If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,116 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chrysler Town & Country electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #100

Apr 192014

Town & Country

  • 58,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

TL-the contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated while driving approximately 65 mph, the engine stalled without any prior warning. Upon restarting, the vehicle was able to resume normally. The failure recurred on a separate occasion. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and repaired under the NHTSA campaign id number 11V139000 (electrical system). The failure persisted after the remedy repair was performed. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 58,000.

- Haughton, LA, USA

problem #99

Jul 022012

Town & Country

  • 40,000 miles
The right sliding door when activated would start to open. When about half way open it would start to shutter and would close again. If someone was starting to get out the door, the door would hit them. The dealership this vehicle was purchased from told me there was nothing wrong with it, but they could fix them for $350 per door. After reading of recall K 14 that Chrysler was campaigning in Oct 2010, I manually moved my wiring harness in the lower door well. This resulted in a temporary fix. Now I must move it periodically to have the door operate properly. Just recently, the left door started to act the same way. My grandchildren have gotten hit by the erratic action several times but never were physically injured. This vehicle has a build date of 08-09. This date falls within the inclusive dates of manufacture of the defect information report for Chrysler group llc recall J27. I believe that this vehicle contains the same defects as those recalled

- Powell, OH, USA

problem #98

Mar 082013

Town & Country

  • 48,000 miles
While driving at slower speeds, my 2010 Chrysler Town & Country will just shut down. Power steering is lost, engine is completely shut off. This has happened about 5 times over the past month. In all cases we have had to pull off the road (if we could), remove the key from the ignition, then restart the vehicle. We are fearful this will happen at a higher rate of speed and we will get in an accident. We took the vehicle to the dealership and the diagnostics test did not find anything. The technician has been driving the vehicle around for a couple of days to try and duplicate the situation with no success. We are not sure what to do from here as we are now very uncomfortable driving this vehicle. Any help would be appreciated.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #97

Jan 312014

Town & Country

  • 61,140 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle intermittently loses power at low speeds. Completely shuts down. Can restart engine immediately. This occurred in Jan, Feb and Mar 5 times. Vehicle taken to vero beach Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge in Florida on 2/07/14 and again on 3/7/14 after contacting Chrysler customer service. Dealership unable to determine cause or duplicate problem. We are concerned about driving back to Michigan on the highways fearing the engine could lose power.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #96

Mar 102014

Town & Country

  • 60,000 miles
TL- the contact owns 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated while driving approximately 70 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle did restart; however, the failure occurred three times over a period of two weeks. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number 11V139000(electrical system). The VIN was not included in the recall and the vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #95

Mar 272014

Town & Country

  • 34,900 miles
Van has wireless ignition system problems. Van has intermittent shut off, van has intermittent no start issues. Van has intermittent warning cluster, wiper, gauges, and headlight shut off and on problems. Van is dangerous to my fam. And others!!!!!!! found recall L-25 but this is fraud recal; only installing rubber ring on win module. Chrysler must service all vehicles with these problems asap before they get in more lawsuits and kill more people. Chrysler has case number: S10008000021 release date: 9/7/10 involves wiper, gauge, lighting and cluster problems that is happening to thousands of their units. Also bulletin #: 08-025-11 5/27/11 involves problems with wireless ignition system that is happening to thousands of their units.

- Vega Alta, PR, USA

problem #94

Mar 052014

Town & Country

  • 41,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was turning a slow curve and I am not sure what caused it, but my engine turned off, my power steering and gas pedal failed. My brakes didn't seem to work as well and I had to come to a slowed stop and force my steering to turn onto an off road so I didn't cause an accident. When I came to a stop I turned the engine off and back on and the car started up right away and I have not had an issue since. I am not sure if I bumped the keys in the ignition or not. Unfortunately, I have had a few family emergencies and have had to reschedule the appt to get my car looked at and do not know the issue. I am concerned that it has to do with the recalls of cars with faulty key/ignition issues. I just bought this car that was supposedly certified back in November of 2013 with only approx. 37,000 miles on it. Should I give this back as a lemon and get a different vehicle?

- Saint Charles, MO, USA

problem #93

Jan 012013

Town & Country

  • 60,000 miles
My car had the win start part replaced in the 2011 recall. I have found the issues listed below on several websites as being related, so I am listing them all. In these other reports the win start is listed as the problem, and replacing this part is $700+. an excessive cost to repair a component that fails so frequently, or that has already been replaced once on the car. Multiple issues: First the issue is that when I am driving, the car pauses or hesitates like it is going to die. There is no pattern to this, it happens at random speeds and under random conditions. Depending upon the timing and duration, this is definitely hazardous issue. Second: The key continuously gets stuck in the ignition, and I must sit in the car with the car off, or try to restart and shift the gears, sometimes up to 10-15 minutes before I can remove the key. In the beginning it happened only if I had been driving for awhile. Yesterday it happened and I drove only two miles. Third: The car won't start. It sometimes happens after the key has been stuck. I have had the battery and other components checked, but nothing is an obvious answer. Again, other websites connect this to the other issues herein listed and the resolution is replacing the win start.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #92

Mar 232014

Town & Country

  • 45,000 miles
The vehicle stalled while driving. No other indications or warning lights at the time. The vehicle was being driven at approximately 35 miles an hour when it suddenly shut off. Vehicle pulled to the side of a busy intersection to avoid collision.

- Chanhassen, MN, USA

problem #91

Mar 152014

Town & Country

  • 78,000 miles
My wife and I purchased a 2010 Chrysler Town and country with a manufacture date of 11/10, about 2 weeks ago, and we immediately were having issues with the vehicles engine being shut off while driving. I did some research on the internet and found that the same model vehicle manufactured between August 3, 2009 and June 17, 2010 were recalled due to this same issue. Apparently they were built with ignitions that could accidentally switch from the "run" position to "accessory, " thereby causing the engine to shut off. But my same exact model vehicle is not covered by this recall because it does not fall within the manufacture date for the recall. I am highly upset at this because my wife is the main operator of this vehicle and my son is with her in the van. I want some answers about this issue, and a reason why my van is not in the recall when it is obvious that all vans of this model year are affected, I refuse to pay to have this fixed when it is obvious this is a manufacturers defect. Your recall I.D. is NHTSA campaign id: 11V139000. Thank you.

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #90

Jan 292014

Town & Country

  • 49,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while driving 15 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who was unable to diagnose the failure. The dealer replaced the battery as a temporary remedy however, the remedy failed to fix the problem. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 49,000 and the current mileage was 50,777.

- North Wales, PA, USA

problem #89

Aug 222013

Town & Country

  • 50,000 miles
2010 Chrysler Town and country my wife and I have been driving vehicle and multiple times over the last 6 months the vehicle stalls without warning. On one instance my wife was turning at an intersection when the car shut off unexpectedly and when this occurred the power steering stopped working and my wife nearly rolled into oncoming traffic. On another instance the vehicle stalled on me traveling down the freeway and I had to put the vehicle in neutral and start it again, when I did this it seemed like the car had to turn over for a few seconds before it would start up. We have 3 children and this is a very disturbing issue as it relates to safety. I would like to see Chrysler internal issue tracking on these items during launch of the vehicle because I have a relative a few years back who had a very similar issue with the Chrysler Jeep Grand Cherokee he owned. It seems to me that this is a bigger system issue with Chrysler as a whole. In addition to this safety I have multiple neusence issues with my vehicle from door locks that buzz, sliding door seals that are cut up as a result of improper installation of door, window edge seals that appear to have been too long but installed anyway and air leak sound result from poor worknmanship, rear power door that has stopped working,

- Holland, MI, USA

problem #88

Mar 082014

Town & Country

  • 52,000 miles
The following lights came on: ABS, anti skid, check engine light. The engine started missing then the security indicator light came on and the alarm inside went off. I had no electrical controls. The windows wouldn't roll down, the door locks wouldn't work and then the engine shut off. The outside alarm then went off too. I had to disable the alarm by unhooking the battery cable. I had the car towed in to the dealer and they told me that the car was not communicating with the computer and they had no idea what the problem was. I then called Chrysler and checked to see if there had been a recall of any kind and sure enough my vehicle had the recall# L25. I have never received a recall notice but the gentlemen that I spoke with at Chrysler Corp. Said that according to their records the win module had been replaced on my van and that my vehicle had been repaired on 2-7-2012. That never happened!! it is currently being checked out by the Chrysler tech at our local dealer. They said they are only allowed to replace the rubber gasket inside the module and if the module itself is bad I will have to pay for the module. The gentlemen I spoke with at Chrysler corporation told me that the module would be covered at no charge. This is crazy!!! my two young grandsons were in the van when all this happened. Needless to say they were terrified. This problem needs immediate attention. The government needs to get involved here. This is definitely a safety issue!!

- Georgetown, KY, USA

problem #87

Mar 012012

Town & Country

  • 15,000 miles
My husband took my 2010 chrylser Town & Country van to the dealer for the ignition recall. When he arrived home he explained to me that when he left the dealer he had no electric in the vehicle. He returned to the dealer and they told him that he had to be careful not to turn the ignition too far to the left or this would happen. This was suppose to correct a problem not create a new one. I would have thought that NHTSA would have reviewed the fix of the ignition issue and insured that it did not create yet another problem. I returned to the dealer and told them to return my car to the original equipment since I felt the repair was much worse then the risk that resulted in the recall. When will NHTSA take these issues seriously enough to ensure that the supposedly correction of an issue does not cause a greater concern? I had no lights, no radio, no handsfree phone connection once the "recall parts" were installed.

- Allentown, PA, USA

problem #86

Jan 102014

Town & Country

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while traveling various speeds, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be diagnosed. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 11V139000 (electrical system). The failure mileage was approximately 80,000. The VIN was not available.

- Wilmington, DE, USA

problem #85

Feb 242014

Town & Country

  • 89,000 miles
The engine shut down unexpectedly. Everything on the car just turned off. I was able to coast to the side of the road, waited a few minutes and re-started the car. This is the second time that this has happened recently.

- Lakeland, MI, USA

problem #84

Oct 272011

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
2010 Chrysler Town & Country. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle ignition recall. The consumer stated after the recall was performed, the problems with the keys was immediate. The keys strained to get past the rubber triangular-shaped objects that were installed as part of the recall. The consumer could feel the twisting force on the key each time. Prior to the change of the ignition, there was no significant force exerted on the key in the ignition. A few months after the recall, the consumer noticed the keys were starting to become damaged. By the summer of 2012, there was evidence of cracking in the bodies of the keys. By the summer of 2013, both keys were broken, but still working. By December 2013, both keys were broken, and one was falling apart. One key no longer worked in the ignition and the other key no longer worked to open the doors. One of the keys started to work intermittently in ignition. On one occasion, while away from home, it took 30 minutes to get the car started, because the vehicle did not recognize the key. The consumer stated it was clear, from the force exerted on the keys by the rubber triangles, it was a matter of when, rather than if, it will happen again. The consumer purchased a third key and was able to program it himself.

- Corvallis, OR, USA

problem #83

Jan 192014

Town & Country

  • 80,000 miles
My car has a history now of shutting off while driving. I took the car in twice into the dealership and was told that they could not find the problem (car was on a belt for days and test driven as well). I spent about $800 fixing non-related issues that were supposed to solve the problem and did not solve it. Last week, my car did the same thing - turned off and locked on the freeway- and we took it in and the dealership who could not find an error. We called Chrysler and were told that although other 2010's had been recalled for an ignition issue, my van was not on the list. This morning I read that other models from 2005-2007- over 780,000 vehicles were recalled for the same problem- turning off mysteriously while driving. It happened on the freeway to my husband almost causing a crash. I am forced to trade my car in and take a financial loss. I hope that the car is not resold because I believe the ignition is faulty but the dealership would not remove the part to test and Chrysler is not doing anything to remedy the car. I hope more cars are recalled and that the company and dealership take this issue more seriously.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #82

Nov 052013

Town & Country

  • 46,000 miles
The headlights dim, the radio stops, the four lights directly over the speedometer come on and off, the speedometer drops to zero when the dummy lights come on. Periodically the vehicle shuts of as it is moving. This all started happening after the NHTSA campaign #11V139000 recall on the ignition was replaced. It has been to three separate Chrysler dealers a total of seven times. It has been out of service for more than 30 days. Neither Chrysler nor the dealer wants to resolve this problem. They want to sell me a new car!

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #81

Feb 132014

Town & Country

  • 57,000 miles
Drivers side sliding door opens randomly by itself after the car is parked. It opens and closes even when the doors have been locked by the key fob or manually. Luckily it hasn't opened while driving yet. Had to disconnect the battery until we could have it checked. Called the local Chrysler dealer and they had never heard of the problem. They were no help at all and seemed to be impositioned by the question. Checking on line, there seems to be others with the same problem.

- Marquette, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?