Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
74,560 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Chrysler Town & Country seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #42

Apr 012016

Town & Country

  • 1,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bag light comes on while driving and stays on a couple of minutes and then goes off and comes on later. This has been happening for a couple of months

- Weirton, WV, USA

problem #41

Oct 172014

Town & Country

  • 90,000 miles
Faulty clock spring. Same symptoms as recall #04V480000 for Chrysler mini-vans mfd. Through 08-31-2000. Although mine is a 2001 model, it was mfd. Soon there after Nov.. 2000. Why no recall for the '01? again same symptoms: Air bag light on nearly all the time, horn doesn't work, steering wheel radio controls do not work. A faulty clock spring I'm told. Vehicle exhibits these symptoms across all driving conditions.

- Collinsville, AL, USA

problem #40

Nov 012015

Town & Country

  • miles
The air bag light stays on after I start the car. Vehicle has approximately 95,000 miles. The technician scan shows fault code for "driver squib #1 circuit open" and he is telling me it is a clockspring fault. There was a recall for the clockspring in 2004, however when I called the dealer he said that my VIN is not included. How did Chrysler decide that my vehicle should not be included in the recall?

- Dearborn, MI, USA

problem #39

Aug 132014

Town & Country

  • 180,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated and the horn failed to operate. The failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The contact was advised that the clock spring needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 180,000.

- Ferguson , NC, USA

problem #38

Dec 152014

Town & Country

  • 275,000 miles
Air bag light comes on intermittently, not sure if it means it is about to fail, scary stuff, or maybe it will not deploy in the case of an accident, also scary.

- Pismo Beach, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #37

Dec 112014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 170,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chrysler Town and country. While driving 55 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated. In addition, the electrical functions on the instrument panel were not functioning properly. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failures. The failure mileage was 170,000. Updated 2/24/15 the consumer stated air bag light would illuminate and then go out while driving randomly. Updated 03/03/15

- Crystal, MI, USA

problem #36

Aug 232006

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 96,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The airbag disable light periodically comes on. It stays on from a few seconds to several minutes.

- North Canton, OH, USA

problem #35

Oct 222013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 179,000 miles
Critical safety equipment has failed in my vehicle. Most importantly, the horn has stopped working and I am unable to alert other vehicles of possible dangers. Inoperative horn. Inoperative drivers side airbag, inoperative speed control system. These safety feature failures are due to airbag clockspring failure. Chrysler recall or notification code D17. The Chrysler D17 recall (clockspring failure) included Chrysler Town and country vehicles from 1998 through 2000. Although the model year of my vehicle is 2001, the vehicle was manufactured in Aug. 2000. The horn does not work at all. The horn not working is a tremendous safety risk. I am very fearful for my safety and the safety of my family. The airbag not working also puts me and my family at great risk. I believe that my vehicle would be included in this recall because the part has failed and my vehicle was manufactured in 2000. My ultimate concern is the safety of my family and I wish that Chrysler would honor their customers by providing repair for this great safety failure. Please let me know if you have any questions or need further clarification. Thank you.

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #34

Aug 092012

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 145,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where they stated that the clock spring needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the issue and advised the contact that the vehicle was over the warranty mileage limit. The failure mileage was 145,000. Updated 11/16/12 the consumer stated the clock spring is fixed free by recalls with Chrysler vehicles. A southfeild Chrysler advisor requested for the consumer to pay for the vehicle to be repaired. The consumer refused. Updated 11/20/2012

- South Field, MI, USA

problem #33

Mar 012011

Town & Country

  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the air bag light illuminated on an intermittent basis and the horn did not function. The vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop and the contact was informed that the clock spring may need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 125,000.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #32

Dec 012009

Town & Country

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Clockspring has failed twice and replaced twice and is failing again now. Air bag, horn, cruise control and other components fail when clockspring fails. I feel this could be a potential life threatening situation if air bag fails in an accident because of clockspring failure.

- Dolores, CO, USA

problem #31

Sep 032010

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
Failure of clockspring in steering wheel assembly. This failure causes the driver side airbag to quit working. It also causes the horn not to work. Additionally the cruise control also quits functioning. The clockspring electrical ribbon bends in one specific point and over time the ribbon fails completely.

- Bluffdale, UT, USA

problem #30

Sep 022011

Town & Country

  • 180,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated the vehicle was stopped at a traffic stop when the passenger side air bag deployed erroneously without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the contact was told that there was no way to determine why the air bag deployed. The contact spoke with the manufacturer and was told that there was no defect with the air bag. The failure mileage was 180,000.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #29

May 042010

Town & Country

  • 170,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chrysler Town and country. The contact was driving between 40-45 mph when qithout warning the driver side airbag abruptly deployed. The contact sustained minor injury to the left arm and shoulder area. Also, body bruises and cracked ribs. The contact was able to resume operation with caution. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnosis where it had been for a period of three weeks. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired at the time of the complaint. The contact was displeased to know the inspection was such a lengthy process and informed that there was no alternate means of transportation due to the vehicle being equipped handicap accessible. The manufacturer was notified of the malfunction but there was no resolution. The failure mileage was 170,000.

- Lake City, FL, USA

problem #28

Mar 212010

Town & Country

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated the air bag light illuminated and stayed on. The vehicle was taken to a local repair shop where she was informed the entire air bag system needed to be replaced. The contact believed that the salt on the road contributed to the failure and that there should have been a coating that would prevent the salt from damaging the vehicle. The current and failure mileages were approximately 130,000.

- St. Louis Park, MN, USA

problem #27

Jan 262010

Town & Country

  • miles
The airbag light kept going on and off while driving. Checked on the computer and found where this was a problem with Chrysler products from 1994-2000 caused by a faulty clockspring. There was a recall on these models. Mine is a 2001 Chrysler limited minivan with only 66,900 miles on it and cost me $357 to get it fixed. Depending on when this car was manufactured, it could still have the same brand clockspring as the other years.

- Denham Springs, LA, USA

problem #26

May 312008

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 145,400 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chrysler Town and country. While driving at various speeds, the steering column and clock spring failed. The only warnings that were present prior to the failure were the air bag light illuminating and the horn failing to work. The contact believes this is a safety issue because she needs her horn to prevent crashes. The failure has only occurred once. The dealer confirmed that the clock spring failed, which caused the components connected to it to fail as well. The clock spring was replaced at the contact's expense. The current mileage was 145,484 and failure mileage was 145,400. Updated 07/07/08. Updated 07/07/08

- Milford, CT, USA

problem #25

Jan 281981

Town & Country

  • miles
Do to clockspring failure, many people could be hurt or killed because horn, & airbags no working. This is due to bad parts car buyer's shouldn't have to pay for replacement.

- Colerain, NC, USA

problem #24

Feb 202007

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,314 miles
While driving normally, the airbag light comes on. It then turns on then off again while turning at low speeds. This is accompanied by a ticking or popping type sound in the steering wheel. Since this is a family van, I am worried that the air bag will fail or self deploy will driving.

- Holly Springs, NC, USA

problem #23

Oct 182006

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,500 miles
Clock spring, no driver air bag. It seem to be an ongoing problem. Redesign it. 2001 Town & Country. Problem with windows also. Redesign it. Whats the problem with product. Ongoing problems!! thay are still making too much money on replacement parts. Do something!!

- Enioch, UT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?