Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 9
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
32,440 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Chrysler Town & Country electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 19 of 21)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #50

Sep 092014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles


Safety recall L25 wireless ignition node module detents. I have been waiting on repair part for some time. My dealer does not have it in stock and we are being told that Chrysler will only permit dealers to order 5 parts a time. I never know when my car will start or not. Its unacceptable that their are not enough parts to repair these vehicles. I made an appt with my Chrysler dealer only to arrive and told they did not have the part.

- Fort Washington, MD, USA

problem #49

Sep 182014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system). However, the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had experience a failure.

- Port Huron , MI, USA

problem #48

Oct 012014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
Vehicle refused to start on several occasions, lights on, power on, engine would not turn over, no sound from starter. Then after many attempts, vehicle would start as if nothing was wrong. Then vehicle would stop in traffic and whatever speed traveling, dead with no response when trying to restart. After many attempts to start while in middle of traffic vehicle started as if nothing happened. Dealer states ignition & tipm module are fault.

- Inverness, FL, USA

problem #47

Mar 142014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 96,114 miles


The car engine shuts off while driving, you have to pull over and start the car again. I have been unable to remove the key fob from the ignition switch and not able to turn the engine off. I had to work at pulling the key fob out for over a half hour before I was able to shut the car off. At one put I removed the key fob from the ignition switch but the engine was still running. I checked if there were any problems with Chrysler vans and learned of a recall L25 regarding ignition switches. I never received a recall notice for this problem from Chrysler. I called a Chrysler 800 number, they told me of the recall but said they did not know when parts would be available. I called a local Chrysler dealer, talked to a service person, they had no idea of when a part would be available to fix the problem. They gave me another 800 number to call, I basically received the same information. Both 800 representatives told me to rent a car in the mean time. I called the corporate headquarters, spoke to a representative and she told me their engineers don't even have a fix for the problem and they have no idea how long it will take. I asked about Chrysler providing us with a loner car and she said that was not an option. She also said if I feel the car is unsafe to drive, I shouldn't drive it. What good is my van if it sits in the driveway for who knows how long. I am unable to drive the vehicle because it is unsafe. Chrysler's customer service is very much lacking especially in light of all the GM ignition switch problems and law suits in the news. The impression I received from Chrysler is one of "too bad, there is nothing we can or are willing to do for you." Chrysler should be held accountable for cars unsafe to drive while they come up with a solution to the problem. Consumers should not be expect to lay out money to rent a car when it is Chrysler's fault!

- Monroe Township, NJ, USA

problem #46

Oct 062014

Town & Country

  • 178,000 miles
Today when starting my van. I noticed it was taking longer to turn over than normal. Then tonight out of nowhere it quit starting all together. After doing some online research I have found that it is the power module most likely and that there will be a recall eventually, but it is in the early stages only. How am I supposed to raise two kids and make a living with a van that doesn't run. I am so sick of this van. I have had nothing but problems with it. Chrysler better start making things right with their customers. I will never buy another Chrysler product ever again. I do not feel safe in this van, and now it doesn't even run.

- Sault Sainte Marie, MI, USA

problem #45

Sep 232014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
On 9/23/2014, I went to start my vehicle in the morning and it took a few more seconds than usual to start. When is started it ran fine. A little later, I went to start my vehicle, it started and then immediately stalled. Each of these incidents happened another time on this day for a total of 4 times. I called my local Chrysler dealer, nemer Chrysler, and they suggested I bring it in. I would be charge a $86 plus tax diagnostic fee per hour. After being there for 2 and 1/2 hours, they told me my vehicle needed a tipm (totally integrated power module) as well as some other routine maintenance for a total of $2000. They told me the tipm manages the power supply of the car and if it fails, I would have not power, it is dangerous to drive my car and I could get into a serious accident if its not fixed. I wasn't sure I was given honest information from the dealer so I decided to come home with my vehicle as is and do some research. When I got home, I went online and found that Chrysler is recalling this part but the recall is in the early stages and has not been launched yet. I also called Chrysler and was told the same thing. Chrysler told me that I would be contacted once the recall has been launched. In the meantime, I have 3 small children and need to get them to school, etch but I am concerned that driving my vehicle could cause harm to them. I cannot afford to rent a vehicle while waiting on Chrysler to launch this recall. I also don't want to fix the vehicle yet because I don't want to be responsible for the cost if Chrysler is recalling the part and will pick up the cost eventually when the recall is launched. I also read online that many owners of the same vehicle are having the same problem which leads me to believe it is a chronic problem with these vehicles.

- Saratoga Springs, NY, USA

problem #44

Dec 272013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles


Purchased 2009 Town and country van from crystal Chrysler Jeep Dodge brooksville 34613 Florida. The vehicle was sold with an existing safety recall not repaired. After 9 months of use I received a notice from my insurance carrier notifying me of this. I made an immediate call to the dealer and validated they had the part and made an appointment for repair. When I arrived for the repair they informed me they did not have the part because there were 9 different models and all they needed to find out was which one I had. They then informed me it would take 2 or three weeks and they would notify me. After 2.5 weeks I followed up only to be told they can only order and receive 1 part every two weeks because the problem is extensive. I should call Chrysler direct. I called the ownership who gave me back to the dealer who reiterated that and had no way to get a part. I advised them for 9 months they had placed me and my family in jeopardy. Sorry, we will continue trying my best bet call Chrysler. I did just that and spoke to [xxx] their representative and opened case [xxx]. he reiterated he did not have any idea when the parts would come. I informed him of my safety concerns and made sure he noted it and warned them on notice if something were to happen I would seek alternative action. I find this extremely non caring in that they gave me an unsafe vehicle and now cannot repair it to insure our safety. Understand they had this vehicle for two weeks prior to my picking it up. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). The consumer referenced recall # 14V373000. Updated 10/05/15.

- Florida 34613, FL, USA

problem #43

Jun 022013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
I have a 2009 Chrysler limited Town and country which I started having ignition turnover and random electrical problems with in June 2013.I have a lifetime Chrysler warranty which along with my generous dealership, has provided me to date with 2 dozen+ rentals while my car has been at my dealership sometimes up to 1 month at a time. My car problems began abruptly in June 2013 when I drove my vehicle to church.upon reentering the car to leave, it would not start.I knew it was not my battery since it was recently replaced with aaa and thought it might be the alternator.the aaa tow truck driver tested the battery and alternator which were fine.he was unable to start the van and towed it to the dealer.the dealer called me the next day to ask what was wrong with the vehicle since it started on first attempt. No codes have ever been present and the internal systems wipe them out.this issue is still unresolved after 16 mo. I was stranded 1 more time requiring a tow and then the dealer worked with star engineers in detroit and replaced both fobik keys 2X, win module, ignition module etc.these repairs have not stopped the problems but at least allow the car to turnover by 3rd attempt or while waiting. It has created great anxiety and pain and suffering to my family along with serious safety concerns for fear of being randomly stranded while traveling. I have filed a formal complaint with Chrysler to be ignored and told "driver error". I along my children, have experienced this turnover problem in 2 T&C 2014 enterprise rentals. In addition, my personal mechanic has had vehicles at his shop which have been basically junked.this fobik issue is not particular to my car but I have friends who have had problems in their Jeep and Dodge too. Please come clean Chrysler and be concerned with your customers safety and admit and repair your faulty engineering before someone is killed.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #42

Apr 162013

Town & Country

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the steering wheel was difficult to turn intermittently and the entire instrument panel illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 40,000.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #41

Jun 032013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The key fobik stuck in the ignition on several occasions, took it to the dealership for repair "and asked if any recalls were out there for this vehicle and was told no by peterson stampede, nampa[xxx]208-475-3030" paid for wireless control module and new keys for a total of $504.20 invoice #12637. This is the second time the key thing has had to be replaced, not happy with this electrical key. I am [xxx] as they are older individuals in their 90's and can't take care of this. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Nampa, ID, USA

problem #40

Jan 152014

Town & Country

  • 80,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. While driving approximately 40 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to be restarted and resumed normal operation. The failure occurred three times. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. In addition, the front driver seat would not remain in a secure position and constantly moved while the vehicle was in motion. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #39

Aug 042014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. While driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road and was able to be restarted. An independent mechanic cleaned the throttle body, but the failure continued. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system), but the parts needed to repair the vehicle were not available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 35,000. Updated 10/07/14 the vehicle was fixed on September 8, 2014

- St. Clair Shores, MI, USA

problem #38

Aug 182014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 53,229 miles
My wife was leaving from a remote work site. She couldn't start the vehicle. I went to check it out. All the electrical seemed to work fine. We would get a single loud click from the starter. We towed it home. I went to replace the starter and found that the connector for the power wire from the ignition switch was melted and brittle. Believing the starter to be bad, I replaced it and fixed the connector to the starter. Still had the same loud click. I took the old and new starter to O'reilly auto parts and had them tested. The old starter did come back bad. The new starter was still good. I also had them test the battery and the alternator. Everything came back good. I took everything home. I hooked everything back up. Still the same response. After the 25th time of trying to start it, we began to no longer have the clicking noise. Just silence. The vehicle will not start or turn over. It is a no crank/no start issue. It is believed that we have a bad ignition switch or bad win. I cannot do any more diagnosing myself nor do I have the financial capacity to take it to a dealer to have investigated. I have emailed nick cappa but am not expecting a positive response as the dealership claims that our particular van is not covered under the current recall, even with the recall expansion. So the van will be sitting here with a new motor(separate issue) at only 53K.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #37

Jul 292014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,850 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. While driving approximately 25 mph, the contact noticed smoke rising from the hood of the vehicle and all electrical power failed. The contact stated that flames ignited from the wheel wells and underneath the hood. There were no injuries and a police report was filed. The fire department extinguished the fire. The vehicle was towed to a salvage yard. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 61,850. Updated 10/1/14 updated 5/12/2015

- Rices Landing, PA, USA

problem #36

May 152014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
While driving the ignition switch turned to accessory stopping the engine. I pulled to the side of the road, stopped and restarted. It happened again a month later on the freeway. Tried to restart engine while driving - did not restart until I moved shift lever to neutral. On 7/8/14 I took the car to the dealer and the service representative said "I was able to get it to do it". I contacted Chrysler twice that day ([xxx] and another) but they refused to pay because not recalled yet! I paid $588.89 for repair out of pocket rather than chance a failure on winding mountain roads. Two additional points: 1. for six months the key would spring back to accessory when starting. Precursor of problem. 2. they know of the problem on the 2009 T & C as reported by [xxx] in detroit free press (about 7/1/14). Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Milford, MI, USA

problem #35

Jul 232014

Town & Country

  • 109,579 miles
This is a follow up to ODI number 10604831. Soon after I filed this complaint; I attempted to start the vehicle and there was only a small detected attempt when I turned the ignition switch. I followed up 5 to 6 more attempts and it started normally, I noticed when I would be unsuccessful at engaging the switch, it did not draw any current or effect the light. This continued not wanting to start over the past 3 to 4 weeks, I would estimate 12 to 15 times. There were times, it took longer--putting in neutral, to using my wife's key before it would start. I was getting nervous to thinking one of these times it would not be starting or to die in traffic. So today I had mills dealership here in willmar install a new switch....thinking my problems would be solved, think again. The short time I drove it this afternoon. The engine died when I went to slow up for a stop sign, which is usually when it would happen. Also starting it once it took 3 twist of the switch before it started, which was an improvement. Can I get a call from a specialist to what may be going on, I do some answers.

- Willmar, MN, USA

problem #34

Jul 112014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 85,100 miles
On 7/11/14 at approximately 7:00 pm my daughter was driving my minivan to the store. We were up North near gladwin, mi for a long weekend. When she returned she reported the "car had just stopped running". I asked her did it stall or have an engine problem? she replied no it just shut off and was difficult to steer. The next day, 7/12, the same thing happened. Luckily both times the vehicle was on a country road with no one else around. The following day, 7/13, we needed to return home. I was very nervous about driving the vehicle but needed to get it home. We drove approx. 120 miles, mostly freeway, and twice it again shut off with no warning. Very scary and luckily I was able to pull onto the freeway shoulder both times with no crash/injuries. Unfortunately I have been on the phone with Chrysler and they are unwilling to resolve the issue. They are telling me the recall isn't "ready" yet and I will have to have the vehicle repaired at my expense.

- Macomb, MI, USA

problem #33

Dec 162013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
We were driving on a city street when the car lost all power. It was brought to a halt after we were able to steer to the side out of the way of traffic. When we were able to restart the engine it performed without additional problems until we reached home. The car also performed exactly as it did on December 16,2013, onjune 15, 20,14.

- Fayetteville, GA, USA

problem #32

Jun 032013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
While driving (happens at all speeds - 35, 50, 70, etc.), complete power to the vehicle is killed. This is very scary when it occurs. We lose power steering, brakes, and I'm assuming air bags as well. We have had several close calls with entire family in car but have been lucky to avoid crashing into other cars, cement walls, etc. This has been occurring for over a year now at random intervals. We have taken the vehicle into a licensed shop (mastertech) for inspection but they have not been successful in diagnosing. I'm fearful this is an issue similar to the GM issue that has caused several deaths. I don't want my family or myself to be the next victim. Please help!

- Brownstown, MI, USA

problem #31

Jan 012014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
I was driving at approximately 45 mph when my T&C Chrysler minivan just shut off. I had to "arm-strong" steer it to the side of the road and restart it. Luckily I was not on the highway. Now the key fob randomly gets stuck at 'accessories' and I am not able to turn the car off. Apparently the ignition does not know the car is in park as well. When I get to my destination, I am faced with having to either leave the key in the ignition with power being drained from the battery (since thing are still on)..or continually driving around and park, drive around and park, until the key will come out. This is an on going problem. I have taken it to my mechanic he googled and found other Town and country mini vans have been reported with the same problem, including shutting off while being driven going back as far as 15 years! there is clearly a manufacture defect with the ignition. On a separate occasion, my passenger side air bag opened while I was driving. I pushed it back in place...but since I hit noting, I don't know why it opened up to begin with. Except for after reading about the faulty GM ignition and how it affected the air bags. Now I have no idea if the air bags will work or not when needed. I have complained to Chrysler openly and repeatedly on their twitter account and their facebook page, they messaged me once through facebook and said they closed my complaint (but without ever having spoken to me). And they are continuing to ignore me. The problems I am having with my ignition are the very same problems owners of the recently recall defective GM ignitions are having. I have no doubt the ignitions are one in the same. I want this dealt with while it is fresh in the minds of people who demanded the GM recall! I want something done today! I'm afraid of my own car! ps the engine lags as well.. the RPM's drop below the mph randomly.

- Oregon City, OR, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?