If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
106,718 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chrysler Pacifica body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chrysler Pacifica:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chrysler Pacifica Owner Comments

problem #19

Dec 152014

Pacifica

  • 88,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

TL-the contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to a technician for an oil change, where the failure was noticed.the technician diagnosed that the vehicle's engine crossmember and the right front passenger side vehicle frame had corrosion. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 88,000.

- Desplaines, IL, USA

problem #18

Nov 252014

Pacifica

  • 120,000 miles
I am the owner of the car and was told by my mechanic that the entire engine cradle is rusted / rotted thru and that the car is now unsafe to drive. Chrysler has issued an extended warranty of 10 years or 150,000 miles (whichever is 1st) for 2004-2005 but not for 2006, apparently I have the exact same rot & rust issue (so it was never resolved at Chrysler) but a less accommodating warranty to fix and address it.

- Malverne, NY, USA

problem #17

Nov 032014

Pacifica

  • 96,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that while having maintenance performed, the technician notified the contact that the sub-frame was corroded. The technician recommended the sub-frame to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 96,000.

- Clifton Park, NY, USA

problem #16

May 022014

Pacifica

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Like other early model chrylser Pacificas noted on the nhsta site- my vehicle was taken into for an oil change and the shop informed me the car was unsafe to drive due to the engine cradle/ subframe being rusted/rotted out so badly you could see through it. They said that if a large enough bump was rolled over, the engine could fall out and a serious accident could occur as the vehicle would more than likely lose control. I am now afraid to allow my wife and 2 small children to drive in it for extended periods of time. I purchased the vehicle used for roughly $10,000 less than a year prior to learning about this saftey issue from a Chrysler used and new car dealer-bryden motors in beloit, wi. I also purchased an $2000 extended warranty on the vehicle, which of course something like this is not covered in such a plan. I believe the damage was there prior to purchase and the dealer either failed to inform me, or didn't perform a well cared for inspection prior to the sale. Upon taking the vehicle back to the dealer-they said it was too far out from the original warranty and nothing could be done. They did take pictures and send to the Chrysler "imaging department" where the manufacturer defect claim I asked for them to place for me was immediately denied for coverage. I will be reaching out to Chrysler and the local media if necessary. This is a well known and serious saftey concern with the Pacifica model and due to the expense involved to fix (was told between $2500-$5000) absolutely ruins the value of the vehicle less than a year after purchase from what I though was a reputable dealer and a reputable brand such as chrylser. This is my 4rd chrylser/Dodge vehicle I have owned in the past 19 years, and if the matter is not resolved, it will ultimatley be my last.

- Loves Park, IL, USA

problem #15

Oct 032014

Pacifica

  • 123,000 miles
We have always had the car serviced at the Chrysler dealer and on this oil change were just informed about the extensive rust on the engine cradle. Did some research on the internet and found out that this is a common problem with Chrysler Pacifica and that Chrysler has extended the warrenty on only a few 2004 and 2005 models. I called Chrysler and they refused to help with any repairs saying that my vehicle was outside the extended warrenty models. There is a large rust hole in the engine cradle on one side and extensive rust on the other side.

- Highland, IN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #14

Sep 082014

Pacifica

  • 219,000 miles
A mechanic, while changing the oil on my 2005 Chrysler Pacifica, informed me that the subframe is rusted badly and is a major safety concern. I called Chrysler and was told that Chrysler did extend the warranty on the engine carriage and acknowledged that the subframe was inadequate in terms of handling road salt. But then they revised the extension of warranty to include only cars manufactured after Feb 23, 2004 and before March 31, 2004. While such a limitation? my vehicle, according the Chrysler customer service person on the phone, was build on Aug 25, 2004 and therefore falls outside of the covered time period. The bottom line is that my car has a rust problem with the subframe and this is a major safety issue. I did some research on the internet and it is clear that this is an issue with Pacificas made in 2004 and 2005. Chrysler should cover the cost to replace the subframe on my vehicle.

- Northfield, MN, USA

problem #13

Sep 042014

Pacifica

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The engine frame cradle is rotting out. The the engine and transmission could potentially fall out of the vehicle. I contacted Chrysler and they stated that if it was a 2004/05 they would cover the repairs but not a 2006. This issue appears to be a common.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #12

Sep 012014

Pacifica

  • 71,800 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that while having routine maintenance performed, the independent mechanic discovered that the engine cradle was corroded. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 71,800.

- Roseville, MI, USA

problem #11

May 012014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
Rust issue on front engine cradle I am from South charleston, wv resident and recently discovered through my dealers mechanic that I had a badly corroded engine cradle. We bought the car used and it just turned 100K miles. Dealer denied the recall, there is a small window of vehicles manufactured between Feb.23, 2004 and March 31,2004, a pretty small window. A couple of calls to Chrysler customer assistance has fallen on deaf ears. The dealer and Chrysler are not budging. It is not the money, it is the principle of a design problem that Chrysler is not fully standing behind. For reference, the Chrysler warranty bulletin is no:D-10-34 dated March 16, 2012. Subject is listed as (X26) front engine cradle extended warranty 2004-2005 Chrysler Pacifica's. we have a 2006 and have the same issue and Chrysler needs to recall all of the models affected! I have 3 children and a wife and we depend on this vehicle. Only had it one year and couldn't get it pass the 1st inspection due to the rusted out cracked engine cradle. Mechanic states it is not safe to drive!!!! I cannot get any explanation as to quite why that is from Chrysler despite numerous contacts with the customer care people from Chrysler and/or dealership. Apparently my best hope is that if I pay for the repair myself I might get a refund later if Chrysler decides to expand the group of covered vehicles. Help us please thank you

- South Charleston, WV, USA

problem #10

May 192014

Pacifica

  • 90,090 miles
I had my 2006 Chrysler Pacifica in for a routine inspection and two places on my subframe it has rusted all the way through the frame. I know there has been an extended warranty letter sent by Chrysler to all 2004-2005 Pacifica owners but the 2006 Pacificas have the exact same subframe. I filed a case with Chrysler's corporate offices and am waiting for their response. I have only 90K miles and my car is in mint condition. Often I am asked if it is a brand new vehicle.

- Medina, OH, USA

problem #9

May 202014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 96,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Took my 2006 Pacifica in for inspection. The engine cradle is rusted through and unsafe. I found out that there is extended coverage on some of these cars. I called Chrysler and was told I should pay for it (2500.00) now and save my receipts because there may be a recall someday that will cover my car. They obviously know this is a major problem but are not standing behind their product. I have found several hundred complaints on multiple websites about this same issue and even found a petition on change.org, which I signed. I also found that several people are trying to put together a class action lawsuit, count me in.

- Hinckley, OH, USA

problem #8

Apr 052014

Pacifica

  • 155,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that the vehicle was at the dealer for routine maintenance when the mechanic discovered that the engine cradle was severely rusted on the passenger's side. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 155,000.

- Pittstown, NJ, USA

problem #7

Mar 202012

Pacifica

  • 100,000 miles
On March 20th 2012 I was driving home from work when the driver side strut mount broke, slightly allowing the strut to damage my hood and break my inner tie rod end. I immediately parked the vehicle called aaa and had it towed to my house. On March 23 I purchased a new strut mount and on the 24th replaced the broken one with the new one. Unfortunately I did the work myself and didn't notice my inner tie rod broke. Which led to my vehicle needing to be checked by my mechanic about 8 months later when my outer tie rod end gave way damaging in the process the wheel bearings and the driver side axle. I had everything fixed and ran into no more problems until July 17th 2013 when my front end alignment started to slip and a noticeable knocking noise started coming from my front end. I immediately set up an appointment to have my vehicle serviced at kelly Chrysler dealership in lehigh valley and they were able to get me in a week later. It took them roughly a week to fix my car. But they replaced my upper engine mount, front lower engine mount, L/F inner outer tie rod ends and removed a damaged exhaust shield. But they still couldn't' tell me why my alignment was off and what the knocking noise was. Towards the end of August my passenger side strut mount broke and I had it replaced right away. Then again in November this time completely ripping through the hood. Then again in February, March and now today 5/7/2014 I noticed the passenger side strut mount is on the verge of breaking again. After speaking to a couple of Pacifica owners in my area I have come to find out these problems are common along with engine shut offs and check engine lights being on for no reason. Its apparent that the 3/8th inch thick plate that the struts sit on are not adequate enough to handle the weight of the vehicles along with the constant jerking motion off the car from the sticky gas peddle.

- Allentown, PA, USA

problem #6

Apr 172014

Pacifica

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that while having routine maintenance performed on the vehicle, he was notified that the sub-frame was completely corroded and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 130,000.

- Pearl River, NY, USA

problem #5

Apr 012014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,800 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that she took the vehicle into the dealer for regular maintenance and was informed that the subframe had corroded and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 89,800. Updated 06/09/2014 the consumer stated a week after repairs were made to the vehicle it began experiencing drifting, squealing/loud grinding noise. The dealer did not find any failure with the vehicle. Updated 06/12/2014

- Redding, MA, USA

problem #4

Jun 142013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,947 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that he took the vehicle to the dealer for an oil change but was informed that the sub frame was corroded and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 75,947. Updated 10/31/13 the consumer was advised the vehicle had extensive rust through and a cracked front sub frame, severe rocker panel rust and brake line rust. A service manager informed the consumer that it is not required/permitted to inform the vehicle's owner of necessary repairs. Updated 11/1/2013

- Mayfield Village, OH, USA

problem #3

Jul 122013

Pacifica

  • 107,000 miles
The vehicle was purchased June 11, 2013 and had the rear passenger tire replaced due to unfix-able flat tire. The dealer had me take vehicle to peerless tires co. The tire was replaced with wrong size and different brand of tire. Traveling during thunderstorm approximately 3,5 weeks after purchasing vehicle; the computer appeared to lock when vehicle slipped on pavement as AWD attempted to engage causing loss of steering and power then skidded off the road. I made claim through my insurance and had vehicle inspected by local shop, and I had my mechanic look to see if damage to vehicle was noticeable was not handling correctly after accident. When accelerates or decelerates the vehicle will lunge forward. Took vehicle to peerless tire co. After mechanic pointed out the wrong size and model of tire on rear passenger side of vehicle. After accepting fault wanted to take vehicle to [xxx] paint and body to pay for the repairs. When the estimate was being done and vehicle was on lift...[xxx] and mechanic pointed out the whole motor carriage had completely rusted out and corroded. They had not seen anything like it. Took vehicle back to dealer and explained this issue. Had to go ahead with insurance claim and wait for adjustors to determine fault of accident.the vehicle is totally unsafe to drive, feels like the engine is tipping forward when accelerating or decelerating. After researching this issue im shocked and appalled that 2 previous model years have same issues which are not being addressed for the 2006. I don't want this vehicle repaired I want out from under it, since it was sold unsafe and is a recurring problem even after having motor mounts replaced and undercarriage treated or replaced. I expect more from mopar period. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Salina, KS, USA

problem #2

Mar 132013

Pacifica

  • 99,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that while the vehicle was being inspected, the front sub frame was found to be severely corroded in the engine carriage area. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 99,000.

- Andover , NH, USA

problem #1

Oct 242012

Pacifica

  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that the engine frame failed. The contact notice brown water was releasing from the engine area. The contact inspected the vehicle and found the engine frame corroded with holes due to defective material. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to have the engine frames replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 84,000.

- Grand Rapids , MI, USA

Not what you are looking for?