Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 1
Average Mileage:
57,506 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chrysler Town & Country miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #30

Sep 012016

Town & Country

  • 240,000 miles


Dash lights on instrument panel/cluster are not working. Can not see how fast I am going unless I hold a light to the panel. Took it to the dealer for diagnosis. Instructed that the instrument panel needed replaced. Part at the dealership is $500 plus 3 hours of labor. Vehicle can be in motion and stationary and I still have no dash lights.

- Great Bend, KS, USA

problem #29

Jul 302016

Town & Country

  • 83,000 miles
Several ignition problems and engine shutoff while driving. Often key is turned and vehicle does not start no accessory nothing. And twice while driving engine quit both times on city street. The date given below will be the latest of these incidents.

- Chesaning, MI, USA

problem #28

Jul 012016

Town & Country

  • 90,000 miles
This vehicle has given problems with the electrical since I got in brand new in winter 2009. When driven for more then a couple hours, all the electrical will flash off for a few seconds, to include my power steering headlights, dash lamps, etc. I had the recall done which replaced the ignition switch which supposedly was the problem. Now that this recall has been done, my key gets stuck in my ignition, the tire pressure system randomly turns off, and to top it off the electrical still flashes on and off after driving for more then an hour or two. The dealership has stated they don't know what causes this as it never happens when they test drive it. Another problem that I've had since day one, is with the transmission. When you slow down to make a turn and press the gas to speed back up with the wheel still turned the transmission will jerk into gear. This also has been looked at multiple times and the dealership did not know what was causing it.

- Lexington Park, MD, USA

problem #27

Jun 222016

Town & Country

  • miles


Esp warning light continues to come on while the vehicle is in motion. Have taken vehicle for repair multiple times and it still comes on.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #26

May 202016

Town & Country

  • 89,000 miles
Have had three separate incidents that lead me to believe th tipm is faulty. I've had two incidents where the vehicle engine shuts off while driving. Each time I put the trans in N, turned the ignition, and continued driving. One incident, while driving on the expressway, where the tpm system light came on, then an error message stating "check tpm system" came on, followed by the psi readings for each tire changed from 38 to -- one by one... then just as quick, everything went back to normal. Yesterday had an incident where, after driving around all day, I shut the car off then almost immediately tried to start it only to have the classic "click, click, click". after a couple attempts of turning ignition back and forth, I got a jump and then the engine started without issue. After the jump I shut the car off and it started right up.

- Livonia, MI, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #25

Jun 122015

Town & Country

  • miles
Received the safety recall notice R03/NHTSA 14V-373 in May 2015. Called my local dealer, ladd hanford in lebanon, pa with the notice in June 2015. I have heard nothing from the dealer. I called in September 2015 and I was told it would take some time to get the parts in order to perform the recall service. It is now going on 1 year from the time that I've called. In the meantime, I have received 2 more notices from them about the recall and required service. Should it take a dealer over 1 year in order to obtain parts and perform service on a recall service bulletin?

- Pine Grove, PA, USA

problem #24

Jun 012016

Town & Country

  • 80,000 miles


Braking problems. Car shakes when braking at higher speeds. Growling noise when braking at times. Vehicle rotors have been replaced twice.

- Lancaster, CA, USA

problem #23

Jan 092016

Town & Country

  • 90,000 miles
Safety recall L25. I have contacted driver's village Chrysler dealer on 3 occasions (January 9, 23, and February 19) to inquire about replacing the win module and 2 fobiks and have been told on each occasion that the manufacturer has not sent enough replacement parts in order to fix my vehicle. The recall states to contact you if "the dealer fails to remedy this defect within a reasonable time." It has been 6 weeks and I am concerned about my family's safety.

- Pennellville, NY, USA

problem #22

Jun 182015

Town & Country

  • miles
The dealership arigo West palm beach is failing to comply with win (wireless ignition node) module recall - Chrysler Town & Country mini van. My first attempt was 18june2015. They are dismissive saying that they don't know how to get the parts despite of multiple phone calls and on site visits to the dealership. They told me to deal directly with Chrysler myself. I am second guessing Chrysler's ability to handle their own recalls and I am concerned with the safety of my children while on the road with this car. An urgent solution is needed.

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #21

May 152015

Town & Country

  • miles
Fca safety recall R03, went to the dealer in May 2015 to get this repaired. Was informed they needed to order the part, have gone back twice and called on several occasions and am being told that they are still waiting for parts.

- Fraser, MI, USA

problem #20

Oct 012013

Town & Country

  • 85,000 miles


The head lights no longer work, the car cuts off at random, radio windows are possessed. This has all be attributed to a faulty tipm.

- Forestville, MD, USA

problem #19

Aug 202015

Town & Country

  • 70,000 miles
When the minivan was placed in park the key fob was not able to release or turn off car because the ignition switch would not turn to the off part and car would not completely shut off. In order to preserve the battery of the minivan it was disconnected and there is a message on dash board of bad key without key even in the ignition switch.

- Victorville, CA, USA

problem #18

Apr 012014

Town & Country

  • 65,000 miles
Rear quarter vent window switch on recall. Dealer has unhooked it, but I have called numerous times and personally taken the van to them, but they keep telling me they do not have the parts. This has been going on since the very first recall.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #17

Aug 192015

Town & Country

  • 116,379 miles
While driving or stopped, the entire dash cluster flashes all the lights, the wipers randomly go on and off, the headlights go on and off, the gas gauge goes to "E", the tachometer goes to zero. This has happened several times and we have taken it in to our local chrystler dealership roughly 8 months ago only for them to say nothing is wrong. When it happened again, we took it to a local repair shop that said the same thing. This electrical fault won't show up on their "plug-in" analyzer. I have researched this for months and there are posts all over the internet from others who are having the same issue. There is even a video taken from someone while driving to prove this. I have called chrystler llc 3 times in the past 2 days. Finally today, a supervisor called me and said there is nothing wrong with my van and they won't do anything to assist. I also noticed a class action lawsuit from numerous states on this issue under tipm7. I have contacted a lawyer and plan to file a lawsuit myself since this $24K vehicle is not safe to drive. I will not allow my wife to drive it in fear her or our children may be injured. This issue have been identified since 2009 yet there is no recall? I am willing to bet they know about this unsafe issue but chose to do nothing. I would appreciate any assistance you may offer in this matter.

- Kathleen, GA, USA

problem #16

Aug 172015

Town & Country

  • 113,612 miles
We had just filled up the gas tank and we're ready to get on the highway when the radio shut off. It came back on after 2 minutes without any interference. This alarmed us as lately we have had a hard time starting the car and also the steering wheel goes rigid sometimes and the car stops. Our dealer has checked and tells us there is no problem.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #15

Nov 122014

Town & Country

  • 88,155 miles
Will be driving vehicle and motor will just shut off killing the power steering we took it to dealership and they can not find the problem motor also shakes and sputters and dealership cant figure it out they tried replacing a few things but no luck

- Mt Morris, IL, USA

problem #14

Jun 082015

Town & Country

  • 54,800 miles
2010 Chrysler Town & Country shuts off while driving. Transporting children. Bought used with 42,819 miles. Took to shop Sept and Oct from where purchased due to shutting off while driving. They could not find problem. Took to Chrysler dealer December 2014 and again March 2015 - again, can't find problem. Dangerous. Have to quickly pull off road - it shuts off, steering column freezes. Called Chrysler for help, want more money to check car again. No guarantee they can fix. Recall for ignition problem on cars of this series ran from August 3, 2009 to June 17, 2010. This vehicle was manufactured June 30, 2010. I'm just amazed the issue has not been fixed. Family is at risk in the vehicle not to mention and other cars and or pedestrians nearby when it shuts off. Something needs to be done. I'm expected to drive it to the dealership again. They should really pay for the tow as it's not a safe vehicle to drive.

- Elyria, OH, USA

problem #13

Mar 282015

Town & Country

  • 90 miles
While driving at 50 mph the van shut off..thank god no one was behind me and no one was hurt. Horrible experience.....I was never notified of any recall.... found that there are several recalls on my van when I looked on the internet......not happy I could have been killed...

- Manchester, MD, USA

problem #12

Aug 152014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
Recall L25 was announced summer of 2014. It is now March 2015 and it appears that there are still not parts available to fix the problem. Website indicates parts available but local dealers deny having parts. No one answer phone number on the recall notice but recorded messages denies that parts are available.

- Gregory, MI, USA

problem #11

Dec 292014

Town & Country 8-cyl

  • 127,000 miles
Vehicle just stalls and dealership cannot find the problem.

- Horace, ND, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?