Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,369 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chrysler Town & Country drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #35

Aug 302016

Town & Country

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle randomly shuts off while driving. I was driving during the day, straight, on a city street. Vehicle turned of and I lost all breaks and power steering. I took it to a dealership and they told me they couldn't find anything wrong. I have 5 kids and can't be using a vehicle that may or may not just shut off while driving

- Natural Bridge, NY, USA

problem #34

Aug 292015

Town & Country

  • 77,777 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while driving at 35 mph, the gear shift lever fractured. The contact also stated that on several occasions, the electrical system failed. The contact stated that the failure caused the air conditioner system, the interior lighting, and the radio to become inoperable. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic to be diagnosed. The failure was unable to be duplicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 77,777.

- Palm Harbor, FL, USA

problem #33

Aug 072016

Town & Country

  • 70,000 miles
I have a 2010 Chrysler Town and country van. It has 70,000 miles on it which is less than the average 12,000/year. The transmission is dead and needs to be replaced. When it started dying I only had 11 miles notice. It had not given any warning prior to that. The warranty on the power train expired Oct. 25, 2015 which means it only expired 10 months ago. This van was not abused. I only drove it back and forth 8 miles to work. While I was driving it it felt like it wanted to stall. It kept coming to a almost a complete stop. I took it to my mechanic who said the transmission was dead. Then Chrysler made me tow it to one of their dealerships which they too said the transmission was dead.

- Redford, MI, USA

problem #32

Jul 272016

Town & Country

  • 121,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle was stationary (parked), engine running, air conditioning on, no one in driver. Seat, occupied by seat belted adult passenger with arm rests down, for about 10 minutes. Vehicle was parked in a private parking lot with a slight incline, sloping down to & perpendicular to roadway. Passenger reached over & shut off the ignition & the vehicle immediately began to roll backwards towards roadway approximately 30 feet behind. Roadway is a 2 lane heavily traveled highway with typical speeds of 60 mph, posted speed of 50 mph. Passenger was facing eminent death & mayhem. Passenger quickly pushed the shifter but it could move no higher, & then grabbed steering wheel (power steering, no power) turning it. This caused the vehicle to turn, avoiding entering the roadway, & striking an unoccupied stationary (parked) vehicle; coming to a stop. The passenger believes that the vehicle should not have rolled backwards or in any other direction when the ignition was switched off.

- Ortonville, MI, USA

problem #31

Jul 182016

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owned a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. While the vehicle was parked, a child was able to place the vehicle in gear without the key in the ignition. The vehicle rolled downhill and crashed into a tree. The vehicle was destroyed and towed. The passengers in the vehicle sustained a sprained knee and ankle, and a bruised sternum. Medical attention was required. A police report was filed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN and failure mileage were unknown.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #30

Jun 262016

Town & Country

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. While in park, the vehicle rolled backwards and crashed into the rear of another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact was not in the vehicle at the time of the crash; however, there was a child in the rear driver's side seat who was uninjured. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic for body repairs, but the failure was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Parkesburg, PA, USA

problem #29

May 092016

Town & Country

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle has intermittent problems with starting.. it will work fine and then you will be at the store etc and you turn the key and you hear a click but the motor will not turn over. You click the key back and forth and if you are lucky it will start after 10 to 20 times. Then you will go 2 or 3 weeks with no problems and then out of the blue you get into your car and bam it will click when you turn the key and not start. Sometimes it will not start for 10 or 15 minutes. Then all of a sudden it will start. This has been going on for 6-10 months. It is very scary to be stuck somewhere when this happens. I think the problem is the transmission range sensor. It is very expensive to fix and replace. Chrysler has a huge problem with this. Go on the blogs and that is all you hear about. Starting problem, starting problem, starting problem. This is a safety issue and needs to be addressed by Chrysler. Everyones safety and pocket bock is being affected because of the poor engineering in the shift lever to the transmission. This is sometimes called a neutral safety switch but on the Town and country it is called a transmission range sensor.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #28

Apr 262016

Town & Country

  • 81,487 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. While driving 60 mph, the vehicle shook severely. The vehicle also hesitated when the accelerator pedal was depressed and the vehicle slowly accelerated. When the vehicle was finally shifted into gear, it shifted roughly and made a loud popping noise. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 81,487.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #27

Apr 012016

Town & Country

  • 70,000 miles
While driving when engine is not up to temperature, the vehicle stalls without warning. Only indication is when the stability control light comes on. There is a loss of power steering and brakes. This failure happens more frequently when in turns when the accelerator pedal is not depressed. The failure recurred intermittently once or twice a week. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed, but the cause of the failure was not found. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. Mileage was 70,000

- Rensselaer, NY, USA

problem #26

Apr 152016

Town & Country

  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. While attempting to exceed 20 mph, the vehicle failed to shift gears and the rpms accelerated exponentially; however, the vehicle failed to accelerate along with the rpms. The approximate failure mileage was 92,000. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- West Salem, WI, USA

problem #25

Feb 222016

Town & Country

  • 77,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There is a service bulletin for this issue I have as far as the shift hardness, and there is another one for the noise, from the bearing. Power train:automatic transmission odate reported October 23, 2010 onhtsa reference #10036864 otsb reference #sb-21-008-10 description: Chrysler/Dodge/Jeep: Transfer gear bearing noise. A high pitch noise or growl coming from the left side of the vehicle.. applies to vehicles equipped with 62te automatic transmission (sales code DG2) built 1/1/10-7/28/10. Power train:automatic transmission date reported:October 23, 2010 NHTSA reference:#10036864 tsb reference:#sb-21-008-10 description: Chrysler/Dodge/Jeep: Transfer gear bearing noise. A high pitch noise or growl coming from the left side of the vehicle.. applies to vehicles equipped with 62te automatic transmission (sales code DG2) built 1/1/10-7/28/10. When they manufacture knows there is issues with their product, and will not due anything about it, somebody else needs to step up and force them to fix it. I have both issues with my transmission, and "I am out of warranty" by 9 months.

- Monroe, MI, USA

problem #24

Feb 052016

Town & Country

  • 85,000 miles
While operating vehicle it simply shuts off. No warning lights etc come on. The vehicle was manufactured on June 8, 2010 in Canada. Dealer says "no recalls" on vehicle yet NHTSA recall extends to vehicles produced to 6/17/10. Dealer could not duplicate issue and offers no assistance. Issue has only occurred shortly after starting car and is sporadic.

- Southbury, CT, USA

problem #23

Sep 012015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
I am writing in regard to the wireless ignition module recall that affects my vehicle. I would like to lodge a complaint against the dealership: Mcgrath auto 1616 51st St ne cedar rapids, IA52402 sales:(877) 226-0908 service:(888) 903-7864 parts:(888) 903-7864 this dealership has* fixed this defect within a reasonable amount of time. We have called this dealership regarding this recall in late June and on July 15. Each time we were told that the parts would have to be ordered and we would be contacted when they were in stock. My vehicle has started exhibiting the symptoms of the defect associated with this recall and has started shutting off while we are driving the vehicle. We called the dealership today (September 4) to state that we had a safety issue and needed the vehicle fixed immediately. The dealership said they had the parts but requested we leave the vehicle with them all day rather than the 'one hour to complete' the recall notice states. Since we live approximately 30 miles from the dealership I asked for a loaner vehicle if we were going to be without our vehicle for a day and was told no loaner vehicle was available. I then asked for the next available appointment and was told they couldn't get me in for a week. We now have an appointment on September 11 at 1pm. I am concerned that my vehicle is going to continue to exhibit this defect while driving and put my safety and the safety of my family in jeopardy. I am appalled by the lack of urgency this dealership has exhibited in dealing with this recall on my vehicle and I would like them to be reprimanded. Thank you, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Central City, IA, USA

problem #22

May 302015

Town & Country

  • 60,000 miles
The bearing on the right front intermediate shaft is failing. The symptoms included a loud noise and excessive play in the intermediate shaft. The mechanic inspected the vehicle and recommended an immediate replacement of the bearing. He indicated that a complete failure could result in loss of power or in the bearing seizing, which would lock the front right wheel while the vehicle was in motion. We ordered a new shaft/bearing assembly in early June. This assembly was on back order in June, and has still not arrived. Promised delivery dates have come and gone. The most recent promise date is mid-September. We have been told that more than 140 shafts are on back order. This vehicle is our primary source of transportation, and the longer the delay, the greater our concern of a catastrophic event.

- Lincoln Park, MI, USA

problem #21

Mar 012014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
2010 Chrysler Town & Country. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle transmission issues. The consumer stated it felt as if the vehicle jumped when backing up fro a curb and there was a growl in the transmission. In March 2014, the vehicle stalled while in the midst of driving. The dealer was unable to diagnose a problem. The vehicle stalled again. The consumer has since traded the vehicle.

- O'neill, NE, USA

problem #20

May 092015

Town & Country

  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. After shifting into the park position and shutting off the vehicle, the transmission went into reverse without warning. The vehicle crashed into a tree stomp and the air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained injuries to her entire body and medical attention was required. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 22,000. Updated 09/11/15

- De Soto, MO, USA

problem #19

Jan 262013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
The car was warming up, in park, while I got my husband into the passenger side. Moments later, our dr appointment was canceled so I told my husband to turn the car engine off and give me the keys so I could get him back into the house without having to go to the driver's side. When he turned the engine off and handed me the keys, the car jumped into reverse. With the passenger door opened I tried physically to stop it. My fingers became impaled in a 4X4 post. My husband pushed the shifter straight up into park and the car stopped. I had my phone in my pocket and called a neighbor to back the car up to release my fingers. I needed 13 stitches between two fingers. I can't remember the exact date in Jan 2013 so had to fill in an incorrect day number so that the form would accept the year and month. My husband was in a wheelchair at the time and life was hard. However, I called the dealership in salisbury, md where the car had been purchased and told them what happened. I am sure they never reported this and now that I have found this form, I decided to make an official report. I have also had numerous electrical problems with my car that the dealership could never find. They finally found a short but it was not until my car was acting crazily by the time I got it to the dealership. I don't know what failed so I put down electrical because I have had nothing but problems with the electrical system from the sliding doors found open upon my return to the windshield wipers going on and the car dashboard lighting up and slowing down--that is when the dealership finally found a short. After that, I became paranoid and the back seats wouldn't go into the stow position but it was because I had some trash that I couldn't see that obstructed the seats from going into the stow position.

- Ocean View, DE, USA

problem #18

Apr 282015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 55,444 miles
Our 2010 Chrysler Town and country only has 55,444 miles and was making a buzzing/humming noise. So we took it to two different mechanics and was told that the transmission differential bearings need to be replaced/rebuilt. Called Chrysler twice and got no help at all. Also called and went to Nissan of denville NJ, the dealer that we got it from 17 months ago and also got no help at all.

- Boonton, NJ, USA

problem #17

Aug 012012

Town & Country

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact filled the vehicle with approximately 3/4 of a tank of fuel and parked it on a hill. The next morning, the vehicle had approximately 1/8 of a tank less fuel. The contact smelled fuel inside the vehicle. The failure recurred on more than one occasion. While driving approximately 50 mph, the interior lighting illuminated without warning. The contact had to manually turn off the lights. The failure recurred on several occasions. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator was intermittently illuminated. The failure recurred on several occasions. The contact also stated that the vehicle hesitated when shifting from second to third gear without warning. The failures recurred on several occasions. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Centereach, NY, USA

problem #16

Jan 142015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 28,500 miles
One day as I was backing up into my driveway, I noticed a click sound. So I turned the wheel again and everytime I turn the wheel to the left side, I am able to hear a click this is with the vehicle in park and just turning the wheel, normally when you hear a clicking while turning and driving it can be a defective cv axle I have no clue what the problem is, but once again I am told that a diagnostic fee will be needed. I told them this should be covered under the powertrain warranty, they claim I am not sure but if we look and it is not you will be charged a diagnostic fee, tell me how the hell this is fair another words they are telling me I am going to rob you but if you don't come here you will be ok. This dealer located at levittown NY Chrysler was even in the news a few years back when the A/G fined them for scamming customers are they doing it again" my warranty expires soon on the powertrain then what"

- Wantagh, NY, USA

Read the next 15 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?