Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
48,796 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chrysler Town & Country steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 1 of 6)

problem #102

Oct 102015

Town & Country

  • 16,416 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Town and country. While making a turn at an unknown speed, the steering wheel locked up without warning. While attempting to regain control, a loud bang noise was heard. The contact was able to regain control of the steering wheel, but a clicking sound was heard constantly. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the clock spring and multi-function switch were damaged and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 16,416. Updated 02/12/16

- San Lorenzo, CA, USA

problem #101

Oct 032015

Town & Country

  • 110,000 miles
I had an accident where the vehicle suddenly steered to the left. I did a 360 plus 90. I was going around a bend to the left at the time. There was a light rain at the time but I was not exceeding the speed limit and I have driven this road many times in the past. The front passenger tire was completely torn form the car. After it was towed and I had a chance to see the damage, I noticed a dark black mark about 5/8 of an inch by 1/4 inch on the broken ball joint. I think the ball joint had a defect in it and that a the accident was caused by the ball joint breaking where it flattens out to connect to the steering rod or connecting rod. At the present time the vehicle is at thomas Chevy dealership in bedford, pa I am going to have the adjuster take pictures to have some evidence of this and will ask to keep the parts or give them to me. A couple of days after the accident I went back to the location to see if there was any thing more I could remember about the accident and how it happened. I saw a slight gouge in the road like something had been pushed or pulled on the blacktop surface of the road. I will try to see if the end of the tie rod or whatever it is called has a wear spot on it when I go to look at the car today. I have no camera to be able to have any photo evidence of this. I would like to know if there have been other accidents involving a ball joint part breaking.

- Canal Winchester, OH, USA

problem #100

Mar 122015

Town & Country

  • 145,000 miles
My Chrysler Town and country van started having what looked to be battery issues at the beginning of 2015. The engine would turn off and all the dash dials would begin to puslate until I turned it off and restarted it. At first it would do this only when it was raining out, so we changed the battery and it seemed to work. Then one afternoon it just completely shut down as we were driving down the road, sun shining, and completely dry out. We check the battery connections and replaced a few, seemed ok but then it happened again! this time as we were driving down a 70mph highway! thankfully the highway was not busy as the moment and near our exit and were able to safely get to the side and restart the van. We continue to take it in but everyone has told us "no engine light, no engine code, sorry can't help you." We have seen others write about this same problem and are now bringing it to the NHTSA.

- Mesquite, TX, USA

problem #99

Sep 102015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 13,000 miles


I have encountered a very serious problem with the steering wheel of my 2006 Chrysler Town and country. After doing some research, I have found that many others have experienced the same issues. As far as I can tell, no one has been able to solve this problem. This is a link to one of the forums that I encountered while doing research. here is a comment left by one of the many people experiencing difficulties, "this is my second Chrysler/Dodge mini-van that developed this problem. My first was a 1996 Dodge Caravan and no one was ever able to fix the problem. Now my 2002 Chrysler Town & Country has the same problem. We have replaced everything....including the belt tensioner which was horribly expensive but the problem just comes back. I will have the mechanic check the drain hole. It's almost criminal that this company could not figure out and warn about this problem which is very dangerous." ([xxx]) it is a very dangerous and possibly deadly problem. When attempting to make a turn, if the conditions are wet, the steering wheel will jam up and will not turn, that it to say it locks up or jams. The wheel freezes without warning and requires substantial force in order to turn. Any turn made without extreme caution could prove to be lethal under these circumstances. The last time this occurred it had been raining on Thursday September 10, 2015. Although by the time I got out of work, it was no longer raining, as I backed out of the parking lot, the steering wheel froze yet again. Luckily, it occurred in a parking lot and not on a busy road where a collision might have occurred. This problem is obviously very concerning to me and I would like to hear back from someone as soon as possible and hopefully no one will get hurt until that time. Thank you for your time. - [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #98

Dec 152014

Town & Country

  • miles
I have multiple issues with my 2006 Chrysler Town and country. The first is that it cuts off unexpectedly. This has happened multiple times most luckily while stopped at an intersection or stop light but it has cut off on the interstate recently. It also has a light issue, the lights will cut on and off by themselves, I have woke up during the night to find the headlights shining in the house when they do this there is no way to cut them off, they will eventually cut off by themselves. Another problem I have is the power steering whines when I drive it especially down the highway. I have checked the fluid and it is full.

- Mineral, VA, USA

problem #97

Dec 152014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 105,003 miles
On Monday, December 15, 2014 I was driving the vehicle and was making a left turn as I was transporting children for my business. In the midst of making a turn, the steering wheel made a loud popping sound and locked in the middle of the turn. I took it to the shop for repair and was told the problem was in the airbag. I later found out that their was a recall on the airbag for all 2005-06 Chrysler Town and country vans. I contacted Chrysler and was told that even though my vehicle meets all the requirements for the recall, they still will not service my vehicle for recall. This vehicle is unsafe to drive and Transport children and it is due to the airbag and other recalls listed for this vehicle. I would like to know from Chrysler what part of all excludes my vehicle"?? the website clearly states that my vehicle meets the requirements to be repaired by the recall so I am confused as to why they won't honor this recall?"

- Bellwood, IL, USA

problem #96

Dec 082013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the power steering would disengage independently. The contact mentioned that during cold weather the steering wheel made a loud noise when addition, the contact stated both sliding doors failed to lock. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician referred the contact to take the vehicle to the authorized dealer. The dealer was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 72,000. Updated 01/12/15 the consumer stated the passenger airbag light remained on. Updated 06/3/2015

- Tampa , FL, USA

problem #95

Nov 032014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
When the weather is below 80 degrees the steering wheel makes a wining noise. Is there a recall on this issue? when the weather is cold the sound is coming from the inside. I had the steering wheel fluid checked and it was ok. This only happens in colder weather. It is getting worse.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #94

Mar 212013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
Filled the tank with gas, started driving was making a turn and the engine conked out. Luck was with me, as I was not in traffic at that time.

- Media, PA, USA

problem #93

Jan 132014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 88,542 miles
First time this happened when I was slowing down to come to a stop. The van shut down. No brakes. No steering. Put vehicle in park and it started right up again. It happened a 3-4 more times after that with similar circumstances. No rhyme or reason to when it would happen. On June 12, it happened again. On June 19, I took it to a mechanic who checked it out and said he hooked it up to different computers and couldn't find anything wrong. He drained the power steering fluid and put in new fluid. Today, on 7/29/2014, I was driving to work and slowed down to make a right hand turn and the van shut down. I had no steering or brakes as I was turning and almost hit a car on the opposite lane of traffic. I was able to pull over, put van in park and start it up again. It scared me so much I was shaking. Something needs to be fixed. It is not normal.

- Amarillo, TX, USA

problem #92

Apr 012007

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 250 miles


Issue #1: as I was driving on a rainy day and went through a puddle, I lost steering capability. The wheel just stayed in the same place that I was going in...imagine that happening while trying to turn...accident waiting to happen...I took it back to where I bought the vehicle and was told nothing is wrong with my van. I took it to another dealer and they said I have to go back to the place I bought it to get work done on it....for years I took it in to no avail...then as I made 60K miles I did a tune up on my van and changed the serpentine belt even though it did not need it and you won't believe issue had went away...I didn't know I was supposed to go behind the maker and make sure my vehicle's nuts and bolts are secured on a new vehicle! issue #2: the passenger side air bag has a recall, but local dealer won't fix it, my dealer won't fix it saying I passed my 36K warranty miles what gives? I need it fixed! issue #3: as I was driving 65mph on a hwy, my van shuts off stunded I drift to the shoulder to restart and be on my way this has happened may times if I have anymore that the van key in the starter then it turns my ignition offi need this fixed this is an accident waiting to happen just like Ford and just like the ones Chrysler has just recalled.

- Baytown, TX, USA

problem #91

Aug 072012

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while driving over a speed bump or making a turn, the vehicle stalled and the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 52,000 and the current mileage was 55,200. Updated 10/23/14 updated 4/13/2015

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #90

Apr 182013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
Replaced pump 4 times with no fix.

- Liverpool , PA, USA

problem #89

Jul 012013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 88,000 miles
I am hearing a loud whine. It sounds as though it is coming from the front of the vehicle and can be heard more loudly inside the vehicle than out. It is constant. It is usually louder in cold weather. It is not as loud immediately following when I have my vehicle service and all fluids are topped off. Lately it has began to make a bit more of a grinding noise. The noise is very noticeable at low speeds--not so much at higher speeds, but then again there is more road noise at high speeds. If parked and I turn the steering wheel, the whine gets louder. The pitch seems to change with engine speed, not movement. I took it to an auto shop and they said it is the power steering pump, rack & pinion. I have researched this on the internet, and there are hundreds of identical complaints. This is clearly a defect in the vehicle. Why hasn't this been recalled yet? if left unfixed, the power steering can fail. I would have a hard time trying to steer this vehicle without power steering and it would likely result in a crash. This is clearly a safety issue.

- Saint Johns, FL, USA

problem #88

Feb 152014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 77,900 miles
While driving on the interstate I noticed a whine developing. At first I thought it to be a bearing in one of the pulleys. I took it to my mechanic and he said it was a power steering pump or the rack and pinion. I had the power steering flushed and refilled but it continues to have the whine. The mechanic told me it could be the rack and pinion. After reading the blogs online I have found that many are having the same problems. I have a 2006 Chrysler Town and country touring with 88000 miles.

- Jasper, TN, USA

problem #87

Mar 012011

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
Ignition switch shuts off while driving and engine stops running. Possible from bumps in road or bumping key ring with drivers knee. Has happened more than three times.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #86

Mar 032010

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
Power steering fluid leak. Requires replacement of rack and pinion.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #85

Feb 182014

Town & Country

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the steering wheel seized without warning while driving in rainy weather. The steering wheel became hard to turn and caused the contact to crash into a mail box. The failure was experienced several times when the vehicle was driven in rain. The driver did not sustain any injuries. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer to have a diagnostic performed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 80,000.

- Granite City , IL, USA

problem #84

Jan 222014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
Rack and pinion failure.

- Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #83

Dec 132013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
While driving in the rain, lost power steering capability and could barely turn wheel to get out of harms way....this has happened several times...thought just a fluke...but consistency tells otherwise...don't think I would buy a Chrysler product again...

- Burgaw, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?