Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.3

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,403 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Chrysler Town & Country engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #32

Aug 042014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. While driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road and was able to be restarted. An independent mechanic cleaned the throttle body, but the failure continued. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system), but the parts needed to repair the vehicle were not available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 35,000. Updated 10/07/14 the vehicle was fixed on September 8, 2014

- St. Clair Shores, MI, USA

problem #31

Aug 222014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. While driving approximately 70 mph, the engine stalled and warning indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000...updated 09-23-14 the vehicle was repaired at the manufacturer's expense. The consumer then traded the vehicle on September 12, 2014. Updated 10/02/14

- Fernandina Beach, FL, USA

problem #30

Jul 112012

Town & Country

  • 19,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that when attempting to start the vehicle, the engine would start then immediately shut off. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 19,000. Mailout customer request 11/05/2014

- Belleville, IL, USA

problem #29

Jul 292014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,850 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. While driving approximately 25 mph, the contact noticed smoke rising from the hood of the vehicle and all electrical power failed. The contact stated that flames ignited from the wheel wells and underneath the hood. There were no injuries and a police report was filed. The fire department extinguished the fire. The vehicle was towed to a salvage yard. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 61,850. Updated 10/1/14 updated 5/12/2015

- Rices Landing, PA, USA

problem #28

May 152014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
While driving the ignition switch turned to accessory stopping the engine. I pulled to the side of the road, stopped and restarted. It happened again a month later on the freeway. Tried to restart engine while driving - did not restart until I moved shift lever to neutral. On 7/8/14 I took the car to the dealer and the service representative said "I was able to get it to do it". I contacted Chrysler twice that day ([xxx] and another) but they refused to pay because not recalled yet! I paid $588.89 for repair out of pocket rather than chance a failure on winding mountain roads. Two additional points: 1. for six months the key would spring back to accessory when starting. Precursor of problem. 2. they know of the problem on the 2009 T & C as reported by [xxx] in detroit free press (about 7/1/14). Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Milford, MI, USA

problem #27

Jul 082014

Town & Country

  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 50 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure was unable to be duplicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system). The failure mileage was 63,000.

- Batavia , IL, USA

problem #26

Apr 092014

Town & Country

  • 53,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. While driving 25 mph, the engine stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The failure recurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, but the failure could not be duplicated. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 53,000.

- South Bend, IN, USA

problem #25

Mar 032014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 100,942 miles
My complaint to dealer on 03/03/2014 was the vehicle while driving in city traffic had stalled out twice in the past week to 10 days. It would also run very rough / sluggish for a short period of time. The results from superstition springs Chrysler dealership are: "cel was on, engine died twice, runs fine now checked vehicle, no dtc's are in PCM at this time. Drove vehicle and was unable to duplicate stalling. It has stalled out several times in past 3 months, the last time, yesterday it happened to my wife...the next time, she will call.

- Willmar, MN, USA

problem #24

Dec 162013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
We were driving on a city street when the car lost all power. It was brought to a halt after we were able to steer to the side out of the way of traffic. When we were able to restart the engine it performed without additional problems until we reached home. The car also performed exactly as it did on December 16,2013, onjune 15, 20,14.

- Fayetteville, GA, USA

problem #23

Jun 032013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
While driving (happens at all speeds - 35, 50, 70, etc.), complete power to the vehicle is killed. This is very scary when it occurs. We lose power steering, brakes, and I'm assuming air bags as well. We have had several close calls with entire family in car but have been lucky to avoid crashing into other cars, cement walls, etc. This has been occurring for over a year now at random intervals. We have taken the vehicle into a licensed shop (mastertech) for inspection but they have not been successful in diagnosing. I'm fearful this is an issue similar to the GM issue that has caused several deaths. I don't want my family or myself to be the next victim. Please help!

- Brownstown, MI, USA

problem #22

Jan 012014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving at approximately 45 mph when my T&C Chrysler minivan just shut off. I had to "arm-strong" steer it to the side of the road and restart it. Luckily I was not on the highway. Now the key fob randomly gets stuck at 'accessories' and I am not able to turn the car off. Apparently the ignition does not know the car is in park as well. When I get to my destination, I am faced with having to either leave the key in the ignition with power being drained from the battery (since thing are still on)..or continually driving around and park, drive around and park, until the key will come out. This is an on going problem. I have taken it to my mechanic he googled and found other Town and country mini vans have been reported with the same problem, including shutting off while being driven going back as far as 15 years! there is clearly a manufacture defect with the ignition. On a separate occasion, my passenger side air bag opened while I was driving. I pushed it back in place...but since I hit noting, I don't know why it opened up to begin with. Except for after reading about the faulty GM ignition and how it affected the air bags. Now I have no idea if the air bags will work or not when needed. I have complained to Chrysler openly and repeatedly on their twitter account and their facebook page, they messaged me once through facebook and said they closed my complaint (but without ever having spoken to me). And they are continuing to ignore me. The problems I am having with my ignition are the very same problems owners of the recently recall defective GM ignitions are having. I have no doubt the ignitions are one in the same. I want this dealt with while it is fresh in the minds of people who demanded the GM recall! I want something done today! I'm afraid of my own car! ps the engine lags as well.. the RPM's drop below the mph randomly.

- Oregon City, OR, USA

problem #21

Dec 272013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
While driving on the freeway, going uphill at about 55mph, my engine suddenly began revving and the van sped up, then, I was unable to get it to accelerate. I pushed the gas pedal, but it wasn't engaging the engine. The RPM's would go up, but there was no affect on the van speed. The terrain changed, so then I began going downhill and I continued trying to get the van to accelerate to avoid being rear-ended. Finally, the engine engaged and I was able to speed up. This happened one more time during that trip. It has happened a couple of other times since then, briefly, but yesterday, it happened, and I again, was nearly rear-ended, and I had to coast into a parking lot to get out of the way of traffic. (the "check engine" light has never come on while this was happening.) I went to a mechanic who then test-drove the van, but was "unable to duplicate the problem." I drove the van home and the problem happened throughout my trip (speeds ranging from 30-45 mph.) it wasn't until I finally made it home and was parking the van in front of my house that the "check engine" light finally came on. I then took the van to a local auto parts store that will run codes after the engine light comes on. It gave a code for several possible causes, which included electrical issues. Unfortunately, the guy cleared the code, and I am not able to drive the van in order to see if the engine light will come back on. (he did, however, write down what the code could be an indication of - 4 different issues to choose from.) this is a very dangerous issue, and I have read of numerous other complaints similar to this. Please, look into this matter and do a recall of these vehicles before tragedy strikes!

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #20

Apr 012014

Town & Country

  • 109,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while driving various speeds, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 109,000. The current mileage was 110,659.

- Rydal, GA, USA

problem #19

Oct 202013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 66,419 miles
The first incident occurred when the vehicle was in motion going about 40 miles an hour when the engine shut off with power steering and brake pressure loss. The ABS and traction control light came on. The vehicle was able to be moved over to the side of the road without incident. Restarted the vehicle and it operated as normal. The second incident occurred while moving the vehicle around 5 miles an hour when the engine shut off again. Power steering and brakes failed to work. The third incident occurred traveling about 30 miles an hour with the same issues as above. The vehicle has been at the dealer twice with no solution at this time. There is a recall after the timeframe of this vehicle manufacture for the ignition module 11V139000. It would seem the recall needs to be extended as there are more issues related to the engine stopping for more than just the 2010 model.

- Pasadena, MD, USA

problem #18

Jan 082014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
Several times I have been driving and my engine stops for no reason. It has happened has I was merging onto a highway and instead of increasing my speed I was slowing down. It has happened at random times and in just normal driving situations. The most recent was driving from Rhode Island back to ct and 2 hours into the drive the car stopped as I was turning left at a light from one busy roadway onto another with quite a few cars surrounding me. Most of the time that this happens I have to pull over (without power steering) and put the car in park to restart the car. Each time I have been able to do so safely but it is a very serious concern and I usually have my kids in the car with me. Chrysler needs to repair this because this is obviously not the first complaint on the issue.

- New Milford, CT, USA

problem #17

Mar 112014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 88,500 miles
This is the letter I sent to Chrysler corporation. I am reporting the occurrence of unexpected engine shutoff and loss of power for my 2009 Chrysler Town & Country minivan. This has occurred 3 times over the past four months with the first occurrence on 30 November 2013; the last occurrence on 11 March 2014; and another time between those occurrences. The below description characterizes each of the incidents: - without warning the engine shut off - there was a complete loss of power steering and brakes - it took extreme force to stop the vehicle and turn the vehicle off the road out of the traffic flow due to the loss of power steering and power brakes. - the console remained lit - all the loss of engine cutoff incidents occurred without warning I have contacted the local dealership service shop about the problem. I was told that they have no information about the problem, and would have to try to recreate the problem to address the solution. I contacted the Chrysler corporation customer service (on 28 March 2014) and was told that they have no knowledge of any service bulletin associated with this problem. This of course is a very scary situation given that another loss of power can occur again without warning. This clearly will put the riders in danger. I was fortunate during the last three occurrences, but that may not be the case the next time. I know from internet searches that this problem has occurred with other Town and country vans. This is a problem that the Chrysler corporation should investigate. It is potentially a life threatening flaw in the vehicle that can only be addressed by a corporate level investigation, analysis, and solution. Note: This problem is the same issue that was the subject of your recall for 2010 minivans (NHTSA recall: 11V139000).

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #16

Mar 202014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town & Country. The contact stated that while traveling at various speeds, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The contact also stated that none of the electrical components functioned. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage and VIN was not available. Updated 5/27/14

- Kankakee, IL, USA

problem #15

Mar 082013

Town & Country

  • 35,000 miles
Vehicle stalls while exiting highway and coming to a stop. Engine rpms dip and car bucks and almost hits car in front. Then engine stalls out. At first after putting it in park and restarting it was ok until going on the highway again. Now the engine doesn't buck it just stalls out when coming to a stop after highway driving and when put in park it starts but when put into drive it stalls right out again. Then starts after being put back in park and I have to apply throttle to get it going in drive. Dealer is completely clueless and since no computer code is stored, they do not know what to do. This is extremely dangerous and Chrysler just backs away from the problem. I have a 100,000 mile drivetrain warranty but I don't know what is causing this and since I am now at 56,000 miles, my bumper to bumper warranty has past and the dealer doesn't know what to do nor care to try to fix it and if its sensors then I will be paying out of pocket on a vehicle I just finally paid off. I am about to call lemon law and sue Chrysler for a dangerous vehicle that they do not care to help with or pay for to be repaired. I will never buy another Chrysler again, but since I just paid this car off, I have no option to buy a new car anyway. Besides no one would, want to buy this car since it stalls out when leaving the highway. Very dangerous. Please help! the drivers seat seat belt also doesn't click the belt in so it can't be used. Extremely unsafe vehicle.

- Baldwin, NY, USA

problem #14

Nov 302013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
I am reporting the occurrence of unexpected engine shutoff and loss of power for my 2009 Chrysler Town & Country minivan. This has occurred 3 times over the past six months with the first occurrence on 30 November 2013; the last occurrence on 11 March 2014; and another time between those occurrences. The below description characterizes each of the incidents: - without warning the engine shut off - there was a complete loss of power - the console remained lit - there was a complete loss of power steering - it took extreme force to turn the vehicle off the road out of the traffic flow due to the loss of power steering. - one loss of power occurrence happened at highway speed. The other two occurred at around 40 mph. - all the loss of power incidents occurred without warning. I have contacted the local dealership service shop about the problem. I was told that they have no information about the problem, and would have to try to recreate the problem to address the solution. I asked about whether there were any service bulletins about this problem, and they told me they had no knowledge of any. This of course is a very scary situation given that another loss of power can occur again without warning. The clearly will put the riders in danger. I was fortunate during the last three occurrences, but that may not be the case the next time. I know from internet searches that this problem has occurred with other Town and country vans. This is a problem that your office should investigate. It is potentially a life threatening flaw in the vehicle that can only be addressed by a corporate level investigation, analysis, and solution.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #13

Jan 142014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
Driving down the road the car turned off. Don't know if my knee hit the key chain to turn off the car or if the car just turned off. I was driving straight and turned the car back on and it was ok. If I would of been on a curve it might have been different. I have since then bought a quick release lock so my keys are not attached to the key for the van. Haven't had any problems as of yet. But I just bought it. Just think the design of the car could be different to have the key placement somewhere else or change how the key fits into the car to avoid this from happening.

- Port Byron, IL, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?