Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
75,039 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Chrysler Town & Country engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments

problem #18

Jul 282016

Town & Country

  • 100,000 miles


After several hours of driving on interstates at the various legal speed limits from central Pennsylvania to Massachusetts, the dashboard warning chime started, the information display showed that the blind spot detection system was inoperative and then the transmission down shifted to 3 resulting in excessive engine revs. Cruise control was engaged at the time, but the car was not going down a hill. The driver used the +/- shift control to return the car to gear 6. at the same time, the tire pressure monitor system said that it had failed and then recovered after five minutes. Eventually, the tpm system recovered as did the blind spot detection system. All of these problems have happened in the past individually, but on this trip they all happened at once. The car dealer could not detect any problem.

- State College, PA, USA

problem #17

Apr 172016

Town & Country

  • 120,687 miles
While driving down highway at about 60 mph with wife and 3 children, suddenly with no warning, all power to vehicle was completely lost. This made it very difficult to safely move vehicle to shoulder. If traffic would have been heavy this could have caused a serious accident. Once vehicle was parked it would not restart and had to be towed 20 miles to dealer. Once at dealer electrical system seemed to fail further. Power windows, locks and doors would no longer work. Clearly some sort of serious electrical problem this is the 4th time something like this happened, but with the previous incidents the car always started once it was stopped and put into park and key was turned.

- Lafayette, NJ, USA

problem #16

Jul 072015

Town & Country

  • miles
Notice loud clunking noise shift from park to drive, or park to reverse. Not every time, but often enough. Also shift to/from to her gears is noticeable and gives the feel of hesitation. This is most often noticed around 37 mph or 30 mph. Went is cold the car act up. It is having troubles also getting hot the engine and I have the car for 5 month and I had to fill the coolant twice. I brought the car 5 time to the place where I bought the car 4 times to report the problem with the transmission they send me to one of the Chrysler dealer for service and did not show nothing on the diagnosis. I am frustrated because I research online iand I am not the only one complaining about the same problem. Aslo the suspension feels very weak.

- Holyoke, MA, USA

problem #15

Feb 152015

Town & Country

  • miles


The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. While driving at a low speed, the accelerator pedal was depressed but the vehicle accelerated excessively. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Cadiz, KY, USA

problem #14

Jul 082015

Town & Country

  • 35,037 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. While driving at 40 mph, the accelerator pedal was depressed and the vehicle accelerated excessively. The contact had to apply force to the brake pedal multiple times in order to get the vehicle to stop. In addition, the rpms increased, the engine revved, and the traction control warning light illuminated. The vehicle was towed to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system, air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The failure mileage was 35,037. Updated 09/10/15

- New Castle , IN, USA

problem #13

Mar 112015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
I contacted [xxx], service manager, with auto nation Dodge Ram in centennial, Colorado, 80012 on Monday 16 March 2015 at 17:50. The dealership is located at 10743 E arapahoe rd, centennial, co 80112. The phone number is 303.929.4656. He informs me that for the recall I have, they do not have the parts and that there is no procedure stating what is to be done to correct the issue. Also since the recall is beyond three (3) years old, he is not sure when the parts will come in. Although the notice went out 06/16/2011, I received the notice via mail in mid 2014. How can my dealership get the parts, can you assist? the manufacturer recall number is: L25 NHTSA recall number is: 11V-139 the NHTSA number provided on the mailed notice: 14V-373 the VIN is [xxx] year: 2009 model: Town and country thank you, information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #12

Nov 142014

Town & Country

  • 10,200 miles


We notice the problem of engine stalls Oct 11 2014, Nov 14 and Nov 16, 2014. Was driving on highway suddenly the tire traction light came on, power steering became hard to move and could not accelerate.I turned off the unit and turned on again no problem. I took the van to the Chrysler dealer. They found engine stalls error but are not sure what caused it.

- Brooklyn Center, MN, USA

problem #11

Dec 022013

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while attempting to park, the brake pedal was depressed and the vehicle accelerated independently. As a result, the contact crashed into a concrete bearer. A police report was filed. The passenger sustained bruising from the seat belt that required medical attention. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic and the vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was unknown.

- Utica, NY, USA

problem #10

Dec 272013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
While driving on the freeway, going uphill at about 55mph, my engine suddenly began revving and the van sped up, then, I was unable to get it to accelerate. I pushed the gas pedal, but it wasn't engaging the engine. The RPM's would go up, but there was no affect on the van speed. The terrain changed, so then I began going downhill and I continued trying to get the van to accelerate to avoid being rear-ended. Finally, the engine engaged and I was able to speed up. This happened one more time during that trip. It has happened a couple of other times since then, briefly, but yesterday, it happened, and I again, was nearly rear-ended, and I had to coast into a parking lot to get out of the way of traffic. (the "check engine" light has never come on while this was happening.) I went to a mechanic who then test-drove the van, but was "unable to duplicate the problem." I drove the van home and the problem happened throughout my trip (speeds ranging from 30-45 mph.) it wasn't until I finally made it home and was parking the van in front of my house that the "check engine" light finally came on. I then took the van to a local auto parts store that will run codes after the engine light comes on. It gave a code for several possible causes, which included electrical issues. Unfortunately, the guy cleared the code, and I am not able to drive the van in order to see if the engine light will come back on. (he did, however, write down what the code could be an indication of - 4 different issues to choose from.) this is a very dangerous issue, and I have read of numerous other complaints similar to this. Please, look into this matter and do a recall of these vehicles before tragedy strikes!

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #9

Dec 142010

Town & Country

  • 85,000 miles
I was driving along a smooth road, not accelerating or stopping when the engine shut off. This has happened 3 times. I was able to get off the road one of the times, the other two I could restart the engine without having to stop. This makes driving this car a hazard to drive. All I get from the dealer is I can trade it in if it bothers me.

- Northport, MI, USA

problem #8

Nov 182013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 593,000 miles


On around November 18, 2013, about a week after trip to Chicago and during an overnight cold snap (about 25 degrees from 45), was pulling out of driveway when I put my foot on gas pedal it made a sound as if the gas wasn't reaching the necessary area to make it move forward--the esp/bas lights and the traction light lite up. I pushed gas pedal again and it made the same sound but the car moved a little faster as I rolled onto the street. The lights from esp/bas and traction stayed on. Drove about 10 miles to work. No other incident with gas pedal but lights stayed on. On December 2, the same incident happened with the gas pedal, but only after I had driven about a mile. I put my foot on pedal and gas gurgled and the esp/bas and traction lights came on while the car seemed to want to use it's traction even though there was no snow or ice on the ground. Took to dealer and was told that the angle sensor needed to be replaced and that the clock spring was defective. Stated not under the life time power train and no recalls.

- East Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #7

Jul 062013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
In order to pass a vehicle, pressure was applied to the gas pedal. The car continued to accelerate with very high rpms and the break pedal was pumped very firmly. The racing acceleration resolved. A second incident occurred on 7/9/13 on a 75 mph highway. A pass around a slow vehicle was attempted starting at 70 mph. The vehicle began accelerating with very high rpms. The driver applied heavy break pressure (virtually standing on the breaks) and was able to move two lanes to the shoulder in dense traffic. A "brake" notification came on while the brakes were applied and stayed on. Placing the car in park did not stop the racing engine. The vehicle was turned off, restarted, and the racing engine resumed. The brake notice was still on. The driver turned the vehicle off again and restarted the engine one minute later to attempt to move the van further off the highway. The engine was no longer revving, but the brake light remained. The car was driven slowly home and the brake light turned off after a few seconds of driving. Also of note, this vehicle has had two brake replacements and regular tire replacements in two years of the current ownership (having just missed brake recall coverage by a month and 1,000 miles.) this vehicle is often carrying four children and driven by a teenage driver.

- Castle Rock, CO, USA

problem #6

Dec 312012

Town & Country

  • 54,172 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town & Country. The contact stated that while traveling 60 mph, the vehicle erroneously accelerated. The contact was able to decelerate which caused the vehicle to function normally. The vehicle was able to be driven to the contact's residence and was not taken to a mechanic or the dealer. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure and current mileages were 54,172.

- East Amherst, NY, USA

problem #5

Oct 202012

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
Car starting accelerating on its own. I wasn't able to slow down as the brakes didn't respond (they seamen stuck). This has happen at least twice in a 3 weeks period. I have to push the accelerator harder in order to somehow made the car responsive. The second time this happened, a brake signal came up, once I was able to take control of the car, I parked on side of the road, turned the car off and then turned on again and signal went off. Both times I was driving in the freeway at 65 mph trying to pass another car with my 2 kids under the age of 5!!!. second time I almost hit the car infront of me.

- Fort Lewis, WA, USA

problem #4

Sep 112011

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
While I am driving down the road, the van looses steering, brakes and acceleration. It's as if it completely shuts down. I put the car in park, turn it off and restart it and it seems to be ok. This has happened 4 times with the van, once with my husband, twice with me and once with the dealership. The last time it happened to me I had 5 children in the car and was traveling 35 mph in the left hand lane of a busy street. Luckily, I was not rear ended! the dealership had "fixed" the van a week earlier by replacing the wireless ignition module. I immediately returned it the dealership after the last incident. They have had it for 3 weeks and can't duplicate the event again. Chrysler called us on Friday and stated that we have to pick up the car because the can not find anything wrong with it. I'm terrified to drive the car, especially with my children. I drive the car multiple times each week on a highway and can only imagine the outcome if this happened on a highway as opposed to a city street.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #3

Jun 172010

Town & Country

  • 21,600 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler town and country. While driving with the cruise control set to speeds of 70 mph, the vehicle abnormally accelerated. The contact depressed the brakes and attempted to disable the cruise control but to no avail. The brakes would not respond. Once the contact released his foot from the accelerator pedal, the vehicle continued to accelerate. The contact placed the vehicle in neutral and was able to stop the unintended acceleration. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where he was awaiting a diagnosis of the failure. The current and failure mileages were 21,600.

- Bartlesville, OK, USA

problem #2

May 312010

Town & Country

  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town & Country. While driving 58 mph the contact noticed that the vehicle began to accelerate without warning, the brakes would not stop the vehicle. In order to stop the vehicle it had to be shifted into neutral gear. The failure was being diagnosed when the complaint was filed. The current and failure mileages were 22,000.

- Cadillac, MI, USA

problem #1

Feb 142010

Town & Country

  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town & Country. The contact stated that when driving approximately 70 mph attempting to pass another vehicle, the vehicle became stuck in gear and continued to accelerate. The driver had to apply extreme continuous pressure to the accelerator pedal since the brakes would not slow the vehicle down. At that point, the vehicle began to decelerate. She took the vehicle to the dealer and the computer was updated. In April 2010, while driving approximately 50 mph accelerating and attempting to pass another vehicle, the vehicle became stuck in gear and started surging. Again, the driver was forced to apply pressure to the accelerator pedal and then turn the vehicle off in order to stop the acceleration. The contact had scheduled to take the vehicle to the dealer on April 26, 2010. The current mileage was 21,831. The failure mileage was approximately 18,000.

- Owosso, MI, USA

Not what you are looking for?