Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
37,074 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chrysler Sebring steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chrysler Sebring:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chrysler Sebring Owner Comments

problem #11

Aug 032015

Sebring

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2008 chyrsler seabring engine stop on highway and steering wheel lock. The reason why is a chyrsler defected part (tipm) which is total intergrated power module. Chyrsler have a lawsuit on them about this problem. My car is at the dealer for repair. Cost $1100 which I have to pay. This problem should be fix for free under recall. Also horn blowing, door window moving, trunk opening, interior light not coming on. It would help I you could contact the dealer concerning my issue. Contact information: Ginn Chrysler Jeep Dodge,5190 us-278, covington Georgia 30014,770-786-2271 tim dabney timd@gelginn.com (business manager) zack thackston (service advisor ).

- Covington , GA, USA

problem #10

Sep 032011

Sebring 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
I reported these problems back in September 2011 after I was involved in a car accident on the freeway. On September 03, 2011, I was driving on South I-43 freeway. When I attempted to make a lane change, my car went out of control due to steering failure. I could not steer my car, my steering wheel was very loose and there was no connection between the steering wheel and the vehicle itself. I was struck by another driver that hit my car on the passenger-side by the rear lower side panel. No airbag deployed. My car slammed up against the concrete wall barrier on the passenger-side of my car. I have side airbags, airbags in my seats, underneath my dash, in my steering wheel, one on the passenger's side above the glove compartment, and in all four window seals of my car and not one airbag deployed. I have adr system in my car that supposedly can record seconds of activity at the time of the accident. What happened to that information? I am still experiencing problems with my care that is definitely a safety issue such as; continuing replacing tie rod and the stabilizer bar loose. This problem started first having problems trying to turn the key in the ignition switch to crank the car and at times fearing that I might break the key in the ignition switch and having to really wiggle the steering wheel to get the switch to turn over. Pictures that were taken by my insurance company revealed a lot of rusty old looking parts underneath the car when in fact the motor of the car still looks new. My car was only two years old with a little over 17,000 miles at the time of purchase in October 2010. When I reported these all of these things in September 2011, I was told that there was no recalls on my car and I doubt if this car has any airbags in it. I learned after, I had the accident in my car, that the car had been wrecked and had possible frame damage at the time of purchase.

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #9

Aug 232010

Sebring

  • 46,813 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler sterling. The contact stated that while traveling at various speeds, there was a loss in power steering control which caused the vehicle to swerve off the road. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where the entire front tie rod assembly was replaced. The failure recurred twice. The vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign id number 11V193000 (steering), however the remedy did not correct the problem. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 46,813....updated 02-28-14 updated 3/14/2014

- Russellville, AR, USA

problem #8

Aug 012013

Sebring 4-cyl

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Recall #H07 on 12/30/2013 I went to hurley Chrysler Dodge deland, Florida. The service advisor [xxx] request a fee of $115 dollar for the electronic diagnosis on this recall. [xxx] stated it was necessary to determine other technical issues on the car that was not necessary the tire pressure monitoring system. Deland aamco serve and repair the car on 12/26/2013 for a cost of $1185.77, however the tire pressure light still on. I was driving to work when the car (engine)suddenly stop. This situation had happened three times. Also sometime the car smell like burn wire. I just request an appointment with your national people at the dealership as soon as possible before any mayor accident can happened to me. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Deland, FL, USA

problem #7

Oct 032011

Sebring 6-cyl

  • 19,000 miles
Bought certified used 2008 Chrysler Sebring convertible 7/11 with 18,000 miles. Fall, 2011 radio stuck on one am channel regardless of selecting am, fm, or sirius. Dealer offered to sell me new radio. After radio not used for a week, started to function okay again. July, 2012 headlight on message and alarm upon opening door, daytime, no key in ignition, no headlights on, interior dash display lights on but dim like for nighttime. 12/12 interior lights would not shutoff automatically when I exited car, switch not in on position. Ongoing: Auto brightness display on radio does not work. Top down on key fob does not work. Winter, 2013 stalled twice at red lights, also had clunking noise when turning. Dealer said steering rack was worn and leaking and had to be replaced (35,000 miles) and was not under warranty. Dealer also cleaned throttle plate and fuel injectors for stalling problem. Even after this service car continued to stall, sometimes catching itself and speeding up which causes car to surge forward. As of today, 8/17/13 car has 40,050 miles on it and I wonder what's next.

- East Greenwich, RI, USA

problem #6

Jun 262013

Sebring 6-cyl

  • 97,000 miles
So far my 2008 Sebring has turned off while driving twice. I was slowing down from 30mph for a stop light and it turned off and was luckily able to utilize the brakes if not I would have rear ended the vehicle in front of me, but as for the steering, it was unresponsive. However, I turned my car back on as if nothing happen until the second time it stalled while turning into my street. Same issue occurred (no steering, but brakes were ok.)car stalls once again good thing my car turns back on immediately. Its was dangerous only for the fact that oncoming traffic would be unable to see me stalled there because road forms a hill over the canal, since soon after I went passed over the canal my street entrance is more or less 20ft from the canal, it could be a blind spot.

- Alton, TX, USA

problem #5

Jan 122012

Sebring

  • 59,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Sebring. While driving 45 mph, the contact attempted to decelerate and applied the brakes but the vehicle did not respond. The failure caused the steering wheel to seize and the contact was unable to maneuver the vehicle, crashing into the median strip. The vehicle was destroyed and the air bags did not deploy. The contact and a passenger were injured as a result. A police report was filed. The manufacturer was contacted and the contact was awaiting a response. The failure mileage was 59,000.

- Oak Forest, IL, USA

problem #4

Sep 032011

Sebring 6-cyl

  • 37,500 miles
On September 30, 2010, I purchased a 2008 Chrysler Sebring from a dealership in Plymouth, wi. The car had 19,204 miles on it. The car also had Bridgestone turanza tires. I took my car into tires plus for an oil change at 22,700 miles on the dash. I was told by the technician that I needed new tires, because my tires had 3/32 of tread on them. On January 28, 2011, there was a recall on the car so gandrud installed a auto trans shift lever interlock spring.they also checked tire pressure and set tire pressure. A about a month later, I started having trouble with getting my key out of the ignition switch. Having to wiggle the steering column to get it out. I took the car back to gandrud to have them check it and they told me nothing was wrong with it. On May 11, 2011, I took my car in for another oil change and tire rotation. Gandrud told me I had 4/32 tread on the tires at 30,026 miles. On June 24, 2011, I took it back to gandrud for another oil change at 33,572 miles on the dash and was told I had 4/32 of tire tread left on the tires. It was not two months later, I moved to milwaukee, wi. On August 18, 2011, amato Hyundai was running a special for $12 an oil change. I went got an oil change and the technician there told me I needed to get new tires for the car. He stated at this time I had less than 2/32 of tread on my tire. I got a quote from the service guy, decided I can beat that price.set-up an appointment with tires plus for four tires an alignment. Unfortunately, I did not make it to get my new tires on the car. On September 03, 2011, I was involved in a car accident on the freeway. I was traveling in far left lane, maneuvering to the middle lane when my steering wheel and my tires were no longer functioning together. I almost lost my life that day, but god so fit for me to live to tell about it. It was the most shocking day of my life. I thank god I am here to make a complaint. These dealerships can't continue to scam us this way. It's not worth our life.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #3

Sep 032011

Sebring

  • 37,500 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Sebring. The contact stated that while attempting change lanes at 55 mph, the steering became loose causing the wheels to seize. The contact lost control of the vehicle and crashed into another vehicle. The vehicle came to a stop when it then crashed into the median. The contact sustained injuries to the neck and arm. The vehicle was towed to the local auto body garage but was not repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 37,500.

- Milwaukee , WI, USA

problem #2

Mar 162009

Sebring

  • miles
I purchased a 2008 Chrysler Sebring in August 2007, from darcars brand new, at the time of purchase Chrysler was aware of the recall 6months prior and made no attempt to inform me. My car is currently at the dealership being serviced. I took the car in because suddenly the car begin to make a horrible noise, that I described to the customer service representative as a noisy fan belt, that whinnied while driving, but noisiest while in park, odilimg at the stop light. I took the car in and they pretended not to have a clue, and begin to inquire about oil changes and other suggested maintenance, I showed the writer and mechanic my most current maintenance receipt printout along with the previous dates, so they backed away from the indirect accusations that it was possibly my fault. The power steering pump is defected, the pulley froze, and the alternator. The car has only been used to Transport my children to and from school and social events, and my transportation to and from work, grocery stores and things of that nature. My mileage is 31,418. They are behaving as if they don't have a clue, but after looking into several recall links, I am appalled that they knowingly sold me a lemon at regular price, with no discount. I have supporting documents. I only received on recall notice, but being the driver and experiencing the problems, there should have been recalls for recall id 07V473000, and recall dated for April 2, 2008 Sebring electrical system;wiring recall id 35950. Also the recall titled engine and engine cooling;cooling system radiator id#55084. The alternator is an electrical operating piece, it also tie into the recall titled "tire pressure monitor, because one of the consequences include stalling, and battery corrosion, and stopping without notice, which is also caused by a defected alternator. I drive two school age children, two grandchildren, 1month, and 13months old. Chrysler put us all in danger knowingly. But still to date acts as if they do not have a clue.

- Washington, Dc, DC, USA

problem #1

Aug 192008

Sebring 4-cyl

  • 4,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Sebring. The contact's vehicle has less than 4,000 miles and has been at the dealer for repair more than four times. The front end of the vehicle has been rattling and shaking due to the steering rack and pinion. The rack and pinion was not bolted down properly after the last repair. She notified the manufacturer and dealer in an attempt to get another vehicle, but they refused to take her vehicle back. The vehicle is currently at the dealer. The failure mileage was less than 4,000. Updated 09/10/08 the dealer replaced the power steering pump. Updated 09/17/08.

- Lineville, AL, USA

Not what you are looking for?