Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: What the heck happened here? A year after getting our "seal of pretty good" for the 2004, Chrysler turns around and delivers this crapwagon.

This minivan has problems ranging from rack and pinion steering failure to door locks that won't let you out. And trust me, you'll want to get out.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 8
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
74,099 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chrysler Town & Country electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 4 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #75

Dec 142011

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles


This vehicle started with the dash board lights flickering, odometer, gas gauges, and radio going haywire. Just recently it has shut off while driving down the road with my wife and four children, this has happened a total of three times in the middle of a street and in intersections. I have taken vehicle to a Dodge dealer, ran electrical diagnosis test and nothing shows up. They re-solder the cable and it went away for a day, the symptoms resumed. I have replaced battery twice, fixes systems for a day, then goes back to flickering and shutting off. I recently took to a auto electrics spec. At $70 per hour, they found it likely be the battery or BCM. They replaced battery, nothing changed. Auto electrics spec. Said he wanted to change BCM, but said he can't guarantee that will fix it because of the research online. If you look up 2005 Chrysler Town and country dash board flickering on youtube or any general search. Lots of others are dealing with this issue. Problem is, no one has a fix. Many have spent hundreds to thousands of dollars on batteries, computers, alternators, and other attempts at fixing but nothing is working. I have contacted my local Chrysler dealership, but they want to charge $90. Per hour, to look it over. I cannot afford to put anymore money into guessing. Chrysler needs to take a serious look into this before a fatality happens. This is happening to several people, please look it up. Thank you

- Springfield, MO, USA

problem #74

May 052012

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the headlights stopped illuminating while driving 40 mph. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on numerous occasions, but they were unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 85,000 and the current mileage was 108,943. Updated 6/15/12 the consumer stated the headlights would stop working or dim after they were turned on. The consumer stated it has been going on for a couple of years and has become more frequent. There have been approximately 12 incidents where the lights would go out with no warning. The dealer has never been able to isolate the problem. Updated 06/22/12

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #73

Jul 062011

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 119,000 miles
Headlights will sometimes will not turn on until tried several times. This week, while driving about 38 mph, the headlights flashed on/off rapidly 3 times then remained off until I cycled the switch several times. No more occurrences that evening or for 4 more days, then tonight after driving about 5 miles home, I decided to try the switch and found that only about 1 out of 5 tries were successful in getting the headlights to turn on. The serious concern is when the headlights flash and then turn off while I am driving and will not immediately turn on.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #72

Feb 012012

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles


BCM ( body control module) causing major electrical issues. Requested dailmer chysler to investigate. No action taken from consumer assistance. According to web, many documented cases of faulty BCM in Chrysler vehicles.

- Harrisburg , PA, USA

problem #71

Feb 062012

Town & Country

  • miles
My 2005 Chrysler Town & Country has had the headlights fail several times. High beams worked by holding them in the on position, if I tried to turn them on they would go out. After flipping the switch a number of times I got the lights back on. We just lost lights again last night and were able to get them on after flipping the switch a number of times.

- North Platte, NE, USA

problem #70

Jun 112009

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
Component: Electrical system and 1/1 O2 sensor usage multiple O2 replacement through years. Now mechanic is stating pmc may need to be check re programmed. According to mechanic, the majority of repairs for Chrysler electrical issues and O2 sensors issues.

- Harrisburg , PA, USA

problem #69

Mar 102012

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles


Vehicle was traveling at freeway speed when engine sputtered, all warning lights lit up on the dash and the vehicle immediately lost all power/function.

- Jackson, MI, USA

problem #68

Jan 192012

Town & Country

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Town and country. While driving approximately 30 mph all of the warning lights on the instrument panel illuminated. The failure occurred intermittently. The contact later noticed the headlights stopped functioning. The high beam lights and the day time lights continued to function. The failure occurred intermittently. There was an open investigation under NHTSA action number: EA11010 (electrical system exterior lighting:headlights:switch) that may be related to the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 90.000.

- Moore, OK, USA

problem #67

Jul 202011

Town & Country

  • 85,000 miles
I had two Chrysler products, (one minivan and one Ram pickup), with the same concern within a matter of weeks. When turning on the left turn signal, the outside right turn signal flashes. I own a service repair shop and checked my "identifix" data base and see this is a common issue with Chrysler products. The multifunction switch is bad causing this concern.

- Carleton, MI, USA

problem #66

Jun 032009

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
All failures progressed in sequence over a period of time. Door locks failed to lock and or unlock intermittently using power controls. Instrument panel lights and gauges would flicker and pulse on and off, at times just off at night for different periods of time, usually minutes. Headlights would flicker between brights and dims or on and off. Radio lights flicker on or off. Instrument panel indicators light up for minutes at a time and then shut off with apparently nothing wrong. Seat belt audible alarm sounds on occasion when driving for no apparent reason. Cooling fan turns on hours after parking and can only be shut off by removing fuse or draining battery. Engine stalls at high speed abruptly, and turns back on. Transmission disengages and then re-engages after a few seconds. Occasionally the ignition switch will not provide power to the starter until after a few attempts and a few minutes.

- Rockwood, MI, USA

problem #65

Dec 062010

Town & Country

  • 75,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the sliding doors on both sides of the vehicle were defective and would refuse to open. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 09V046000 (electrical system:fuses and circuit breakers) but the VIN was not included in the recall. The dealer and the manufacturer were both notified of the failure, but denied any assistance with repairs to the vehicle. A local mechanic diagnosed that a defective wire would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 75,000 and the current mileage was 84,161.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #64

Sep 302008

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Power locks quit working. Vehicle acts like it was locked up when pressing the remote (horn beeps, lights flash) but locks don't lock. Power doors also quit working causing potential pinch-points. When the doors act up and bounce back open, they sometimes try to re-close but the interference sensor doesn't stop the door from closing on a body part. Can temporarily make it better by removing and replacing the iod fuse, but the problem returns a short time later. Problem began right after warranty expired. Dealer wants 300-800 to attempt to fix the problem but can't guarantee that either component will positively correct the problem. Hundreds of similar complaints on the web with the same issue and no positive corrective action.

- Belmond, IA, USA

problem #63

Oct 312011

Town & Country

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the automatic door locks malfunctioned on each door. The contact was able to lock and unlock the doors with the key but not with the keyless entry remote. The contact removed the fuse which controlled the doors and re-inserted the fuse. The repair only remedied the malfunction temporarily. The vehicle was not further repaired. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Prairie Village , KS, USA

problem #62

Sep 202011

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the headlights would fail without warning. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and the vehicle was taken to a private mechanic who replaced the stalk however, the failure continued to occur. The current mileage was 89,000 and the approximate failure mileage was 90,000. Updated 11/14/11 the consumer also stated the parking lights and dash lights failed as well. The dealer was unable to duplicate the problem. Updated 11/18/11 updated 11/22/11.

- Palmyra, VA, USA

problem #61

Oct 042011

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
Bought my 2005 T&C Chrysler minivan in spring of 2009 with a little over 69,000 miles on it. Few months after purchase the red airbag warning light would occasionally come on while at idle or driving rates. No other problems occurred and it wasn't happening frequently. By the end of the first year of ownership, the driver side back door lock quit working with the automatic locks, and within a year an a half the driver's side window would occasionally not roll up or down and the front dome lights quit working. Replaced an air conditioner part also. Spent $500 on the front end as well that year. When window failure was more frequent I started researching on the internet about problems that have been common in this make and model of van. On Oct 4th 2011, the van failed to start, making a ticking sound, figured battery or alternator. We cleaned battery cables, tried what we could to get it started. The radio and dashlights came on, all the gauges would jump erratically; when we rolled up the passenger windows radio remained on, however when we rolled up the drivers window the radio and all gauges quit working. We ended up jumping it and were able to drive it home. Had the battery tested and tried a brand new battery to make sure that was the only problem. When we put the battery in and started it, flames shot up from the middle section of the van, just infront of the engine. The panic alarm, the horn, and the windshield wipers where all going off. As soon as we got the battery disconnected the fire went out and alarms and wipers went off. I talked to the nearest Chrysler dealership and from explanation of the various problems they said it sounded like several little problems as opposed to one big electrical problem. I have 3 small children and after the experiences I have had with the van and reading others issues online, I cant wait to get rid of this piece.

- Grayville, IL, USA

problem #60

Jun 112011

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
2005 Chrysler Town & Country. First began with the left side door not closing completely. Then the van just cut off while driving! then the cable burned up and there was no positive cable available to replace. Took to dealership. The whole harness had to be replaced for $ 2100! I can't just get a positive cable replacement! no wrecks to this vehicle. Very well taken care of family van. This is dangerous and too expensive! I really want you to reconsider a recall on this part!

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #59

Oct 282010

Town & Country

  • 93,559 miles
It first started by failing to turn on after a few times of trying to turn on the lights on the dash. It then progressed by turning off while driving in the city. It worked for a few months without incident until 2 months ago. After a cold start the lights would come on but after driving it to the store about 3-4 miles away and restarting the car it has failed repeatedly. I believe this to be a serious safety issue. I've had to drive home by manually holding the high beams on to get home. There was almost an accident due to this problem.

- Irmo, SC, USA

problem #58

Dec 062010

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 93,970 miles
Vehicle has intermittant electrical problems, like the headlights going off for no reason while driving at night causing a safety issue and takes several tries to turn on the headlights, the power sliding door will not open except manually, turn signals flash both directions, turn signal lights burn out sooner than would be expected, when first starting the vehicle, it makes a whining noise until you accelerate. All these issues are intermittant. We have replaced the starter, alternator, battery (2 times) and it still exhibits these issues. None of the old parts are available.

- Kokomo, IN, USA

problem #57

Jul 242011

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 80,411 miles
Hello, I have a 2005 Chrysler Town and country touring minivan. Over the past six months I have had problems with the locks and doors not working. I went online and saw that a great many people have this same problem. You need to replace the fuse for ten seconds and then everything is back to normal. This happens on a weekly basis and sometimes several times a week. This is dangerous because the car sounds like it locks but it does not. Today I was coming home from the beach doing 55 and the car completely stopped working and I had to go over two lanes and was lucky that I was not plowed into by the truck behind me. I then pulled over and put the car in park and started the key and it started right up. I made it home fine. I looked online and I see that it is a big problem with a great many people as well. Why has Chrysler not addressed these issues. My wife and I share a car and I am concerned that this will happen again. Thanks

- Bel Air, MD, USA

problem #56

Jul 162011

Town & Country

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph, all of the lights on the interior and exterior stopped illuminating. The instrument panel stopped illuminating and the power door locks also stopped functioning. The vehicle continued to drive during the failure. The failure occurred on two occasions. The only light that would illuminate was the check engine light. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer on two occasions where they were unable to duplicate or diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 130,000. The VIN was unavailable. Consumer stated she filed a complaint with Chrysler on 7/20//2011. Case #10413496. Updated 09/01/2011

- Carroll, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?