Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.4

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,593 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Chrysler Sebring suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Chrysler Sebring:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Chrysler Sebring Owner Comments

problem #18

Apr 292015

Sebring

  • 89,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving on savannah springs drive (a patio home community) and I heard a horrible noise and stopped. I though I had a flat tire but when I got out and looked, my left front wheel had off. (the balljoint came loose from the control arm) the car was not drivable and had to be towed home. We just purchased this car on 4/23/2015 from new life auto in noblesville, in and drove it home to louisville, ky on I65. The car drove great and I took it out for a drive and turned into a neighborhood less than 1/2 mile from my house when this happened. I was on a very busy road prior to this and thank the lord that I was not on that road when it happened. The tow driver said I would have totaled the car and hit someone else. No injuries occurred and not other vehicles were involved. We see there is a recall on the control arm and wonder if we are covered.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #17

Dec 242014

Sebring

  • 193,466 miles
It was christmas eve we were leaving a friends house headed home I was at a stop sign making a right turn when I started to smell rubber burning but assumed it was the car ahead of me I started to pick up speed I was in a 35mph zone when we heard a loud boom I pulled over at a local park. I looked to see my driver side back tire was facing inward and would not stand straight I call my father inlaw who is a mechanic and he replaced the lower control arm. I am now having to replace the front passenger side now because it is sitting on the side of the road for a second time.

- Chinquapun, NC, USA

problem #16

Jan 192015

Sebring 6-cyl

  • 99,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chrysler Sebring. The contact stated that there was an abnormal noise coming from the rear driver's side. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the ball joint and the control arm needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 09F056000 (suspension). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 99,000. Updated 3/24/15

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #15

Jun 272014

Sebring

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Just turning off the main busy road from driving 40-45mph and onto a small residential narrow street doing 25mph I suddenly heard very loud clunking noises si I immediately stopped the car and got out and noticed that my rear drivers side tire was slanting inward. It turned out to be that my rear upper ball joint had busted. Was told by the tow truck driver that if it would of happened a few seconds earlier while driving 40 mph on the main road, that I would of had a serious crash. Due to my tire buckling in from the ball joint breaking in half. The entire suspension on the car needs repaired. Front and back. All bushings, ball joints are totally worn down to almost nothing. Shocks/struts all no good.

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #14

Jan 172014

Sebring

  • 89,000 miles
My car started making this incredible squeaking sound every time I turned by steering wheel to the left or right. The squeaking started in mid-January of this year (2014) I have had my car checked by 2 professional mechanics and was told by both that my ball joints were defective and had to be replaced. The mechanics also advised that my car was dangerous to drive. I have done some research and found that there was a recall concerning ball joints issued on my make, model and year vehicle. The recall was issued on October 9, 2009 under recall #68353. At the time the recall was issued my car was not 10 years old. I contacted my local dealership and was told my vehicle (based on my VIN #) was not included in the recall. I then contacted Chrysler dealership customer assistance line and again was told that my VIN # was not included in the recall. When I asked why some VIN #'s were included and some were not, I was told that different ball joints were probably put on my car and that those ball joints were not included in the recall. I then asked why they put different type parts on the same make, model and year of car and could not get an answer. They could not tell me what type of ball joints were put on my car. Obviously, the defective ball joints are the ones that were put on my car. I also was told by customer assistance that my car was manfactured on August 11, 2000. After doing the math, it seems that my car should be covered under the recall that was issued on October 9, 2009. I do not understand why some cars are covered under the recall and some are not. Please consider having my VIN # added to the recall that was issued October 9, 2009. I am certain my vehicle should fall under those guidelines. I have no other recourse. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #13

Oct 262013

Sebring 4-cyl

  • miles
I just bought this car from someone that bought it from the action and the shock suspension are totally gone real bd wanted to see if there was a recall on them also other little things.

- Svannah, GA, USA

problem #12

Sep 152006

Sebring

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The dash, radio, & cd player lights flash off and on intermittently. This occurs on random occasions. It also happens when operating the turn signal. The lights will dim low and will not return to a "normal" brightness until you adjust the turn signal arm. Or the lights completely go off. Turn off the car and the displays will start up. The suspension problem is the noise of metal and banging in the suspension. The air bags, horn do not work as well as cruise control. The A/C fails to work most of the time.

- Thomson, GA, USA

problem #11

Sep 142012

Sebring 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
The ball joint on the control arm assembly can fail causing the ball stud to wear through the control arm housing resulting in noise and/or separation of the ball stud from the housing.

- Clearwater, FL, USA

problem #10

Sep 092011

Sebring 6-cyl

  • miles
The dash, radio, & cd player lights flash off and on intermittently. This occurs on random occasions, but seems to happen more often in wet weather. It also happens when operating the turn signal. The lights will dim low and will not return to a "normal" brightness until you adjust the turn signal arm. Another alarming issue is on occasion, smoke will appear from the steering column when turning on the lights. The other electrical problem is when turning a corner and accelerating after a stop, the cd player hesitates, or skips as if the power has been switched off. The suspension problem is the noise of metal and banging in the suspension. We had a very dangerous incident happen while on a trip when the upper drivers side control arm disintegrated while driving at highway speed (65 mph). I fought to control the car and managed to get it off the highway to the shoulder of the road. There was no warning or indication that a problem was about to occur. We nearly died. The repair was expensive, and now it appears a similar problem may be occurring on the right side.

- Mt Airy, MD, USA

problem #9

Feb 142012

Sebring

  • miles
On February 14 2012 something on my left driver side wheel broke, I could no long steer and the wheel laid outward toward the ground. There is a long arm like part, that was literally hanging off the wheel. It is now unoperable. This is very dangerous and I am so glad I was only going about 30 mph due to traffic, I was able to move to the shoulder without a auto accident.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #8

Feb 102010

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

S10 appropriate handling-letter from regarding 2001 Chrysler Sebring the consumer stated when he turned the steering wheel to the left or the right, he could hear a grinding sound. The dealer found the left lower ball joint was worn, which was the cause of the noise. Also, the front struts, oil pan and cooler lines were all leaking, and the drive belts were cracked. The heating and air condition controls were not performing as designed.

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #7

Feb 092007

Sebring

  • 97,000 miles
Bought used in 2007 Sebring 2001 at 87K miles. At round 95K, while pulling out of parking space, heard cracking noise in steering wheel..resulting in no horn, air bag light cont illuminated so can't tell if there's a problem, and no cruise control. Took car to private dealer and diagnosed clock spring, but Chrysler says its not under recall protection any longer!!! crazy, I know! also, since purchase have many probs with electrical dash probs ie flashing on/dimming and radio just turning off...also not covered! and had strange humming noise since purchase while driving...finally found out what it was and had to replace both front hubs. All of these safety issues seem to be a continuing prob with other drivers as per the complaints I've read here at least as far back as I read (thru 2006). Why is Chrysler not being made to rectify at least the air bag (clock spring) issue they already admitted to"??" really kind of the same thing with the elect issues too, but I kind of understand poss issues with that after so many miles. Would really like help/advice on how to make Chrysler take responsibility for that expensive clockspring/air bad issue.

- Georgetown, DE, USA

problem #6

Dec 242008

Sebring

  • miles
I purchased a 2001 Chrysler Sebring 5 years ago. Nice looking car, but the engine is total junk. Transmission leaks, leaks oil, power steering, massive vibration when at a stop, massive engine noise. Engine is junk. Had to trade in for a much better and reliable car. I will not purchase Chrysler again.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #5

Jan 252002

Sebring

  • miles
I have had electrical system go out twice while driving. The tires were replaced at 22,000 because they were worn out. Stering wheel vibrates to the point it is inoperable.

- St. Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #4

Jun 112001

Sebring

  • miles
Rear toe and camber out of range causing the vehicle to pull to the right. Nlm

- Suisun City, CA, USA

problem #3

Jun 112001

Sebring

  • miles
Rear toe and camber out of range causing the vehicle to pull to the right. Nlm

- Suisun City, CA, USA

problem #2

Jun 052001

Sebring

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While washing car consumer noticed excessive brake dust. Consumer took vehicle to dealer and they stated that cambers were out of alignment. Dealer said rear toe and cambers were out of range, so they set rear and front toe. 4 days later, noticed dust again. Consumer stated same problem has reoccurred for last month. The seal around the rear window is leaking. Consumer states vehicle still pulling to the left and the right. Fluid leak from left front wheel, dealer could not find any problems. Dealer states excessive brake dust is normal for this vehicle.

- Suisun City, CA, USA

problem #1

Mar 272001

Sebring

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Vehicle was experiencing a problem with a humming noise. Vehiclehas been into dealer shop on five occasions, and unable to locate problem.

- Helena, GA, USA

Not what you are looking for?