Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
20,539 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chrysler Town & Country brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 1 of 13)

problem #242

Jun 152010

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 24,000 miles


I had to install new brakes at 24,000 after taking my vehicle to the dealer because there was supposed to be a recall and the dealer told me it had expired. I just had to replace my brake pads and install new rotors at 53,000 miles. I have my receipts and would like to be reimbursed and investigate why the dealer told me that the recall had expired. Obviously there is a problem with the brakes on my vehicle.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #241

Aug 132012

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
During the past three months all of a sudden the horn starts blowing erratically, the windshield washers and wipers activate, lights start flashing, the doors lock automatically and the transmission will not shift into high. This has happened five or six times since Aug., having occurred four times in the past three weeks. It happens while the car is running and while it is not. With each incident the symptoms become worse and the duration is longer. Last week, I had to pull off the road and wait five or ten minutes for it to stop as I could not see where I was going. Yesterday, it occurred while sitting in the garage and I had to disconnect the battery to stop it. The Chrysler dealer says it is the total integrated power module that needs to be replaced @$524.12. Additionally now at 54,000 miles the front rotors are warped and need to be replaced @ $409. They had to be replaced @ 25,834 and 35,272. When the brakes are applied the front end and steering vibrate uncontrollably. Both conditions are safety issues, have been well document by hundreds of people, and are obvious inherent defects in the vehicle, and should be issues that result in a recall of these vehicles and repairs or replacements made at Chrysler's expense, yet they continue to deny there is an inherent problem. Both issues could result in a serious accident.

- Shenandoah, VA, USA

problem #240

Mar 032010

Town & Country

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town & Country. The contact stated that the brakes were prematurely wearing. The contact also mentioned that both of the power sliding doors would haphazardly open while the vehicle was in motion. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer and the manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 15,000 and the current mileage was 43,000.

- Jupiter, FL, USA

problem #239

Apr 072012

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 43,042 miles


The engine just stalled with no warning. Had no power steering or brakes. Just pulled out of a parking lot where the car was sitting for a few hours. This is the third time this has done it.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #238

Nov 282008

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
I originally wrote a letter to Chrysler corporation in August of 2010 and instructed them to forward the letter to you. I do not believe that ever happened so I decided I should file a complaint. Myself. Back in 2010 Chrysler notified owners that there is a problem with the braking system in 2008 Town and country's that leads to premature wear. In the notice it said that Chrysler would pay for the first replacement of brake pads and rotors based on low mileage repolacements being required. I feel this is an unsafe situation that with no warning whatsoever the pads can just wear out and the rotors warp. I have had to replace the front brake pads 3 times with new rotors twice. Replaced at 12,000, 21,000, 34,000. The vehicle has been through a total of 4 new sets of pads and 3 sets of rotors. I also know that there is a defect with the front end geometry on the van and that could be a contributing factor. At a service appointment shortly after the initial purchase I was informed that the van needed all new struts, shocks, bushings, and front sway bar. The service manager indicated that there was a bulletin, and that the height of the mounting points were off, and thus all new parts were needed to fix the front end geometry, so the front sway bar would not break or wear out prematurely. I feel that the entire brake system is too light for the overall weight of the vehicle and the heat generated by the rotors is very dangerous. I feel the brakes should be recalled by Chrysler, and fixed.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #237

Jan 012012

Town & Country

  • 75,498 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the vehicle would leak antifreeze unto abnormally. In addition, the vehicle would not stop when the brakes were applied. The dealer diagnosed that the rear heater tube hose assembly and master cylinder should be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 75,498 and the current mileage was 87,000.

- Leebs, NY, USA

problem #236

Mar 162012

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles


The egr valve has failed resulting in the check engine light coming on. Now the right rear brake caliper has seized causing the brakes to smoke.

- Savage, MN, USA

problem #235

Mar 212012

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
I have had the front brakes pads replaced at 15000 miles, and then the front pads replaced again at about 30000 miles. The rear pads were replaced also around 30,000 miles. When at the dealer for an oil change at 50000 they said the rear pads need replacing. I was fed up with the brakes on this vehicle and did not have the dealer repair them. Today at about 54000 miles I took my vehicle into midas and they showed me that the rear drivers side brake pad was wore down nearly all the way while the rear passenger side pad was only about half. (unever wear). The rear drivers side rotar also showed signs of overheating. (had a blueish/purple sheen to it) I paid about 600 bucks to have the rear pads, calibers, and rotars replaced with ceramic pads.

- Beavercreek, OH, USA

problem #234

Oct 182010

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 34,566 miles
Howling noises from rear wheels when moving. Touching brake pedal stops noise. Right and left calipers, rotors, and pads replaced with new. At 50,469 miles on 2/27/12, grinding noise recurred. Front wheel bearings replaced under extended warranty. At 50,484 miles on 2/28/12, noise from rear wheel recurred; left rear rotor warped, pads stuck. Replaced left rotor, freed up pads. Noise not cured. At 50560 on 3/7/12, noise verified by Chrysler mechanic, replaced right rear rotor and rear brake pads. Total cost to owner to date for these repairs: $413.73 and many visits to dealer. Far too much wear and tear for vehicle used only for personal transportation. Took delivery October 1, 2008. Averaged 1,231 per month since purchase. All repairs completed at Chrysler dealer.

- Alpena, MI, USA

problem #233

Mar 052012

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
Vehicles current mileage is 64,500 miles and as of today had to replace front brake pads/rotors 4 times and rear brake pads/rotors 2 times.

- Orland Park, IL, USA

problem #232

Apr 012011

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles


I bought this vehicle new in February 2009. At 30K miles the front brakes were squealing and my husband replaced them. The brakes should not have worn out this soon. The inner pad on the right front brake was worn to the metal, ruining the rotor. The outer pad on the front right showed on a 30% wear. Thinking that the caliper was defective, we took it to the dealer. The dealer found nothing wrong with the caliper, so they said. At 48K miles, the back brakes were scrubbing...again, this should not happen at this low mileage. We own 3 other Chrysler vehicles that have over 200K miles each and the back brakes have never been replaced nor given any trouble. Because the back brakes on the 2008 van were scrubbing so badly, my husband preceded to replace them. What he found was an utter disaster. Poor engineering in parking brake design would not allow release of the right parking brake. The inner pad(again on the right side) was completely worn into the rotor. The parking brake does not release when used, therefore the inner brake pad continues to ride on the rotor until it is worn out. Therefore, I cannot use the parking brake anymore. We spoke with several mechanics, even at the Chrysler dealership, and was informed by all of them that the brake system used on these vans was the same used previously on Honda, Toyota, Ford, and General Motors. All of these auto makers dropped this brake design because it was so poorly designed. Chrysler needs to recall these vans and replace the whole braking system!

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #231

Dec 162011

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 49,500 miles
The power booster failed causing a loss in braking capability.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #230

Oct 242011

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 56,601 miles
We are having issues with mopar products. We replaced brakes at 31,843 miles at Chrysler world in abrahms, wi. Chrysler helped out with that they saw a defect in their van products and paid part of the cost. At 53,861 miles Chrysler world told us we are due for new brakes in the front and need rear brakes also! they said it was ok to drive to AZ but that the brakes needed attention by spring. That's 22,018 miles after the replacement! something is wrong and it is not our driving! in the summer we live in rural wi and we travel to surprise, AZ in the winter. The wi to AZ trip is 2,100 miles, mostly interstate. Since our purchase more than 20,000 of our miles have been on interstate highways. About 95% of our miles are rural and interstate miles! the next problem occurred on our way to AZ in October. Some type of spring broke in the steering column. This was repaired at tom obrien Chrysler Jeep in greenwood, in. This was replaced by another mopar product. How long will that last? they said I needed new brakes also but it would be ok to continue to AZ! I filed a complaint with Chrysler Corp. On 11-16-2011 a Chrysler representative phoned and stated they will do nothing as the car is out of warranty. He gave me this case# [xxx] for reference to his phone call and their decision. My brakes are grinding at times when I stop and I feel Chrysler must have a bigger problem with this van than they are telling or willing to make right. I am afraid to take it in to a Chrysler dealer because of the faulty brake linings they installed at 31,843 miles. We are in surprise, AZ now and have in the past used moore Chrysler Jeep in peoria for servicing. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Pound, WI, USA

problem #229

Aug 152011

Town & Country

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The contact was driving 45 mph when a roaring sound was heard from the vehicle as the brakes were depressed. The brakes were extremely difficult to depress and the vehicle did not respond to braking attempts. There was an increase in braking distance and time as the vehicle rolled to a stop. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the manufacturer was contacted but the vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 55,000 and the current mileage was 62,000.

- Chesterfield, VA, USA

problem #228

Oct 262011

Town & Country

  • 30,274 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town & Country. The contact was driving 45 mph when burning fumes were emitted into the vehicle. The contact stated that after inspecting the vehicle it appeared that the burning smell was coming from the wheels. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the rear driver side caliper froze and burned the brakes and rotors. As a result, the brakes, rotors and calipers needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 30,274.

- Downers Grove, IL, USA

problem #227

Aug 122010

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
2008 Chrysler Town & Country... 5 recalls... brakes brakes brakes...I have had the brakes replaced 4 times now with 96,000 miles on it. Also the rear driver side caliper froze up and I had to replace the pads, rotor, caliper @ a cost of $250. The noise from the front hubs drove me crazy!! paid $550 to fix them and got bad parts off the shelf.. then I got a notice in the mail 3 months after I fixed them about bad bearings in the front and that I can be refunded the money spent to fix them. Now im trying to fill out the paper work need for the refund.

- Albion, NY, USA

problem #226

Oct 172011

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
I was driving along and all of a sudden I heard a squealing noise and smelled a burning smell. I quick pulled over and my rotors on the left rear tire were fire engine red. The next day a called the dealer and sure enough I need to replace the brakes and rotors on all 4 axles. The car only has 15,000 on it. I fear that this will be an ongoing issue and I have kids in the car. I need my brakes to work properly at all times.

- Fairless Hills, PA, USA

problem #225

May 082009

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
Very bad design flaw with brake design causing myself and other customers to purchase multiple brakes and rotors for this badly engineered vehicle. This problem is also going to cause a loss of trade in value for us.

- Woodstock, GA, USA

problem #224

Aug 202011

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. While driving approximately 25 mph the contact heard a loud squealing sound while depressing the brake pedal. The contact exit the vehicle and upon inspection noticed the front and rear wheels were extremely hot. The failure occurred consistently at different speeds. The weather was not a factor. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated the front and rear brake pads had to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The failure occurred a second time at approximately 6,000 miles. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 10,000. Updated 12/20/11 the consumer stated the brakes and rotors were replaced twice. The brake pads would freeze which caused them to wear prematurely. Updated 06/13/12.

- Olmsted Falls, OH, USA

problem #223

Jun 162008

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
I have had my van for a little over 3 years and have already had to replace the front brakes on it twice and the rear brakes once. Both times the rotors and brake pads had to be replaced. I have had to replace all 4 tires as well, and that was only at a little over 40,000 miles. I have had to replace the battery, and I am now fixing the A/C & heating system for the third time. And every time I check the mail I receive another recall notice! and all the issues "could cause a fire". in addition, my rear automatic doors do not always close, I have to manually close them or they come back open. I have been paged out of a store for my back doors being open, after I watched them begin to close. I also have problems with the radio freezing.

- Millstadt, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?