10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
45,958 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chrysler Town & Country electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 41 of 56)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #301

Apr 022012

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 89,477 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle is subject to recall L25/NHTSA 14V-373. The engine shuts off during operation putting the driver and passengers at risk of harm. On one occasion, the shut down occurred when entering traffic. On another occasion it occurred in moderately heavy traffic while traveling on the interstate at 65 mph. The problem began in April 2012. The pattern is the same, after a series of shutdowns, the ignition locks up and the vehicle will not start. The vehicle is then towed to a Chrysler dealership where repairs are performed at the owner's expense. The repair receipts indicate that Chrysler replaces the transmitter and receiver (key fob). These repairs have been ineffective. The repair lasts for a few months and then the problem resurfaces. The most recent incident occurred on December 23, 2014. After a series of shutoffs, the engine wouldn't start. The vehicle was towed to the Chrysler dealership where it is presently located. On December 24, 2014, the Chrysler dealership refused to repair the vehicle, stating that Chrysler will not authorize the work. On December 26, 2014, the manufacture was informed of the problem via telephone discussion on the Chrysler recall assistance hotline (800-853-1403). The call was unproductive. Chrysler refuses to make any repairs until the spring of 2015 under recall L25/NHTSA 14V-373. The vehicle will not start and is unusable in its current condition. The vehicle is the owners sole source of transportation for work and family related needs. Chrysler is unwilling to provide a rental car replacement until repairs are made in spring of 2015. Since Chrysler has failed or is unable to remedy this defect without charge within a reasonable time, the owner is making this complaint to the administrator, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration and to the Kentucky attorney general.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #300

Dec 232014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 167,300 miles
While driving our van's horn began to go on and off by itself, the wiper blades began to run, and worst of all the dash was blinking on and off. This was a scary situation to be in on the road with my kids. It was very hard to concentrate and frustrating with no answers given.

- New Ulm , MN, USA

problem #299

Dec 212014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V373000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #298

Dec 122014

Town & Country

  • 118,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while the vehicle was parked, it caught fire. The contact mentioned that the cause of the fire was the rear speakers. A police and fire report were not filed. The specifics on how the fire was extinguished were not available. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 118,000.

- Framingham , MA, USA

problem #297

Oct 062013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
On 10/06/2013 our 2008 Chrysler Town and country touring edition (without alarm system) was parked under carport and for no reason the horn started honking (beep...beep..beep..constantly), both front and rear wipers & washers started running, door locks started continuously locking/unlocking, and gauges in dash were showing random and unusual readings. On 12/18/2014 while on the road with cruise control set at 65M.P.H. the horn started honking in the same manner, wipers/washers started running, and dash gauges malfunctioned. In both instances the only way to shut it all off was to disconnect the battery for a few days. There have been a few occasions when the horn randomly starts honking in the same manner but stops after just a few seconds.

- Binger, OK, USA

problem #296

Jun 062014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 11V139000 (electrical system) and stated that the part was not available for several months. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the delay. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Madison, NH, USA

problem #295

Dec 182014

Town & Country

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Scotland, SD, USA

problem #294

Jul 012014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The VIN was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Northville, MI, USA

problem #293

Dec 172014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 11V139000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The VIN was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Helper, UT, USA

problem #292

Dec 012014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
2008 Chrysler Town and country. Consumer complains no replacement part is being offered at this time recall # 14V373000.

- Madison, NH, USA

problem #291

Dec 122014

Town & Country

  • 119,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

To whom it may my 2008 Chrysler Town and country caught fire last Friday in my garage. When I woke up to bring my kids to school I noticed the back part of the car was burned in the car was filled with smoke. I immediately called the fire department once they got there they noticed the car was cold, that the fire had been started, and put itself out, in the middle of the night. The fire inspector came as well, and determined it was an electrical fire from the rear speaker, where my daughter typical sits. My car is a total loss. Likely we would not hurt, the fire was right about the gas tank! I'm wondering if this is something I could file a case on or if you can direct me to someone who handles cases such as this. As far as I know, according to my insurance company, price I was not going to help me out even though it was a manufacture error. Any information you could provide will be greatly appreciated. Thank you

- Framingham , MA, USA

problem #290

Oct 012014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) however, the part was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Selvyville, DE, USA

problem #289

Jun 162014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mcneil, AR, USA

problem #288

Dec 152014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Kenton, MI, USA

problem #287

Dec 142014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 81,835 miles
For the past several months the car will not start and takes several tries to successfully start the car. It hesitates at around 35 mph and tries to stall. I have been waiting for Chrysler to follow up with a second (L-25) recall notice. Yesterday, 12/14/14 while going around a round-about it died completely and I lost power steering, and all power to the car. I was able to restart the car and return it home. This is my main form of transportation, used to take the kids to school and activities. I was told by the dealer today they have been advised not to touch it by Chrysler and told to contact Chrysler. The representative at Chrysler said I needed to take it up with the dealer as it is not a matter of having a part, but that Chrysler does not have a solution. This is very concerning, as it poses a serious safety to concern to me, my kids, and other drivers. Please let me know what recourse I have in getting Chrysler to complete the full repair to my satisfaction. * mopar website says parts are available. It would seem a huge liability that Chrysler would not make driver and passenger safety priority.

- Vancouver , WA, USA

problem #286

Oct 012014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Rothschild, WI, USA

problem #285

Oct 012014

Town & Country

  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. While driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 32,000.

- Rio Rancho, NM, USA

problem #284

Dec 122014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.......updated 01/12/15 updated 01/15/15 updated 01/21/15 updated 01/26/15. Chrysler informed the consumer, there was no date as to when the parts would be available. The keys were defective as well and would be replaced when the recall was performed and there was no free rental. Updated 03/11/15.

- Summerfield, FL, USA

problem #283

Sep 012014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
As of 9/1/2014, with frequency increasing, my 2008 Chrysler Town and country intermittently shuts itself off, only not all the way. I lose very important safety features, such as the use of power steering. I have had several near accidents as a result. I understand that my issue is directly related to the L25 recall and that Chrysler recognizes and accepts liability for the issue, however, they offer no solution, putting each one of it's owners and their families lives at risk each time the vehicle is operated. My complaint is not that there is an issue, rather that Chrysler knows about it and is not fixing the issue.

- Shepherdsville, KY, USA

problem #282

Jul 012014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,300 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received NHTSA campaign number:14V373000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact experienced a failure. Updated 1/23/15 the consumer stated the situation was intermittent for 2.5 years. The dealership attempted to repair the vehicle multiple times. Updated 10/6/2015

- Reno , NV, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?