10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
72,030 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chrysler Town & Country engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 7 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #43

Jul 152014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 39,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I want to report a problem with Chrysler Town and country touring 4D passenger extended van with 3.8L engine. Purchased the car from carmax in May 2014 and took it on it's first trip over the 4th of July weekend. I checked the oil before I left and it was full and golden in color as it should be. The trip was from vienna, Virginia to camilla, Georgia and lasted 10 days covering 1800 miles. I started receiving oil maintance warnings on July 11 which is unusal and checked the oil. To my astonishment the engine was almost dry and what little oil I could see was black in color. It took 3 1/2 quarts of oil to bring the van back up to full capacity!! in doing research about this abnormal instance it appears from the number of complaints already filed that Chrysler and yourself have known about this problem of excessive oil usage that leads to engine malfunction for a while. It appears the solutions are value stem seal replacment, PCV value replacement and finally a full engine ring job as last resort. I was a previous owner of a 1993 chrylser Town & Country with 220,000 miles on it and it would burn 1/2 quart in 3000 miles at the most. There needs to be an investigation into the faulty 3.8L Chrysler engine and a recall should be issued immediately to prevent safety issues from needless blown engines with family members aboard. There is no indication of engine leaks or with the exhaust usage. This engine just consumes ridiculous amounts of oil more than the 1 quart per 750 miles Chrysler claims is nomal which in this day and age is ridiculous also.

- Vienna, VA, USA

problem #42

Mar 162014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 647,000 miles
Came out of church services on March 16, 2014 and read out said "damaged key" opened the door and read out said "key in ignition", but the key was still in my hand. Bells were dinging, doors & lights worked but the van would not start, no matter what. Had to have it towed for maintenance. This occurred 4 times to this date; last night being the latest. Did get a new key fob on April 14, 2014 & had no more issues until last night. Had been shopping came out of the store, opened the door and bells were dinging, with "key in ignition" showing on the read out. Had my children with me in a not so safe area to be stranded in. Called for help, but van would not start for 2 hrs. It was dark when it started. Went straight home. Tried to go out the next morning and it would not start again. Just purchased this vehicle on Feb 15, 2014 and had this exact issue a total of 5 times. Hate I purchased this vehicle and will get rid of it asap. Even if it means losing my good credit. I wont pay a monthly note for an unreliable vehicle. This is awful and Chrysler should do a recall on faulty switches for the 2010 Town & Country. I haven't reached my 6 month mark for ownership of this vehicle and continue to have this serious issue. I don't have money for a monthly note and repairs simultaneously. Please do look into this issue.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #41

Jul 242014

Town & Country

  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while driving at 32 mph, the vehicle stalled at a traffic light, which caused a crashed with another vehicle. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was not filed and the contact did not sustain any injuries. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 83,000.

- Holbrook, NY, USA

problem #40

Jul 272014

Town & Country

  • 56,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving in residential area less than 20mph, rpms exceeded 3000, had to set foot on break hard to hold back vehicle from accelerating, gas pedal did not physically move and cruise control was not on, placed vehicle in neutral rpms remained high, had to shut down vehicle. Restarted rpms remained in normal range. Since incident vehicle runs very hot, no trouble lights on, oil and other fluid levels safe. Most recent smell of "hot" wiring melting/burning smell. Hood very hot to touch and cool air temperatures for weather conditions, blows very hot air through vents. Reported to dealership was told no trouble lights not much they can do as no current recall.

- Willimaston, MI, USA

problem #39

Jul 132014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
The engine shutoff due to the ignition switch problem. We lost brakes, power steering, etc. My children were in the car with me. Luckily we had already slowed at a stop light in light traffic. We bought the 2010 Town and country used. Now I know that it was subject to the L25 recall. However, the carfax when we bought it says that it was subject to no recall and despite multiple services at Chrysler dealers, the ignition switch repair was never made (according to the carfax history). At present, the technician at our Chrysler dealer says he will not repair the ignition switch because the recall is three years old.

- Beverly Hills, MI, USA

problem #38

May 272014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 72,700 miles
Myself, my husband, & 3 young children were driving home at 45 mls an hour and the vehicle completely turned off. We lost power steering, power brakes and the engine shut off. We had to coast to a complete stop( thank god no one was behind us or around us) and put the van in park and it turned back on. So we started driving on, only to have the van shut off a second time while going uphill again at 45 mls per hour. The same things happened, power steering, power brakes and engine cutoff! again we were blessed that no one was around as there is no where to pull over! we put the van in park, it started back up and made it the one more mile home with no problem. We took the van to service center at the dealership ( we have bumper to bumper warranty) they kept the vehicle for almost 4 wks, while they had it, it shut down on them once but could not get the vans computer to "throw a code" to their computer. They wanted to give it back without doing anything to it, we asked that they at least address the recall issue of the win module (as this is described as exactly what was happening)they did this, however, the van has shut down on us two more times! they kept the van for a few days and replaced the win module again, although they still don't know for sure that it is the problem as my van will not " throw a code"! I now have a $400 a month van parked in my driveway and am in limbo until Chrysler Corp gets back to me! I refuse to trust their "best guess" with my family and others lives on the road.

- Mooresville , NC, USA

problem #37

Aug 232012

Town & Country

  • 74,123 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph, the vehicle stalled and would not restart. The contact also mentioned that the check engine light illuminated. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The contact was able to restart the vehicle the following day, but the failure recurred. The dealer could not duplicate the failure, but they replaced the oxygen sensor and battery. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 74,123.

- St.Louis, MO, USA

problem #36

Apr 282014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
Driving at about 30mph and there was a complete shut down of engine. Had to put transmission in park and restart. It has happened two other times 2nd on June 4th same thing occurred. 3rd incident occurred today June 22 2014. Must have this looked at and repaired! have had it in and have talked to Chrysler service center and am told there is nothing to be done no recall and they need to have it happen when they have vehicle. That is almost not going to happen. Has not happened that often, but when it does it is very dangerous. Especially when I have grandchildren in vehicle with me.

- Eugene, OR, USA

problem #35

May 172014

Town & Country

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while attempting to stop at 15 mph, the vehicle stalled causing the vehicle to rear end another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained chest, shoulder, back and arm injuries that required medical attention. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000.

- Casa Grand, AZ, USA

problem #34

May 172014

Town & Country

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while attempting to stop at 15 mph, the vehicle stalled causing the vehicle to rear end another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained chest, shoulder, back and arm injuries that required medical attention. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000.

- Casa Grand, AZ, USA

problem #33

Dec 152013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This minivan turns off while driving. When it first happened to me I was stopped at a stop light and began to go. It happened to my boyfriend while he was getting on the freeway. Company changed the brakes and they need to be changed again only six months later. We already took in once to get problem fixed. They couldn't find anything wrong with it and gave it back. Problem started happening again and now started overheating so we took it back.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #32

Feb 132014

Town & Country

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the service engine and the electronic throttle control warning lights illuminated intermittently. Additionally, the vehicle stalled without warning on numerous ocassions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who diagnosed that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 11V139000 (electrical system). The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Durant, IA, USA

problem #31

Mar 082013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
While driving at slower speeds, my 2010 Chrysler Town & Country will just shut down. Power steering is lost, engine is completely shut off. This has happened about 5 times over the past month. In all cases we have had to pull off the road (if we could), remove the key from the ignition, then restart the vehicle. We are fearful this will happen at a higher rate of speed and we will get in an accident. We took the vehicle to the dealership and the diagnostics test did not find anything. The technician has been driving the vehicle around for a couple of days to try and duplicate the situation with no success. We are not sure what to do from here as we are now very uncomfortable driving this vehicle. Any help would be appreciated.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #30

Jan 312014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 61,140 miles
Vehicle intermittently loses power at low speeds. Completely shuts down. Can restart engine immediately. This occurred in Jan, Feb and Mar 5 times. Vehicle taken to vero beach Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge in Florida on 2/07/14 and again on 3/7/14 after contacting Chrysler customer service. Dealership unable to determine cause or duplicate problem. We are concerned about driving back to Michigan on the highways fearing the engine could lose power.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #29

Feb 032014

Town & Country

  • 79,000 miles
The engine will just shut off with absolutely no warning. The engine has been doing this for the past 2 months typically during the first 5-10 minutes we are driving and it has always been at speeds lower than 40 mph. We have gone as many as 6 days without any incident and as many days as 4 straight days of it happening (consecutively). The dealership was unable to "duplicate" this event and has told us that the system indicates no "error messages.". despite our lives being in significant danger every time we drive this vehicle, the dealership has indicated they can't do anything to help us! although our model year did have a recall, we were told that it didn't apply to our vehicle. (same symptoms as the recall.)

- Williamsburg, VA, USA

problem #28

Mar 052014

Town & Country

  • 41,000 miles
I was turning a slow curve and I am not sure what caused it, but my engine turned off, my power steering and gas pedal failed. My brakes didn't seem to work as well and I had to come to a slowed stop and force my steering to turn onto an off road so I didn't cause an accident. When I came to a stop I turned the engine off and back on and the car started up right away and I have not had an issue since. I am not sure if I bumped the keys in the ignition or not. Unfortunately, I have had a few family emergencies and have had to reschedule the appt to get my car looked at and do not know the issue. I am concerned that it has to do with the recalls of cars with faulty key/ignition issues. I just bought this car that was supposedly certified back in November of 2013 with only approx. 37,000 miles on it. Should I give this back as a lemon and get a different vehicle?

- Saint Charles, MO, USA

problem #27

Sep 012011

Town & Country

  • miles
While beginning to drive the car display light of the dash board will show a slippery sign and the steering will lock up and engine turns off. You can not steer the car - you have to brake, place in park and start the engine back up. This happens twice or so a week. Happens also when going over a bump and in dry conditions(meaning it's not wet when light is displayed slippery). - already had the recall L25 done in August 2011. This is a huge problem for crashing the car (since you can not steer)! already caused an accident for me in wet pavement(02/2014).

- Smithton, IL, USA

problem #26

Mar 242014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
The engine is burning oil at the rate of more than 1qt per 1000 miles. Chrysler says this is acceptable within their power train warranty. This is unacceptable for a 2010 vehicle with 59000 miles.

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #25

Mar 152014

Town & Country

  • 78,000 miles
My wife and I purchased a 2010 Chrysler Town and country with a manufacture date of 11/10, about 2 weeks ago, and we immediately were having issues with the vehicles engine being shut off while driving. I did some research on the internet and found that the same model vehicle manufactured between August 3, 2009 and June 17, 2010 were recalled due to this same issue. Apparently they were built with ignitions that could accidentally switch from the "run" position to "accessory, " thereby causing the engine to shut off. But my same exact model vehicle is not covered by this recall because it does not fall within the manufacture date for the recall. I am highly upset at this because my wife is the main operator of this vehicle and my son is with her in the van. I want some answers about this issue, and a reason why my van is not in the recall when it is obvious that all vans of this model year are affected, I refuse to pay to have this fixed when it is obvious this is a manufacturers defect. Your recall I.D. is NHTSA campaign id: 11V139000. Thank you.

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #24

Dec 262013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 108,000 miles
This car shuts down of being driven about two hours. It shuts down at the end of a trip as I come into town and take my foot off of the gas. The dealership has test drove the car multiple times and they cannot find what the problem is. It is now apparent this is a much larger problem.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?