Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
72,309 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chrysler Town & Country engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 7 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #37

Aug 232012

Town & Country

  • 74,123 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph, the vehicle stalled and would not restart. The contact also mentioned that the check engine light illuminated. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The contact was able to restart the vehicle the following day, but the failure recurred. The dealer could not duplicate the failure, but they replaced the oxygen sensor and battery. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 74,123.

- St.Louis, MO, USA

problem #36

Apr 282014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
Driving at about 30mph and there was a complete shut down of engine. Had to put transmission in park and restart. It has happened two other times 2nd on June 4th same thing occurred. 3rd incident occurred today June 22 2014. Must have this looked at and repaired! have had it in and have talked to Chrysler service center and am told there is nothing to be done no recall and they need to have it happen when they have vehicle. That is almost not going to happen. Has not happened that often, but when it does it is very dangerous. Especially when I have grandchildren in vehicle with me.

- Eugene, OR, USA

problem #35

May 172014

Town & Country

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while attempting to stop at 15 mph, the vehicle stalled causing the vehicle to rear end another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained chest, shoulder, back and arm injuries that required medical attention. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000.

- Casa Grand, AZ, USA

problem #34

May 172014

Town & Country

  • 85,000 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while attempting to stop at 15 mph, the vehicle stalled causing the vehicle to rear end another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained chest, shoulder, back and arm injuries that required medical attention. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000.

- Casa Grand, AZ, USA

problem #33

Dec 152013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
This minivan turns off while driving. When it first happened to me I was stopped at a stop light and began to go. It happened to my boyfriend while he was getting on the freeway. Company changed the brakes and they need to be changed again only six months later. We already took in once to get problem fixed. They couldn't find anything wrong with it and gave it back. Problem started happening again and now started overheating so we took it back.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #32

Feb 132014

Town & Country

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the service engine and the electronic throttle control warning lights illuminated intermittently. Additionally, the vehicle stalled without warning on numerous ocassions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who diagnosed that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 11V139000 (electrical system). The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Durant, IA, USA

problem #31

Mar 082013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 48,000 miles


While driving at slower speeds, my 2010 Chrysler Town & Country will just shut down. Power steering is lost, engine is completely shut off. This has happened about 5 times over the past month. In all cases we have had to pull off the road (if we could), remove the key from the ignition, then restart the vehicle. We are fearful this will happen at a higher rate of speed and we will get in an accident. We took the vehicle to the dealership and the diagnostics test did not find anything. The technician has been driving the vehicle around for a couple of days to try and duplicate the situation with no success. We are not sure what to do from here as we are now very uncomfortable driving this vehicle. Any help would be appreciated.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #30

Jan 312014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 61,140 miles
Vehicle intermittently loses power at low speeds. Completely shuts down. Can restart engine immediately. This occurred in Jan, Feb and Mar 5 times. Vehicle taken to vero beach Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge in Florida on 2/07/14 and again on 3/7/14 after contacting Chrysler customer service. Dealership unable to determine cause or duplicate problem. We are concerned about driving back to Michigan on the highways fearing the engine could lose power.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #29

Feb 032014

Town & Country

  • 79,000 miles
The engine will just shut off with absolutely no warning. The engine has been doing this for the past 2 months typically during the first 5-10 minutes we are driving and it has always been at speeds lower than 40 mph. We have gone as many as 6 days without any incident and as many days as 4 straight days of it happening (consecutively). The dealership was unable to "duplicate" this event and has told us that the system indicates no "error messages.". despite our lives being in significant danger every time we drive this vehicle, the dealership has indicated they can't do anything to help us! although our model year did have a recall, we were told that it didn't apply to our vehicle. (same symptoms as the recall.)

- Williamsburg, VA, USA

problem #28

Mar 052014

Town & Country

  • 41,000 miles
I was turning a slow curve and I am not sure what caused it, but my engine turned off, my power steering and gas pedal failed. My brakes didn't seem to work as well and I had to come to a slowed stop and force my steering to turn onto an off road so I didn't cause an accident. When I came to a stop I turned the engine off and back on and the car started up right away and I have not had an issue since. I am not sure if I bumped the keys in the ignition or not. Unfortunately, I have had a few family emergencies and have had to reschedule the appt to get my car looked at and do not know the issue. I am concerned that it has to do with the recalls of cars with faulty key/ignition issues. I just bought this car that was supposedly certified back in November of 2013 with only approx. 37,000 miles on it. Should I give this back as a lemon and get a different vehicle?

- Saint Charles, MO, USA

problem #27

Sep 012011

Town & Country

  • miles


While beginning to drive the car display light of the dash board will show a slippery sign and the steering will lock up and engine turns off. You can not steer the car - you have to brake, place in park and start the engine back up. This happens twice or so a week. Happens also when going over a bump and in dry conditions(meaning it's not wet when light is displayed slippery). - already had the recall L25 done in August 2011. This is a huge problem for crashing the car (since you can not steer)! already caused an accident for me in wet pavement(02/2014).

- Smithton, IL, USA

problem #26

Mar 242014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
The engine is burning oil at the rate of more than 1qt per 1000 miles. Chrysler says this is acceptable within their power train warranty. This is unacceptable for a 2010 vehicle with 59000 miles.

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #25

Mar 152014

Town & Country

  • 78,000 miles
My wife and I purchased a 2010 Chrysler Town and country with a manufacture date of 11/10, about 2 weeks ago, and we immediately were having issues with the vehicles engine being shut off while driving. I did some research on the internet and found that the same model vehicle manufactured between August 3, 2009 and June 17, 2010 were recalled due to this same issue. Apparently they were built with ignitions that could accidentally switch from the "run" position to "accessory, " thereby causing the engine to shut off. But my same exact model vehicle is not covered by this recall because it does not fall within the manufacture date for the recall. I am highly upset at this because my wife is the main operator of this vehicle and my son is with her in the van. I want some answers about this issue, and a reason why my van is not in the recall when it is obvious that all vans of this model year are affected, I refuse to pay to have this fixed when it is obvious this is a manufacturers defect. Your recall I.D. is NHTSA campaign id: 11V139000. Thank you.

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #24

Dec 262013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 108,000 miles
This car shuts down of being driven about two hours. It shuts down at the end of a trip as I come into town and take my foot off of the gas. The dealership has test drove the car multiple times and they cannot find what the problem is. It is now apparent this is a much larger problem.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #23

Aug 222013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
2010 Chrysler Town and country my wife and I have been driving vehicle and multiple times over the last 6 months the vehicle stalls without warning. On one instance my wife was turning at an intersection when the car shut off unexpectedly and when this occurred the power steering stopped working and my wife nearly rolled into oncoming traffic. On another instance the vehicle stalled on me traveling down the freeway and I had to put the vehicle in neutral and start it again, when I did this it seemed like the car had to turn over for a few seconds before it would start up. We have 3 children and this is a very disturbing issue as it relates to safety. I would like to see Chrysler internal issue tracking on these items during launch of the vehicle because I have a relative a few years back who had a very similar issue with the Chrysler Jeep Grand Cherokee he owned. It seems to me that this is a bigger system issue with Chrysler as a whole. In addition to this safety I have multiple nuisance issues with my vehicle from door locks that buzz, sliding door seals that are cut up as a result of improper installation of door, window edge seals that appear to have been too long but installed anyway and air leak sound result from poor workmanship, rear power door that has stopped working.

- Holland, MI, USA

problem #22

Mar 082014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
The following lights came on: ABS, anti skid, check engine light. The engine started missing then the security indicator light came on and the alarm inside went off. I had no electrical controls. The windows wouldn't roll down, the door locks wouldn't work and then the engine shut off. The outside alarm then went off too. I had to disable the alarm by unhooking the battery cable. I had the car towed in to the dealer and they told me that the car was not communicating with the computer and they had no idea what the problem was. I then called Chrysler and checked to see if there had been a recall of any kind and sure enough my vehicle had the recall# L25. I have never received a recall notice but the gentlemen that I spoke with at Chrysler Corp. Said that according to their records the win module had been replaced on my van and that my vehicle had been repaired on 2-7-2012. That never happened!! it is currently being checked out by the Chrysler tech at our local dealer. They said they are only allowed to replace the rubber gasket inside the module and if the module itself is bad I will have to pay for the module. The gentlemen I spoke with at Chrysler corporation told me that the module would be covered at no charge. This is crazy!!! my two young grandsons were in the van when all this happened. Needless to say they were terrified. This problem needs immediate attention. The government needs to get involved here. This is definitely a safety issue!!

- Georgetown, KY, USA

problem #21

Oct 252012

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town & Country. The contact stated that the vehicle was not able to be started and was taken to an independent mechanic, who was unable to diagnose the problem. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 10,000.

- Howell, MI, USA

problem #20

Feb 232014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
Twice my vehicle shut off while driving on a city road at approximately 35 mph. There were no dash warnings other than the electronic stability control icon was lit the first episode. The radio was working, all other dash lighting appeared normal for a car in operation. I had been driving about 20 minutes, so the car was not "cold". the first time, I did not even realize the car had stalled until I noticed it was losing speed and then found the car was not responding to the gas pedal. I coasted into the right lane and turned onto a side street (that's when I realized I had no power steering, no brakes, and the car was truly stalled). I continued coasting to a stop. I then put the car in park and attempted to restart it. It restarted immediately, running smoothly, so I continued on my way home wondering what could have caused it to die like that? less than a mile later, it stalled again! this time I put the car in neutral and while cruising/coasting turned the ignition key to start to try and re-start the car. I then put the transmission back into drive to see if it had restarted, and sure enough I was on my way again. No other indicators of an issue on the dash. It has not happened since. I went out on an errand later that evening and the episode did not repeat. I am quite nervous to take it on the interstate. My gosh! what if I had been on the interstate (75 mph speed limit) turning a curve, no power steering, slowing to a coast and panicked as to what was wrong? I have an appointment with a mechanic day after tomorrow, but unless a code was thrown indicating an error, it seems to be a somewhat isolated event, or at least intermittent event. Definitely seems to be a safety issue.

- Kearney, NE, USA

problem #19

Nov 052013

Town & Country

  • 46,000 miles
The headlights dim, the radio stops, the four lights directly over the speedometer come on and off, the speedometer drops to zero when the dummy lights come on. Periodically the vehicle shuts of as it is moving. This all started happening after the NHTSA campaign #11V139000 recall on the ignition was replaced. It has been to three separate Chrysler dealers a total of seven times. It has been out of service for more than 30 days. Neither Chrysler nor the dealer wants to resolve this problem. They want to sell me a new car!

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #18

Jan 272014

Town & Country

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact was driving 15 mph when the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection. The contact was informed that the egr valve needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000.

- Sparta , WI, USA

Read the next 17 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?