Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,826 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chrysler Sebring transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chrysler Sebring:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chrysler Sebring Owner Comments

problem #18

Nov 252008

Sebring

  • 48,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Problem # 1 - started as intermittent / now constant. Speedometer intermittently "wacky". earlier in Nov. 2008, exhibited a problem that I first saw two winters ago. In Dec 2006, had the same symptom - speedometer going wild. In the repair shop, the rep replaced inner & outer speed sensors based on codes he saw from computer. Problem not seen since 12/06 until recently. In early Oct 2008, only about three brief instances. Now the wacky speedometer is frequent / constant. Going along at 55 mph, suddenly speedometer needle flips to 10 mph (presumably the car is still really traveling along at 55 mph). In fraction of a second the needle swings back up to 60 mph, then down to 20 mph, then up to 70 mph, then down again to 5 mph... I took the car in for service at a local garage. Garage tech replaced both inner & outer transmission sensors on 12/5/2008 -based on computer codes, and reset "check engine? light. Since replacing both speed sensors the ?wild speedometer" problem still happens; swing of the needle is just a little less, engine light comes back on (constantly) after having speedometer swing wildly for a few minutes. Problem # 2 - possibly related (or not) - at lower speeds (5-30 mph), the car transmission seems to respond fine (other than the wild speedometer issue). I mean that is the car registers 1000-2000 RPM, sounds like engine is running well. Car seems to drive fine at higher speeds after driving for some time at 50-60 mph, then slowing to exit (down or up a ramp) when speed is slowed to around 20 mph, transmission seems to abruptly downshift to lower gear (small buck can be felt); then car seems to stay in low-gear. I can still drive the car but when the speed is around 30 mph, the RPM is over 3000, can hear the engine straining. I pull over, turn-off engine, sit a minute, restart car, it is ok once again to drive. It can go over 30 mph or higher and maintain around 2000 RPM (until speed is reduced to 20 mph (cycle continues).

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #17

Jan 152003

Sebring

  • 103,000 miles
I bought the car brand new, added the extended warranty and had several things go wrong. Just to name a few: Engine shut down without warning and had to be replaced when it was just over the 100,000 mile warranty even though oil changes and regular maintenance was done 3-4000 miles, transmission pan had metal shavings in it which resulted in poor performance, control arm had to be replaced after Chrysler dealership told me the problem was the motor mounts(I did not need the mounts replaced and the repair was not done under warranty), water pump & thermostat housing(was told both weren't covered and should have been), rear window defroster replaced and/or fixed three times, driver power window regulator replaced(glass had to be replaced because of damage from the regulator, which I paid), visor vanity light-part ordered but "too late" when tried to have it replaced(was not notified that part was in), dash lights-on & off, headlights replace several times, hub seal replaced, passenger seat adjust arm broken, lighter inoperative, check engine light on first month I had the car!

- Snellville, GA, USA

problem #16

Aug 152007

Sebring 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
When I purchased the car with approximately 44,000 miles I test drove it and it ran fine. At 60,000 miles the transmission began to give me problems, it made noise only while the car was in drive. I took it to a certified transmission place and they had it for two days and stated that my transmission was fine. Less than 2 weeks later the transmission went out. I had it repaired but im still having problems now the transmission jumps while slowing down between 35 to 30 mph.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #15

Mar 052007

Sebring 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,350 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Automatic transmission has been jerking hard when shifting to 5th gear since the purchase of the car. When reported to the service department, the response was there is no problem. Check engine light would linger on intermittently but no code returned. At 70,350 miles, the check engine light came on, when shifted from park to reverse and neutral to drive, the car jerks hard and the transmission will not shift out of first gear. Immediately took it to an auto shop (speedy auto) and left the car for two days. The check engine light was still on but the transmission shifted fine. No code available. Problem was clear for 3 days then recurred. After the car sat for over 12 hours, the light went out and car shifted fine. The light has now been on for 8 days and still jerks when shifting from park to reverse and neutral to drive.

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #14

Nov 012006

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles
: the contact stated the vehicle would not switch gears. The non service dealer determined the vehicle needed a new transmission to correct the issue.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #13

Mar 242006

Sebring

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While shifting from reverse to drive, car feels like it is in neutral. I must shift back and forth to get vehicle moving again. This usually is not a problem because it usually happens in a parking stall, where not a lot of moving cars are around to hit me. Almost always after the neutral/drive problem, the transmission will shift down hard when going from second down to first gear, causing a jerking motion. This has caused me to take it into the shop twice now, and it was different problems each time. The first was a sensor, the second, a "tsb" needed updating. Each time I take it in, I am guaranteed about a $200 charge.

- Joliet, IL, USA

problem #12

Feb 202003

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,375 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission slips occasionally. Transmission fluid under car. Dealership repaired transmission cooler lines (clamps)

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #11

Dec 022005

Sebring 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,930 miles
Recently while driving my 2002 Chrysler Sebring LX I was slowing down off an exit ramp and the car suddenly grabbed at around 32 mph. I found out by monitoring my speeds that you have to go over 36 mph and slow down to 32 mph for it to grab and it does it every time. The check engine light has never came on and has been checked for working operation. I recently had the car taken to a dealer to be put on a diagnostics machine where there they said they can't even say what is wrong, they said something is wrong but for the machine to not even pick it up something isn't right. All fluids have been checked by myself and the mechanic and they have maintained proper level. We have reason to believe maybe a sensor or just to reset the whole car all I know is this is costing me lot of money. I wanted to report this case. This may be a start to a recall on the car. If the dealer and the computer can't find it maybe you can help?

- Thompson, MO, USA

problem #10

Jun 192003

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I leased the 2002 sebring convertable lxi on Sept 9, 2002 since then I have been having on going problems with the air bag light since June 2003 to this date May 2005. Still having the problem. They have replaced the seat belt tensioner 3 times N the driver side and 2 on the passenger side, along with the seat belt buckle, set belt extracter. The dealership keeps replacing these parts but every other month it seems that the air bag like is still coming on. Amongst other issues I am having with this vehicle such as the steering pulling left to right or when I excel {4 times this has happened} the steering spins 3-4 times completely around I have been complaining about this since June 2003. The transmission is bucking, slipping, and/or sticking into gear, I have been complaning about this issue to the dealership since February 2004. To this day May 15, 2005 all the above complaints are still an issue.

- Westwood, NJ, USA

problem #9

Jan 152005

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,000 miles
Transmission had a minor leak then one day the car would not engage in drive for several seconds. Once the car was moving it had a very sudden and harsh down shift when the vehicle slowed to a stop. Now the whole transmission is being replaced on a 2002 Sebring sedan with 28000 miles.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #8

Jun 152004

Sebring

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Revving of engine when car started. Tachometer and speedometer redline. Car will not shift into gear. Need to turn off and restart. Taken to dealer. No codes found. Has happened 4 times in 2 months.

- Bolingbrook, IL, USA

problem #7

Jun 012003

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The vehicle's engine seized while driving. The vehicle had a continuing brake problems and would die while in motion. The consumer requested reimbursement. When the vehicle was first purchased at 92 miles, there was a problem with low oil. The consumer was advised that the transmission leaked. The vehicle would continue to lose power and the oil light had come back on. Other problems were: The brake light was intermittent, the front end would vibrate, the brakes squealed, there was slight leak at the proportioning valve, the top was pulled down and the radio had become inoperative, the side mirrors and the power locks had become inoperative, and the brake pads had worn down to 2/32.

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #6

Sep 102004

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,800 miles
While the vehicle was in the park position on a slight grade, the vehicle rolled backwards, resulting in a collision. There were no fatalities, but there was extensive damage in the amount of $3,000.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #5

Nov 202003

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
When shifting from park into reverse vehicle wont move, but from park to neutral vehicle would go forward. Dealer inspected vehicle several times and replaced some sensors. But problem recurred.

- Rochester, PA, USA

problem #4

Jun 022002

Sebring 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,421 miles
Since I bought my car 4/13/03 I have had brake system problems on 6/2002,9/23,11/27-3/2003,5/03,9/03,9/18,10/01/03,10/07/03 each time adjustments, repairs, replacement have been done. Now since 9/23/03 along with the brake problem that still existing I am experiencing very a heavy, vibration this is felt when the car is at a standstill car can either be in neutral or park and it feels as though there is a vibrating mechanism attached to your car. The service department says they couldn't detect anything on their scanning device.

- Rialto, CA, USA

problem #3

Jan 012002

Sebring

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I am currently driving a 2002 Chrysler Sebring lxi and everytime we reach about the speed of 50-65 mph the transmission sounds like the old bat mobile. It whines and has a real loud wind whistle. Can you tell me if you have recieved any other complaints about this year and model vehicle? I have connected the dealership where I purchased it and they said that is normal sounds. I have also taken it to another dealership and recieved the same response. We can't believe that a company would make a car that has a bad wind noise coming from the tranmission.it has started slipping on occasions and when we come to a stop it shifts hard and again the dealership said that is normal.

- Empire, CA, USA

problem #2

Dec 272002

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
When slowing down, transmission jumps very hard when going into 1st gear. When driving 45 to 55 mph, when hitting a bump in the road, there is a thump in the passenger side front. Not consistlently, but enough to cause concern.

- Warsaw, IN, USA

problem #1

Mar 202002

Sebring

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Was driving vehicle between 50-60mph and transmission downshifted on its own. Took vehicle to dealer and was informed "smart car" has to learn driving habits of owner.

- Laurel, MD, USA

Not what you are looking for?