Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,473 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Chrysler Town & Country brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #17

Mar 042011

Town & Country

  • 14,000 miles


I am writing to complain about brake pads and rotors on Chrysler Town and country minivans. I was told today, 3/4/11 that I need all new brakes (rotors and pads on my 2009 Town and country minivan.) the vehicle has 14,500 miles on it. I have researched the vehicle and found on that there are numerous complaints regarding this vehicle and its brake system. I am going to replace the pads and rotors because I have 5 kids and their safety is more important than the cost. Please take this complaint seriously. Thankyou.

- Eastchester, NY, USA

problem #16

Mar 032010

Town & Country

  • 9,912 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. While driving approximately 60 mph, the contact applied the brakes but the vehicle did not stop. The contact used the emergency brake to stop. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated that the front rotors had overheated and warped. The dealer replaced the front rotors and brake pds. Two months later, the failure occurred again. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who replaced the front rotors and brake pads. In August 2010, the failure occurred again. The front rotors and brake pads were replaced again. The failure occurred again January 2011 and the front brakes were cleaned. The same failure occurred again so the vehicle was taken to a different dealer where the contact was informed that the vehicle needed new front rotors and brake pads. The vehicle had not been repaired. The contact called the manufacturer who offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 9,912 and the current mileage was 21,000.

- Mineola, NY, USA

problem #15

Sep 122010

Town & Country

  • 58,000 miles
Our Chrysler town and country is a 2009. We noticed the brakes started making noise after the vehicle was at the dealership because the air conditioning was not working. The brakes are now starting to grind so we took the vehicle to an independent garage. The mechanic said that he has never seen anything like it. Our rear brake hose system is blown as well as the calipers are shot. He said this seems very odd given the vehicle is a 2009 and a front wheel drive. It's getting worse and starting to make noise even when the brakes are not in use.

- Wesley Chapel, FL, USA

problem #14

May 122010

Town & Country

  • 30,500 miles


Approximately three months ago, we started to notice a vibration when using the brakes. Receive a notice from Chrysler in July stating some town and country vans brake pads and or rotors may prematurely failed. Car had about 35,500 miles on it when we took it to the Chrysler dealer last month to check the brakes. Front and back brake pads had to be replaced, rotors only needed to be turned according to dealer. However, vibration still occurs when braking.

- Grand Prairie, TX, USA

problem #13

May 222010

Town & Country

  • 15,000 miles
We had to replace rotors on our 2009 town and country van at 15,000 miles. We started to experience shaking in the front end when braking on the highway at less than 10,000 miles. At that point we were told that brake pads, etc were within normal limits. Finally at 15,000 we were told that the rotors needed to be replaced. Chrysler is offering to extend the 12 month, 12,000 mile warranty on the rotors with a $50 or $100 deductible. This appears to be a defective brake rotor and not a warranty issue as Chrysler is stating. Worse yet is that dealers are replacing the rotors with the exact same rotor! I was told by a Chrysler representatives that this is an item that is expected to experience normal wear and tear and, therefore, subject to limited warranties. In fact the letter that I received about the extended warranty for these rotors stated that "the brake performance is not affected in any way by this issue." I disagree with this statement and consider it a safety recall matter that is being mishandled to Chrysler's advantage and the customer's disadvantage.

- Cambridge, MA, USA

problem #12

Jul 212010

Town & Country

  • 7,700 miles
7/21/2010- brought 2009 Chrysler town and country in to dealer for A/C recall and front end shimmy while braking. Due to warping on all four rotors, dealer replaces at no charge, thankfully, rear rotors, but only resurfaces front rotors. Are the new rear rotors any different than the defective rotors they just replaced" why even bother resurfacing defective front rotors? dealer then reinstalls existing front and rear pads. Called Chrysler and based on our VIN #, Chrysler has not acknowledged any rotor defects with our van. 7700 miles, all four rotors warped, same front rotors resurfaced then put back on the van with old pads all around. No recall, no service bulletin, no acknowledgement from Chrysler about any problem, but warped rotors at 7700 miles something is really wrong here. Now the original defective front rotors that have been cut are on the van, waiting to warp again. Family member with an earlier model 2009 T & C has received from Chrysler a 'warranty extension' on front rotors and pads, but not the rear rotor or pads. Chrysler needs to admit bad brakes all around on these vans, and replace the defective front and rear rotors with rotors and pads of higher quality. Or is the issue an improperly designed brake system for these model and year vans "

- Lindenhurst, NY, USA

problem #11

Apr 012009

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,400 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler town and country. While driving downhill at approximately 45 mph, the brakes were applied and the brake pedal began to abnormally pulsate. The dealer cleaned all four rotors yet the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the rotors and brake pads were replaced. The failure persisted and the rotors were replaced a second time but to no avail. In addition, the contact stated during icy weather conditions, the front windshield defroster would not defrost the entire front window. The dealer replaced one of the windshield wipers but the failure persisted while driving during icy conditions. There were no further repairs. The failure mileage was 2,400 and the current mileage was 22,700. Updated 9/22/10 the consumer stated the brakes have been replaced four times. Updated 09/24/10

- Milford, PA, USA

problem #10

Nov 042009

Town & Country

  • 13,387 miles
Issue with brakes: I purchased my 2008 Town & Country van in April 2009 and mileage was 8666. In November, I heard a squeaking sound and took it to two Chrysler dealers where they both told me it was the front brakes and rotors and IżD have to have new ones installed and the cost would be around $600. My mileage at this time was 13387. I really didn't believe it so I took it to my mechanic where he confirmed it and I was charged $450 to have new front brakes installed. Currently, IżM experiencing the same problem ż brakes squealing! mileage now is 18739. Chrysler cannot tell me this is normal so I would like them to either replace the brakes free of charge or have these vehicles recalled due to faulty brakes. Who can afford to replace brakes every 4800 miles? you should follow Toyota's lead and admit the town & county has issues with its braking system!! there's something wrong ż correct it now!

- Hyattsville, MD, USA

problem #9

Jul 072010

Town & Country

  • 11,000 miles
Chrysler vehicles are having problem w/the braking and rotors. It is a known problem with several models. I have a 2009 town and county minivan with 11,000 miles. I experienced problems with braking. I have several children in the car so I was concerned. When I took the car to the dealer - all four rotors and breaks had to be replaced. Why -- there is a know problem with the Chrysler rotors/brakes. Why has the car not been recalled? I have a concerns since this is an ongoing problem. The mechanic was fully aware of this problem with several Chrysler models. I believe this is an incident whereas these models should be recalled since it affects safety of the passengers and their families.

- Phila, PA, USA

problem #8

Feb 052010

Town & Country

  • 3,562 miles
2009 Chrysler town and country. I have less then 14K on my van and have had the rotors replaced twice already. I have another appointment scheduled next week for them to be serviced again.

- West St Paul, MN, USA

problem #7

Jun 092010

Town & Country

  • 12,500 miles


The front rotors of my vehicle have to be resurfaced after only 12,500 miles. The service manager told me Chrysler had a notice about the rear ones as well and he would take care of those as well. This does not seem like something that should be happening with a brand new vehicle. I am very concerned about this.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #6

Dec 122009

Town & Country

  • 21,576 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) Chrysler Town and country limited, vehicle id: [xxx] purchased 10/6/2008 front brakes failure 12/12/09. Needed to replace front pads and resurface rotors. Mileage 21,576. Rear brakes at only 20%. at 24,112 miles wheel shimmys a little. Found even pad wear but rotors are glazed over from heat. Front rotors machined. Rear brakes pulsate and replaced rotors and and pads. Appears brakes are insufficient in material and size. Other vehicle currently owned: Mzda MPV 2005 model - front brakes replaced at miles 59,000 which still had 19% on pads Buick 1998 model le sabre replaced brakes at 66,000 and 125,000 miles. Driving conditions: About 80% freeway long distance and 20% city slow traffic with stop and go. Brakes should not wear this fast.

- Puyallup, WA, USA

problem #5

May 012010

Town & Country

  • miles
My 2009 Chrysler town and country with less than 27,000 miles required re-do of all rotors due to what the dealer said was excessive wear. The problem was noticed because I began to experience a wobble in the steering wheel upon braking. This vehicle was purchased 1 yr ago as a demo and I have never experienced a brake problem like this in any vehicle I have ever owned, so I have to believe the problem was not due to "my improper driving/braking" habits as was inferred by the dealer.

- St Louis, MO, USA

problem #4

Apr 162010

Town & Country

  • 34,149 miles
I own a 2009 Chrysler Town & Country LX which I purchased in December 2008. About 2 months ago I noticed a high pitched noise periodical coming from the van. When I lightly applied the brakes the noise went away. About a month ago the noise began occurring more regularly and for more prolonged periods of time. I took the vehicle in to the dealership from which I bought it a couple of times and described my problem to the service manger. He told me to drop by at the dealership when I noticed the sound occurring. On 3 occasions I tried to do that but when I got to the dealership the noise was no longer occurring. On Friday April 16th, I heard the noise and drove to the dealership. I noticed the service manager drive off in another van, so I followed him to see if I could catch him while the noise was occurring. When I pulled next to him at a traffic light, the noise was no longer happening. I spoke to him then left for home. When I arrived at home I smelled something and touched the rear wheel and found it extremely hot. I drove to the dealership and they pulled the van in for inspection. They found the "rear brake pads worn and dragging on rotors. Replaced rear brakes & resurfaced rotors." That cost me $180.88. The car only had 34,149 miles on the odometer. Although no accident occurred, it seems unreasonable for brakes and rotors to be so worn with such low mileage. Neither my wife nor are speedy drivers and do not drive aggressively, (jack-rabbit starts, tailgate, etc.) I've never owned a car that needed brakes at such low mileage, yet I see no complaints or defect notices on your web-page. I thought it prudent to advise you of this issue before an accident occurred regarding similar issues with Chrysler brakes.

- Lakeport, MI, USA

problem #3

Feb 242010

Town & Country

  • 7,000 miles
The are are many issues that I have faced with my 2009 Chrysler Town and country touring (25th anniv. Edition). First are the brakes which make this metal on metal sound after 6,000 miles; the transmission is always slipping and you can feel it big time while driving, whether its down shifting or shifting up. The steering makes way too much noise. Dealer has said nothing is wrong with transmission, but you can definitely feel it. Online forums people have complained about having the same problem with all three. Take a look at it! the transmission is always slipping and steering is very frequent almost every day.

- Brentwood, TN, USA

problem #2

Feb 182010

Town & Country

  • 20,000 miles
Last week while taking my son to karate we were stopped at a red light. After coming to a complete stop about 10 seconds later my brake pedal went all the way to the floor. I wasn't sure what had happened and didn't think too much about it. My vehicle is a 2009 Town and country Chrysler - we purchased this mini-van brand new in may of 2009. On the way home this happened one more time. I told my husband about the issue and he mentioned something like there may be air in the lines. I am not too familiar with car problems so the next morning I was prepared to drop it off at the dealership for them to see what was going on. As I got myself and two small children (7 & 5) situated to go - I began driving off, relatively slow, and as I came to a stop sign - I couldn't stop. I began pumping the brakes and finally coasted to a stop. The vehicle was towed to the nearest Chrysler dealership where they looked at it and told me that my master brake cylinder was "shot." I asked how this could have happened and he told me that I just must have had a faulty cylinder. It is being replaced but I am a bit hesitant on receiving another defective part. Since I am not that educated in "car stuff" I have been doing a bit of research on this part - this is serious business. Just to think the kids and I were going to the shed aquarium in downtown Chicago this weekend - what if I had no brakes on the highway driving 65mph.

- Plainfield, IL, USA

problem #1

Dec 272009

Town & Country

  • miles
Premature brake system component failure.

- Conyers, GA, USA

Not what you are looking for?