Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 11
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
35,482 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chrysler Town & Country electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 34 of 38)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #81

Feb 132014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 57,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Drivers side sliding door opens randomly by itself after the car is parked. It opens and closes even when the doors have been locked by the key fob or manually. Luckily it hasn't opened while driving yet. Had to disconnect the battery until we could have it checked. Called the local Chrysler dealer and they had never heard of the problem. They were no help at all and seemed to be impositioned by the question. Checking on line, there seems to be others with the same problem.

- Marquette, MI, USA

problem #80

Jan 082014

Town & Country

  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated her vehicle was included in NHTSA recall campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) and was repaired but the failure described in the recall continued to occur. While driving her vehicle it independently shut off which also affected her brakes, power steering and engine. An appointment was scheduled with a certified Chrysler dealership. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 64,000.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #79

Oct 132013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,600 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact was driving 45 mph when the ignition dropped out of the vehicle and the engine stalled. The vehicle was taken to dealer for inspection however, the failure could not be duplicated. The contact was offered to replace the win module, but the vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the incident. The approximate failure mileage was 51,600. Updated 2/11/14

- Edgewater, FL, USA

problem #78

Dec 092013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The head lights go out intermittently or won't come on at all. The turn signals will not work as well as the horn. Sometimes everything works and sometimes it doesn't. this is extremely dangerous while driving at night and almost caused an accident as the head lights went out while driving. I did some research online and this is a problem that many Chrysler Town and country owners have reported. The issue is believed to be the tipm.

- Munhall, PA, USA

problem #77

Dec 302013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
Vehicle has been shutting off while driving down the highway. Prior to this it has been turning off by itself when starting it in the driveway to warm up. This all started about 4 months ago. This is dangerous especially when you have young children also. Looking at the recall it is only for the Canada vehicles. This should'nt be the case if there is the same vehicle doing the same thing and falls into the criteria of the recall.

- Corinth, TX, USA

problem #76

Dec 302013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while traveling various speeds, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 11V139000 (electrical system). The failure mileage was approximately 77,000. Updated 2/11/14

- Corinth, TX, USA

problem #75

Jul 092013

Town & Country

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while driving approximately 12 mph, the vehicle suddenly stalled as all of the electronics in the vehicle powered down. The vehicle was diagnosed and the key was replaced but the defect was not remedied. The contact was informed that the ignition module was replaced in 2011 under NHTSA campaign id number: 11V139000 (electrical system) by the previous owner but the defect was recurring. The manufacturer was notified and no solution was offered. The failure mileage was 75,000.

- Rahway , NJ, USA

problem #74

Jan 012012

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled numerous times while driving at various speeds. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who advised that the ignition switch needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 50,000 and the current mileage was 119,000....updated 03/07/14 the motor mounts, and hub assemblies needed to be replaced. Also, the vehicle had an oil pan leak, and the heater hose failed. Updated 03/13/14

- Conroe , TX, USA

problem #73

Oct 102013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
Ac and radio cutting off when driving. Car engine cutting off when driving. Win module needs to be replaced. The car was already recalled for this issue.

- Ocoee, FL, USA

problem #72

Sep 262013

Town & Country 8-cyl

  • 52,100 miles
My Chrysler Town and country 2010 van cuts off while I am driving it!!!! this has now happened 8 times! once while I was driving at 55mph!! another time I was pulling out onto the highway when my 2010 Town and country van died! cars in two lanes were blaring their horns and had to swerve off the road to keep from hitting me! I took it to the Chrysler dealer where it stayed for 13 days. They could not figure out the problem but replaced the computer(PCM). Less than 48 hours later it had happened 2 more times! I returned it to the dealership where it remains now. Chrysler has given me a case number and I am hoping for answers soon. They have refused to rent me a car thus far. I cannot seem to get Chrysler to understand (or care) how dangerous this is. I don't want to die just so my husband can sue them! help

- Easley, SC, USA

problem #71

Sep 272013

Town & Country

  • 57,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving home from work and the likes started flashing and then went out. The parking lights and fog lights were the only lights that worked. Next morning the lights worked. A few days later same thing happened while I was driving. I sent a letter to Chrysler and they wanted me to take it to dealership to get looked at. It took me a couple weeks to get it there cause my other car was in the shop. I had days that the lights would not come on and days that they worked. After taking it to dealer they simply tightened the battery cables and charged me for it. Less then a week later it is acting up again. Lights will either work, flash on and off, or not come on at all. I wrote another letter to them and have an appointment to take it in on Friday but am considering just cutting my losses and trading it in because I carry kids in my van and this is not a safe van.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #70

Sep 102013

Town & Country

  • 49,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated the vehicle was parked and after numerous attempts the key released from the ignition switch. The failure recurred five times. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number 11V139000 (electrical system;) however, the VIN was not included. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the win module was replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 49,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Green Valley , AZ, USA

problem #69

Oct 202013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
The headlights on my vehicle suddenly went out while driving at night. This was incredibly dangerous. I had a stop, and get a hotel I could not continue my journey. I took the vehicle to a certified mechanic. It was a tipm failure. $885 to fix it. I found this is actually a common problem. This part should be recalled and fixed at the manufacturers expense.

- Carol Stream, IL, USA

problem #68

Jan 312013

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while driving approximately 65 mph, the entire instrument panel and gauges failed to operate. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnosis however, the technician restarted the ignition and the vehicle operated normally. The failure recurred numerous times and became worse. In addition, the engine stalled on separate occasions. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 11V139000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to complete the service was unavailable. The manufacturer was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Moorehead, MN, USA

problem #67

Aug 252013

Town & Country

  • 90,000 miles
The ignition key was displaced from run to accessory without being touch. This is identical to the win module recall for this model which we had replaced last year. I have seen the same thing on this site many times. The dealership reports that this is "similar" but not the "same." If it looks like a duck and quacks like a duck, it is a duck. Please do not let them pull this on the consumer! don't just look at all the complaints and nod your head. Do something!!! we are struggling financially like so many other people and now Chrysler isn't going to honor what really should be part of the recall. Don't wait until there is a crash and death! we were going 70 miles per hour down an interstate and suddenly had not brake lights or turn signal. We were very lucky! we have been told the part is on back-order and will take at least a month! high demand for that part, isn't it"?"

- Royal, IA, USA

problem #66

Nov 142012

Town & Country

  • 80,000 miles
On 6 occasions so far, my van has died with no warning while I have been driving in traffic. The engine light has never come on to indicate any problems. On the first 3 occasions I was driving straight in completely dry conditions when the anti slip indicator came on, stayed on, and then the van died. On the last 3 occasions no indicators came on. The van just died with no warning. We were part of the 11V139000 recall, but all of the incidents of the van dieing has happened since that recall. As I investigated this problem on the internet I received over 53,000 hits from 2010 Town and country owners experiencing this same problem. When will Chrysler be required to take responsibility for this problem and fix it before a major accident affects my family? 11V139000 recall anti slip light stuck on.

- Joliet, IL, USA

problem #65

Aug 202013

Town & Country

  • 63,233 miles
This has now happened about 3 times and is very scary and very dangerous. Driving, sitting still, doesn't matter. The engines runs fine but all other power is lost. No brake lights, no wipers, no blinker, no radio, windows wont roll down, no headlights, no heat or air and since windows wont roll down its very uncomfortable. Also cant do hand turning signs bc window wont roll down. Afraid of being rear ended due to not having brake lights or blinker. I repeat very scary especially with a van full of children. You never know when its gonna happen so its too late when it does and you have to pull over which means the person behind you better be watching bc you have no brake lights or blinker. I have researched this problem and sadly sounds to be a common thing. Chrysler needs to recall this. This is a huge problem. Imagine driving and it begins to rain witha car full of kids and uh oh no wipers, no blinker, no brake lights, no headlights. I repeat this very dangerous and scary. I don not recommend this van to anyone until this problem is fixed. I absolutely loved my van but I do not at the moment. Would like to get rid of it actually. This is only after the recall where the key would turn to accessory mode and van would shut off. No power steering or anything. The guys at the Chrysler dealership repaired the recall and haven't had that issue again thank goodness. Good luck to anyone else having the same issues and I pray you all stay safe.

- Lenoir City, TN, USA

problem #64

Aug 142013

Town & Country

  • 49,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, smoke emerged from the driver's side door handle and from the speakers. The interior cabin was immediately filled with smoke. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis where it was stated that the switch burned out on the driver's side door panel. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 49,000.

- Anderson , IN, USA

problem #63

Aug 142013

Town & Country

  • 41,252 miles
Our van already had a recall for the win module and it was replaced a year ago. While my wife was driving my children to school the ac, instrument lights, turn signals, windows and who know what else stopped working such as brake lights. We went to the dealership, acadiana Dodge, and they claimed that, even though we had an extended warranty, Chrysler would not cover replacing the win module again. I don't know, but it seems like a component that could potentially shut down the engine and cause a wreck should be replaced by the dealership if it is a known problem component.

- Lafayette, LA, USA

problem #62

Jun 162013

Town & Country

  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while driving 70 mph, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was restarted and operated as designed. The fourth recurred four times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnosis but no cause for the failure was found. The vehicle was returned after subsequent failures and the mechanic stated that the failure was due to defective win modules. The contact was informed of a recall under NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but informed her that the VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 63,000.

- Vinson, IA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?