Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

4.4

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
25,581 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chrysler Pacifica transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chrysler Pacifica:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chrysler Pacifica Owner Comments

problem #20

May 062011

Pacifica

  • 40,819 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler Pacifica. While driving at an unknown speed, the contact stated that the vehicle suddenly stalled without warning. The dealer did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was no longer under warranty. The manufacturer was aware of the issue. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic who replaced the transmission. The current mileage was 40,900 and the failure mileage was 40,819.

- Centereach, NY, USA

problem #19

Feb 042011

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler Pacifica. While driving approximately 50 mph, the contact stated that the automatic transmission failed to shift to second gear without warning. The dealer was not informed since the vehicle was no longer under warranty, nor did the contact inform the manufacturer. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic who performed a diagnostic test which confirmed that a relay switch was damaged due to water and without it the computer malfunctioned. The engine mount also failed causing the torque converter to deposit shards of metal into the rubber seal around the torque converter and as a result he needed to have the transmission rebuilt. The private mechanic was performing the repairs. The current and failure mileage was 86,000. Updated 3/28/11 updated 04/29/11

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #18

Dec 102008

Pacifica

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact was driving approximately 60 mph when he applied pressure to the accelerator pedal but the vehicle would not respond. The contact allowed the vehicle to decelerate to approximately 40 mph before he was able to accelerate successfully. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where they were unable to diagnose or duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure recurred intermittently. The failure mileage was 36,000 and the current mileage was 59,000.

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #17

Dec 062010

Pacifica

  • 41,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driven shuddering occurred intermittently at speed 30-65mph. Almost stall car twice.

- Kent, WA, USA

problem #16

Sep 222010

Pacifica

  • 51,000 miles
I purchased a brand new 2007 Chrysler Pacifica in April 2007. I've had problems with the engine mounts three times already (January 2008, August 2009 and September 2010). Most recently, I am experiencing problems with the transmission and oil pressure but the dealer does not seem to thing there is a problem. I'm tired of the run around that I'm getting. Last month, (around the first week in August 2010) I brought the car to dealer because it would not start. I asked them to check the transmission because it was acting odd, check the brakes, check the engine mounts since I knew these were problematic in the past. Also, asked them perform an oil change. I was told the car needed a new battery, some brake work and the tensioner needed to be replaced. An oil change was done. I was told the engine mounts were inspected and they were fine and there was no problem with the transmission. Well, little over a month later around Sept. 22 2010, the transmission felt like it was dragging, engine was extremely hot, RPM's seemed to be out of wack and the oil fuel was really low. The car was inspected and I was told the rubber around the engine mounts had to be replaced and was making the engine pull away from the transmission which was causing the problem. I was told it was normal to burn / loose that amount of oil. I was charged another deductible and I took the car home. Well today, Sept. 28th, I get in the car and the low oil light goes on and the transmission still seems / feels weird. What is going on with Chrysler? now I have to bring the car back in and most likely they will try to charge me another deductible to fix the oil problem, transmission and/or another engine mount. Apparently, Chrysler knows these are problems but does not do anything to help the consumer. They should recall the car for the engine mount problem. Heaven forbid if I have my children in the car and the engine mounts crack at the same time. This is unacceptable.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #15

Sep 012007

Pacifica

  • 10,000 miles
I am sure that you are swamped with Toyota issues, but we Chrysler owners are getting upset at the performance also. Broken motor mounts, torque converters, rough idles, stalling, bumping gears, etc. My 2007 Chrysler Pacifica is the roughest transmission I have ever driven in my 38 plus years of driving, stalling on morning start-ups, banging noises in the front around turns, and the list goes on. Chrysler must do something on this discontinued Pacifica model, the 4.0 litre touring. Like most owners of the Chrysler piece, this is the last Chrysler I will ever own, or perhaps maybe they, or no-one even cares. These numerous repeating complaints should be taken care of, or does it take deaths to get attention, and how many does it take" is 54 enough, as I read in the usa today about how many gas and brake related deaths are being investigated because of Toyota greed"

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #14

Apr 102008

Pacifica

  • 24,686 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We own a 2007 Pacifica, we love this car, but the transmission is so bad, we have taken it to the dealer 8 times to have the problem fixed. To no avail it is still not fixed, the problem with the transmission is a shifting issue it just does not shift all the time. The dealer has flashed the computer, rebuilt the transmission, and replaced the torque converter, still nothing works. Chrysler will not replace the transmission though, even though I think there is a defect somewhere in the transmission for nothing at all to fix the problem. Of course now it is out of warranty so now they will be happy to change the transmission yeah for $4200. I just wish there was something that could be done about this scam that Chrysler fed me. It is to bad too, as I have owned Chrysler for over 25 years and this is how they treat there loyal customers. Will not be buying anymore Chrysler.

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #13

Jul 092009

Pacifica

  • 40,633 miles
My transmission problems started with my 2007 Chrysler Pacifica when it was shifted from automatic drive to automatic stick while driving the car. I brought it into the dealer when I discovered the engine light continued to illuminate after this incident. They had done an engine and a transmission diagnostic to find that there were error codes displayed from the transmission, re-set it, and advised that I will need a new transmission.

- Suisun City, CA, USA

problem #12

Apr 292009

Pacifica

  • 38,986 miles
I have a 2007 Pacifica, it started shaking bad. Took it into the dealer and the motor mounts where replaced. At the sametime the torque converter was also replaced. Because the torque converter would unlock when given a little we took the car back three times for this problem. The dealer says that this was normal"??" but we don't think so.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #11

Dec 162008

Pacifica

  • 7,000 miles
My new 2007 Chrysler Pacifica has and nothing but transmission problems! I had a torque converter replaced at less than 1000 miles and have had it in to have the transmission looked at twice in the past 6 months. The first time was told nothing was wrong- the second time they "flashed" something based on a service bulletin. The transmission has continually shifted very hard from gear to gear. This morning, the transmission is out completely and the car will not shift at all.

- Mankato, MN, USA

problem #10

Jul 012007

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler Pacifica. In July of 2007, while driving 35 mph, the vehicle would not accelerate. The dealer performed a diagnostic and found no failures with the vehicle. The contact continued to drive the vehicle; however, the failure persisted. After taking the vehicle to the dealer on several occasions, the contact was informed at her last visit that the torque converter was defective. In October of 2007, the torque converter was replaced and later replaced again in July of 2008. Immediately following both repairs, the vehicle continued to experience the same failure. In addition, the vehicle made a clicking noise. She took the vehicle to another dealer and was informed that the upper strut mount and bearings were defective. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure still persists. The current mileage was 22,750 and failure mileage was 900. The vehicle would not shift into high gear in a timely manner or smoothly upon acceleration. The lower gear shifting was very rough. Updated 11/26/08.

- Knoxville, IA, USA

problem #9

Aug 152008

Pacifica

  • 34,000 miles
I purchased a 2007 Chrysler Pacifica in May 2007. Starting in January 2008 I started having problems with the car...shuttering, idle problems. In March 2008 I had to have a new torque converter put in the car. Now, August, 2008 and 8000 miles later I got in the car one morning and it was making a horrific squealing noise and come to find out again I have transmission problems and need another torque converter plus a transmission pump. Apparently the pump is on backorder and I am 1 of 3 people in the United States on a waiting list waiting for one. My car has been sitting in the shop for over 3 weeks now because of the problem. The Chrysler mechanic has no idea when the part may come in. This is ridiculous in my opinion. An almost brand new car with these kind of problems. The craziest thing is that after owning the car for 6 months last year, I find out that Chrysler doesn't even put a transmission dipstick under the hood. You have to take the car to a Chrysler dealer to have it worked on or checked. That is just wrong. I don't know if there is any type of lemon law or what on this because I have researched and found out I am one of many who has had these transmission problems with the 2007 Chrysler Pacifica. Please advise me if I have any rights in this matter.

- Linn Creek, MO, USA

problem #8

Apr 202008

Pacifica

  • 14,000 miles
My 2007 fwd Pacifica has been to the service center 4 times since I purchased it (April 2008) - for the same issue. The transmission shifts very "clunky" and shudders in & out of gear while driving. At the 3rd shop visit the torque converter was replaced & computer reflashed - problem came back in about 300 miles. Last visit - reflash again - dealer called Chrysler & was told that they (Chrysler) is aware of the problem but are not doing anything at this point in time. The car is still shifting horrible - much worse if I use the ac, sometimes the engine fan comes on & won't shut back off (until the next morning), and now while I am at red lights, the car feels like it is about to stall & shakes very bad (the first time this happened I actually thought someone rear-ended me - that's how bad it shakes!) I talked to the dealer where I purchased it about returning it - but they will not give me close to what I paid for it.

- Livonia, NY, USA

problem #7

Dec 312007

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
Car jerks forward or backward when moving car into gear.

- West Jordan, UT, USA

problem #6

Apr 082008

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,500 miles
2007 Pacifica transmission shudders when lugging down, most noticeable when car is in 4th gear at 1800-2500 RPM. Also have very harsh shift when going into and out of 2nd gear. After two complaints and test drive was told that it was normal and also that the tsp's out did not apply to my vehicle VIN. The service manager sent my complaints to Chrysler and they directed local dealer to reprogram transmission and replace torque converter. Due to number of same complaints Chrysler should take initiative and have recall instead of making each individual owner go through this nonsense.

- Mountain Home, AR, USA

problem #5

Feb 242008

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles
I have informed chyrsler about this problem - regarding the transmission on my 2007 Pacifica but they tell me this is normal.

- Menifee, CA, USA

problem #4

Nov 102007

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 200 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler Pacifica. While driving approximately 40 mph, the engine revs, the vehicle will not accelerate, and the gears will not shift. The vehicle has been to the dealer seven times. The current mileage was 3,000 and failure mileage was 200.

- Annapolis, MD, USA

problem #3

Dec 112007

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,200 miles
I took my car in for transmission issues, ever time I would change my gears the SUV would jerk. I took it in, and they said I had a broken front and rear motor mound. So they replaced the front, and orders a rear. After leaving the that day my esp/bass light came on and my power light can my car rear tires were locking. I called them the next day and took it in 2 days later due to being booked, and they fix the rear mound, but said nothing was wrong with the esp/bass light and the other lights. My transmission is still jerking when driving. So I took it to their other dealership, I told her my engine light cam on and will not turn off now. My car seem to want to die. I got scared, and stopped waited 30mins then turned it back on, and lights were still on. So now my transmissions jerks, they said they fixed my motor mounds and that would fix it, but didn't. my brakes are now knocking, and they said it will do that because the car notices water on road so they knock. Lol that full of it. Yesterday there was no rain, and they were knocking when I would brake. Very scary. My car sometimes feel like it's going to die when I take off. They said there's nothing wrong. When I hit a bump, the front end sound like there's something loose. Feels like my engine is just sitting there. One of the tech told me when I went in the last time which was 12-17-07 the had a recall on motor mounds due to my engine being so powerful it brakes the ones on there due to using same 06 models mounds. So I told them why haven't I been informed of this. They said well when they brake you just come in. Just to let you know, I haven't even paid my first car note. I picked it up yesterday, and still it jerks and when I push the brake in the shifter is knocking now!! I told them I going to see about the lemon law, they said I don't have one. Where do I stand. I have three children and I feel this car is unsafe for us, they make me feel like I'm crazy when I tell them about what's going on.

- Metropolis, IL, USA

problem #2

Nov 122007

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 600 miles
Transmission shudders at 1800 RPM, Chrysler says there working on a tsb to correct problem but in "might" not be out for several months.

- Wolveirne, MI, USA

problem #1

Sep 152007

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,500 miles
Shudder at idle and harsh transmission engagement and or clunk when shifting out of reverse.

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

Not what you are looking for?