Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
28,225 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chrysler Town & Country transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments

problem #12

Dec 282011

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 38,800 miles


Upon merging on to the highway at approx. 50 mph, the van rapidly accelerated on it's own. The gas pedal was not stuck on a floor mat, it hit the floorboard on it's own. Applying the brakes did not work, pumping the brakes as well as the gas pedal did not work. Van was steered to shoulder, the emergency brake was applied, and the vehicle put in park. The engine revved rapidly until vehicle was turned off. Acceleration problem occurred at 38,800 miles.

- Fenton, MI, USA

problem #11

Apr 302008

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles
4/30/2008- spark plugs replaced 3/6/2009- recall power steering hose- brakes replaced- 8,000 miles 6/24-2009 air conditioner fixed blowing hot air- 11,200 miles 12/4/2009- steering checked for noise; bleed air from system 16,650 miles 12/26/2009-got car back 12/30/09 towed in - doors opening by themselves while driving, windshield wiper go on by self, trunk opening while driving, alarm going off car running without key in ignition- computer reprogrammed, sop parts, reprogram mtc, reprogram tipm module- mileage 17,200 2/9/2010 - same issue car towed in to shop- 17,800 rent a car from 3/17/10 to 3/26/103/12/2010 same issue car died in the road- towed in- internal fault with intergrated power module- replaced and tipm reconfigured in module- 18,450 3/15/2010 go to pick up car and the engine light is back on- they had to hook up the computer to turn it off 3/17/2010 engine light comes back on have to drive it back to dealer and they can not figure out the problem 3/19/2010 same issue car revving high pdc/ tipm power module replaced 3/25/2010 tech brings car home and he was having problems engine light on 9/10/10- recall radiator cap & air conditioner blowing warm air " hose replaced & recharged miles=25,200 11//20/10 got car back 12/3/2010 towed in engine light stopped on the expressway, revving over 7,000 towed in PCM replaced tipm shortened internally. Doors opening while driving needed new software = mileage 26,000- had to fight with Chrysler to get a rental after 4 days of them having car*** I was driving on the expressway with my children and the boy scouts to a camping trip when the vehicle stops on the expressway a car could have hit us from behind! -/4/2011 "recall- front wheel bearings/recall HVAC drain and tube..oil leaking needs a PCV valve which I refuse to pay for 4/28/2011- car back 4/29/11 engine light on egr fail- 8/1/11 tipm a the consumer also stated the vehicle was in the repair shop for a week, due transmission problems. Updated 09/15/11

- Levittown, NY, USA

problem #10

Jul 262010

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 6,191 miles
Brake pads and rotors need to be replaced every 8K to 14K miles, recall J29 radiator capand K04 discharge hose - parts ordered July 26,2010. Vehicle brought in for service again on Sept 27 2010 dealership "ordered the parts again because they never replaced them. Brought the vehicle to another dealership on Nov 18 2010 and these recalled were corrected along with K14 for power door possibly causing a fire.

- Oak Ridge, NJ, USA

problem #9

Oct 142010

Town & Country

  • 52,000 miles


My 2008 Chrysler Town & Country minivan turned off while driving 65-70 mph on the highway. I was driving a consistent speed for minutes when it felt like my car was slowing down despite pushing the gas pedal. I looked at the instruments and the speedometer and RPM gauge both read "zero." I coasted in heavy traffic until I could pull over to a safe shoulder on the highway. It was a scary experience that my car would not respond to pushing the gas pedal. Also, it felt like the power brakes were not working while stopping. This is the third time this has happened in the last 3 months. On two of those occasions the transmission downshifted into 2nd gear for no known reason while driving highway speeds. In all cases I pulled over, turned the car off, took the key out and the vehicle worked fine for 2-4 weeks. I took the vehicle to the dealership and they could not find any problems with it. They said there were no error codes for the engine or transmission.

- Bogart, GA, USA

problem #8

Sep 042009

Town & Country

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler town and country. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, both of the side door panels opened suddenly. The contact pulled over and closed the doors. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the doors were repaired. The failure occurred again. The contact also stated that she heard a grinding noise while driving back to the dealer and the transmission fell out of the vehicle onto the ground. The air conditioner failed twice and the front brake pads also fell off. The contact called the manufacturer who offered no assistance. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 10,000. The current mileage was approximately 20,000.

- Scotch Plains , NJ, USA

problem #7

Jun 202008

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,325 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that vehicle was stalling. The vehicle does not give any warning before it shut down; however, it does not occur while sitting idle. The contact stated that the sliding doors do not close automatically. The doors close and then open back up. The doors will only close manually. The contact also stated that the engine light came on and the dealer had to replace the etesian indicator sensor. The brakes had to be replaced twice within the first 37603 miles. The first time they were replaced at 21000 miles. The rear brakes had to be replaced at 29781. The rear lift gate broke in September 2009. The starter failure caused the air conditioner to fail and the windows from opening and closing. The contact stated that they also had a problem with the air bag light coming on. The clock spring steering angle sensor was replaced. The vehicle will start and the gear shift selector would move, but when the gas pedal was engaged the vehicle would not accelerate. The dealer replaced the transmission, but the contact was not sure why. Updated 11/05/10. Updated 1/25/11 updated 04/18/11

- Weston, FL, USA

problem #6

Jul 122010

Town & Country

  • 34,500 miles


We purchased a used 2008 town and country 13000 miles in December 2008. In April 2009 at 16000 miles it needed all four brake pads replaced. Dealer said brakes were not covered with warranty and this was just normal wear and tear. In June 2010 at 32,000 miles when we took it in for an oil change, the technician indicated all four brake pads needed to be replaced. On March 14 2009 we reported the cd player would not eject cd's, but no work was performed. On April 8 2009 we again reported radio/cd player would not eject cds. Dealer replaced the radio. On July 6 2009 we reported sound quality problems with the radio. It was replaced and on July 30th we experienced same problems only now the radio would just shut off completely. The radio was again replaced. On December 26 we reported the aux. Power outlet was inoperable and needed to be replaced. We also reported the engine was exhibiting a loud humming noise when we approached speeds of 40 mph. Technician told us it was a computer problem and that was reset. Within one day the sound was back. In July 2010 we were traveling to denver Colorado and the ac would cut out when we approached 65 mph. In addition the RPM's would go as high as 4000-5000 at 60 mph. Car had to be towed into a local dealership in which the said the service department said the valve body and hub bearings were causing the noise and problems.

- Oswego, IL, USA

problem #5

Feb 122010

Town & Country

  • 33,262 miles
While driving in normal traffic on a level six lane ( three lanes on each side) road, proceeded to pass another vehicle using normal acceleration. Throttle stuck and car continued to accelerate. Placed shift lever in neutral. Tachometer indicated 4000rpm. Brought vehicle to stop and turned off ignition. Vehicle was a 2008 Chrysler Town & Country. 3.8 liter engine 33262 miles, engine temperature normal (warm ). ambient temperature 44degrees F, dewpoint 31 degrees F restarted engine and engine performed normal. Brought to dealer and the most likely problem was carbon buildup in throttle body.

- Port Orange, FL, USA

problem #4

Mar 062008

Town & Country

  • 35,526 miles
I own a 2008 Town & Country that has been in the shop for a number of things, the latest being the slipping of the transmission that started at 2000 miles and there was a burning smell, I took it to the shop 3 times, and at 35000 miles on 1-7-2010 I took the van in and they found a leak and the fluid was burnt, so they had to rebuild the transmission this time because of a defective part that was put in the van when it was being built. We also had problems with the mygig entertainment system, the sliding doors, the back hatch, the electrical, and the brakes that had to be replaced at 25000 miles. But Chrysler said that I don"T have a lemon!!!!!!!!!!!!

- Portage, IN, USA

problem #3

Nov 182009

Town & Country

  • 20,000 miles
2008 Town and country mini van - complete transmission rebuilt at 13,000 miles, had to replace front brakes at 20,000 miles, shifter cable damaged and had to replace.

- Evans, GA, USA

problem #2

Aug 252009

Town & Country

  • 66,000 miles
-the contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town & Country. The contact stated that the gears in the transmission have unwarrantly failed.the vehicle was taken to a dealer, and a technician concluded that the transmission needed to be replaced. He then added that because the warranty expired, he had to bear the expense. The manufacturer was notified. No repairs have been made. The failure and current mileages were 66,000

- Christopher , IL, USA

problem #1

May 292008

Town & Country

  • miles
My gig system, inclusive of radio, navigation, hands free (bluetooth) phone, rear back-up camera, and video system, continues to lock-up, re-boot itself, and generally creates unsafe driving conditions due to its inability to properly function. The system has been replaced twice, but the issues continue. There are several technical service bulletins regarding this problem. Chrysler agreed to a collateral exchange of the vehicle in August 2008, but is now refusing to follow through (many other problems also exist with the vehicle like the power sliding doors don't properly shut and open by themselves, transmission issues, radiator issues, etc.)

- San Clemente, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?