Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
113,053 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chrysler Pacifica body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chrysler Pacifica:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chrysler Pacifica Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #79

Aug 162016

Pacifica

  • 123,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brought car in for repair and the shop would not even lift the car up due to the sub frame being in such poor shape. They advised me to call the dealership to see if there are any open recalls for the issue. Upon calling the dealership they let me know that as there are not any open recalls on this they do keep the engine cradle in stock as this is a very common issue. The part alone is almost $2,000 and not even sure what the labor would be as of yet. As far as the rest of the complaints go looks as it will be over a $3,000 fix. I have found out from the dealship that the previous years have been recalled for the same issue.

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #78

Sep 032015

Pacifica

  • miles
My 2006 Pacifica cradle, carrage, rockers, or whatever the correct name... underneath is rotted out. I got new tires for the vehicle and when I went to sears auto center to have them installed is when the news was broken to me about the issue. They told me that the compartment holding the engine is rusting out bad and could result in the motor falling out. It was so bad that they didn't align the tires because they didn't want to be held responsible. I drove the vehicle back to the dealer I purchased the vehicle and explained the issue. Their response was this is a buy here pay here and the vehicle was as is no warranty so their not responsible. Wow....was my response.... so I followed up by calling the dealer about the issue... but they don't have a recall on the vehicle frame issue for 2006 but only for certain vehicles in 2005.... now if that ain't just blow my mind...only thing I could do was file a complaint and hope enough people do too for it to be a chance for recall... now I don't think that's fair that I done purchased this vehicle as a family vehical with a rusted frame and there's nothing that's being done to fix this issue. This is a $3000 fix out of pocket which is not fair.

- Warren, OH, USA

problem #77

Jul 252016

Pacifica

  • miles
Sub frame which holds the engine has rusted through I several locations. Engine could "drop" at anytime while drive the car. 2005 models currently have a recall for the same issue.

- Dixon, IL, USA

problem #76

Jun 282016

Pacifica

  • 103,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Entered the freeway and after reaching speed of approximately 55-60 mph I heard a loud sound that sounded like a small explosion. Someone driving in the lane next to me began frantically pointing at the engine of my car. Immediately I saw smoke and flames coming from underneath the car's hood. I pulled off the exit that I was approaching, parked the car at the curb, jumped out the car, dialed 911. Fire department responded in a couple of minutes and by this time entire engine and hood was on fire.they put the fire out. Car was not able to be placed in neutral or any other gear, but was still towed to the dealership that performed repairs to fuel injectors and other components of the engine on February 2, 2016. During Feb. 2016 incident the gas pedal would not give power to make the car accelerate, car started smoking and giving off fumes that smelled like burning plastic. Car repairs were made in that incident. Going to have diagnostic performed to research if there is a connection/relation between February 2016 incident and June 2016 incident.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #75

Jun 182016

Pacifica

  • 187,000 miles
Vehicle had cradle rot requiring complete replacement of the assembly. Had brought the vehicle to a local nechanic to do some routine maintenance. Mechanic observed the rust/rot and was told that it was so severe that he would not allow me to drive the vehicle home because if the cradle broke completely through the engine would drop to the street rendering the vehicle 'totaled'

- Rockford, IL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #74

Jun 042016

Pacifica

  • miles
I have a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica with 70,000 miles. Was inspecting the exhaust system around the muffler and happened to notice some excessive rust on the sub frame and upon further looking I went to the front of the vehicle and noticed the motor cradle and where the motor cradle connects with the passenger side of the sub frame there were enormous amount of decay and corrosion on the motor cradle and splitting in the sub frame. I believe that there was a serious over look and neglect in not treating the sub frame with some sort of anti corrosive at time of assembly at the factory by Chrysler.the car was manufactured on September 2005.

- Rock Falls, IL, USA

problem #73

Mar 092016

Pacifica

  • 138,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. While inspecting the vehicle, the mechanic stated that the subframe was corroded and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 138,000.

- Kingsford, MI, USA

problem #72

Jun 032016

Pacifica

  • 157,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact noticed that the subframe was rusted. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the subframe needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 157,000.

- Westmont, IL, USA

problem #71

Jan 102016

Pacifica

  • miles
One side of my engine mount is rusting out badly as well. Would be nice to have a recall to repair this issue. I also have idling issues in which it seems like the car is going to die whether it's in park or drive. This has been going on for quite while now.

- Roscoe, IL, USA

problem #70

Apr 292016

Pacifica

  • 56,000 miles
Well known issue with 2006 Chrysler Pacificas, the engine cradle rusts due to poor build and design. The car becomes unsafe to drive due to the possibility of the engine falling out of the car. Also will not pass an inspection. There is a class action lawsuit regarding this issue. Chrysler will not issue a recall. This is a safety issue! I have to keep putting "band-aids" on this just so I can continue to drive my car.

- Whitehall, PA, USA

problem #69

Apr 262016

Pacifica

  • 101,267 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brought our 2006 Pacifica in for a routine oil change and tire repair. Was told the subframe has rotted away. Our mechanic said he personally would not too many miles on the car and the repairs would cost anywhere from $3,000 - $5,000.

- Waterford, NY, USA

problem #68

Apr 202015

Pacifica

  • 88,000 miles
Purchased car used with less than 85K miles. When I went to get it state inspected 1 week after purchase I was informed that the car is unsafe to drive due to engine cradle was rusted out. Repair estimates range from $3300 to over $4000. The car is less than 10 years old and under 100K miles. No help from the manufacturer. Many others with the same situation. This could be a potential life threatening situation for myself and my family. Car is worth as much as the repairs. The manufacturer should be made to make this right. Bad product. Even partial help with the repairs would help. Very disappointed in "american made".

- Wilmot, NH, USA

problem #67

Apr 012016

Pacifica

  • 130,000 miles
The engine frame is rusting out. The rest of the frame is completely fine, but now I need to have the engine cradle completely replaced.

- Monroe, MI, USA

problem #66

Apr 062016

Pacifica

  • 75,000 miles
Subframe rot by the engine area. This is only on the passenger side. The drivers side is fine. I've read about legal action towards Chrysler regarding premature rotting and corroding for this car.

- Clifton, NJ, USA

problem #65

Apr 022016

Pacifica

  • 95,500 miles
When we bought the car not 11 months ago we were never told about any structural damage. A week ago we noticed a bad thumping as we were driving, so we took it to a car shop and that's when they found over 4 inches of rust on both sides of the engine cradle and they told us it was unsafe to drive.

- Dearborn Heights, MI, USA

problem #64

Mar 272016

Pacifica

  • 100,000 miles
The engine mounts have broken, and been replaced, and broke again. The floorboard, has rusted through on the drivers side, and the frame is rusting out. The suspension is breaking and has now blow out 2 tires. The electrical panel /dash, doesn't work and causes other problems. I don't live by salt water and have been informed that this is not a new problem with this make/model. Gas fumes come up through the floorboard, and I have been dealing with this since I took it off of the dealership. I am a single mom of 3, and am not finding help from anyone. Can you please help me?

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #63

Jan 012015

Pacifica

  • miles
I have a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica touring edition with less than 115,000 miles on it. The car runs flawlessly except for the sub frame rust corrosion that has eaten away the engine and car support underneath my car. I have read continuously that this is a common problem with this type of vehicle. My car is unsafe to drive and I fear I will get into an accident while driving it. I will be taking this car to Chrysler in paramus, NJ to find out what can be done on my behalf. Are there any recalls out there, or manufacturer warranties covering such major repairs. I am not in a position to purchase to new car right now. Please help.

- Teaneck, NJ, USA

problem #62

Mar 122016

Pacifica

  • 115,000 miles
After having my oil change mechanic show me the frame on my Pacifica 4 large holes in engine mount frame from rust.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #61

Mar 082016

Pacifica

  • 136,336 miles
Yesterday had new tires put on the car and the mechanic said, I need you to come see this. I looked and saw my frame rusting through. There was a report on tv on this 2 years ago. Seeing hundreds of complaints on line about this exact same problem! what will it take for a recall" when is this government organization going to care? isn't that what this is set up for" this isn't just a hand full of complaints.

- Lemont, IL, USA

problem #60

Feb 212016

Pacifica

  • 197,000 miles
During an inspection of the car, it was observed that severe corrosion of the engine cradle has occurred. The corrosion is severe enough that it was recommended that the car not be driven. On the internet I note that there were recalls (or repairs) by Chrysler for 2005 model year cars but not 2006. The car is in excellent shape except for this cradle mount corrosion. I now have to repair the car for a cost that is more than the car is worth, or replace the Pacifica with equivalent for much more money. Chrysler should do something about this issue. Obviously, more than the 2005 cars are involved. According to the internet, there have been many reports of this problem

- Concord, NH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?