Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
45,859 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chrysler Town & Country electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 5 of 55)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #1018

Aug 042014

Town & Country

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The VIN was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 05/11/16

- Hobart, IN, USA

problem #1017

Feb 202016

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system, air bags) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Hamilton, IL, USA

problem #1016

Jun 302015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- York, PA, USA

problem #1015

Feb 172016

Town & Country

  • 120,725 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Continuation of 02/01/2016 report: With the initial ignition, this car's engine just stopped and lost all power while leaving our driveway, back in 2010. The ignition was replaced Sept. 2014 under a recall notice. We had no further problems at that time. The ignition was replace again in Sept. 2015 due to another recall notice. On Jan. 15, 2016, while driving 40 mph on a local road, the engine shut down and we lost all power. Took car to Chrysler dealer. They could not identify problem, but said a technical report suggested replacing the PCM, which was done on 01/18/2016. On 02/01/2016, the engine shut down and lost all power, after traveling approx. 400 ft. Today, 2/17/2016, my wife was driving on the dallas North tollway, at approx. 50 mph, during rush hour, and the engine just shut down. Luckily she was able to pull over to the shoulder without incident, put the car in park, and restart the engine. If this is an ongoing problem with Chrysler, someone is going to get killed in an auto accident as a result of this problem something needs to be done quickly.

- Desoto, TX, USA

problem #1014

Jun 162015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system). The part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Muncie, IN, USA

problem #1013

Jun 262014

Town & Country

  • 0 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Appleton, WI, USA

problem #1012

May 152015

Town & Country

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) was received in may of 2015. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Fairview, PA, USA

problem #1011

May 152015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Columbia, TN, USA

problem #1010

Feb 102016

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 05/03/16

- Boonville, MO, USA

problem #1009

Jun 262014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Milwaukee, OR, USA

problem #1008

Feb 092016

Town & Country

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am the operations manager for a livery service on cape cod that uses Dodge and Chrysler minivans for public transportation service. I've been trying to get the parts for the ignition switch recall since June 2015, and my local dealer keeps telling me the parts are not available. Fca keeps sending me notices, and I find it disgusting that anyone should wait over nine months for the parts for this vital recall. Fca should be ashamed of themselves for not making these parts available in a timely manner.

- Monument Beach, MA, USA

problem #1007

Feb 022016

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lebanon, PA, USA

problem #1006

Feb 012016

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) was received in may of 2015. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The VIN was invalid. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Excelsior, MN, USA

problem #1005

Jan 282016

Town & Country

  • miles
Upon purchase of the vehicle (Feb 2015), we received a safety recall notice on the ignition switch (R03/NHTSA 14V-373). Went to dealership (dick meyers Chrysler/Dodge in harrisonburg va) in May 2015 and was told that we were "on a list" and would be notified. Never heard from them. Did a follow up on Jan 28, 2016 and was told the same thing - "on a list" due to backordered parts. This delay seems ridiculous and obvious to us that Chrysler doesn't want to swallow the cost and hoping people will just give up.

- Weyers Cave, VA, USA

problem #1004

Jan 282016

Town & Country

  • 122,487 miles
The incidents below are related to the tipm. 11-22-13, 80000 miles, I have video. (I'm guessing on mileage.) in my garage. I hit my unlock button on my fob. I do not have a starter, but my van began running, the lights, wipers & horn came on, the doors locked. I manually unlocked the door. Entering the vehicle, I tried to turn on/off the van, wipers & lights to no avail. After 1/2 hour, it stopped. I started the car. It was working. 3-17-15, 100000 miles (I'm guessing on mileage.) in the parking lot, I tried to start my van. No response. Figured my battery died. As soon as we started a jump, van's horn started blaring, wipers, lights & motor began. Could not turn anything on/off with my key. We removed/replaced a fuse, which stopped the horn, wipers, etc. I drove home. 1-28-16, 122487 miles I left work, hit my fob's unlock button, the wipers started going, etc. (the horn's had burned out from a previous incident). I drove 4 miles. The van stalled dangerously in traffic. I was able to pull over. After 5 mins, the wipers stopped. I drove it home. The engine light came on. I made it home. Next morning, while driving, the washer fluid started shooting! I barely got the van pulled over before it stalled. I couldn't stop the wipers. It started again.I drove to about 2 miles from the dealership before it died - the wipers were still going. My tow bill was $77. When I tell service the symptoms, she said, "do you have a Town and country?" I had the ignition module (recall) replaced.I went home. 2-3-16, 122600 miles driving to work. Wipers begin, wiper fluid shooting out again! 5 days prior, they said it was a recall for the ignition module. Today, it has nothing to do with the ignition module replacement. I must pay $966 to get a new tipm if I want to be safe. It is not covered under recall or warranty. I called Chrysler customer service.they said the same.

- Zimmerman, MN, USA

problem #1003

May 162015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was amde aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Alameda, CA, USA

problem #1002

Jan 012016

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #1001

Feb 012016

Town & Country

  • 120,000 miles
With the initial ignition, this car's engine just stopped and lost all power while leaving our driveway, back in 2010. The ignition was replaced Sept. 2014 under a recall notice. We had no further problems at that time. The ignition was replace again in Sept. 2015 due to another recall notice. On Jan. 15, 2016, while driving 40 mph on a local road, the engine shut down and we lost all power. Took car to Chrysler dealer. They could not identify problem, but said a technical report suggested replacing the PCM, which was done on 01/18/2016. On 02/01/2016, the engine shut down and lost all power, after traveling approx. 400 ft.

- Desoto, TX, USA

problem #1000

Feb 012016

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system, air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- East St Louis, IL, USA

problem #999

May 162015

Town & Country

  • 128,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. After the vehicle was started, there was an abnormal noise coming from the vehicle. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 128,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Downey, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?