Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
95,574 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chrysler Pacifica drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chrysler Pacifica:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chrysler Pacifica Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #48

Oct 172014


  • 92,560 miles


While stopped at a traffic light I heard a noise coming from under the hood. I put the car in (N), and listened for the noise I then noticed the speedometer moving from 0 to 20 mph while I was not moving.

- Lakewood, NJ, USA

problem #47

Nov 142013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 96,000 miles
My vehicle stalls at the first movement from a long parked position. I have had the sensor fixed and fuel pump replaced. These things helped temporarily. It is now doing the same things. I noticed a recall for the power train of 2006 model Chrysler Pacifica but when I enter my VIN it states my vehicle is not in the recall. I believe my vehicle has a faulty power train.

- Beaumont, TX, USA

problem #46

Sep 132014


  • miles
Had to have my vehicle towed due to my ignition switch. I am glad that I was not driving when this happened! getting this car repair will set me back in my bills and I just got this car 2 years ago!

- Kalamazoo , MI, USA

problem #45

Apr 142014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • miles


While I was driving down the road my car stalled and then cut off in the middle of the road. My car started back up right away but as I continue to drive home it continued to stall and shut off. Thank god there was not very many cars on the road because someone could have gotten seriously hurt. My car has been down since April 2014 and it is now September 2014. My husband and I have put so much money into this car because the mechanics can't figure out the problem. We have had replaced the egr valve, O2 censors, throttle position sensors, idle air control valve, and a tune up and my car still runs the same, like crap. The computer is not diagnosing the car properly and neither are the mechanics.

- Fort Stewart, GA, USA

problem #44

Jun 302014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 148,000 miles
My car failed on us as we were on our trip towards brownsville Texas. The electrical in my car started flickering and the motor kept accelerating itself.. then the gas indicator went from showing half tank full to 10 miles to empty.. we were in the deserted part of the checkpoint ranch so we had about 30 miles until a gas station we thought we couldn't possibly just run out of gas, but as we continued 5 minutes later our car electrical just sounded a spark and our car starting shutting off, hard steering to pull on side of road.. but thank god we had no vehicles behind us so that prevented an accident from happening.. we called family member to go help us haul our car to a nearest gas station or mechanic.. something I never want to experience with my children 3 and 1 in my car and the hot summer.. I have searched for my car if it falls in the recall category but it shows nothing.. yet it showed to have similar defects as the ones being recalled.

- Sweeny, TX, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #43

Aug 042014


  • 89,000 miles
Car has rotten sub frame that cradles engine suspension! in looking at Chrysler complaints this appears to be prevalent in all the sub frames. My mechanic has welded in metal in place of rot. This sub frame is responsible for suspension of the front end and cradles engine mounts. There is no way a car design should allow for failure of such a critical job after 89000 miles and 8 years. These cars need to be recalled and or removed from the road before there are unnecessary deaths.

- Sanbornton, NH, USA

problem #42

Feb 142014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 160,000 miles


While driving approximately 55-60 mph on the highway, through a very dangerous curve (s-curve), in rush hour traffic, my vehicle just shut off. After safely pulling over (difficultly) and stopping I let it sit while calling my husband. Then the vehicle started back up no problem after about 5 minutes, from that point forward the vehicle would only stay running for 5-7 minutes, then while trying to diagnose the problem the vehicle would only stay running for 3-5 seconds and now sometimes won't even start at all. After finally towing to a dealership believing it was the skim module we were told that it is the power train control module that is bad and would need to be replaced. In researching this problem I find that there has been a recall on the same vehicle and year for these same exact type issues, but have been told now by 2 dealerships and the daimler Chrysler corporation that my specific vehicle checked by the VIN # is not part of the recall.

- Walker, MI, USA

problem #41

Jul 182014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 119,000 miles
I took my 2006 Pacifica in to a dealer on 7/18/2014 to have a noise coming from the front end inspected. The dealer told me that the tie rod bushings had failed for a second time in about a year. Then he told me that part of the problem was that the sub frame was rusting and cracking to the point that the engine and transmission could fall out. I found out that Chrysler had a recall for 2004 and 2005 Pacificas with the same issue but would not cover it for any other years. The fact that they know they had a problem coupled with the number of issues that I have seen online, I don't understand why they wouldn't cover this failure on all model years. Why hasn't this been recalled? this will be the last Chrysler that I will ever buy.

- Sheboygan, WI, USA

problem #40

Jun 032014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 154,000 miles
Went in for regular yearly inspection to find out that my motor mount was almost detatched from my vehicle.the powertrain was I had to replace the motor mount the powertrain still needs the 6 years that I have owned this vehicle I have never been notifyed of a powertrain this point I'm very upset to find out that this was never brought to my attention.however this could have put my family at risk.I hope and pray that this can be replaced as it should have been since the recal.L please notify your customer before something tragic occurs.

- York, PA, USA

problem #39

Jul 082013


  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated while driving approximately 30 mph, the engine stalled with prior warning. The vehicle restarted and resumed normally. The failure recurred intermittently when making a left turn. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who was unable to duplicate the problem. There was a recall related to the failure under NHTSA campaign id number 06V432000 (power train). However, the VIN was not included. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Casselberry, FL, USA

problem #38

Jun 222014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 151,041 miles


I filled up the tank with gas and was on a long road trip. I had reset the trip at the time of fill up and I had tracked the highway mileage using a little less than 1/2 tank then refilled it then took how many miles I had gone divided it by how many gallons of gas it took to fill it back up. I was getting 21 miles per gallon. When the gas gauge reached 1/2 tank, it dropped straight to empty. I had only gone roughly 200 miles and figured at 21 miles per gallon I should easily get 350 to 400 miles before needing gas so I carried on. After I had traveled 220 miles on a full tank, (20 gallons) the motor just shut itself off. I pulled over and called for help. They brought 2 gallons of gas and put it in and it fired right up. I drove 2 miles back to the gas station and filled it back up and it only took 8 gallons to fill it back up. 10 if you include the 2 we had just put in on the side of the road. That is 1/2 a tank of gas. When I got home I looked up recalls and there is a recall F44 on my vehicle that describes this problem but when I called Chrysler, they said my vehicle was not manufactured within the dates of the recall. If my vehicle is having the issue shouldn't they cover it?

- Amarillo, TX, USA

problem #37

Jan 032014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • miles
I own a 2006 Chrysler pacific. While traveling 35 mph the ABS lights, and brake lights illuminated, followed by a chime noise that sounded through out the vehicle.then a ticking noise prior to the vehicle loosing all electrical power, this happens everyday! this a very dangerous situation and when this happens I have to sit and wait for awhile, once for more than 30 min then car cuts back on and works fine until the ABS lights, come on and the engine light followed by the chimes and the ticking the car cuts off again. Can not get a mechanic to fix it they have told me that there is no way to fix it that Chrysler knows about the recall and refuses to do anything about it. I have had the battery replaced. Problem #2 is the mounts that hold the motor are corroded and rusted. I was told that this is another defect and there have been instances where the motor just falls out. Two mounts have been replaced but I still hear the knocking and a pulling sensation sometimes. First incident was in January the past two months it happens everyday at least once a day where the car just cuts off.

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #36

Jul 012013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • miles
Problems with engine light on, excessive over heating kept buying coolant for the vehicle, water pump, motor mount broke, rear bottom, engine and engine cooling problems, with the transmission problems, vehicle speed: Accelerator pedal gets stiff sticking often. Recall id# 38448- component: Power train: Automatic transmission: Control module(tmc, PCM)module affected: Pacifica affected potential units affected:127928. Recall date November 09,2006.

- Gulfport, MS, USA

problem #35

Mar 132014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • miles
I had the brakes repaired in 2012; the next month the ABS light came on and the sensor was replaced. Ten months later, the sensor light came on again. I was told it was insignificant, that the brakes are fine. In the fall of 2013, I had the car towed to a shop because it tried to accelerate while I was pressing the brakes. I spent over $800 having a bunch of codes cleared with the transmission and other things. The engine light was off for a few days but came back on. There was an error that read gas cap. I replaced the gas cap but the engine light remains on. In March 2014 the brake light came on, I was told that I needed to replace the calibers but later was told that I didn't. I had someone else to check and they said that I needed new front brakes. I had those replaced. On 4/7/2014, I was leaving the parking garage at the doctor's office and the gas pedal was stuck. Lucky for me it was on a downhill slope and I was able to stop at the stop sign and put the car in park and press the accelerator to unstick it. Today, April 13, 2014 the brake light is back on and there is a noise in the frontend. I love my car but it just does not feel safe to drive.

- Chickasaw, AL, USA

problem #34

Dec 102013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 91,000 miles
This issue has now happened multiple times. While driving the car, it will completely shutdown (stall). I have been able to get the car over to the side of the road every time. I can turn the key off and then restart the vehicle without issue.

- Noblesville, IN, USA

problem #33

Oct 222012


  • 95,000 miles
The contact 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated while driving at no particular speed the vehicle stalled with the entire instrument panel illuminated. The vehicle restarted after the contact stepped on the brake pedal and turned the key simultaneously. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number 06V432000(power train). The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the alternator needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 95,000.

- Louiville , KY, USA

problem #32

Feb 012013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • miles
2006 Chrysler Pacifica. Consumer requests reimbursement for a fuel pump replacement. The consumer stated prior to the replacement, she was not informed or notified of a recall, until a google search revealed the recall. Also, in February 2013, the catalytic converter was replaced at a cost of $800 and the brake system was replaced at a cost of $500.

- Somerset, NJ, USA

problem #31

Oct 182013


  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that while driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle stalled as the service immobilizer warning light illuminated. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the power train module needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was repaired but did not resolve the failure. The approximate failure and current mileage was 92,000.

- Phoenix , AZ, USA

problem #30

Aug 222013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 79,000 miles
Driving home from work on a Thursday at and average of around 65 mph the vehicles RPM's jumped up to 4,000 and it was like it down shifted. I stopped immediately to check for problems and there weren't any visible signs. I proceeded home while the vehicle was stuck in a gear causing me to only travel a max of 45mph. I contacted Chrysler which said there was a recall for my make, model, and year vehicle but my VIN number was not included in the recall.

- Niceville, FL, USA

problem #29

Aug 172013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
I had my car in park, waiting in line at a drive thru. When I tried to put it in drive, it would not shift out of park. I called aaa and the tow truck operator came. Upon hearing the issue, he immediately told me he knew what it was because "he deals with this all the time with 3000's and Pacificas...and it's a recall issue). He lifted the trim around the gear box and showed me that the "red clip" had broken. I have not seen a recall for this issue, but I need to know if Chrysler is honoring this defect, which I've been told is a huge problem with different Chrysler vehicles.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?