away. Then again in November this time completely ripping through the hood. Then again in February, March and now today 5/7/2014 I noticed the passenger side strut mount is on the verge of breaking again. After speaking to a couple of Pacifica owners in my area I have come to find out these problems are common along with engine shut offs and check engine lights being on for no reason. Its apparent that the 3/8th inch thick plate that the struts sit on are not adequate enough to handle the weight of the vehicles along with the constant jerking motion off the car from the sticky gas peddle.

- Allentown, PA, USA

problem #6

Apr 172014

Pacifica

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that while having routine maintenance performed on the vehicle, he was notified that the sub-frame was completely corroded and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 130,000.

- Pearl River, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #5

Apr 012014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,800 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that she took the vehicle into the dealer for regular maintenance and was informed that the subframe had corroded and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 89,800. Updated 06/09/2014 the consumer stated a week after repairs were made to the vehicle it began experiencing drifting, squealing/loud grinding noise. The dealer did not find any failure with the vehicle. Updated 06/12/2014

- Redding, MA, USA

problem #4

Jun 142013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,947 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that he took the vehicle to the dealer for an oil change but was informed that the sub frame was corroded and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 75,947. Updated 10/31/13 the consumer was advised the vehicle had extensive rust through and a cracked front sub frame, severe rocker panel rust and brake line rust. A service manager informed the consumer that it is not required/permitted to inform the vehicle's owner of necessary repairs. Updated 11/1/2013

- Mayfield Village, OH, USA

problem #3

Jul 122013

Pacifica

  • 107,000 miles
The vehicle was purchased June 11, 2013 and had the rear passenger tire replaced due to unfix-able flat tire. The dealer had me take vehicle to peerless tires co. The tire was replaced with wrong size and different brand of tire. Traveling during thunderstorm approximately 3,5 weeks after purchasing vehicle; the computer appeared to lock when vehicle slipped on pavement as AWD attempted to engage causing loss of steering and power then skidded off the road. I made claim through my insurance and had vehicle inspected by local shop, and I had my mechanic look to see if damage to vehicle was noticeable was not handling correctly after accident. When accelerates or decelerates the vehicle will lunge forward. Took vehicle to peerless tire co. After mechanic pointed out the wrong size and model of tire on rear passenger side of vehicle. After accepting fault wanted to take vehicle to [xxx] paint and body to pay for the repairs. When the estimate was being done and vehicle was on lift...[xxx] and mechanic pointed out the whole motor carriage had completely rusted out and corroded. They had not seen anything like it. Took vehicle back to dealer and explained this issue. Had to go ahead with insurance claim and wait for adjustors to determine fault of accident.the vehicle is totally unsafe to drive, feels like the engine is tipping forward when accelerating or decelerating. After researching this issue im shocked and appalled that 2 previous model years have same issues which are not being addressed for the 2006. I don't want this vehicle repaired I want out from under it, since it was sold unsafe and is a recurring problem even after having motor mounts replaced and undercarriage treated or replaced. I expect more from mopar period. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Salina, KS, USA

problem #2

Mar 132013

Pacifica

  • 99,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that while the vehicle was being inspected, the front sub frame was found to be severely corroded in the engine carriage area. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 99,000.

- Andover , NH, USA

problem #1

Oct 242012

Pacifica

  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that the engine frame failed. The contact notice brown water was releasing from the engine area. The contact inspected the vehicle and found the engine frame corroded with holes due to defective material. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to have the engine frames replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 84,000.

- Grand Rapids , MI, USA

Not what you are looking for?