Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: What the heck happened here? A year after getting our "seal of pretty good" for the 2004, Chrysler turns around and delivers this crapwagon.

This minivan has problems ranging from rack and pinion steering failure to door locks that won't let you out. And trust me, you'll want to get out.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
26,171 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chrysler Town & Country transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments

problem #16

Jul 062009

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,891 miles


The automatic transmission was stuck in lowest gear and would not down shift and the vehicle was unable to accelerate over 40 mph. Chrysler dealer stated "requires relearn" and had the transmission repaired.

- Shreveport, LA, USA

problem #15

Aug 082009

Town & Country

  • miles
I was the second owner of a 1998 Town and country and thought everything was great until my 2 year old climbed into the driver seat, pulled the vehicle out of park and into neutral. Had the back sliding door not been open for me to jump in and put the van into park it would have coasted into the neighbors front porch. On another occurrence I was loading the van with some items from the rear when I realized my daughter again got into the drivers seat to pretend drive. I realized that she was there and went to the front but was too late. She pulled the vehicle out of park (no keys...they were in my pocket) and ran into the another neighbors fence and trash cans. I was furious that the dealer I spoke to said the shift interlock was not installed until 2000 and refused to help so I traded it in for a 2005 with one previous owner. I thought we would be alright since it is suppose to have a shift interlock (the dash even states to press the brake to shift out of park) but just today my daughter, now 4, climbed into the drivers seat (without the keys in the ignition) at my sister-in-laws house and drove my 2005 van into her school van. I now need to replace the front bumper. Chrysler has yet to do anything and I am not the first to complain about this.

- West Fairview, PA, USA

problem #14

Dec 022005

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,800 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Town and country. The contact shifted into park and left the vehicle idling in the driveway. When she returned, the vehicle had rolled forward and was lodged between a tree and another vehicle. The passenger side fender and exterior light were damaged. The other vehicle was not damaged. No police report was filed. The dealer and manufacturer were not notified. The current mileage was 68,000 and failure mileage was 67,800. Updated 12/30/08. Updated 01/05/09.

- Moran, KS, USA

problem #13

Aug 132007

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,294 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Town and country. The contact started the engine, but the vehicle would not shift into drive or reverse. After several attempts, the vehicle would shift to the appropriate gears with a loud noise coming from underneath the vehicle. The contact took the vehicle to an authorized dealer and they replaced the brake system. After the repair, a loud noise continued to be heard from underneath the vehicle when shifting into reverse. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer on a separate occasion for the loud noise; however, it was not present at the time of service. The vehicle was not repaired and the contact stated that the loud noise still exists underneath the vehicle. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 34,000. Updated 09/04/08 updated 09/09/08.

- Northfield, OH, USA

problem #12

May 192008

Town & Country

  • 80,000 miles
There were no events leading up to this problem. Car was taken regularly for oil changes and required manufacturer maintenance at the dealership. Car was being driven and while pulling across highway it just does not go. The car continued to run but the transmission would not engage and pull the vehicle. According to the dealership, the pump probably went out and caused the damage to the transmission. Thus, the entire transmission is being replaced. This is a 3 year old vehicle and has 80,000 miles. There were no warning lights nor any observable signs that the vehicle was in any distress. Maybe a factory defect but extremely dangerous.

- Jonesboro, GA, USA

problem #11

Apr 052008

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While visiting a relative my 2005 Chrysler Town and country was parked on a driveway that slopes down a bit. While loading the car and in a moment of inadvertence, my 2 year old son was able to open the door of my vehicle and climb behind the wheel and shift the car from ┐park┐ into a different gear. My son was able to do this without the keys in the ignition and (obviously) he was unable to reach any pedals. The result was that the vehicle started moving down the driveway, crossed a 2 lane street and struck the side curb and a mailbox on the opposite side of the street causing damage to my car and the mailbox that was taken down by the car. After this incident I called Chrysler and informed them about this accident and that in my opinion the shift-brake-interlock system should have prevented this accident. The shift-brake-interlock system is an important safety feature that prevents anyone from shifting gears without suppressing the brake pedal. Chrysler did assign an investigator who inspected my car at a local Chrysler dealership. They declined my complaint ┐the inspection revealed that there was no evidence of a malfunction which would cause the vehicle to move itself.┐ as of today, the vehicle still has the issue with the shift-brake-interlock system and myself am able to easily move this car from ┐park┐ to ┐neutral┐ or any other position without keys in the ignition and/or without suppressing the brake pedal. I feel that Chrysler did not investigate my complaint thoroughly and fear that I┐M perhaps not the only person that is affected by this problem. I┐M the first owner of this vehicle, this car was never in an accident and has been driven very carefully so I┐M very concerned about this safety hazard and the dangers that this could bring to other parents/families who perhaps are driving around without the knowledge that this important safety feature does not function correct on their Town and country.

- Medina, OH, USA

problem #10

Aug 012007

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles


The first time this happened I almost had a head on collision while trying to pass. When pushing the gas pedal to the floor to pass, the van would not accelerate. Not only can I not accelerate to pass, I cannot accelerate to avoid an emergency situation. Apparently the transmission is slipping. While the dealer has replaced parts in the transmission it has not fixed the problem. The vehicle is under warranty, but Chrysler does not know how to fix it.

- Napoleon, OH, USA

problem #9

Aug 232005

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
- the contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Town and country. While driving 20 mph or more and accelerating the steering pulled to the right. The faster the vehicle was driven the more it moved to the right. The vehicle had an alignment, the tires rotated and replaced and the failure recurred. Five dealers stated after diagnosing the vehicle that the transmission caused the failure to occur. At the time of purchase the sales person astated that the vehicle only needed an alignment. The contact stated that the failure was directly related to NHTSA recall 03V240000. The failure mileage was unavailable. Current mileage was 47,000.

- Orange , CA, USA

problem #8

Nov 202006

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,260 miles
I had to pay $115.88 to quinn Chrysler-Dodge in bartlesville, ok to receive a software correction for the "powertrain control module and transmission control module" on my 2005 Chrysler Town & Country minivan. The dealer told me this repair was a known problem and resulted in the transmission shifting erratically. I believe this is a safety hazard and Chrysler should correct this problem without charge to owners.

- Bartlesville, OK, USA

problem #7

Mar 312006

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
Larson Chrysler is unable to solve the problem of slipping of the gear shift. The gear shift slip from drive to another gear nor does it lock in drive. My be traveling 60 miles per hour, I could be killed. I have informed larson Chrysler about the problem and they have not really solved it.

- Lakewood, WA, USA

problem #6

Dec 012005

Town & Country 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,500 miles


The problem is with the transmission. First problem was discovered in December 2005. The dealer fixed the problem. Next problem occurred March 22. He car was towed to the dealer and it's still there until this time. Talked to the dealer and daimler Chrysler corporation a number of times and have not heard of any good news either from the dealer or daimler Chrysler corporation. We need help and assistance because we I really don't know what's going on.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #5

Mar 092006

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,700 miles
Complete failure of vehicle safety systems while vehicle in motion time: About 3:45 pm place: Long meadow elementary school in rochester hills, mi 48309 vehicle: 2005 Town & Country - [xxx] mileage 11,700 1. after arriving in the school parking lot, my wife slowed down to take a turn to park in a spot. 2. the vehicle completely stalled and stopped. 3. she turned off the ignition and then restarted the engine. The engine started. 4. she tried to turn and park at the same spot on left side. The steering did not respond and vehicle kept moving in straight direction. 5. she tried to stop the vehicle by applying the brakes repeatedly with no response. 6. she also tried to steer vehicle towards empty space with no result. 7. she put the transmission in parking; it made some loud noise but did not stop the vehicle. 8. there was a steel gate right in front about 40-50 yards from where she started. The vehicle crashed in the gate and stopped. No one was injured. There was damage to the steel gate and the vehicle. 9. I arrived at the place about 15-20 minutes later. I was able to start the engine but did not try to move/reverse it. 10. school authorities informed the police about the incident. 11. around 5 P.M. the vehicle was towed to body shop of golling Chrysler Jeep in bloomfield hills, Michigan 12. Next morning (March 10th), ms sheila from golling Chrysler body shop called me. As per her, the fuel pump of the vehicle has problems and that explains the problem with braking and steering system. She was not able to explain how the engine restarted after stalling and vehicle moved if the fuel pump was broken. She also indicated the vehicle did not start at dealership. There was roughly about $2,000 dollar of body damage. 13. Chrysler has initiated an internal special investigation. I have received no results of investigation or any help for the hardship being faced. Updated 07/16/2012

- Rochester Hills, MI, USA

problem #4

Jan 132006

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,997 miles
1-reported vibration in steering wheel between 20-50 mph [2-possible exhaust leak, I was getting sleepy after 20-30 min drive time, I use recycle mode on A/C due to having asthma [ 3-reported noise from the muffler/exhaust area[4- A/C compressor makes a laboring noise [5-vibration and a growling noise in rear suspension, axle or transmission[6-transmission seems to slip or jerk into and out of gear between 15-45 mph. Service department could not duplicate any of my concerns but by the same token my mileage out was the same as my mileage in so I'm not sure it was even driven. Three[3] days later I came in and ask for someone to drive with me and the technician was able to hear the noise before we had gone a mile, at that time he thought is was just a loose spare tire but when I came back that afternoon I was told it was the catalytic converter but there was not one in town and as soon as it came in it would be repaired. It was supposedly order on Thursday Jan 19,2006 and received on Jan 26,2006. Catalytic converter was replaced on Jan 27,2006 as well as exhaust manifold gasket. [7-on this date I also reported on Jan 26,2006, when I was braking to slow down to turn right the car engine surged forward and almost lost control of car-nothing was listed on the service copy as cause or what was tested for the engine surging when braking.[8-rear brakes have crystallized and need to be replaced at my cost. Am getting other prices at this time.

- Bulverde, TX, USA

problem #3

Dec 082005

Town & Country 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,500 miles
Driving normally, heard grinding noise as I stopped for a red traffic light. Light turned green, stepped on accelerator to go and transmission would not respond. Could not put auto into park position. Two lights came on, the engine and the transmission throttle indicator. Called Chrysler roadside service and waited for an hour before tow truck arrived. Auto was towed to new smyrna beach dealership. Was told it was to late to get anything done that day(3:00-3:30pm). Was given a rental car to get home. That was on 12/08/05 and it is now 12/09/05 at 1:00pm and I have had no response from the dealership service dept. I will be calling them after I file this complaint to find out the status of my car repair. I went online to find out there was a recall on this make of car for similar problems. I would like to know why I was not informed of this recall?

- Holly Hill, FL, USA

problem #2

Mar 062005

Town & Country

  • miles
My Chrysler Town & Country ltd minivan (bought new in July 2001) suffered sudden and complete transmission failure in March 2005. The "check engine" light had come on one day prior - no time to even schedule for service. A moderately audible whine had been noticed for a month or so prior while driving but had no reason to suspect it was the transmission. Vehicle had been serviced by dealership religiously, including full transmission service as recommended. When the transmission went, it went out with a loud bang - then lost all power. Coasted to the shoulder of the road without incident luckily. The minivan had 49,000 miles on it. Came with all options including towing package, but I never towed anything - no tow bar installed. This does not say much for Chrysler quality. I imagine if I had been towing a boat occasionally the transmission would have failed much sooner. My cost for repairs was about $2,500. I would like to be notified if Chrysler ever steps up to the plate and offers to reimburse those who lost transmissions prematurely. Transmissions should last at least 100,000 miles - I don't care what the warranty says. That is a cop out. Without some reimbursement I will never buy a Chrysler again. This was my first and probably my last.

- Sykesville, MD, USA

problem #1

Dec 102004

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,800 miles
While driving 75 mph the vehicle accelerated suddenly, then all source of power was lost. The consumer was able to coast to the shoulder. The vehicle was towed to the nearest dealer to determine the cause. Please provide additional information. The left front visor was replaced, it was difficult to shift from park to drive. The fuel pump was repalced due the vehicle shutting off while driving on the highway.

- Allentown, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?