Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: What the heck happened here? A year after getting our "seal of pretty good" for the 2004, Chrysler turns around and delivers this crapwagon.

This minivan has problems ranging from rack and pinion steering failure to door locks that won't let you out. And trust me, you'll want to get out.

3.8

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
32,750 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chrysler Town & Country seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #38

Jan 032011

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Chrysler Town & Country. Consumer states problem with air bag light and swelling on the steering wheel where air bag is located the consumer stated he saw a commercial on tv that a recall had been issued for the 2005-2006 models. When the consumer contacted Chrysler he was informed his vehicle was not included in the recall, even though his vehicle is a 2005.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #37

Jun 052010

Town & Country

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Town and country. The contact started the ignition and the "air bag" warning light indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The warning indicator remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. The failure was a permanent occurrence. The dealer was notified and stated that there were two different recalls associated with the NHTSA campaign id numbers 07V192000 and 10V008000 (air bags: Frontal: Sensor/control module). The VIN was excluded from both recall defects. The failure was not diagnosed nor was the vehicle repaired. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- New Market, TN, USA

problem #36

Mar 082005

Town & Country

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Town & Country. While traveling at 30 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated. The dealer replaced the front, left air bag sensor. The failure recurred within one year. The dealer replaced the front left and right air bag sensors. The failure recurred within three years. The dealer advised that the right front impact sensor would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not serviced for the recent failure. The failure mileage was 100,000 and the current mileage was 106,000.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #35

Mar 102010

Town & Country

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Our 2005 Chrysler Town and country's airbag light has come on consistent with NHTSA 10V008000 and Chrysler has informed us that they are unwilling to honor their responsibility to make repairs under the recall until June.

- Plymouth, MN, USA

problem #34

Oct 102008

Town & Country

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Town and country. While driving approximately 50 mph on normal road conditions the "air bag" warning light indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The warning indicator remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. Whenever the the engine was running the failure occurred without warning. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated that the failure was related to the air bag frontal sensor. The contact experienced the identical failures related to NHTSA campaign id number 07V192000 (air bags;frontal'sensor/control module); however, the VIN number was not included. There was concern of the safety risk involved. The failure mileage was 35,000 and the current mileage was 40,000.

- Dale , TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #33

Feb 102009

Town & Country

  • 50,000 miles
The airbag sensor on M Y 2005 Chrysler town and county has failed. The dealership reports my particular car is not covered under manufacturer's recall 07V192000 (NHTSA action # EA06003). Since over 270,000vehicles were involved, perhaps it should be expanded to cover additional vehicles. The dealership wants to charge me nearly $300 to correct the air bag sensor light. Thank you for your assistance.

- Crystal Lake, IL, USA

problem #32

Mar 012009

Town & Country

  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Chrysler Town and country airbag sensor warning light.dealer repaired car, but would not cover it under recall...NHTSA 07V192000 states that it would be covered. 07V192000 describes the problem exactly as it happened. Dealer is bertera Dodge Chrysler Jeep Inc. Westfield MA.01085..R.O. #docs161478.

- Westfield, MA, USA

problem #31

Feb 012009

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
Air bag sensors in front bumper corroded and failed. I had to replace them at the cost of over $300. I have the old parts. The consumer was informed of a recall after the repairs were made to his vehicle regarding the air bag sensors and he is now seeking reimbursement. Updated 08/10/11.

- Westlake, OH, USA

problem #30

Feb 102009

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,125 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the front passenger seat air bag sensors failed. As a result, the contact does not know when the air bags are activated. In addition, the ABS indicator remains illuminated on the instrument panel. The dealer stated that the air bag sensor connector failed and disabled the entire air bag system. The air bag sensor connector needs to be repaired at the cost of $325. The manufacturer stated that her VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 07V192000 (air bags: Frontal: Sensor/control module). The current and failure mileages were 61,125. Updated 6/18/09 the consumer stated the work was completed. Updated 06/22/09

- Mechanicsburg, OH, USA

problem #29

Oct 172008

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the air bag sensor control module malfunctioned, which caused the air bag indicator to illuminate. The indicator illuminated while driving approximately 75 mph. The vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop and the mechanic stated that the air bag sensor was corroded. The indicator remained illuminated. The dealer stated that her vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 07V192000 (air bags:frontal:sensor/control module). The manufacturer has not been notified. The current mileage was approximately 75,000 and failure mileage was approximately 71,000. Updated 01/14/09. Updated 01/15/09.

- Nashville, IL, USA

problem #28

Jan 092008

Town & Country

  • 50,998 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The air bag sensor light came on and stayed illuminated. I found a safety recall on the exact issue but was told by my dealer my vehicle did not fit into the range of the recall. The NHTSA id# of the issue is 07V192000. Vehicle at time had 50,998 miles on it. I had to pay the entire cost of replacement.

- Lake View, NY, USA

problem #27

Mar 182008

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 31,404 miles
The airbag warning lamp came on intermittently at first over the course of a week or so then it stayed on solid. I took it to the dealer for service while under warranty and they replaced the right front airbag sensor without cost under warranty which fixed the problem. The reason I'm filing this complaint is because the sensor recall (id # 07V192000) only covers vehicles with build dates between Apr 24, 2003 and Feb 2, 2005. My vehicle, which has a "date of mfr" of 07/05, is not covered by this recall. My concern is that if the problem with my vehicle is not just a random occurrence Chrysler may have underestimated the number of vehicles potentially impacted by the recall.

- Essex Junction, VT, USA

problem #26

Nov 012007

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
It started actually quite some time ago. It seemed that every once in a while I would lose my power steering. Once it almost caused me to run off the road and into a cement curb. Luckily, I was able to work the wheel around and after about five minutes of trying to control the van, the power steering came back. There has been a noise at the front of the vehicle for quite some time and then I noticed the van was leaking something. I took it to the dealer and they said there was a leak in the steering gear assembly and that it needed to be replaced. They also said that they are replacing so many of them that the part was backordered and they were unsure when they would get one. That was in Nov. 2007. It is now April 2008 and I am still waiting. In Feb of 2008 I was told they had one for me and I took my van in and then was told that it never arrived and that they told their parts dealer that they needed it immediately because the power steering fluid is leaking onto other parts and can cause problems. It's still been two months since then and nothing. The whole front of my van feels and sounds like its going to fall off at any moment. I have had to refill my power steering fluid every 2-3 days since Nov 07 and it isn't getting any better. Unfortunately, this is not the only problem I have had with this van. The right cv joint had to be replaced after only 2 years, the air bag sensors went bad and only after I paid to have it checked out to the tune of $70 were they recalled, there was a recall on the rear heating/cooling tubes because of cold weather conditions, the driver side sliding door no longer works as well as the front passenger window. During a terrible rain storm, I had to go through a large puddle and the spare tire was ripped from the undercarriage because it was never sealed properly and the part was defective. Both sets of brakes have had to be replaced, rotors redone and the tires have been replaced twice.

- Dickson City, PA, USA

problem #25

Feb 272008

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Town and country. The air bag warning indicator light illuminated. The dealer stated that the front air bag sensor was corroded and cracked. The manufacturer stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 07V192000 (air bags:frontal:sensor/control module). The current and failure mileages were 42,000.

- Brooklyn , WI, USA

problem #24

Feb 042008

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Driver side airbag light on for 3 weeks. Found out that there was a recall on airbag sensor online as we bought this van used. Took to dealer to have recall work done. 2 sensors put in as first one was defective. Airbag light still on and dealer wants to charge $90 for diagnostic and more to fix the problem. Found problem was a faulty wire at the firewall. Still had to pay money for recall work.

- Cedarburg, WI, USA

problem #23

Jan 092008

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,900 miles
Air bag light became illuminated on my 2005 Chrysler town N' country. I found a safety recall on the exact issue, but was told my vehicle did not fit into the range of the recall. The same problem listed on the recall is what happened. The air bag front sensors and wiring corroded. The NHTSA id# is 07V192000. My vehicle has 50,998 miles on it.

- Lake View, NY, USA

problem #22

Jun 062007

(reported on)

Town & Country

  • miles
2005 Chrysler Town and country van customer states that the warning light was activated after winter and it was fixed but now he is having problem getting it fixed* the consumer stated the airbag warning light activated on 2 occasions. The dealer invoice indicated the left front impact sensor and wire connector was corroded.

- Port Huron, MI, USA

problem #21

May 152007

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
Front air bags on 2005 Chrysler Town & Country do not work due to a corroded sensor in the front of the car. Chrysler is refusing to fix this under warranty although the vehicle is less than two years old, and they are replacing corroded switches on other years and models.

- Cicero, NY, USA

problem #20

Apr 102007

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles
Air bag warning light came on dashboard. Dealer said it was caused by driver's side 'seat belt retractor needing to be replaced. They ordered this, said I would have to pay. Not covered by dealer. Then, on May 12, 2007 I saw on the tv May 11 2007 report that there was a NHTSA recall 07V192000 concerning sensor/ control module manufacturer's report on May 1, 2007. Dealer still knew nothing about this recall to this date.

- Trenton, MO, USA

problem #19

Aug 012005

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Town and country. He noticed the air bag light illuminated on the instrument panel. The dealer stated that the left airbag sensor was defective. The dealer made the repairs. Approximately 15 months later the air bag light illuminated again. The dealer stated that the right air bag sensor needed to be replaced. The dealer replaced the right airbag sensor. There have not been any other occurrences since the replacement. The vehicle currently has 51,000 miles. The consumer stated the vehicle ran out of gas even though the gauge read 3/8 of a tank. The dealer stated there was a problem with the fule tank sending unit. Updated 07/06/07.

- Macugnie, PA, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?