If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

3.2

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,898 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chrysler Sebring engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chrysler Sebring:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chrysler Sebring Owner Comments

problem #20

Jun 222011

Sebring

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler Sebring. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled while driving at various speeds. The vehicle operated as normal after restart. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and they were unable to diagnose a failure. The battery was replaced, but the failure continued. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 65,000.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #19

Mar 172011

Sebring 4-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
My was making a loud knocking sounds while increasing speed, then sound would go away. Took it to dealership an they stated I didn't have any problems with my car. June 2011, my car started stalling while at stop light, now my car is wanting to stall while I'm driving around 50mph. Dash lights also flicker on and off. Chrysler dealership states they can't find anything wrong with my car since it's not giving them codes but recommend I replace the engine. I've been reading reviews of the same problems with this car company and there cars. How are they not responsible for all these motors people are having to replace, I think they should have to fix these problems an not get away with it.

- Salem, OR, USA

problem #18

Mar 022009

Sebring 4-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
2007 Chrysler Sebring electronic throttle control light comes on and car cannot accelerate stalls almost to almost to a complete stop... only turning off the car resets this light for who knows how long it just happens and is very dangerous...this problem needs to be addressed before somebody gets seriously hurt...

- Weldon , CA, USA

problem #17

Sep 132010

Sebring 6-cyl

  • 64,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2007 Chrysler Sebring touring. I bought it used in June 2010. Starting in Sep 2010 it started having issues, (I.e., engine shut off at low speed or when gas tank was at 1/4 tank, engine would act as if was going to stall when sitting at a stop sign/light then would lurch forward suddenly, and brake light kept coming on). I had the O2 sensors replaced, engine light went out for a couple weeks and came back on. Mechanic then changed wiring harness. This time light was out for about a month or 2 but now will not turn off even though the mechanic couldn't find anything wrong with either the sensors or the wiring harness. Now they suggest replacing the engine brain which at this time is financially impossible for me. I took the car to a Chrysler dealer shop when the airbag light cam on and I told the guy about all the issues. He pulled up the history and informed me the car's former owner had same shut off issues at 16K miles and had a new engine installed at 20K miles. Car is having the same issues that should have been resolved with new engine being put in. I've also had to have the brakes replaced after owning the car less than a year. I'm afraid the car shutting off on me is going to get me killed as I've just nearly missed getting into 2 accidents when the engine has shut off on me.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #16

Sep 012011

Sebring

  • 67,500 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler Sebring. The contact stated that the vehicle would stall intermittently when driving at various speeds or when accelerating from a complete stop. Once restarted, the vehicle would perform as normal. The dealer was notified of the failure and the contact was awaiting a service appointment for diagnosis and repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The current mileage was 69,000 and the approximate failure mileage was 67,500.

- Port St Lcuy, FL, USA

problem #15

Oct 162009

Sebring 6-cyl

  • 46,250 miles
My Sebring stalls when I come to a stop or am traveling at low speeds. The car has stalled in the middle of intersections and is obviously very dangerous to drive. The car additionally lunges at low speeds or when I accelerate. The seatbelt light on the dash goes on and off sporadically. I have determined through personal investigation the wire connection for the seatbelt light is under the driver seat and it doesn't always make a good connection. When the connector is touched the light will go off and on so that tells me that the connector has a short and is faulty. A plastic part in the gear shift has broken and made it impossible to shift without manipulation with a screw driver, and there is a loud clicking sound that comes out of the air condition vent/duct when the ac is turned on. I have owned many vehicles through the years and this is the first car that I have purchased that I am actually scared for my family and I to drive anywhere. I will never again purchase a Chrysler, but not just because of the above but because they have not gained my trust. This company should try a new campaign of trying to gain the trust of the consumer, and they could start by accepting the fact that they have many faulty vehicles that need to be recalled and repaired, this is not only good sound advice this would be good business practice.

- Lufkin, TX, USA

problem #14

Jul 102011

Sebring

  • 76,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Since we've owned the car its stalls out a few times a week and more likely when its raining, whenever U go to stop or sit it stalls out, the worst was we were at a yellow light and the car stalled in the intersection, I've been reading other complaints online and im not the only one with this problem and the dealership has no clue how to fix the issue.

- Marmora, NJ, USA

problem #13

May 022011

Sebring

  • miles
2007 Chrysler Sebring. Consumer states on numerous occasions the vehicle stalled without reason while driving, slowing down or making a turn.

- Beverly Hills, CA, USA

problem #12

Sep 302010

Sebring

  • 65,000 miles
The car had a new set of spark plugs and a transmission service at 60,000 miles. The car was being driven at freeway speeds when it lost power and then was stuck in second gear. It was towed to a Chrysler dealer where they serviced the transmission believing that was the problem, because the obdii system reported no current or stored error codes. They returned the car and stated that it was running rough and should have a tune up. The car was driven about 180 miles at freeway speeds when it again lost power and was stuck in second gear. This time the car was driven along the shoulder to the next off ramp at which time the check engine light came on. The car was towed to another Chrysler dealer where the obdii codes showed that the catalytic converter and an oxygen sensor had failed. The dealer replaced these items. Fuel economy dropped from about 30 mpg to about 23 mpg. The local dealer looked into this problem but said that the obdii system is reporting no current or stored codes so there is nothing they can do per the factory, they also have noted that the engine is running roughly. Chrysler was contacted about the problem and agreed to refund the cost of the transmission service because it was not the problem. I mailed all the copies of the requested paperwork to them but they never responded back and have not paid.

- Escondido, CA, USA

problem #11

Jan 022011

Sebring 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Car stalls, engine stutters and hesitates when at a stop, turning or going around a bend at 30 mph. When initially stepping on the gas rpms will drop then surge (~2000 RPM). Almost hit a car in a parking lot on one occasion because of a surge. Also, the car stuttered and jerked on the highway. Chrysler dealership reflashed PCM on one visit and ran diagnostics on another visit and found nothing wrong with the car.

- Smithton, PA, USA

problem #10

Dec 102010

Sebring

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Windows fogging, maple syrup smell when heater is on, engine coolant draining inside cabin. Heater core replacement.

- Acton, MA, USA

problem #9

Jul 092010

Sebring

  • 57,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler Sebring. While driving 45 mph she smelled rubber burning and thought that it was coming from a truck stop. The contact continued to drive and noticed smoke. The vehicle was inspected to determine where the smoke was coming from when she reached her destination. She left her vehicle at a friends home and later received a call from a police officer stating that the vehicle was on fire. The police report indicated that the fire started in the engine. The vehicle was destroyed. A fire department report was filed. The approximate failure and current mileages were 57,000.

- Augusta, GA, USA

problem #8

May 292008

Sebring

  • 5,074 miles
While driving the car will stall either at a stop or while moving. The airbag light on dash continues to come on. The flashers randomly start flashing while driving. The radio will change stations on it own. The brakes have been replaced or repaired 3 time in the first 25,000 miles. The suspension makes a grinding noise upon turning. I have had the car in at the dealership service dept at least a dozen times. Radio has been replaced but continues to change on its own. Airbag switch has been replaced, but continues to appear on dash. Service states that computer cannot read errors, and puts car on road test.

- Hummelstown, PA, USA

problem #7

Jan 302010

Sebring 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2007 Chrysler Sebring touring. Consumer states engine fire and inspector found no indication of a manufacturing defect that caused or contributed to the incident.

- Cocoa Beach, FL, USA

problem #6

Jan 252010

Sebring

  • 21,000 miles
This is a 2007 Chrysler Sebring touring sedan with 2.7 L "flex-fuel" engine purchased used (one prior owner in wi) on 05-22-09 with 31554mi. According to "carfax" the original owner had regular timely maintenance done. On 07-11-08 at 21199mi the first complaint was made at purchasing dealership about engine "stutter" or "jitter" at 30mph particularly when engine was cold. No record as to what was serviced. On 10-24-08 at 25276mi the egr valve was replaced per a Chrysler service bulletin. Then on 01-30-09 at 27988mi concerning the same sort of "stutter" or jitter" complaint, a "co-Pilot" was attached for 1 month which recorded no faults. The vehicle was offered for sale on 05-14-09. I have noted the same sort of problem since my purchase of the vehicle on 05-22-09. When coming to a slow or stop, particularly if the engine is cold (but not always), the RPM rises to over 2000, the car "surges" ahead until I press the brake harder. (this condition causes a much higher chance of a collision with another stopped car, pedestrian in a crosswalk or a stationary object - like a light post in a parking lot.) sometimes the engine will stop after this and require restarting. One time I observed the "service engine soon" lamp come on for about 5 seconds after the "surge". I had the car in to the dealership (Toyota) where I purchased the vehicle concerning the "surging" problem. They checked for service codes (including soft codes) and found none. They were unable to proceed from there and suggested to take the vehicle to a Chrysler dealer to continue diagnosis. This will be done at the earliest available time.

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #5

Apr 292009

Sebring

  • 42,000 miles
I have 2007 Chrysler Sebring that stalls on me while I am driving. Just last week I was yielding onto I95 and that car shut off, it almost cause a very serious accident. I have taken it to the dealer ship and they claim that there is nothing wrong with it. I know there is something wrong because I have read alot of consumer reviews on this car and alot of people have the same issue.

- Croydon, PA, USA

problem #4

Dec 202008

Sebring

  • 44,000 miles
Chrysler Sebring (2007) stalls or lurches forwards, generally while the car is stopped. Occurs a few times per month (~3) for several months. The car was taken to dealership, where problem was observed; however no fix was available from dealer. Safety concern is that when the car lurches forwards it will hit a pedestrian crossing an intersection or hit the car ahead of it.

- San Leandro, CA, USA

problem #3

Dec 102008

Sebring

  • 18,132 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler Sebring. The contact stated that the vehicle began to lose acceleration power. Occasionally, when the vehicle is placed into drive, the engine revs and the speedometer displays 50 mph. While driving approximately 15 mph, the vehicle slowly gains speed until it reaches the speed indicated on the speedometer. Occasionally, the speedometer will only read 40 mph; however, the contact feels that the vehicle is traveling much faster. Shortly after the incident, the vehicle began operating normally. She scheduled an appointment with the dealer, but they have yet to inspect the vehicle. The current and failure mileages were 18,132.

- Yonkers, NY, USA

problem #2

Jul 012008

Sebring

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owned a 2007 Chrysler Sebring. When the contact stopped at the traffic light, the vehicle shut down. A few minutes later, the vehicle began to smoke under the hood and burn. The manufacturer took a report. They sent an investigator to the tow yard, but the contact has not yet received a response from the manufacturer concerning the outcome of the investigation. Chrysler recently mailed her a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 07V473000 (engine and engine cooling system: Radiator assembly). The VIN was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 30,000.

- Columbia, TN, USA

problem #1

May 072008

Sebring

  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler Sebring. The contact received a recall notice for the tire pressure measuring system. The dealer stated that the parts were unavailable and could take 6-8 weeks to repair the recall. There has been no failure to date. The current mileage was 14,000.

- Matawan, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?