Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 9
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
32,440 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Chrysler Town & Country electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 20 of 21)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #30

Dec 272013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles


While driving on the freeway, going uphill at about 55mph, my engine suddenly began revving and the van sped up, then, I was unable to get it to accelerate. I pushed the gas pedal, but it wasn't engaging the engine. The RPM's would go up, but there was no affect on the van speed. The terrain changed, so then I began going downhill and I continued trying to get the van to accelerate to avoid being rear-ended. Finally, the engine engaged and I was able to speed up. This happened one more time during that trip. It has happened a couple of other times since then, briefly, but yesterday, it happened, and I again, was nearly rear-ended, and I had to coast into a parking lot to get out of the way of traffic. (the "check engine" light has never come on while this was happening.) I went to a mechanic who then test-drove the van, but was "unable to duplicate the problem." I drove the van home and the problem happened throughout my trip (speeds ranging from 30-45 mph.) it wasn't until I finally made it home and was parking the van in front of my house that the "check engine" light finally came on. I then took the van to a local auto parts store that will run codes after the engine light comes on. It gave a code for several possible causes, which included electrical issues. Unfortunately, the guy cleared the code, and I am not able to drive the van in order to see if the engine light will come back on. (he did, however, write down what the code could be an indication of - 4 different issues to choose from.) this is a very dangerous issue, and I have read of numerous other complaints similar to this. Please, look into this matter and do a recall of these vehicles before tragedy strikes!

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #29

Oct 202013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 66,419 miles
The first incident occurred when the vehicle was in motion going about 40 miles an hour when the engine shut off with power steering and brake pressure loss. The ABS and traction control light came on. The vehicle was able to be moved over to the side of the road without incident. Restarted the vehicle and it operated as normal. The second incident occurred while moving the vehicle around 5 miles an hour when the engine shut off again. Power steering and brakes failed to work. The third incident occurred traveling about 30 miles an hour with the same issues as above. The vehicle has been at the dealer twice with no solution at this time. There is a recall after the timeframe of this vehicle manufacture for the ignition module 11V139000. It would seem the recall needs to be extended as there are more issues related to the engine stopping for more than just the 2010 model.

- Pasadena, MD, USA

problem #28

Mar 112014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 88,500 miles
This is the letter I sent to Chrysler corporation. I am reporting the occurrence of unexpected engine shutoff and loss of power for my 2009 Chrysler Town & Country minivan. This has occurred 3 times over the past four months with the first occurrence on 30 November 2013; the last occurrence on 11 March 2014; and another time between those occurrences. The below description characterizes each of the incidents: - without warning the engine shut off - there was a complete loss of power steering and brakes - it took extreme force to stop the vehicle and turn the vehicle off the road out of the traffic flow due to the loss of power steering and power brakes. - the console remained lit - all the loss of engine cutoff incidents occurred without warning I have contacted the local dealership service shop about the problem. I was told that they have no information about the problem, and would have to try to recreate the problem to address the solution. I contacted the Chrysler corporation customer service (on 28 March 2014) and was told that they have no knowledge of any service bulletin associated with this problem. This of course is a very scary situation given that another loss of power can occur again without warning. This clearly will put the riders in danger. I was fortunate during the last three occurrences, but that may not be the case the next time. I know from internet searches that this problem has occurred with other Town and country vans. This is a problem that the Chrysler corporation should investigate. It is potentially a life threatening flaw in the vehicle that can only be addressed by a corporate level investigation, analysis, and solution. Note: This problem is the same issue that was the subject of your recall for 2010 minivans (NHTSA recall: 11V139000).

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #27

Mar 202014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town & Country. The contact stated that while traveling at various speeds, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The contact also stated that none of the electrical components functioned. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage and VIN was not available. Updated 5/27/14

- Kankakee, IL, USA

problem #26

Dec 142010

Town & Country

  • 85,000 miles
I was driving along a smooth road, not accelerating or stopping when the engine shut off. This has happened 3 times. I was able to get off the road one of the times, the other two I could restart the engine without having to stop. This makes driving this car a hazard to drive. All I get from the dealer is I can trade it in if it bothers me.

- Northport, MI, USA

problem #25

Jan 142014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
Driving down the road the car turned off. Don't know if my knee hit the key chain to turn off the car or if the car just turned off. I was driving straight and turned the car back on and it was ok. If I would of been on a curve it might have been different. I have since then bought a quick release lock so my keys are not attached to the key for the van. Haven't had any problems as of yet. But I just bought it. Just think the design of the car could be different to have the key placement somewhere else or change how the key fits into the car to avoid this from happening.

- Port Byron, IL, USA

problem #24

Nov 182013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 593,000 miles


On around November 18, 2013, about a week after trip to Chicago and during an overnight cold snap (about 25 degrees from 45), was pulling out of driveway when I put my foot on gas pedal it made a sound as if the gas wasn't reaching the necessary area to make it move forward--the esp/bas lights and the traction light lite up. I pushed gas pedal again and it made the same sound but the car moved a little faster as I rolled onto the street. The lights from esp/bas and traction stayed on. Drove about 10 miles to work. No other incident with gas pedal but lights stayed on. On December 2, the same incident happened with the gas pedal, but only after I had driven about a mile. I put my foot on pedal and gas gurgled and the esp/bas and traction lights came on while the car seemed to want to use it's traction even though there was no snow or ice on the ground. Took to dealer and was told that the angle sensor needed to be replaced and that the clock spring was defective. Stated not under the life time power train and no recalls.

- East Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #23

Dec 012013

Town & Country

  • miles
The doors randomly open on their own. The car will be turned off, no one has the key, and the door will come open. I have had two new batteries within the last year and the car constantly will not start especially if it is cold out. While driving, the hazard lights will flash.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #22

Sep 132013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
My wife was driving our 2009 Chrysler town and county down the road when the vans engine completely turned off as if she shut the ignition down. Thankfully my wife was able to coast into a parking area where after some time she was able to restart the van and proceed on her way. Numerous times I have tried to start the van and the engine would not turn over until the key was taken out and flipped around and then it would start. Two days ago the van would not start at all but all if the key fob functions worked and all of the electrical gauges came on. After the van was towed to the dealership I was contacted and told that a new win module and key fobs would have to be purchased costing approximately 800 dollars.

- Boardman , OH, USA

problem #21

Oct 022013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
Driving down the road and vehicle shut off causing the vehicle to lose power steering and brakes. Was able to pull over, put it in park and started back up again. Dealer advised that appears to be the win module (ignition) and that it is on back order with Chrysler and cannot even order the part without contacting Chrysler. They contacted Chrysler who informed them that part would not be released at this time and would have to wait due to other vehicles ahead of ours being affected. No estimated time it would be received. Wife is afraid to drive the vehicle and rightfully so as this could cause a serious accident if it occurred while driving on an interstate or around a turn.

- Foristell, MO, USA

problem #20

Sep 282013

Town & Country

  • 54,800 miles


While driving about 30mph in my neighborhood, all of a sudden, my van's horn started honking, the wind shield blades began wiping very quickly and water was spraying over the windshield. Also, the automatic locks were going up and down and the car lights and blinkers were flashing on and off uncontrollably. It was very scary! I stopped the car and shut off the engine, but everything continued. Luckily I was not far from home and was able to carefully drive it there. Once in the driveway, the only way to get the car to quit was to disconnect the battery. Waiting on repair report.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #19

Jul 142013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
I was driving on I 94 in Indiana and all of sudden the vehicle stalled. Luckily nobody hit me on rear end. I checked online and found out that there a known issue with ignition module. I called Chrysler warranty department and the person told me by checking my VIN that my van is not effected by this problem and advised me to take the van to the dealer and get it checked for the problem. When there is a known issue with a bad part that has been manufactured bad. They should include my van and all vans manufactured with this type of ignition modules in the recall and fix them free of cost. These van are hazardous to the occupants and the people drive behind them.

- Muskegon, MI, USA

problem #18

Feb 272013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 83,900 miles
The SRS (airbag warning light) came on my 2009 Chrysler Town & Country during the last week of February 2013. I took the car into the local dealership for diagnostics. They found that the orc (occupant restraint controller) module was giving a fault code B2208 and needs to be replaced by part # 68148358aa (orc module). My own research found a 2011 Chrysler safety recall L01 occupant restraint controller module (attached) for 2008 models of the Chrysler Town & Country and Dodge. Page 3 calls for replacing the orc module with same part number as the one on my vehicle (68148358aa) and replace with caa3L016ab. Also a K25 recall for a drain grommet kit is called for. Only difference is the recall is for the 2008 Town & Country. The dealership said that my vehicle VIN [xxx] is not listed for the recall. I called the Chrysler group recall assistance center @ 1-800-853-1403 and they basically said the same thing as the dealership told me. Chrysler needs to honor their commitment to customer safety by including my vehicle in this recall. The same part numbers exist on both the 2008 model and the 2009 model. This tells me that Chrysler did not improve the orc module in 2009. They used the same. Therefore the same condition exists in the 2009. Safety recall L01 was issued in October 2011. So Chrysler continued to use the same orc module and drain grommet kit in subsequent models until enough customer complaints justified issuing a recall. I'm very concerned that the air bag system may not deploy or it may deploy inadvertently until this is repaired. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Pahoa, HI, USA

problem #17

Aug 312012

Town & Country

  • 27,879 miles
My wife was driving the vehicle with my two and four year old children and the dash and headlights went off. She lost power steering and power brakes. She managed to pull the vehicle over to the shoulder without being struck by any vehicles. She turned the key to the off position and thought she had run out of fuel. She than tried to start the vehicle after waiting five minutes and it started like nothing happened. She is petrified to drive my family or herself in the vehicle after this.

- Seaford, NY, USA

problem #16

Jun 262012

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
This wasn't the first time this has happened. I have taken it to a dealer. He said the total intergrated power module was bad. There must me a number of them bad because he said it would take three weeks to get the part. My warning lights came on and the wipers. I am afraid to drive it because I don't know what else may quit working when this happens again.

- Flat Rock, AL, USA

problem #15

Jan 072012

Town & Country

  • 51,164 miles
My 2009 Chrysler Town and country 4 liter engine stopped dead 3/4 mile after leaving home in the morning. I was doing 15 mph at the time. Everything stopped working, I.e., the power steering was unmovable and the power brakes were non-responsive. Because it happened in a curve, I ended up in the oncoming lane on a single lane road. Luckily there was no car in that lane. In addition, the heating and cooling system and the radio also stopped. The dashboard went dark. There was total silence. After about 45 seconds I restarted the car with no problems. I drove the car to the nearest Chrysler dealer whose service advisor asked whether or not a check engine light came on after the event so that he could get the failure code. The light did not come on. The dealer's service advisor said that he could not fix the problem without the failure code. I have driven the minivan for the last 10 days with no problems. Now I am uncertain if and when this event will happen again and am concerned about my safety in the future.

- Fairfax Station, VA, USA

problem #14

Apr 042011

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
I bought the vehicle over 15 months prior with 23000 miles. In less than a year, the vehicle would just shut off upon deceleration and/or coming to a stop - usually after exiting the highway. Since then it just shuts off randomly - usually when stopping at a red light. I took the van to the dealer who could not find any codes. Instead, they charged me $300+ for a flush! when I took it back, they told me that it could be the transmission and tightened the wires. The problem remained. A month later, I took the van to another auto repair shop who could not find the problem until he went out on the road with me. Again, I was told that it was likely the transmission. Approximately 3 months later as the problem continued, the hose blew and I was told to replace the hose as well as the transmission. Now that the transmission has been repaired/rebuilt, the problem still occurs!!!!!!!!!!! this is utterly insane and I do not have the money to keep putting band aids on a problem that the dealer nor other reputable repair shops can identify. I have 3 young children (ages 6, 7, & 8) and no other vehicle. I am constantly in fear of being rear-ended because the van just shuts off. When I contacted Chrysler about a potential recall, she was unhelpful. Instead, she directed me to this website to file a formal complaint. Let me add that since I bought the vehicle, there have been 3 recalls - A/C wire (that I did experience), brakes (I had replaced and will need to be reimbursed), and the front-wheel alignment (that I now have to get serviced). This is utterly ridiculous and I am appalled that I have to endure this issue. Something needs to be done immediately!

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #13

Jan 012011

Town & Country

  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact he attempted to open the rear sliding doors while the vehicle was parked, but the doors began to close unexpectedly after opening halfway. The failure recurred on an intermittent basis. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and the contact was informed that the sensors on the sliding doors were too sensitive. The vehicle was in the process of having its software updated. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and referred the contact to NHTSA. The failure mileage was 38,000.

- Victorville, CA, USA

problem #12

Aug 102011

Town & Country 6-cyl Diesel

  • 43,465 miles
My wife was driving her 2009 Chrysler Town and country two days ago and the car cut completely off again. She was driving along, and the van did the same thing it did last November. It just cut off!! she lost power steering and the brakes became hard to operate. Once she stopped, it started right back up like nothing happened. This van has been to the dealer at least three times before for this failure and the dealer keeps telling her "we can't duplicate the problem". this is dangerous!! it randomly cuts off! in operation. So far, no injuries, but several close calls....

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #11

Jul 252011

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
Fire in vehicle caused by an apparent short in rear cigarette lighter while on a long distance trip from New Jersey to newfoundland on July 25, 2011, we had a fire in our 2009 Chrysler Town & Country minivan that started in and around the rear cigarette lighter. The wires below the carpet ignited causing a portion of the carpet to get burned and causing a major panic amongst my 3 children who were all seated in the back. There was nothing plugged into the lighter when the fire started.

- Fanwood, NJ, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?