If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,558 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Chrysler Town & Country steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Jun 212014

Town & Country

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The front brake system gets hot. I loose steering, front tire wobbles and brake starts smoking the hose kinks also.

- Atkinson, IL, USA

problem #20

Apr 272009

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 112,530 miles
Engine will die at a stop sign. Engine will also die while coasting between 30 to 65 mph. There is no warning signs when this occurs. Obviously power steering will be lost instantly. Power brakes will also fade after three applications. After bringing the car to a full stop or placing the gear shift lever to neutral and cranking the engine it will re-start. This is an intermittent problem since 2009. Chrysler dealers are unable to pin point the problem due to lack of engine service codes. Over time they have changed fuel filters, throttle body cleaning, tune ups, crankshaft position sensor replacement, BCM re-learn etc. Internet blogs indicate this is a common problem with Chrysler mini vans. Some technicians attribute it to electrical harness shorting. I wonder if there are any safety recalls or service bulletins issued by Chrysler. As of this date the problem is ongoing, engine stall is a daily occurrence.

- Quincy, IL, USA

problem #19

Dec 012009

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the power steering made a loud winding noise while turning. The vehicle was taken to the local mechanic. The mechanic performed a diagnostic, but the contact could not recall the name of the part that caused the steering failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 75,000 and the current mileage was 86,000. Updated 02/15/12 updated 02/17/12

- Ashtabula , OH, USA

problem #18

Oct 012011

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2003 Chrysler Town and country. Consumer states steering up/down control mechanism stopped functioning the consumer stated when he removed the fairing cover at the back of the steering column, the one-piece slide assembly showed a breaking point. When the control pin reached the grooved area of the toothed assembly, it caused the upper section to spring up, allowing up and down adjustment. When the desired up/down adjustment was reached, the control lever was released, allowing the slide assembly to move back out of the groove where the upper arms engaged the teeth on the lower toothed assembly to the desired position. Due to the controlled pin rotation/migration to the right, possibly caused by lack of lubricant, when the pin became disengaged from the left side of the assembly and when the control lever was engaged to adjust up/down, the control assembly became inoperative and the left side of the slide assembly broke. Now when the control lever is pulled, the broken left side of the slide assembly moves back freely without engaging the toothed assembly. The lubricant that was applied at initial assembly is now dried at critical points, the control arm, pivot point and the grooved slide area between the control pin and the upper section of the toothed assembly.

- Redondo Beach, CA, USA

problem #17

May 232009

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 61,301 miles
2003 Chrysler Town and country power steering assist hose recall notice was never sent to current and original owner, just found out recently that a recall was issued in 2004. The owners vehicle broke down on highway in 2009 due to this problem and owner paid local garage to fix, but vehicle power steering still is making noise and needs to have recall work that owner didn't know about. VIN # was checked on Chrysler website and no recall notice was posted about this recall.

- New Jersey, NJ, USA

problem #16

Sep 212010

Town & Country

  • 101,000 miles
Steering wheel loose, loud pop sound from steering column, loss of steering in vehicle. Vehicle still at dealership for repair.

- Nutley, NJ, USA

problem #15

Jan 062009

Town & Country

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We purchased our 2003 Town and country in January 2008 we were second owners of the vehicle. About a year after purchased noticed the power steering was beginning to stick and become undrivable. Would have to pull over or stop driving all together until the power steering loosened up. It would make a loud noise and not turn at all and as it began to loosen the noise would begin to become less and less, reported this information to the dealer and they said they could not find anything wrong. We are still having this issue and have taken back to the dealer and again same answer they can't find a problem. We have noticed that this occurs when the temperature drops below a certain degree but weather should not be affecting power steering of a car. We have tried to have this issue resolved and are still awaiting to have this problem addressed.

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #14

Jan 012009

Town & Country

  • 65,000 miles
Steering is making a whining sound and started around 65,000 miles. I've owned three Chrysler vans and always seem to have a problem that many other people have and wonder why Chrysler doesn't recall that item or correct that problem with newer models. I think I've finally learned my lesson. No more Chrysler.

- Altoona, PA, USA

problem #13

Jan 152009

Town & Country

  • 58,000 miles
At approx 58000 miles the steering system began to make a whining noise. Power steering fluid levels were at proper levels but it sounded like a dry pump. Then the power steering became erratic. Turning easy then part way through the turn it became very difficult and then without warning easy again. Very dangerous. Eventually the rack had completely failed.

- Rumford, ME, USA

problem #12

Mar 122009

Town & Country

  • 72,012 miles
I went to change the oil on our 2003 Chrysler T&C and noticed a leak which I assumed to be transmission fluid. I took it to the dealer the next day. The transmission was fixed under warranty for the second time, but I'm not complaining about the transmission, yet. The leaking fluid was also part power steering fluid. Imagine my surprise when I was told the van needed a new steering rack and seals at 72,000 miles. Imagine my surprise when they told me the price and that I was paying for it. I hereby add my voice to this probably futile litany of complaints about these steering racks. Fortunately, I happened to notice the leaks before anything went dry. The kicker was that after the rack repair, my wife said it still sounded funny. Ended up taking it back. That was when they decided to do the steering hose recall repair which we never heard about. Of course, the parts were on backorder so my wife and I got to have our schedules screwed up with 3 separate visits to the shop. Chrysler/Fiat - meant to be? ( as in F. I. a. T. if you get my drift...).

- Strongsville, OH, USA

problem #11

Nov 032003

Town & Country

  • 10,450 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This vehicle was purchased new by me on 03/29/03. After 6 months the power steering pump became noisy and the steering would shudder. I brought the vehicle to the dealer on 11/03/03 @ 10,450 miles. Dealer replaced power steering return hose under warranty. The steering is still noisy and still shudders. On 02/02/04 @ 13,083 miles, vehicle brought to dealer due to power steering fluid leak and shuddering. Leak fixed, power steering still noisy and shudders. On 03/25/04 @ 15,622 miles brought to dealer because power steering is noisy and still shudders. Told by dealer that they couldn't find anything wrong. On 03/29/05 @ 30,408 miles brought to dealer because power steering still noisy and shudders. Dealer performed recall D-37, replaced power steering return hose. This did not correct the problem. This problem still continues to this day. I have all the records pertaining to this problem.

- Waterbury, CT, USA

problem #10

Jan 042007

Town & Country

  • 68,173 miles
At low out-side temperature the power steering fails to work properly. When the vehicle is idle and a turn is about to occur, a whining noise is noted and the steering wheel does not respond unless the engine is accelerated, occasionally losing control at turning. This event occurs only in wintertime when temperature drops below 70 degree F and when the vehicle is cold. As out-side temperature increase (about 80 degree F) whining noise goes away and the power steering works perfectly. This is not notice during any other season time. Only at winter time when the out-side temperature drops below 70 degree F and as temperature keeps dropping, it becomes worse. The power fluid is changed periodically to alleviate the whining and the power steering has been replaced about three times. This has been happening since 12/2006.

- Saint Augustine, FL, USA

problem #9

Oct 062008

Town & Country

  • 96,259 miles
I purchased the 2003 town/Chrysler van about 3 months. Ago as soon as I got it it started to make noises, I took the vehicle back to the dealer, they stated it need power steering fluid in which they did put in the van. A couple of days later the van started making noises again. I later got a letter in the mail stating that there was a recall concerning the power steering pump, I also found out there is a recall on the rear back door in which they the Chrysler dealer states they will fix for free. The biggest problem they want fix for free is the steering rack which is leaking. I don't feel that this is my fault and the finance people are hounding me to pay $529 a month on a vehicle that is soon to be out of remission. Is there someone that can help me get out of this deal.

- Hiram, GA, USA

problem #8

Mar 152006

Town & Country

  • 53,000 miles
In March of 2006 we noticed that our Town & Country mini van was steering sloppy, lose and had loud noises coming from the area of the steering rack. After having the car inspect, it was determined that the steer rack had failed with only 53000 miles on it. We contacted Chrysler and was told that it is out of warranty and would not be covered. We had the steering rack replaced and this year in March, the second rack failed, which we also had replaced. In July of this year the third steering rack failed, and I was told by the service manager at the dealership that they have had "problems" with these steering racks.

- Worcester, MA, USA

problem #7

Jun 012008

Town & Country

  • 75,000 miles
Steering rack on my Chrysler Town and country 2003 minivan let go at 75,000 miles and according to our repairman is a defect and should be reported to get a recall. Then I looked online and thousands of other Chrysler and Dodge owners are having the same exact problem.

- Henniker, NH, USA

problem #6

May 282008

Town & Country

  • 41,000 miles
Steering locks up during cold and/or wet conditions. I grinding noise is always present but gets very loud during slow turns. On first dealer visit I was told the ps pump was the problem and there was a recall pertaining to that unit. After the recall service was performed, the same noise was diagnosed as a brake problem. Now that the brake caliperand rotors have been replaced the dealer indicated rack system needs to be replaced. This has become more than a nuisance it is a safety issue when steering become unreliable.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #5

Mar 012008

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
About 6 months ago I started hearing a whine/groan when making sharp turns. It was originally decided that I need a new power steering pump. I took my vehicle in while getting my tires changed it was then switched to I needed a new power steering rack. Every garage told me something different. 1500 dollars later I am with a new power steering pump, reservoir, rack, cooler hose, and fin packed hose and still the whine and shudder and groan while making sharp turns or into parking spaces. I am in tears and feel helpless with this vehicle. It's in gorgeous condition, however totally unaware of if I want it anymore to drive my children around in due to safety concerns. After spending 20K + on a vehicle, where is the customer service and satisfaction??

- North Adams, MA, USA

problem #4

Jan 252007

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 115,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Town and country. While driving at 65 mph the vehicle stalled. The dealer diagnosed the vehicle and installed a transmission carrier, but indicated that the fuel injection pump could also be the cause of the failure. This incident occurred for three weeks and continued to occur after being repaired. The failure occurred when the vehicle was hot or cold. The contact stated that there were no warning indicator lights when the stalling occurred. However, when the vehicle lost power the oil light indicator was lit. The contact felt unsafe driving the vehicle due to the frequent stalling incidents, including one that occurred at 1 am. Updated 2/22/2007 -now the vehicle exhibits a rough start condition. The steering had become very tight and makes noise. The radio will not play and the vehicle cuts off when it is on. Transmission problems. The horn will not sound. Rear wipers stopped working.

- Akron , OH, USA

problem #3

Apr 082006

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
Low moaning noise coming from the front end. More pronounced during cold weather and when making turns. Dealer told me the brakes were bad (after 25K miles). Replaced the brakes and the noise still there. Over time the noise became even louder. Couldn't stand the noise any longer and took the car to the dealer 20 months later at 45K miles. I was told the power steering pump, water pump, serpentine belt, and tensioner needed replacing. The water pump was under warranty. Replaced everything and moaning noise returned the next day (it sounded worse). Dealer drained P.S. fluid and added P.S. fluid conditioner and the noise is now gone. While listening for the moaning noise to return I'm hearing noises I haven't heard before. I wonder if the P.S. fluid was the problem from the beginning. It would have saved me over nine hundred dollars in repair costs.

- Bonaire, GA, USA

problem #2

Aug 212004

Town & Country

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,000 miles
While turning left with the turn signal engaged, the steering wheel locked and failed to return back to the center. The consumer had to physically snatch the steering wheel to move it back. The consumer stated that a considerable amount of force was required to get the steering wheel to move back to the center position causing something to break internally in the steering column.

- Springfield, IL, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?