Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
72,031 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chrysler Town & Country engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 4 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #99

Jun 062015

Town & Country

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving down the road I noticed what smelt like burning sugar. While slowing down I saw what looked like smoke coming out of the engine compartment. Checking the temperature gauge (which was normal) I opened the hood and saw coolant all over the engine compartment, even on the hood matting. After further diagnosing the issue I determined it is the Y fitting on the heater hose leading to the firewall has a crack at the parting line. The combination of pressure and heat in the lines caused the fluid to spray out and thus the burnign smell. This part is a flaw and should be replaced with something that is not plastic and fused together. Replacing with the oem part will only cause this to happen again, I can not risk this with it being the family car and having 4 children in it. Getting broken down due to poor design is unsatisfactory, and this could lead to costly repairs of the coolant all leasks out.

- Clinton, MA, USA

problem #98

May 212015

Town & Country

  • 59,000 miles
I was driving down the road and the van stalled as I was driving. I had no power steering, no power brakes, etc. Luckily there was no one behind me and was able to muscle the van to the side of the road. This is the 3rd time this has happened to my wife and I in the last month. We have not had this issue before. After I parked the car, I was able to restart the engine and drive it. Upon further investigation while driving I noted that I could turn the key fob from the "on" position to the "acc" position as I was driving with very little effort! I did some research and found that there is a recall for 2010 T&cs for ignition switch issues similar to mine. When I called Chrysler, however, they informed me that my 2010 was not covered under the L25 recall. Please help. This is obviously extremely dangerous and I have to drive my 2 kids and my pregnant wife in this thing.

- West Bloomfield, MI, USA

problem #97

Apr 052015

Town & Country

  • 90,000 miles
I was driving on a state road at about 60 mph when the van died. I was able to glide off the road and restart it. It has happened several times since, at various speeds. Also, sometimes when I brake, the car pulls to one side or the other, or the steering wheel vibrates. Again, at various times, and at various speeds. Also, the RPM drop while at a steady speed, and twice have revved high while on cruise control. All these problems are intermittent and do not show up on diagnostics at the dealer. I had the transmission replaced, because that did show up on diagnostics at the tom O'brien Chrysler dealership, but the problems continue, and I may have spent that money unnecessarily. I found on my own that there is a recall on the win module and the key fob--the reasons for the car dying while driving--and will get them replaced. But I resent that I paid for a new transmission and that wasn't the problem, and that Chrysler most likely has been aware of this problem for years but allowed the vehicle to be sold, putting our lives in danger.

- Greenwood, IN, USA

problem #96

Nov 032014

Town & Country

  • 56,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle stalls with loss of engine power, loss of power brakes, and loss of power steering. Stalling event normally occurs within first few minutes of driving and seems to occur in temperatures below 40. Radio stays powered during occurrence and this can make notice of the stall event difficult until you need to turn, brake or accelerate and find you do not have engine power. Stalling events have occurred while pulling into traffic on major streets within first few minutes of driving and often while driving in parking lots and subdivision speeds. The vehicle has been taken to a Chrysler dealer several times and Chrysler cannot replicate the issue. Chrysler does not find any trouble codes stored to indicate an issue. The Chrysler dealer indicates this minivan is not subject to existing Chrysler recalls that indicate a loose key related stall.

- Rochester, MI, USA

problem #95

Mar 152015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who was unable to diagnose or repair the vehicle; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 49,000. Updated 7/1/15 the dealer replaced the win module. Updated 07/09/15

- New Brighton, MN, USA

problem #94

Nov 042013

Town & Country

  • 44,000 miles
We bought our Town and country and have drove it for a couple of years no. The engine has used a quart of oil every thousand miles. The Chrysler mechanic in chanute, ks, said it was like a briggs and striation or small engine, it should use that much oil. I think there crazy. If this engine goes out in traffic my family is in a world of trouble

- Chanute, KS, USA

problem #93

May 092015

Town & Country

  • 77,525 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle stalls on a frequent, daily basis. Today, it stalled three times in an hour period. This started happening three weeks ago at 76, 600 miles. The traction control light would come on and the car loses power for steering and brakes. The radio stays on. Today, I was able to shift into neutral and restart the car, while the car was still moving. The third stall was in heavy traffic and it barely turned over. Vehicle was brought back to dealer on 4/22/15 for failing the emission test and the stalling issue. They couldn't replicate it and the vehicle didn't qualify for any recalls. I am dropping it off at the dealer this afternoon for another inspection. Btw, there are no codes in the computer nor do any system warning appear on my in-dash communications screen. I have reported this to Chrysler corporate care and have a reference number for the complaint report.

- Burke, VA, USA

problem #92

Mar 202015

Town & Country

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. While driving at various speeds, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle did restart after two attempts. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000. The VIN was not available.

- Ann Arbor , MI, USA

problem #91

Apr 072015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. While driving at 55 mph, the engine stalled. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 94,000. Updated 6/8/15

- Romeo, MI, USA

problem #90

Mar 142015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
I was preparing to leave home on the morning of March 14, 2015. I backed the car out of the garage and just as I was about to pull forward there was smoking coming from the front passenger side of the hood. The vehicle had barely warmed up, there were no warning lights illuminated so I exit the vehicle to see what's happening. Just as I left the hood about two inches, there is a fire in the rear of the engine cabin with sparks from it. I immediately backed away from the car and within minutes the entire engine compartment was engulfed in flames. The eastpointe, mi fire department came out and ruled the fire an electrical fire. This fire could have killed me as there were no warnings just fire and spontaneous combustion should not occur on a vehicle five years old. This is the vehicle I transported my five kids in and had this occurred on the freeway we were heading for death or injury would have been eminent. I am now afraid that others are at similar if not worse risk. Shame on Chrysler for marketing a family vehicle with such significant risk of death or injury.

- Eastpointe, MI, USA

problem #89

Nov 252013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Multiple stalling when the car is recently filled with gas or when the car is cold and during the first 5-10 miles on the road. Fortunately never at fast speeds. Recently had egr valve replaced and no new episodes. This did not show up on the computer checks of engine until just recently despite multiple stalls. Not sure whether the problem has been fixed yet since it has been intermittent. Noticed that there are multiple complaints about this vehicle stalling. If this valve is the cause of the stalls then maybe recall is indicated. I have already had the ignition switch recall repaired in 2011. Very frightening and very dangerous to be driving and have your car stall without warning.

- South Lyon, MI, USA

problem #88

Mar 282015

Town & Country

  • 71,000 miles
I was driving the van and the steering wheel and brakes locked up. The van stalled in the middle of driving. Happened two separate days.

- Cape May Court House, NJ, USA

problem #87

Oct 222014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
My engine turns of while driving down the road in traffic, losing all power.....my tailgate goes up and down randomly, while parked or driving...can't understand why this doesn't qualify for recall when 600,000 others do. I'm in the same unsafe predicament as they are..

- Bradenton, FL, USA

problem #86

Apr 162013

Town & Country

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. While driving 65 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 78,000.

- Steering, VA, USA

problem #85

Apr 012015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 62,565 miles
Engine overheated leak in plastic Y connection. Standed on busy mountain road.

- Ramona, CA, USA

problem #84

Mar 282015

Town & Country

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while driving at 50 mph, the engine stalled as an unknown warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system). The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Manchester, MD, USA

problem #83

Aug 262014

Town & Country

  • 80,000 miles
While driving the vehicle for the 2nd day after ownership (purchased used from Honda of bowie in bowie, md) and we were leaving the parking lot on vacation when the car stopped. It was warmed up, it was working and then it just stopped while I was driving. My husband, and 3 kids (1 1/2, 3 months and 11 years old) were in the vehicle. Noone was behind us and we were able to get the car to start again. However, this was just the beginning of a series of shut-offs to come. Since that initial shut-off the vehicle has stopped several times on the highway, in the neighborhood, while on the busy street of Washington, DC, in the snow, in dry weather, raining, while on the road with cars behind me...and more. I am afraid for the safety of my family, myself and those other vehicles around me. When the car shuts off, the power steering stops and I immediately have to manually get the car to a safe position before I can restart the vehicle.

- Landover, MD, USA

problem #82

Feb 222015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 29,000 miles
While at a stop light then turning green to go, I normally proceed to accelerate the vehicle lose acceleration, and smoke emitted from under the hood and clouding my driving vision, I was able to pull over in heavy traffic without incident, then opened the hood since, I did not see anything I assumed it was safe to proceed, upon opening the hood, I was surprised and sprayed in the face and hands from boiling antifreeze, I immediately closed the hood suffering minimum injury, I was able to use the flashlight the car came with and inspected the vehicle and found the coolant heater hose fitting fractured causing the coolant to spill, and spray everywhere. I was able to contact a friend and being close to home we were able to push it all the way home. Under further investigating this seems to be a common problem Chrysler never addressed, it appears to happen on the 2008-2010 models if you have this problem you can do what I did and save 800 https://www.youtube.com/watch?V=dbnyzqd9ld8. It appears thousands of people have this problem. I managed to suffer minor burns to the hands and face, and days latter only had water blisters. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for inspection because the dealer stated a diagnostic fee will be needed, and was quoted around 800 for the fix, I was able to fix it with $40 as the video shows in the link above. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the incident infact when I called and told them I was injured all they said was O-ok that's it then proceeded to take my complaint, and added we can do nothing till you get it diagnosed, at this time I have no funds for this so this problem will be a diy fix however from the coolant spraying and saturating every electrical component under the hood we have no idea what problems lay ahead due to this defect Chrysler never addressed. The failure mileage was 29,000.

- Wantagh, NY, USA

problem #81

Jan 052015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while driving at 70 mph, the engine stalled. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000. Updated 6/8/15 updated 11/6/15

- Decatur , IL, USA

problem #80

Feb 052013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
Consistent with a current recall of 2010 Chrysler Town and country vehicles, the engine will just shut off and stop running without warning while driving. The vehicle will lose power without warning, power steering and power brakes, although all battery functions will still operate. This has happened numerous times while driving. I have asked Chrysler service departments to look at the vehicle, but they tell me they can't find anything wrong. There is a recall that describes what I'm experiencing exactly, but according to Chrysler, my van is not a part of the recall and even if it was, there have not been replacement parts available for this recall for 2-3 years. This is completely irresponsible on Chrysler's part. This problem is serious and could easily result in a collision.

- Riverside, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?