Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.8

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 9
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
32,689 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Chrysler Town & Country electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 15 of 21)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #131

Mar 132015

Town & Country

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cicero, NY, USA

problem #130

Aug 082014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable to service the vehicle under the recall. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 4/16/15

- Pigeon , MI, USA

problem #129

Jun 252014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Chrysler notified me of a recall (recall L25) in summer of 2014. The defect causes my vehicle to shut-off, sometimes at high speeds. It also causes electrical malfunctions on things such as the air bags, radio, the trip-tronic manual shifting system. It has been 9 months, and Chrysler has maintained this entire time that parts are not available to repair this problem. I think this is an unacceptable amount of time for a factory defect to not be corrected. It is dangerous for me and my family to drive in a vehicle that suddenly turns off on the highway, that changes from an automatic transmission to a manual shifting vehicle by itself, and whose airbags turn off, and may not deploy should an accident occur.

- Richmond Hill, NY, USA

problem #128

Mar 112015

Town & Country

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Castana, IA, USA

problem #127

Mar 112015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 11V139000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to specify when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Avondale, AZ, USA

problem #126

Mar 092015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 4/16/15

- Lansing , MI, USA

problem #125

Mar 062015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 96,660 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The below incident happened twice on 6 March and once on 7 March. The vehicle cutoff while driving. This resulted in a loss of power brakes and power steering. Unfortunately, this was not the first time this occurred. It happened a couple weeks ago as well. I was able to bring the car to a stop and restart the car again. This is a very dangerous situation. I forbid my wife and kids from driving the vehicle. I am not a wealthy man, so I have no choice but to drive the car, but I try to keep the driving to relatively low speed situations to reduce the risk should the incident occur. I have contacted Chrysler to get priority for the fix. Chrysler says that the fix has not been designed yet.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #124

Jun 272014

Town & Country

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler town country. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. Updated 04/10/15 the consumer stated while driving at 35 mph the engine shut down in traffic. The power steering went out as well. The failure recurred at 65 mph on March 5, 2015. On 3/5/15 the replacement part was still unavailable. Updated 11/12/2015

- Middleburg Heights, OH, USA

problem #123

Mar 062013

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cloquet, MN, USA

problem #122

Sep 012010

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while at a stop light, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle by turning the key to the off position and then to the on position. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The approximate failure mileage was 10,000. Updated 8/10/15

- Saugus, MA, USA

problem #121

May 012013

Town & Country

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the key became stuck in the ignition. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Orange Park, FL, USA

problem #120

Feb 252015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bartow, PA, USA

problem #119

Jul 172014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #118

Feb 182015

Town & Country

  • 90,000 miles
During the past week, five different times while driving the vehicle has shut off, losing all power including power steering. The car needed to be put into neutral and restarted. This occurred even after removing all additional keys and keychains from the key fob. The incidents occurred at various speeds ranging from 25-60, including once on a highway/highway entrance ramp. Two dealers were contacted regarding recall and both stated that recall parts are on backorder with no expected date of arrival. An attempt to contact Chrysler group recall assistance center directly was made, unfortunately after sitting on hold for over an hour, no contact was made.

- Addison, IL, USA

problem #117

Dec 012014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- West Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #116

Jun 302014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 4/15/15

- Mansfield , TX, USA

problem #115

Dec 262013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 125,676 miles
I was driving down the street and the lights started to flicker and the car went dead.

- Norcross, GA, USA

problem #114

Feb 182015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Billings , MT, USA

problem #113

Nov 022012

Town & Country

  • 104,280 miles
I attempted to start the car - there was power to the windows, radio, door locks, etc. When they key was turned, a "clicking" sound could be heard, but the car wouldn't turn over. Aaa responded, checked the battery and determined it to be sufficient for a "cold start" but still could not get the van to start. The car was towed to Chrysler and we were told to replace the battery. After replacing the battery, the dealership still couldn't get the vehicle to start. They "re-coded" the wireless ignition module, the car started. After starting, we experienced intermittent problems. The van randomly wouldn't start, but hours later would. One key would start the van, while the other wouldn't. after getting stranded with children, I took to carrying both key fobs with me. Several times, the key fob wouldn't release from the ignition even when the van was placed in park. We received a recall notice in July of 2014 for the wireless ignition node. I contacted the dealership and was told I'd be notified when the recall would be fixed. On January 30th of this year, the van stalled while I was driving. We couldn't restart it, nor could we depress the break, or the shift button to get the van into neutral to have it towed. We also couldn't get the key to release from the ignition. Aaa was again called, and the helpful operator was able to get the key out and release the shift to neutral. The dealership let me know that I needed to replace the defective wireless ignition module. After multiple calls to Chrysler's recall information line, we were told the repair would be reimbursed, along with the cost of the rental car. $669.77 later, Chrysler is now stating they won't reimburse me for the repair because "the part numbers don't match" and "no fix for the recall has been authorized nor has a time line for fixing the recall been released"

- Troy, OH, USA

problem #112

Jan 272015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Honolulu, HI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?