Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
20,539 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chrysler Town & Country brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 12 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #22

Oct 302009

Town & Country

  • 17,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Have brake failure at 17,000 miles. Brakes were making noise starting at about 3,000 to 4,000 miles had brakes checked at dealership at about 9,000 miles, pads were inspected to be ok and they turned the rotors. However, they continued to make noise. Took vehicle into dealership at 17,000 miles and they informed me that it was unsafe to drive. Pads and rotors needed to be replaced as it was metal on metal and Chrysler was not going to cover it under warranty.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #21

Oct 302009

Town & Country

  • 18,640 miles
New 2008 Chrysler Town and country in April 2008. October 2009, with 18,600 miles, noise was coming from front end when brakes applied. Dealer had to replace front pads and rotors. Pads wore to metal without any warnings and gouged the rotor. Rear brakes were worn to 35% and were replaced also. Dealer blamed it on a heavier van and our type of driving and to expect to have to do brake work again in 15,000 to 20,000 miles. We have had many cars/vans, have not changed our type of driving and never replaced brakes with this low mileage. This is a safety issue and should be investigated and recalled.

- Cherry Hill, NJ, USA

problem #20

Nov 022009

Town & Country

  • 24,748 miles
I recently had to replace the front brakes on my 2008 Chrysler Town and country....the vehicle only has 24748 miles on it and is 18 months old, at a cost of several hundred dollars. After researching blogs, etc., I have discovered that many other owners have experienced the same problem and I believe it's a serious issue that requires Chrysler to cover the costs we (the consumers) have incurred because of this defect. There was another vehicle, a 2008 Dodge Caravan, in the shop at the exact same time as my vehicle. It had approximately the same amount of miles on it and was being serviced for the exact same problem. That should be enough to raise a red flag, but I know we are not the only consumers with this problem.

- Slinger, WI, USA

problem #19

Oct 312009

Town & Country

  • 21,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a Chrysler Town and country which I bought new. It has 21,000 miles and have just replaced the brake pads. I have driven many different makes of vehicles and have never had to replace brake pads at such a low mileage. I am not a driver that 'rides the brakes'. I was told at the dealership that they have had to replace most Town and country brake pads at about 20,000. Obviously this is a faulty part. I suppose the rear brake pads will be next. I have seen many letters on internet forums complaining of the same problem. I think these brakes should be recalled before someone is killed. Please investigate the life of these brake pads.

- Elkhorn, NE, USA

problem #18

Oct 282009

Town & Country

  • 21,000 miles
Chrysler town and county 2008 limited, brakes and rotors need to be replace at 21,000 miles. Normal highway and city driving. Having to replace brakes at 21,000 miles is unheard of for other manufacturers.

- Swansea, IL, USA

problem #17

Sep 272009

Town & Country

  • 21,600 miles
2008 Chrysler Town & Country front brakes have worn out at 21,00 miles. We have purchased or leased 13 new cars in the past 15 years. Brakes have never worn out this quickly before. Chrysler will not fix this problem.

- Traverse City, MI, USA

problem #16

Oct 012009

Town & Country

  • 23,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2008 Chrysler Town & Country. Took car to dealership because brake light was coming on & brakes not working properly. Dealer said front brakes were down to metal on metal. $495 to replace pads and rotors. Only 23,500 miles on the garage kept vehicle. Not covered under warranty. Rotors are badly grooved with shredded metal hanging off. Dealership service department says the brakes are only lasting 20-25,000 miles on the minivans. At a minimum, the rotors should be covered under warranty, but pads and rotors should last longer than 23,500 miles.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #15

Oct 102009

Town & Country

  • 49,897 miles
Faulty brakes on my 2008 Chrysler Town & Country limited. My van has 49,897 miles on it and it needs a 5th set of front pads. The 4th set of pads were replaced on 7-9-09 when the vehicle had 39,525 miles on it. At that time the front pads, front rotors, rear pads and rear rotors had to be replaced. Three months later on 10-10-09 I was informed that the front pads needed to be replaced again with 49,897 miles on the vehicle. Each time the brakes were oem parts replaced by the dealer. This is a very dangerous situation because the brakes are not making any noises, but could give out at any moment causing a very serious accident. There is obviously something wrong with the braking system and I am requesting a recall from Chrysler.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #14

Oct 092009

Town & Country

  • 24,395 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town & Country. The contact stated that his front brakes were completely worn out. The brake pads and rotors on the front and back of his vehicle were replaced. The dealer stated that it was a common problem with his year, make and model vehicle. The manufacturer stated that since there were no existing recalls or warranties, the contact would be responsible for the repair cost. The failure mileage was 24,395.

- Jackson, TN, USA

problem #13

Jun 082009

Town & Country

  • 16,343 miles
At just over 16K miles I had to get the front brake pads and disc brakes replaced as they had worn down to metal on metal. The screeching noise had started about 3 months before this - assumed it was dirt from a new england winter. Never would have thought it was the brakes wearing down to nothing at around 12 - 13K miles. This is unheard of for brake life. The line I was given by the dealer, was that is normal based on how mom's drive the cars around town all the time. ┐!@#$% if you ask me. Did the same driving with my maxima and never had this problem. Told my dealer to keep the car, I did not want it anymore. That got them to deal with me a bit, but I still ended up paying over a hundred dollars. Now, 4 months and ~ 3,500 miles later, the rear brakes are squeaking. I am sure those will need to be replaced. At only 20K miles, this seems ungodly. Can't wait to see the bill Chrysler is going to hit me with for this one. They clearly know there is a problem and are just not willing to deal with it. Am simply waiting for the front ones to wear out again. Have never had such a problem on a car before. Luckily the horrible squeaking and massive amounts of brake dust alert one to a problem prior to the brakes failing totally causing a major and potentially fatal accident. Please, please, please get Chrysler to issue a recall and fix the brake problems on the 2008 T&C before it becomes fatal.

- Norwalk, CT, USA

problem #12

Oct 062009

Town & Country

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2008 Chrysler town and county. I purchased this in Dec 2008. At 15K in Feb 2009 I had to have the front brake pads replaced. I was informed then that my rear brakes had approx 30% wear left. It is now Oct 2009 and I have to replace my rear brake pads I have 26K miles on my vehicle. My last vehicle was also a Town and country and I had to replace the front bakes at 20K. Previously I owned a Oldsmobile Silhouette I turned this vehicle in with 60K and never had to replace my brakes. Chrysler needs to held accountable for this brake problem. I have seen countless blogs concerning this issue. I turn my car in March 2010, I will not be replacing this with a Chrysler vehicle.

- Farmington Hills, MI, USA

problem #11

Oct 012009

Town & Country

  • 13,000 miles
Problem : heard squealing noise at 13,000 miles. Undiagnosed at the dealer. Raised issue again at dealer at 16,500km miles. Diagnosis was completely worn (and inadequate) rear brakes. Dealer tech agreed this is a flaw and safety issue, and quite common among newly designed 2008 Town & Country and should be a recall event. Remedy : parts replaced at owners expense. Complaint : inadequate brakes for a vehicle this size and weight, premature failure at 11-15K miles without warning is unacceptable and dangerous.

- Stamford, CT, USA

problem #10

Sep 072009

Town & Country

  • 25,000 miles
I purchased a new 2008 Chrysler Town and country minivan. After only 25,000 miles the front and rear brakes and rotors have failed, costing thousands of dollars in repair work.

- South Kent, CT, USA

problem #9

May 212009

Town & Country

  • 22,033 miles
We lease a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. At around 15,000 miles the front brake pads needed replaced and I was told that "I must be a heavy braker." At 22,000 miles we had our brake pads replaced and rotors resurfaced to the tune of $334.63. Less than one month later, we were getting the now familiar grinding sound upon braking so I took it back to our mechanic who said that he should have just replaced the rotors in the first place so he replaced the brake pads and rotors and only charged us for the rotors and ate the cost of the pads and labor. A week and a half later I had to return the car to the mechanic for a horrible squealing whenever I braked. He fixed it and charged me nothing. Now 4 months and 5,000 miles later, my brakes are again grinding horribly like they were in may (22,000 mi) and the brakes and possibly rotors need replaced again. I have owned Dodge Caravan, a 2005 Town and country and now this one and have never had brake problems like this so I don't think that my braking habits are to blame. Also, after one year, the ignition switch started to "stick" in the wrong position upon starting the car and would leave me with no electronic power in the car. No lights, radio, locks, dash display, etc. Which is very dangerous because if I try to correct it while driving and the car turns off, I am moving with no power steering or brakes.

- Shrewsbury, PA, USA

problem #8

Sep 202009

Town & Country

  • 24,000 miles
Faulty brake pads on 2008 chyrsler Town & Country.

- Benbrook, TX, USA

problem #7

Sep 172009

Town & Country

  • 6,000 miles
Unsat brakes & rotors on 2008 Chrysler Town & Country minivan. At approximately 6,9,12 & 15K miles, while getting the manufacturers recommended oil changes, we stated the van had a high pitched squeal. On each occurrence the dealer said nothing was wrong with the brakes, but we should bring it back if it is still a problem. After the warranty expired @ 18K, now... we do have a problem and it will cost $341.87 for new rotors and pads for the front. The dealer stated the rotors were made to be thrown out at 15K miles and made so they could not be turned in an effort to save on vehicle weight. We were ┐lucky┐ to get that much use out of them. The dealer also said the rear breaks were good. We brought it in 4 more times for squealing & were told the breaks were fine each time. However, I just spent another $97.38 on totally ruined rear brakes @ 23,445 miles. The vehicle was last into the shop @ 22,015 & 22,990 miles with no problems found. My original bill was another $400, but after disputing the bill we got it lowered down to only the cost of the pads & did not pay for the labor or the rotors. After less than 24K miles, the front & rear brakes pads along with rotors have been replaced. I previously owned two high top conversion vans that weighed about twice what a Town and country weighs & the worst I ever got from brakes and rotors is 35K miles. Even then, it was only the front brakes and the rear lasted over 50K. Please research this @ www.edmunds.com, www.cars.com, or motor trend magazine & you will find many customers with the exact same story. We have had problems with the air conditioner, power sliding side door, extreme front tire wear & an intermittent electrical problem that makes all accessories inoperable until you shut off the van & restart. I know it is the first year after a total redesign & the company filed for bankruptcy protection, but a vehicle that costs $38K should have quality materials used in its construction. Please investigate. Thanks.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #6

Sep 012009

Town & Country

  • 21,500 miles
Brakes wear at low mileage. Must be replaced at high cost.

- Maynard, MA, USA

problem #5

Sep 172009

Town & Country

  • 28,000 miles
Excessive brake wear and E-brake caliper sticking. I have a 2008 Chrysler Town and country with 28,000 miles on it. So far I have had to replace the brake pads twice and have the rotors turned once. The ABS also pulses at times when I am braking at normal levels and it should not be kicking in. I am also getting substantially lower fuel mileage than advertised for both highway and city driving and suspect that the braking system is keeping some braking pressure on at all times. I have also had extremely hot brakes at times so much so that they have nearly caught fire. Fortunately I have not had any fires to date from the brakes.

- San Carlos, CA, USA

problem #4

Sep 152008

Town & Country

  • 17,800 miles
Regarding the 2008 Chrysler Town & Country van and the sub standard rotors the vehicle comes with. The car is only 1 1/2 years old and the rotors have to be replaced. Three months ago the dealer turned and resurfaced the rotors and replaced the pads ($270), the cost would have been more but they priced the quote incorrectly and then honored it. This week I took the car back to the dealer because of vibration and they are advising the rotors must be replaced costing more than $700 to repair. I have read multiple complaints from other owners with the same issue with this vehicle. I have been driving for more than 20 years and have never had an issue like this with any of my other vehicles and find the rotors installed in the 2008 Chrysler Town & Country unacceptable. These cars are expensive and they parts used to make it should be of quality. The dealerships should extend the warranty on the brake rotors or recall them and put acceptable ones on them.

- Palm Harbor, FL, USA

problem #3

Aug 282009

Town & Country

  • 17,000 miles
Excessive front brake wear. The front brakes are worn out, both the pads and rotors have failed at 17,000 miles. In contacting Chrysler, I am told that this is a know issue but that they are not willing to do anything to fix this problem until a recall is mandated. I have had this vehicle for 16 months and do what I call normal driving around town and highway. I have hauled a trailer once, for 80 miles, other than nothing out of the ordinary. The brakes are in my opinion not properly sized for the car and could cause serious damage as most people would not expect brake failure after such a short time period.

- Easton, PA, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?