Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.3

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,403 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Chrysler Town & Country engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #52

Jan 052015

Town & Country

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Have not received a follow-up notice on the recall of the ignition fobik not fully seating which could cause the fobik to move to accessory mode from the on mode. I have contacted my Chrysler dealer and also called the recall assistance center (1-800-853-1403) several times and keep getting the message that the part needed for repair/correction is not available. This has gone on since the beginning of the year 2015, when can I expect this to be resolved?

- Ballwin, MO, USA

problem #51

Apr 292015

Town & Country

  • 77,400 miles
I received L25/NHTSA 14V-373 recall last Sept and have not as of today received a 2nd notice of recall. I had another episode of my car ignition going into the off position while driving. Luckily there was no accident to report. This is totally unacceptable on the part of Chrysler. Please get the replacement parts made!!! I have had a total of 3 episodes with this happening while driving. The first one was in Sept 14 while driving on I-80 at 75 mph. Luckily I was able to coast to the shoulder without getting hit. The second time I lost power while driving 40 mph in city traffic a few months ago. I was able to turn a corner before getting hit by other traffic. Chrysler needs to get busy on making these replacement parts as quickly as possible. I contacted my dealership this afternoon and was told that they have not received an updated recall either.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #50

Dec 012014

Town & Country

  • 146,000 miles
We have had repeated engine stall/power steering malfunctions with our 2009 Chrysler Town and country starting in December 2014. (a very similar incident which required $2,518 in repairs occurred in 2012). Starting in December 2014, the engine repeatedly shut-off during operation. Typically this occurs at speeds between 25-45mph. The engine shuts down, steering capability is lost and the airbags become no-functional. This results in very unsafe driving conditions as control of the vehicle is almost impossible. Multiple calls have been made to Chrysler. They state the vehicle is currently under recall for this issue but a fix is not yet available. The part is being manufactured and must go through qc prior to us being called to schedule a repair. In the meantime, their only suggestion is to be sure no other items are on the key fob during operation and I informed them this was already the case. They will not offer replacement vehicle assistance and we have decided the vehicle is too unsafe to drive...we are a family of 5 and I refuse to put my family at risk by continuing to use this vehicle. As a result, we have had to purchase a new family vehicle while the Chrysler sits idle. We continue to pay for taxes and insurance on the vehicle while taking on the unplanned expense of new car payment. Multiple attempts at contacting Chrysler care have gone unanswered. Everytime I contact their organization, I remain on hold for 45 minutes or more. I would be happy to assist in any way possible to help get this complaint heard and an actionable response from chyrsler. I am outraged that an organization can be so irresponsible by ignoring safety issues in its products.

- Mechanicsville, VA, USA

problem #49

Mar 312014

Town & Country

  • 82,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while driving at 65 mph, the vehicle would decelerate independently and the engine stalled. The contact mentioned that on the key ring was only the key to the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 82,000.

- Kenner, LA, USA

problem #48

Mar 112015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
I contacted [xxx], service manager, with auto nation Dodge Ram in centennial, Colorado, 80012 on Monday 16 March 2015 at 17:50. The dealership is located at 10743 E arapahoe rd, centennial, co 80112. The phone number is 303.929.4656. He informs me that for the recall I have, they do not have the parts and that there is no procedure stating what is to be done to correct the issue. Also since the recall is beyond three (3) years old, he is not sure when the parts will come in. Although the notice went out 06/16/2011, I received the notice via mail in mid 2014. How can my dealership get the parts, can you assist? the manufacturer recall number is: L25 NHTSA recall number is: 11V-139 the NHTSA number provided on the mailed notice: 14V-373 the VIN is [xxx] year: 2009 model: Town and country thank you, information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #47

Jul 122014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 87,157 miles
When changing brake pads out all the treads on the cv joint end fell off in my hand this vehicle is only 5 years old and the metal is disintegrating also the engine burns almost 3 quarts between every oil change.from what I see on the internet all of the Chrysler 3.8 engines do this.this is not right !

- Richmond, IL, USA

problem #46

Dec 262013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 125,676 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving down the street and the lights started to flicker and the car went dead.

- Norcross, GA, USA

problem #45

Mar 282014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the engine stalled. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Davie, FL, USA

problem #44

Oct 012013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
To an ODI investigator: There is a clear and present danger present with this vehicle randomly shutting down while driving. I have experienced this shutting down on approximately 15+ occasions. When the vehicle shuts down, I lose power steering, braking and I'm sure airbags. In reviewing the first 30 complaints associated with this vehicle - I observed 6 out of 30 complaints related to the same problem, all described this event (I didn't want to weed through all 200+ complaints when the first 30 exhibited this serious issue) - the vehicle shutting down while driving. These are the numbers associated with this problem - I'm sure there are others: 10669606 / 10669083 / 10660772 / 10661814 / 10658525 / 10658922 all these state that the vehicle shuts down while driving randomly with no explanation - this is a serious issue and there seems to be a common defect somewhere - this needs to be addressed - find out what Chrysler knows about this issue because it is a safety issue for everyone on the road.

- Cortland, NY, USA

problem #43

Oct 012013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Since the first occurrence this has happened about 15 times. Most recently, this morning. The vehicle will randomly shut down, with no indicator lights, or a few times with the slippery road icon appearing. The vehicle totally dies, the power steering is gone, the brakes lock up, no acceleration is possible to pull off the road. I have been extremely lucky to not have had an accident as a result. This morning the mechanic brought his computer to my vehicle after shut down, as was directed, in the off chance that he might find a code. Nothing was found. The key maintained the on position. The vehicle does restart upon turning it off.

- Cortland, NY, USA

problem #42

Aug 032009

Town & Country

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while attempting to start the vehicle, the engine failed to start. The failure occurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the starter was replaced, but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact also received notice of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) in August of 2014, but the part needed to repair the vehicle was not available and no estimated time to receive the part could be provided. The failure mileage was 20,000.

- Mason City, IA, USA

problem #41

Oct 232014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
3.8L V6 engine consumes excessive under normal driving conditions. For the last 60,000 miles this engine is consuming more and more oil between engine oil changes, now 2-3 qrts between 4,000 mile oil change. Chrysler dealer produced Chrysler document stating this normal consumption for this motor. This is not normal oil consumption for this motor under any condition. Chrysler has had thousands of complaints regarding this issue and will do nothing to resolve the problem, other to say it is normal.

- Grosse Ile, MI, USA

problem #40

Jun 162011

Town & Country

  • 54,000 miles
My vehicle was issued a recall on June 16,2011 dealing with the wireless ignition; however, I did not receive a notice for this specific recall until June 2014. I immediately brought my vehicle to a Chrysler dealer. But after inspecition, they said they did not have the part needed to fix the problem. Since June 2014, I have made several phone calls only to be told that they are still waiting for the part. Since this is a safety issue, what can I do to speed up the process for rectifying my situation?

- Adamstown, MD, USA

problem #39

Nov 142014

Town & Country

  • 120,000 miles
While driving at approximately 45 miles per hour the vehicle engine shut off resulting in loss of power steering and braking. I was able to maneuver the van to the side of the road. The car restarted and this issue has occurred on 6 more occasion since this incident. There is a safety recall on the vehicle however Chrysler does not have the part available to fix the problem. The Chrysler dealer has seen the car and determined that the recall is the issue affecting the engine shut off. There is a significant safety issue with this car and Chrysler refuses to offer any other alternative than to tell the customer to drive the car even though injury or death via an accident is a significant concern.

- Englewood , OH, USA

problem #38

Nov 142014

Town & Country

  • 10,200 miles
We notice the problem of engine stalls Oct 11 2014, Nov 14 and Nov 16, 2014. Was driving on highway suddenly the tire traction light came on, power steering became hard to move and could not accelerate.I turned off the unit and turned on again no problem. I took the van to the Chrysler dealer. They found engine stalls error but are not sure what caused it.

- Brooklyn Center, MN, USA

problem #37

Dec 182013

Town & Country

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. While driving approximately 65 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle restarted immediately, but the failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing and the heli-coil hose was replaced. The failure recurred and the vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #36

Nov 122014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 83,690 miles
I came to a stop sign and the vehicle shut off (as if the key had been turned to the accessory position). After taking it to the dealership, they informed me that it was affected by the L25/NHTSA 14V-373 recall. This can cause then engine to stop at any point in time (including driving while on a highway). This is not a condition where the minvan should be driven. If this were to happen on a highway the results could be deadly (the engine shuts off and the sudden lack of steering and brakes plus the airbags deactivating). I have been told that there are no parts available to fix this and that I should drive it home. This is incredibly unsafe and I can't believe that this is allowed to happen. The recall has been out since June of this year and I'm being told that there is no eta on when the parts will be available.

- Ijamsville, MD, USA

problem #35

Aug 042014

Town & Country

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the check engine warning light illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was able to restart after several attempts. The failure occurred on several occasions. In addition, the contact stated that the key failed to turn in order to start the vehicle intermittently. The contact stated that the part for NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) was not available to repair the vehicle. The initial failure was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Albany, NY, USA

problem #34

May 152014

Town & Country

  • 74,000 miles
Chrysler refuses to pay for 2009 Town & Country ignition switch repair: Since the summer of 2013 the key would occasionally spring back to accessory when starting the car. In the spring of 2014 there were two occasions when the switch turned to accessory - stalling the engine - while driving. I contacted Chrysler ([xxx]) on 7/18/14 and was told that my VIN number was not among those recalled - but if I had it repaired Chrysler would reimburse me if/when my vehicle was recalled. After receiving the recall notice and filing the requested documentation [xxx] (from Chrysler) for some unintelligible reason could not reimbursement at this time. On 7/30/14 [xxx] said that Chrysler could not pay for previous repairs until parts (detent rings?) available for the repairs. On 10/10/14 [xxx] ([xxx]) said that I will receive a second letter when parts are available and reimbursements decisions will be decided then. Reimbursement supervisor matt said repair procedure is unknown at present (seems unlikely to me since other years recalled long before 2009), so no reimbursement until repair technique known. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Milford, MI, USA

problem #33

Oct 012014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
Vehicle refused to start on several occasions, lights on, power on, engine would not turn over, no sound from starter. Then after many attempts, vehicle would start as if nothing was wrong. Then vehicle would stop in traffic and whatever speed traveling, dead with no response when trying to restart. After many attempts to start while in middle of traffic vehicle started as if nothing happened. Dealer states ignition & tipm module are fault.

- Inverness, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?