Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
20,539 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chrysler Town & Country brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 5 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #162

May 302010

Town & Country

  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2008 town and country van. Rear brakes pads and rotors replaced at 12,000 miles. Left rear caliper froze shortly after, smoking and very hot. Fire hazard. Front brake pads replaced at 14,000 miles. Brakes have major issues, undersized for this vehicle" reports online indicate they need replacing as soon as every 10,000 miles. No longer think that my wife was the problem. Can someone force Chrysler into recalling this vehicle and replacing with larger braking system? must an entire family with kids perish? now wheel bearings are noisy - many online reports - related to brakes"

- East Hampton, CT, USA

problem #161

Nov 042009

Town & Country

  • 17,002 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. While driving downhill at an unknown speed and depressing the brakes, the vehicle began to shake and vibrate excessively. The contact stated there were several repairs made to the brakes previously including a replacement of the front brake pads and rotors in November 2009. The rear rotors were replaced May 2010 and the front rotors were replaced again in July 2010. The contact stated the failure would cease for a limited time before recurring. The manufacturer advised that the contact would be reimbursed for the repair costs but could not provide a permanent remedy to the failure. The failure mileage was 17,002 and the current mileage was 31,000.

- Hayesville, NC, USA

problem #160

Jul 192010

Town & Country

  • 13,000 miles
2008 Chrysler minivan with 13 thousand miles on it needed full front and rear brakes. Just a few months later, at about 20 thousand miles, new front and rear brakes needed. Dealer claims "common" problem with this model year-- brakes wearing out prematurely. Is this car safe to drive" how do we know when the brakes will just die" back in the shop this week for complete brake job number 3 brand new van essentially with low miles and easy in town driving history.

- Decatur, GA, USA

problem #159

Dec 142008

Town & Country

  • 500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town & Country. While driving 30 mph during rainy weather conditions the contact applied the brakes and noticed that they would not engage causing the contact to crash into the rear of a vehicle. No one was injured. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the contact was informed that the front rotors and brake pads needed to be replaced. The contact also noticed that when applying the brakes at any speed there was a squeaking sound. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 500 and the current mileage was 20000.

- Clifton Park, NY, USA

problem #158

Oct 302008

Town & Country

  • 10,100 miles
Extremely premature wear and replacement of front and rear brakes more than one incident date-starting at 10K.

- Hopewell, NJ, USA

problem #157

Jul 122010

Town & Country

  • 34,500 miles
We purchased a used 2008 town and country 13000 miles in December 2008. In April 2009 at 16000 miles it needed all four brake pads replaced. Dealer said brakes were not covered with warranty and this was just normal wear and tear. In June 2010 at 32,000 miles when we took it in for an oil change, the technician indicated all four brake pads needed to be replaced. On March 14 2009 we reported the cd player would not eject cd's, but no work was performed. On April 8 2009 we again reported radio/cd player would not eject cds. Dealer replaced the radio. On July 6 2009 we reported sound quality problems with the radio. It was replaced and on July 30th we experienced same problems only now the radio would just shut off completely. The radio was again replaced. On December 26 we reported the aux. Power outlet was inoperable and needed to be replaced. We also reported the engine was exhibiting a loud humming noise when we approached speeds of 40 mph. Technician told us it was a computer problem and that was reset. Within one day the sound was back. In July 2010 we were traveling to denver Colorado and the ac would cut out when we approached 65 mph. In addition the RPM's would go as high as 4000-5000 at 60 mph. Car had to be towed into a local dealership in which the said the service department said the valve body and hub bearings were causing the noise and problems.

- Oswego, IL, USA

problem #156

Jul 072010

Town & Country

  • 42,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns 2008 Chrysler town and country. The contact stated that during routine maintenance, the mechanic mentioned that the front and rear brakes were wearing out rapidly. The mechanic also stated that both the front and rear brakes needed to be replaced. The dealer stated that the failure was caused by the design of the braking system. The inside brake pads exhibited a wear pattern while the outside brake pads looked new. The failure and current mileages were 42500.

- Rudolph, WI, USA

problem #155

Jul 082010

Town & Country

  • 20,726 miles
Brake system problem with a 2008 Chrysler town and country signature/touring edition. The vehicle has premature break squeal and grinding @ 20,726 miles. Received a letter from Chrysler stating that listed vehicle 'may' be covered under an extended warranty program. Immediately took the vehicle into the nearest dealer (dick scott Dodge, Plymouth, mi). Dealer charged $35 to inspect. Charged a $100 deductible to cover the front brakes and front rotors and charged an additional $120.67 to machine the rear rotors, deglaze the rear pads and lube the rear slides. The total bill was $256.67. Continued to research the brake problem and learned that this is and will continue to be an ongoing issue with the vehicle.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #154

Jul 082010

Town & Country

  • 39,000 miles
I have noticed a grinding noise while driving my vehicle for the past two months. The grinding does not happen all the time, but has become more frequent and louder over the past two months. I brought my vehicle to the local dealership where I purchased it and they told me they could not here what I was talking about when they test drove it. Two months later I returned with the vehicle and they informed me that my calipers were bad and that I needed new brake pads and rotors as a result. Even though I had brought the vehicle in for them to inspect two months prior, they did not warranty the damage to the brake pads and rotors. This ended up costing just under $500 to fix.

- Okemos, MI, USA

problem #153

Apr 172009

Town & Country

  • 16,000 miles
The brakes on our 2008 Chrysler town and country van need to be replaced much more often than is typically necessary. Usually the pads and rotors need replacing. The front brakes need replacing every 15-18K miles. The van is not driven under harsh conditions as it is primarily driven by my wife to take the kids to school and for her to go to work.

- Westfield, IN, USA

problem #152

Apr 062010

Town & Country

  • 13,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town & Country. The contact stated that the brakes have worn prematurely. The brake pads and the rotors were replaced due to wear and tear at 10,000 miles. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the brakes fail rapidly due to the design and the way they were made. The brakes have been replaced every 10,000 miles. There are no recalls or warranties related to the failure. The failure was repaired at the owners expense. The manufacturer was not contacted regarding the failure. The VIN was unknown. The failure and current mileages were 13,000.

- Paramus, NJ, USA

problem #151

Jul 052010

Town & Country

  • 9,784 miles
The 2008 Chrysler town and country minivan we have had begin to shimmy and vibrate up through the steering wheel when braking, especially when slowing down on the parkway. Concerned about the safety of the vehicle, I promptly brought it to my local mechanic. Upon his inspection, the vehicle required both front rotors and pads replaced. The vehicle has less than 10,000 miles on it. How can a 10,000 mile car need new rotors so soon? I hope to take this up with Chrysler directly and to be compensated for the expense of this service.

- Carle Place, NY, USA

problem #150

Feb 052010

Town & Country

  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town & Country. The contact stated that in February 2010, the rear brakes on the vehicle locked while driving approximately 25 mph. The dealer replaced the calipers and the brakes functioned normally until they failed again at 4,000 miles. The contact also stated that the front brakes on the vehicle were defective. The rotors were also warped and worn. The dealer advised him that there was a $100 deductible in order to have the vehicle repaired. The vehicle was not repaired when the complaint was filed. The failure mileage was approximately 13,000. The current mileage was approximately 18,000.

- New Castle , PA, USA

problem #149

Jun 302010

Town & Country

  • 20,000 miles
2008 Chrysler town and country brake squeaking, the car is only 2 years old, also smell burning back brakes near left rear tire, Chrysler requires customers to pay to fix brakes, no recall yet despite many consumer complaints read online.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #148

Oct 272009

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2008 Chrysler Town and country. Consumer states problems with front and rear brakes the consumer stated the brakes have been replaced three times. The consumer stated there was a burning smell coming from the vehicle. The consumer immediately pulled over and discovered the front brakes were extremely hot and the rear brakes were smoking. The service manager indicated there was a problem with the brakes and they could not seem to fix them. Also, the air vent was not working properly, a fuse had to be replaced, as well as the starter. The driver side mirror had to be replaced, the handle on the sliding door was replaced, the driver side rear door did open properly and the bumper fell apart. The consumer stated the front and rear brakes had to be replaced for a fourth time. Updated 07/12/10

- Springfield, MO, USA

problem #147

Jun 292010

Town & Country

  • 21,000 miles
Needed brakes replaced on 2008 town and country at 21, 000 and again at 31,000. Was told that this van goes through brakes fast and to be prepared to purchase every 10,000 miles?

- Cranford, NJ, USA

problem #146

Jun 282010

Town & Country

  • 36,000 miles
2008 Chrysler Town & Country has an issues with brakes. Front pads and rotors resurfaced at 20,000 miles. Now 16,000 miles later, the front and back pads and rotors must be replaced. $700. Brakes should last much longer which leads me to believe there is some sort of defect in their operation.

- Vero Beach, FL, USA

problem #145

Sep 012009

Town & Country

  • 20,394 miles
I own a 2008 Chrysler town and country. 1) the front brakes needed to be replaced at 20394 miles on the odometer. 2) service center reports that due to a known issue across many of their Chrysler T&C customers and a technical service bulletin from Chrysler the front rotors must be replaced after the first brake job due them not being able to be machined down any thinner. 3) the front brakes scratch and squeak while braking at low speeds. Service center reports that this is also a known Chrysler issue and that there is a recall in the works to address the replacement of the whole front brake system. Would like NHTSA to be informed of the poor brake performance on this model and to "encourage" Chrysler to issue the recall soonest.

- Culpeper, VA, USA

problem #144

Jun 232010

Town & Country

  • 38,500 miles
1998 Town & Country brake problem...at less than 12,000 noticeable squeaking of brakes and vibration of steering column when brakes applied...never had this happen so early in a car before...kept complaining...front pads and rotors replaced at approx 22,000 at my cost...at 30,000 squeaking and vibrations started again...at 38,500 rear brakes have seemed to literally "burn out" terrible metallic burning smell from rear driver tire area...tire is fine...rim extremely hot and terrible smell...speeds of approximately 35-55 mph and steering column vibrations are excessive...it is clear Chrysler has a major problem...will the NHTSA wait until a crash, fire and/or death occurs before taking this seriously...every Chrysler dealership service department knows there is an issue (almost seems like an inside joke), but hide behind Chrysler corporate...please make Chrysler fix this issue...most minivans on the road carry families and/or children...including mine!

- Highland, MI, USA

problem #143

Jun 152010

Town & Country

  • 23,000 miles
Brake were squeaking at 16K miles and dealer recommended turning rotors. At 23K miles, owner noticed vehicle shaking when applying brakes. Dealer inspection revealed warped rotors and estimated repair cost at $600. Owner questioned dealer mechanic about lifespan and was told they are experiencing very short (1/3 of typical) lifespan on this particular model.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?