Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
74,474 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chrysler Sebring engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chrysler Sebring:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chrysler Sebring Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #25

Jul 172015

Sebring 6-cyl

  • 128,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Problem: 2008 Chrysler Sebring engine, transmission & electrical problems. I began financing in Nov 2013 from Toyota of riverside, 1yr and 3 months later on Feb 17, 2015 while I was exiting the freeway, my engine light came on, my car completely shutdown, I had no brakes, I was fearful and held onto the steering wheel coasted near an arco station. I was thankful I did not hit anyone or have an accident. I called aaa who towed me to Toyota of riverside. [xxx] the service manager told me I needed to replace the timing belt and the engine for $1500. It took about 3 weeks for the engine to be repaired, my car was returned on March 12, 2015. However, I noticed when I received my car back the cruise control lever near the steering wheel was hanging loosely and was not attached. Weeks, later the electronic speed control light and the engine light came on along with problems shifting. I sent pictures of my engine light being on from my phone to [xxx] and [xxx] and went to see [xxx] who told me the transmission need repair and it would cost $3000 to $4000." I went to moss brothers riverside, [xxx] on 09/17/15 did a diagnostic. He told me there is an auto transmission shift lever recall and a spring hook retainer he can replace for free. He also replaced a stop lamp switch binds and reprogrammed the PCM for $290. I picked up my car on 9/22/15 it continued to stall, returned it to moss brothers [xxx] said it may be a transmission problem before we can begin we will need $1690 up to $4480 to repair it. Ihad my car towed to manuel auto center, he replaced my left tie rods for $275 in the past. He completed a diagnostic, replaced solenoid package for $800. However, my driver side window would not roll down, electrical problems and negligence at his shop. He was willing to pay $275 to repair. My car is unsafe. Thank you [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- San Bernardino, CA, USA

problem #24

Oct 012015

Sebring

  • 65,847 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Sebring. While stopped at a red light, the vehicle accelerated independently and the engine stalled without warning. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 08V152000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 65,847.

- Lake Mary, FL, USA

problem #23

Oct 172015

Sebring

  • 120,000 miles
As I was driving 70 mph on the highway, the throttle control warning light came and the car begin to loss power and hesitate. I pulled off the road and it began to stall and jump. The car was losing power and I could not go past 45 mph. Another problem I am having is the instrument panel light went off and I cannot see the gas gauge, speedometer, etc. The vehicle is currently sitting in the parking lot until I can get it towed to be checked and/or fixed. It currently runs, but I am afraid to drive it.

- Budd Lake, NJ, USA

problem #22

Aug 142015

Sebring

  • 96,291 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Sebring. While driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle independently decelerated and the electronic throttle control warning light illuminated. When the accelerator pedal was depressed, the vehicle failed to accelerate over 25 mph. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 96,291.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #21

Oct 102014

Sebring

  • 112,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Sebring. The contact stated that while driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle stalled as the electronic throttle control warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 112,000.

- Mckinney, TX, USA

problem #20

Sep 252014

Sebring

  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Sebring. The contact stated while at stopped, the vehicle accelerated independently causing the vehicle to crash into a ditch while attempting to avoid another vehicle. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for a diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 92,000.

- Hilton Head Island, SC, USA

problem #19

Apr 172014

Sebring

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Sebring. The contact stated that the vehicle suddenly accelerated when the brake pedal was depressed. The vehicle resumed normal operation once it was turned off and restarted. The failure occurred multiple times. In addition, the windshield wipers activated independently and the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Rutland , VT, USA

problem #18

Aug 012012

Sebring 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
While at a stop light, the car engine and RPM increased. Luckly I had my foot on brake. Had the car looked at no problem found. Including a major tune up. It has happened several more times, including when my daughter was driving my car. This time I had another person in the car when it happened last month. It occured again while at a red light the car was in drive and my foot was on the brake. It rpms went up and it cause the car to jump forward bearly missing the car infront of me.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #17

Mar 112014

Sebring 4-cyl

  • 132,876 miles
This has happened on several different occasions--becoming more frequent and lasting longer duration each time. While traveling various speeds (can and has happened anywhere from 5mph-60mph) if any pressure is applied to accelerator after breaking no matter the speed all power is lost to the car a red lighting bolt light appears on the dash and the RPM's will stay between 4,000-5,000. Each time having to pull off to the side of the road and attempt for it to restart (depends on if it will or not--usually takes it a while). Will get up to speed again and if I have to brake for any reason or even slow down just a little without apply the brakes it can completely loose power. Also do not have any dash lights when the head lights are turned on. They appear in the center console but went out in 2009 just after I bought the car, and after several estimates in the thousands of dollars it remains with no lights (so in no way can you see the speed or anything else on the dash after dark.)

- Vandalia, IL, USA

problem #16

Dec 302013

Sebring 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Sebring. The contact was driving 55 mph when the vehicle suddenly began to lose power and would not accelerate. The contact stated that the electronic throttle control malfunction warning light was also illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 80,000...updated 02-28-14 updated 3/19/2014

- Turtle Lake, WI, USA

problem #15

Sep 012013

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 103,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Sebring. The contact stated that while driving 4 mph, the vehicle accelerated independently and crashed into a safety rail. The driver sustained injuries to her arm and neck while the passenger suffered injuries to her chest. A police report was filed. The vehicle was repaired. The failure and current mileage was 103,000.... updated 11/25/13 updated 12/05/2013

- Dillon, SC, USA

problem #14

Jun 152013

Sebring

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Sebring. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, the vehicle stalled with the illumination of the throttle control light. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 110,000.

- Cubington , LA, USA

problem #13

May 212013

Sebring

  • miles
The electronic throttle light is continuously coming on even after repairs. The car will ride find and then all of a sudden cut off with no warning other than the light appearing. Also it stalls and you can be in the middle of traffic which is definitely safety hazardous. I've notice that this problem has occurred to thousand and to my surprise no recall.

- Burnham, IL, USA

problem #12

Apr 162013

Sebring

  • 114,200 miles
I was driving in stop and go traffic and started speeding up due to less traffic. I was going 60 mph when my car stopped accelerating and started making this weird revving noise (the kind when you are parked or in neutral), my warning light came on for the electrical panel. I then pulled over because it was not going any faster than 35 mph. Just letting it sit it was making those same noises. I turned the car off and restarted it. The light when away and it was able to drive again. It had a little issue getting back up to speed but overall it went back to normal.

- Escondido, CA, USA

problem #11

Jul 162012

Sebring 4-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
I lost power to my speed, my brakes failed. I was able to stop the car with my emergency brake. Once stopped I turned off my vehicle. Once I restarted the vehicle, the light did not come on however I still did not have the speed. My transmission would not shift from 3rd to overdrive. It would stay at 3000 RPM at 55 mph. My car normally runs @ 2500rpm or less up to 60mph. I do not know what I need to deo to have this issue resolved. This is my second time experiencing this with this vehicle. I also have a 2009 Chrysler PT CRUISER and owned a 2006 Chrysler Sebring and never have experienced this.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #10

Jul 182012

Sebring

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Sebring. The contact stated that while attempting a left turn, the vehicle stalled and lost power. The electronic throttle control light was illuminated. The contact was able to restart the vehicle approximately 45 minutes later. The failure was resolved momentarily. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer or a repair shop for inspection or repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate current and failure mileage was 80,000.

- Littleton, CO, USA

problem #9

Jun 062012

Sebring

  • 89,660 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Sebring. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to accelerate over 25 mph after the accelerator pedal was depressed. The electronic throttle sensor illuminated during the failure. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer and the manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 89,660 and the current mileage was 89,663.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #8

Mar 312012

Sebring 4-cyl

  • 85,700 miles
My wife was driving our 2008 Chrysler Sebring at roughly around 45mph when the (etc) electronic throttle control light came. She lost control of the vehicle momentarily, had to use the emergency brake to slow the car down. She shut the care off, went to start it back up again and it wouldn't do anything, keep in mind she had our 2 children in the vehicle also. After a couple of tries to start the vehicle, it finally started again, no more light! she had told me what the car was doing, so I drove it for a day, and nothing happened at all. Later that night she went to the store, and it did it again!! this time it stayed on and started blinking. I drove the car, and it wont go over 20mph, and idles really rough, also idles high, between 1500-2100rpm. I am writing this because after doing some research on this it seems as though there is more than a couple thousand vehicles that have done the same thing. (the 07' to 08' Chrysler Sebring) it put my family in danger, this is why I am posting this complaint. Please look into this.

- Orting, WA, USA

problem #7

Jun 172011

Sebring 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
A throttle control warning light appears on the dash off and on at intermittent times the car loses power and dies without warning. It has died on the highway several times so far, but will restart after a few minutes. It seems to happen when the fuel is less than half way full more than any other time and/or when traveling uphill. RPM dial on the car jumps erratically just before the throttle warning light appears. Problem has not occurred while traveling at less than 45 mph. Afraid that the problem will cause an accident, if it happens when another vehicle is traveling behind me.

- Espanola, NM, USA

problem #6

Nov 102011

Sebring

  • miles
My instrumental cluster lights went out so I can not see anything at night. My speed control/cruise control is no longer functioning.

- Fort Bliss, TX, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?