Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
34,863 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Chrysler Town & Country miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments

problem #19

Jun 182016

Town & Country

  • miles


R03-NHTSA 14V-373 - wireless ignition node module made appointment with Chrysler dealership of paramus, NJ, dealer originally told me that parts were in-stock. At time of service, they tried to sell me additional services that I refused - they then claimed that the parts were no longer in stock. Dealer is refusing to correct this matter free of charge - without purchasing additional service from them.

- Dumont, NJ, USA

problem #18

May 102016

Town & Country

  • 61,000 miles
Rear A/C evap core and H block bad. Problem apparently from 2006 to current models. Chrysler will nor acknowledge problem, dealers hands are tied.

- Ripon, WI, USA

problem #17

Feb 112016

Town & Country

  • 158,000 miles
The car stalls while driving at both low and medium speeds. The engine dies completely so no accelleration and the power steering fails. I must shift into neutral to try to restart. This may take several tries. This has happened several times over the last few weeks. The car had a tune up and coils replaced with no change in the stalling issue. Note: The ignition key and switch were previously replaced following a recall.

- Atlantic, IA, USA

problem #16

May 012015

Town & Country

  • miles


May 2015 we received a safety recall for the win module. The local dealer has not received replacement parts. It has been 8 months which seems like a reasonable time to expect parts to be available. This is our complaint!!!! we do not want to wait til an accident happens to have it replaced......

- Westminster, MD, USA

problem #15

Jan 162016

Town & Country

  • miles
I have received two recall letters over the past year relating to the the safety recall of the "wireless ignition node" (win) that may have unintentional movement of the "frequency operated button ignition key" (fobik) from the "on" to the "accessory" position while driving. It was noted that this could cause unintentional engine shut off and increase the risk of a crash. I have called my Chrysler dealership (kings Chrysler Jeep in cincinnati Ohio) to try and get this fixed 4 times (6/16/2015, 7/1/2015, 10/2/2015, and 1/16/2016) over the last several months. Each time I call, I'm told that "they are restricted on parts and to call them back in a couple weeks". the associate in the parts department also told me that Chrysler has been extremely slow in providing parts relating to this recall and that they have to deal with calls like mine all the time. I'm not sure how to get this fixed and even if my notification to your association through this complaint will even work because it appears that Fiat/Chrysler has been slow on multiple recalls. Please help if you can and let me know how this can be addressed in the near future (I don't want to keep driving an unsafe vehicle)!

- Morrow, OH, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #14

Oct 302015

Town & Country

  • miles
My TPMS system periodically gives me false info re:my tires. This last time the wheel monitor itself was leaking. This, after I had replaced all 4 last winter. What life span do these devices have?

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #13

Sep 282015

Town & Country

  • miles


On September 28th 2015, we took our vehicle into green Chevrolet in East moline, Illinois to have the wireless ignition node module on a vehicle replaced for a safety recall. At 8:49 a.M. they had called us to let us know they had done the oil change and to let us know of a few repairs that needed to be done that were not relevant to the recall and also informed me that they were currently working on the recall repair. At 9:34 a.M. they called me back and said they were getting ready to do the recall repair but wanted to let me know of cracks that were in the dashboard that they needed to remove to do part of the repair. They sent me pictures to show that they were identical cracks on the driver and passenger side that went all the way through on the corners plus an additional crack about one-fifth of the way over from the passenger side that went all the way through. They claim these cracks were there prior to the repair but we have never seen these cracks before and claim that it must have been done during the repair. We dust our dash board and would have seen such extensive cracks. They are located where the defrost vents are. Green Chevrolet refuses to replace it and holds to that they were already there. Due to the location of the cracks, there is no way for us to cause it. It appears as if they would have been caus D by someone prying up the dashboard incorrectly.

- Rock Island, IL, USA

problem #12

Jun 172015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Recall L25 was received prior to the date and mileage listed above. The dealer was contacted and I was told the parts were on back order. This was never repaired. I then received recall R03. I contacted the same dealer on 6/17/15 and was told R03 superseded L25 and parts would be ordered and should be received in a little over 2 weeks. I recontacted the dealer on 07/20/15 and was told parts were still on order. I recontacted the dealer on 09/28/15 and was told parts were still on order. I then contacted the fca group recall assistance center and spoke to [xxx]. she stated parts were available for the R03 recall and would contact the dealer. She stated she spoke to the dealer and they did have parts on order and I was near the "top of the list." This is totally unacceptable. The statement in the letter I received that "...we are sincerely concerned about your safety." Appears untrue. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Sterling, IL, USA

problem #11

Jun 012015

Town & Country

  • miles
I would like to complain about this specific recall notice I have on my van. I have been on 2 waiting list with 2 different Chrysler dealers in my area since this recall came out due to not having parts available to fix the problem. The problem is the wireless ignition node module. I don't understand how there are no parts available, when Chrysler made this recall. If you know of a problem to the vehicle, make replacement parts and get the cars fixed. I would like an answer as to when I can get my vehicle fixed and when more parts are going to be made available. I want my car fixed immediately. This is a safety issue and it needs to be fixed now.

- Pittston, PA, USA

problem #10

Sep 172015

Town & Country

  • miles
Recall R03 / NHTSA 14V-373, I have been trying since June 2015 to get my local Chrysler dealer, at prosperity dr, silver spring, md 20904, to do this recall. On June 22, 2015, the van was at the dealer for the recall work but when I went to pick it up, they said the parts never came in. They said they would order again and contact me. No one did. I called again today, September 17, 2015 and requested the recall work. They still do not have the parts. They said that they can not get the parts because you have restricted sending the parts to the dealers for service. I was told to call again in 2 or 3 weeks. Please help!!!

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #9

Aug 072015

Town & Country

  • miles


I have been having an issue with my vehicle for over a year now which more recently has been issued a recall R03 relating to the fobic. I have now had 5 instances where my vehicle has stopped while I was driving. I was told of the recall but the parts were not available until more recently. I called and was put on a list 2 months ago to get this fixed. They said it would be about 3 weeks and it has now been two months. When I called today the dealership said that they only get about 3 parts every so often and I was still number 23 on the list. I am very upset by this. This issue should have been fixed in a timely fashion. This is very dangerous and I have been lucky to not be in an accident. I need this to be resolved immediately. I was hoping you could help by putting in my complaint.

- Evansville, IN, USA

problem #8

Aug 032015

Town & Country

  • miles
We have received several recall documents from manufacturer and have tried to schedule service over the past year and repeatedly told parts are not available. This is a violation of the order to still have a critical issue outstanding over 1 year without resolution

- North Tonawanda, NY, USA

problem #7

Jul 102015

Town & Country

  • 76,800 miles
While filling the rear driver side tire with air, the aluminum valve stem snapped off causing the tire to completely deflate. Replaced aluminum stem with rubber stem as a temporary fix while searching for replacement parts to the TPMS sensor. Approximately two days later, while attempting to unscrew the valve cap from the rear passenger side tire, the aluminum valve stem broke off in my hand causing the tire to completely deflate. I found after market replacement aluminum valve stems that fit the oem TPMS sensors and had them all replaced. Unfortunately it is only a matter of time before these fail. Aluminum valve stems on TPMS are clearly a safety issue and warrant a recall. TPMS stems on all newer vehicles are now rubber.

- Kings Park, NY, USA

problem #6

Jul 072015

Town & Country

  • 94,004 miles
I was driving and got hit on passage side the van was totaled the front air bigs went off however the side ones never did.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #5

Jun 242015

Town & Country

  • miles
I finally received the second notice for the safety recall of my vehicle requesting me to make an appointment to replace the win module and fobik's almost a year after I received the first notice. The maintenance clerk held me on the phone to verify they had the parts in stock, which at the time they had 2 available. I made the appointment for 3 weeks after I spoke to them to coincide with my vacation time. I received a call the day before the appointment to confirm. I get to cueter Chrysler the day of the appointment, June 24th, 2015, and they do not have the parts available for my car. The parts are ordered, but no eta available. How is this possible" this is a big inconvenience. Should they have held the parts available for my appointment? are the clerks knowledgeable about parts specific to each vehicle? how can this be avoided"

- Belleville, MI, USA

problem #4

May 032015

Town & Country

  • 118,000 miles
When exiting my vehicle Sunday, it would not shut off nor would the key come out. I was finally able to turn the engine off but not get the key out. This meant that the acc mode was allowing power to remain on. Because the dealership was closed on Sunday, the power remained on until I could call them Monday morning. I was told to jump the vehicle off and bring it in. When driving to the dealership, I realized the radio no longer was functioning because of the power failure caused by the ignition switch that was not working. They replaced the ignition switch free of charge but will not fix the radio. I am confident it was caused by the failure of the key and the subsequent power drain. All of this was caused by the failure of the ignition switch. I am not a mechanic but a teacher so I may not be using correct terminology. I hope you understand what I am trying to explain. Also, for over a year, I have been corresponding with Chrysler about an issue I have been having with the ignition switch. The same ignition switch that I am speaking of above will (numerous times) become disengaged and shut off. Because of this I never allowed my children to drive it. Chrysler on many occasions told me to "be very careful and take all precautions" because the parts were not available to complete this repair. I know that all of these problems are related.

- Wills Point, TX, USA

problem #3

Jul 012014

Town & Country

  • miles
Recall: L25/NHTSA 14V-373 this recall concerns the frequency operated button ignition key (fobik). Chrysler continues to state the the part required to provide a permanent remedy for this condition is currently not available. It has been almost a year since owners were notified of this defect. I have not been notified since the initial mailing about this safety recall.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #2

Apr 042011

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
I bought the vehicle over 15 months prior with 23000 miles. In less than a year, the vehicle would just shut off upon deceleration and/or coming to a stop - usually after exiting the highway. Since then it just shuts off randomly - usually when stopping at a red light. I took the van to the dealer who could not find any codes. Instead, they charged me $300+ for a flush! when I took it back, they told me that it could be the transmission and tightened the wires. The problem remained. A month later, I took the van to another auto repair shop who could not find the problem until he went out on the road with me. Again, I was told that it was likely the transmission. Approximately 3 months later as the problem continued, the hose blew and I was told to replace the hose as well as the transmission. Now that the transmission has been repaired/rebuilt, the problem still occurs!!!!!!!!!!! this is utterly insane and I do not have the money to keep putting band aids on a problem that the dealer nor other reputable repair shops can identify. I have 3 young children (ages 6, 7, & 8) and no other vehicle. I am constantly in fear of being rear-ended because the van just shuts off. When I contacted Chrysler about a potential recall, she was unhelpful. Instead, she directed me to this website to file a formal complaint. Let me add that since I bought the vehicle, there have been 3 recalls - A/C wire (that I did experience), brakes (I had replaced and will need to be reimbursed), and the front-wheel alignment (that I now have to get serviced). This is utterly ridiculous and I am appalled that I have to endure this issue. Something needs to be done immediately!

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #1

Dec 222010

Town & Country

  • 44,600 miles
We've been having continuous problem with our tires, constantly losing pressure. We thought it was a tire issue, however every time I had the tires check they could not find anything wrong. Again, we were losing pressure in a tire, I went to fill the tire and the aluminum valve stem broke in two. Fortunately, we were not moving when the stem came apart. When I went to a quick oil change I was informed that their company policy is not to touch the aluminum valve stems because so many had come apart in their employees hands.

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

Not what you are looking for?