Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
45,859 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chrysler Town & Country electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 47 of 55)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #178

Jun 262014

Town & Country

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the electrical components malfunctioned and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was diagnosed but not repaired. The diagnosis was unknown. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #177

Sep 262013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
I just left my work related training class around 4:45pm and it was raining on that day. I noticed that I turned on my wipers, the front light and I immediately noticed that my wiper, the front light, signal light, heater and air condition stopped working suddenly. I tried to adjust my wiper speed but could not do any thing, to even turn it off was not possible. My signal failed to work, my horn also failed. I parked to see what might be the problem but could not electronically unlock the doors, also I noticed that when I turn the ignition key to on position, the dash light on the board was off, wiper is moving without been turned on and the light was not on after I started the vehicle. This is a potential danger and this has happened seven to ten times and these only happened when it was raining or during cold weather.

- Desoto , TX, USA

problem #176

Jun 222014

Town & Country

  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while starting the ignition, the windshield wipers activated independently with the illumination of the entire instrument panel. In addition, the passenger's side power sliding door failed to open and close properly. The failure occurred whenever the engine was in operation. In 2011, the vehicle was repaired under a voluntary recall issued by the manufacturer. The campaign number was K14( power sliding door wiring harness). The remedy did not correct the problem because the failure recurred. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 102,000.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #175

Jun 082014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the electrical components on the vehicle malfunctioned. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed the total integrated power module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 70,000. Updated 09/16/14 updated 1/20/2015

- Defiance, OH, USA

problem #174

Jun 052013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Ignition dies. Loses power steering and brakes. Have to coast to a stop off the road. After stopping the van the engine does restart. Has done it 20 times. Took van to dealer to check out problem in April 2014 and dealer could find no problem but updated the firmware on the ECU(s) - 6 updates. After this update the engine has not died while driving. I hope the condition is not related to our warmer weather in the last 8 weeks.

- East Moline, IL, USA

problem #173

Jun 032013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 77,412 miles
In June, 2013, I was leaving the parking lot of an office building. As I approached the street the car shut off; I was driving approximately 30mph. I applied the brakes and started it. The next time, I was driving out of my yard at about 5 miles per hour and the car shut off. When I went over a crack in the street, the car shut of, I was driving about 35 mpr. While on the entrance ramp to the interstate, the car shut off; I was driving about 50 mpr. Between my husband and me, these instances have occurred more than 50 times starting in 2013. We took the car to the dealership, stone mountain Chrysler in June, 2013 and they kept the vehicle for a couple of days. They stated they could not find what the problem was. We continued to contact them about the problem and again took the car back on October 14, 2013, to the Chrysler dealership, now called gwinnett Chrysler dealership, in stone mountain. They kept the vehicle for two weeks, and still stated they could not determine the problem. Finally, we were told by the dealership that we should retrieve our vehicle as they could not determine the problem, which we did on October 31, 2013. On November 1, 2013, the vehicle shut off as I was driving out of my driveway, and I was driving less than 5 miles per hour. We have communicated our problem to the consumer department of Chrysler in detroit on October 29, 2013, and have heard nothing. We called them a few times to follow up, and were told they were still "researching the problem. They called us back in December 2013, to ask if we were still experiencing the problem, and we told them that we were. We have heard nothing since.

- Decatur, GA, USA

problem #172

Jun 082014

Town & Country

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

June 8 & 9 car was locked and going into store and was away from car. Horns went solid, both wipers went high speed. Windshield washer spayed, lights flashing, security alarm started. Tried remote buttons and finally stopped. June 12, car sitting in drive unlocked for a couple hours. Open door to lock the car. The horn went on solid, wipers both front and back went high speed, lights flashing. Tried to take keys and turn on the car and nothing. Intermittent door locks and unlocks. Soon the horn changed pitches and acted like security alarm on, . wiper fluid started running. Tried remote but did stop.fan was running on condenser. Finally unhooked battery to stop.

- Defiance, OH, USA

problem #171

Mar 202014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
Car ignition switch jumped from run to accessory or in between them. Car stopped abruptly with no indicators present on the dash board. This happened 6 or 7 times more, once while driving on the main street of my town. A dangerous situation was avoided by my wrestling the car to the curb and onto the sidewalk. I reported the fault to my local dealer as an ignition switch problem but Chrysler (factory?) had them adjust the fuel trim, reset the memory, and perform battery disconnect and capacitive discharge. This did not work! the switch still "trips" to the accessory position. Has happened several times more since the "attempted "repair.

- Blackstone, VA, USA

problem #170

Oct 122013

Town & Country

  • 70,000 miles
My 2008 Chrysler Town & Country loses power when starting car but also when driving in normal roadway conditions. No other keys are on the key ring. I have had it at the dealer 3 times for loss of power issues. First time the wen module was replaced when car would lose power while driving and had trouble re-starting. Repair seemed to help for about two months but then car lost power but would restart once car came to a stop. First time at dealer was told car would not cooperate and they could not get the car to stop when they drove it and no error code. I specifically asked about the ignition and was told it was definitely not the ignition. Was told to bring it back if it happened again - it had happened everyday the previous week including 3 times in one day. Took the car back and was told they found the problem and repaired but lost power on way home. Will be trying a different dealer in the next couple days but car lost power again today. Fortunately, no accident yet but am extremely careful when driving and am limiting my driving to essential short trips. The car makes a click when loss of power and key is no longer in "on" position. Seems to me like the ignition. I told the dealer what it does.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #169

Nov 142012

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
While driving down the road the road I hear a light click and the engine shuts down, and steering becomes locked and I have to put the car in park to restart the vehicle. When this continued to happen after I heard the click I would look down and the key has moved from the on position to the acc position. This has happened multiple times since 11-14-2012 and happened a lot during 2013, I finally called Chrysler in August of 2013 when the van shut down while driving and one time while sitting in line at the bank and that same day while making a left hand turn and almost got hit as lots of traffic during rush hour. I took the van to avondale Dodge and they finally replaced the fuel pump as they found it was cracked this was in October of 2013, so my claim was closed with Chrysler. Van shut down again on 12-22-13 while looking at christimas lights in my community. There have been several other incidents since 12-22-13 that my van has shut down the latest being on 6-4-14 while driving on the 101 freeway going 65 miles an hour. I had to think quick and I remember that my son who has a 2005 Dodge Ram had this same issue with his truck and he told me to put the transmission into neutral and restart the van as it was coasting and then put it back into drive. The van restarted and I was able to get to my destination and back home without issue. I called Chrysler on 6-6-14 to report that the issue continues and that it happened on the freeway this last time. They started a new claim and had me take it back to larry H. miller avondale Dodge. The dealer can still not recreate the issue! I fear for the safety of myself, children and grandchildren.

- Avondale, AZ, USA

problem #168

Aug 192013

Town & Country

  • 78,029 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the vehicle accelerated and the entire instrument panel warning lights illuminated. The contact mentioned that the power steering failed and was unable to apply the brakes. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the win module and ignition switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 78,029 and the current mileage was 86,000.

- Broomall, PA, USA

problem #167

May 282014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 95,689 miles
The ignition on our 2008 Chrysler Town & Country has started getting stuck in the acc position. At the time of the first incident (May 28, 2014) it only took a few attempts at starting the van again and trying to turn it off before the ignition would properly turn off and release the key. At this time (June 18, 2014) these incidents have become more frequent and the duration has increased, also. On June 15, 2014, for example, I was unable to turn the van off and remove the keys from the ignition. I parked, restarted the van several times and attempted to turn the van off, but nothing worked. I drove around the parking lot of the grocery store before parking again and attempting several more times to turn off the vehicle and remove the keys with no luck. After approximately one hour of unsuccessful attempts, I left the grocery store and went back home. The ignition continued to stick in acc for around 30 minutes after returning home. I decided to just leave the keys in the vehicle and occasionally return to the vehicle to try to turn it off and remove the keys. It worked eventually and went one day without any incidents but it has continued to happen several times over the past two days.

- Elizabethton, TN, USA

problem #166

Jun 142014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
As you are driving the dashboard will start a beeping sound, lights on dash will flash on and off. The seat will start to move back and forward, up and down. This is very dangerous for this to happen while you are driving.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #165

May 212014

Town & Country

  • 67,000 miles
Having problems with the electrical system as described by many others here. Car can be sitting still in driveway or driving when the horn will go off, dashboard lights go on, wipers starting going up and down, windshield fluid starts shooting out, electrical components in vehicle don't work, A/C doesn't work, and if driving, car will not shift into gear at higher speeds. Cannot turn off or stop any of this. I tried turning car on and off, hit buttons on remote, and this will continue for a few minutes until finally stopping on its on. Very scary when you are driving! almost got in multiple accidents so far and with my kids in the car!

- Trumbull, CT, USA

problem #164

May 012014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 150,000 miles
I have had issues with stalling for months. Since February 2014, I have taken to local service center 3 times but they cannot fix it. Finally on May 1, 2014 after the vehicle stalled 2 times, I was involved in a collision. No injuries and the only damage was to my vehicle. Current estimate to repair the vehicle from the collision is $1700. There is no estimate to repair the stalling because there is no solution known to cause the stalling. Typical stall: While driving, the power steering gives out and then the brakes lock up. The vehicle has to be put into park after I attempt to safely stop. The key has to be turned all the way to off position before it will restart. Frequency is 1-4 times per week.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #163

Apr 262014

Town & Country

  • 104,000 miles
Was driving down the road when the alarm started beeping, lights on dashboard flickered, and wipers go on and off on their own. Has happened several times. Now the passenger back door automatic buttons do not work and the driver's seat will move forward and back when driving. This is a huge safety issue and the Chrysler dealerships are not helpful in finding a solution. Said it will take several weeks to try and diagnose what's wrong. I am alarmed that more people are having similar issues and a recall has not been made. It's hard to drive when your seat is moving. In addition, sometimes my transmission will not shift. Seems to be an electrical problem. Once I turn the vehicle off and restart it, seems to run fine.

- Hollansburg, OH, USA

problem #162

May 192014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
We have been having an ongoing issue with our 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The horn will start blowing, the wipers will come on, fluid will start spraying, the A/C will come off and on, doorlocks will not work, and all this will happen while driving and when it is sitting in the garage with no key in the ignition. I have a 4 year old daughter and when this happens while driving we have come very close to being in an accident. The only way to stop the vehicle from doing this is to disconnect the battery. Not safe.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #161

May 132014

Town & Country

  • 84,000 miles
I was driving at about 20mph, suddenly all the warning lights came on and the wipers started acting up. Since I was close to home and had this happened before, I decided to head back. The first time this happened was in February, my husband disconnected the battery and the problem was solved, second time was two weeks ago, changed the battery on the remote key and problem was solved, now my husband has disconnected the battery since every time this has happened the alarm comes on, tried disconnecting the battery and connecting it back again with no luck, alarm is still activated and remote won't shut it off and the van won't start.....its just sitting in my driveway with no idea on what it could be, after reading some of the reviews and learning that alot have the same problem I'm having and with no luck have they found the solution just makes me wonder if this will be a recall anytime soon...really hope so, now I'm stuck with a dead van in my driveway!!

- Brownsville, TX, USA

problem #160

May 032014

Town & Country

  • 67,000 miles
Van intermittently stalls at low speed unexpectedly. Gauges will fail at high speed, but has only died at low speeds. Occurs when cold outside. Must turn ignition off and on again to start. Sometimes must put in gear and back to park first.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #159

Apr 252014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 131,278 miles
I used my remote key button to start my vehicle, when I opened the door to enter the vehicle I noticed that the windshield wipers came on by them selves, they operated as if they were on delay until I placed the ignition key into the slot and place it in the start position, I then backed up and headed to work, all the way into town my dash lights flickered off and on, the wipers operated all by themselves even though they were turned off, the key chime continually chimed, both of the front window and the side view mirror control buttons on the driver side control panel did not work, but the side door window buttons and the rear louver window buttons and the passenger door window control panel buttons worked, the headlights flashed off and on and the turn signal lights were intermittent when switched on, as I said before the driver side window buttons would not work, therefore I could not use hand signals and I almost got rear ended. Also when applying the brake pedal the brakes would chatter and the front end of the vehicle shook so much it felt like the front end was going to come off. So I shut off the vehicle and started it normally with the key in the ignition, it still went crazy, the same thing was happening as described earlier, I later looked online and one forum answer said to disconnect the battery to try and do a reset, I disconnected the battery completely and then after 5 minutes I hooked the battery back up and started the vehicle, no change it was still doing the same thing and continues to do it every time I start the vehicle.I cannot afford another vehicle payment, so I continue to drive it this way! I have seen this problem mentioned all over the internet posted on many Chrysler and Dodge product forums! it seems to be that there are not any recalls or tsr's relating to this problem but there certainly should be!!!!

- Pleasant Plains, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?