Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
32,440 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Chrysler Town & Country electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 16 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #30

Jul 022014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 10/02/14

- Elmira, MI, USA

problem #29

Jul 212014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
While driving at night, a fault appeared in the dash stating that the blind spot detection system needed service. The blind spot indicators in each side view mirror stayed illuminated. At night these orange lights are distracting to the driver. Since they are always illuminated, it causes the driver to second-guess whether a lane change can be made or not even after checking the blind spot. Took the van in to be serviced at a Chrysler dealership. The service technician determined that the blind spot detection module is damaged due to water getting inside and shorting it out. The module would need to be replaced at a cost of over $1,200. He also stated that it is a common problem and gave me the Chrysler star case([xxx]) documentation that they have from Chrysler. This is obviously a design defect as the module is not designed to get wet but is located in a location that allows it to get wet. Replacing this would not solve the problem, it would only lead me to replace it in another few years, not to mention the module on the other side of the vehicle. The service technician disabled the system via the console controls, which solved the problem of the indicator lights constantly being on. However, this has led to another safety concern in that the driver of the vehicle has been driving the vehicle for three years with the detection system enabled and is used to seeing the indicators illuminated when a vehicle is present in the blind spot. I contacted Chrysler but they would not help out with the cost of the repair. Due to this issue being safety-related, the fact that Chrysler has acknowledged the issue with their own service case, and the fact that the repair is prohibitively expensive for most owners, that this problem should result in a recall and be repaired and the root issue solved by Chrysler so that the issue does not keep re-occurring. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Racine, WI, USA

problem #28

Jul 122014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
We took our 91 year old mother to get her medicine at wal-mart. Came out with her my husband pulled up to pick us up. Stopped car put in park and turned exg. Off went around car opened the door for my mother she go in, but the door would not close. He went around tried to start car but nothing happened. Key would not even come out of it. Car stuck in park key in it no light or anything. Paid $85 dollars to get it towed to my mothers house. My mothers house is 100 miles away from out house. Only one car to drive. Had to borrow my brothers car to get home. Had to pay another $60 dollars to get it towed to a Chrysler dealer, this was own Monday. They had to replace the ign switch & the ign. Switch modular. Battery was shorted out. Cost to do all this was $851.65 plus towing. Why should you have to pay that much for a 3 year old car. There should be a recall or something own things like this. Does Chrysler not care that we will never buy another Chrysler ever. This car is a 2011 Chrysler Town & Country. We even called the Chrysler Corp. And they said there was no recall on it. They said there was a recall pending own this. If not for my brother what would we have done?

- Thurmond, NC, USA

problem #27

May 252012

Town & Country

  • 33,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the etc and mil sensors illuminated intermittently. After driving various speeds over a bump or uneven land, it would become extremely difficult to restart the vehicle. The contact had to make numerous attempts to start the vehicle with the key in the ignition and with the key fob. The dealer was unable to diagnose the cause of the failure. The manufacturer stated that the VIN was excluded from NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system). The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 33,000.

- Clovis, CA, USA

problem #26

Apr 122014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
Failure or blind spot detection system. After going through a car wash with an undercar cleaning, the blind spot detection system started to act erratically. Took it in to be serviced. Service advisor stated that the technician determined that both of the sensors were failed due to having done a "pin test" that showed they were shorted out. Facing a repair cost estimate of over $2300 dollars to have them replaced, I had the blind spot system disabled via the console controls. Since this was a safety system that was promoted when I purchased the vehicle, I feel that due to the number of failures currently occurring as evidenced by other entries in this database, this system should be recalled and repaired by the manufacturer.

- Manlius, NY, USA

problem #25

Apr 012014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
My blind spot mirrors would stay lit as if someone was approaching my vehicle from both sides. I took the vehicle in for repairs. They quoted over $1000 to replace the sensor that is going out on most Town and countrys. Chrysler advertises that this vehicle is imported from detroit.I don't understand why Chrysler does not stand behind their product. I will consider an imported vehicle on my next purchase. Have you seen detroit lately? that could be why, it does not look as though it will be coming back soon along with Chrysler.

- Saint Joseph, MI, USA

problem #24

Jan 152014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 39,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At first I received occasional warnings that the blind spot detection was not working. Normally this would clear after restarting. The problem became more pronounced and eventually remained on. Took it to the dealer's service department and they said both units had failed and the cost for repair would be over $2000. I have decided to wait to fix it but I am disappointed. This added safety feature was one of the reasons why I purchased the van. Is Chrysler doing a recall on this part since it does seem to fail regularly?

- Elk Mound, WI, USA

problem #23

Jan 062014

Town & Country

  • 50,000 miles
The "blind spot monitoring and cross path detection" safety feature stopped working. We are getting a warning to service this safety item. Blind spot monitor does not work, which puts us and others at risk of a crash. I see numerous other complaints on this safety item. We are getting estimates on it today, but based on other complaints, it is too expensive to repair. I expect Chrysler to address this safety concern and replace these defective units at their cost and my inconvenience.

- Sylvania, OH, USA

problem #22

May 202014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 47,300 miles
The "service blind spot indicator" notification came on in 09/2013 at approx 35,900 miles. I brought it to the dealership and they determined that the sensor was defective and replaced it under warranty. On 5/20/2014 the same message appeared again. I called the dealership as I am now at approx 47K miles and out of warranty. They stated that since the part was replaced under warranty, the part did not get the normal 12K miles/12 month warranty. That is ridiculous as this is not a wear and tear part and it should surely last more than 9 months. This is one of the selling safety features of the vehicle. After doing a couple of searches on the internet, I have found that this is a common issue. I have contacted Chrysler in regard to the replacement parts not being covered. I say that if it is a known issue, it needs to be recalled.

- Aurora, OH, USA

problem #21

Dec 132013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
Blind spot detector stopped working at approximately 42,000 miles. Alarm came on saying "service blind spot system" and lights on both side view mirrors stays on all the time. The car just got out of warranty at 40,000 miles and they want to charge around $1,400 for rear module and around $800 for front module to fix the problem !! I think that's a scam !!! I purposely paid extra just for this safety feature and it doesn't work for no fault of ours !!! this is a safety problem because the car is large and the baby's car seat blocks the view out of the rear window !! while asking around I understand it's happened to quite a few people who own a Town and country after they get out of their warranty "?" I see a pattern going on here !!! please look into this issue. Thank you for your time & god bless !!!

- Broadview Hts, OH, USA

problem #20

Jun 032014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 45,447 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The message on my dashboard screen says "service blind spot monitoring system" and "blind spot monitoring system unavailable". the message system for the failure continues to ding intermittently while I am driving, which is very annoying. I took the van to my dealer. The estimate to replace the rear facia harness and the body side of the connector C200 to see if power, ground and can-C are present at the blind spot senors is a minimum of $450 (parts and labor). This may not fix the problem. Complete replacement of the system could run well over $1000 and possibly up to $3,000. My van sits in a heated garage 7 months a year while we go South. It is always maintained, and it is washed weekly for the 5 months we use it. This is a defective part! the backorder is over 2 months so I know this is a problem for many people. So I will have to drive it without benefit of the warning system, which I rely on to know there is a vehicle in my blind spot. I experienced a backorder on my 2007 van for a rear air conditioner, which I was without for an entire hot summer! eventually Chrysler issued a recall and paid for the part/labor, but that took a couple of years. This is very annoying and Chrysler should get on top of the problem and get the needed parts into production! ridiculous way to treat customers. I also purchased an extended warranty from cna when I bought the 2011 van. Cna initially told me they would cover the blind spot monitoring system. When the dealer reported that is was "corrosion", cna refused to honor the warranty. Another $1200 spent on a worthless warranty!!

- Rochester, MN, USA

problem #19

May 022014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 42,500 miles
Blind spot monitor sensor and backup detector failure. Important safety equipment. Updated 06/10/14

- Burnsville, MN, USA

problem #18

Mar 192014

Town & Country 4WD 6-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the blind spot detector system displayed a non-functional warning message on the message center and the system stopped working. The failure also caused the rear camera park assist to stop working. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the technician stated that the sensor or wiring harness might need to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage 48,000. The current mileage was 50,100. Updated 08/11/14 the consumer stated the vehicle has been repaired under goodwill warranty claim approved by Chrysler. Updated 08/12/2014

- Washington, MI, USA

problem #17

May 212014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 49,169 miles
We purchased this van in 2013 from a dealer. Several months after the purchase the blind side detector intermittently stopped working and the dash alarm indicated that it needed service. Since we did not consider this a safety issue and the great expense to repair the detector, we waited to have it serviced until the time of inspection. After a few more months the system stopped working completely and the backup camera system also stopped working. On May 21, 2014 we took the van to a reputable mechanic and after many labor intensive hours, he removed the defective module from the vehicle's rear wheel well. Almost simultaneously, the connecting plug and wiring began smoking and had to be removed and replaced to prevent fire. The mechanic showed us the corroded module. The position of the module in the wheel well had naturally made it susceptible to excessive exposure to water, snow and salt from tire back splash causing the corrosion. Several times we had smelled something burning, but the odor never lasted long enough to get the car to a mechanic to find the source. We replaced the tires and the brakes, but the smell still occasionally continued. Now we know the source. We spent $1500 to replace the necessary parts in our car and we would like to be reimbursed. This defect could have caused a fire resulting in damage to the van and possible personal injury to any passengers. Since there is a second module on the left side of the vehicle, we are concerned that the same problem will occur to that module and/or both within the near future.

- West Seneca, NY, USA

problem #16

May 052014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
Blind spot detectors came on and would not shut off. Took to dealer, not under warranty. Would cost low end of $1200 to repair. I told them not to fix, still charged me $90 to shut the detectors off. Dealership stated that they have seen around 25 vehicles with this same problem. This is a safety issue. Use to having this feature.

- Ashland, WI, USA

problem #15

Apr 142014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 56,660 miles
Warning message appeared on dash for blind spot monitor sensor failure with annoying chime repeatedly sounding. Dealer said that both sensors are faulty and would be $2,615 to replace. Since that's a ridiculous amount to pay for a feature that cost less new for the option, just had the warning disabled. Unfortunately, now the backup detector also doesn't work as a result. I can't believe this part can't be made more reliable for a fraction of the quoted price, and it's especially unacceptable for safety equipment.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #14

Jul 312013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
Blind spot monitoring system has failed three times. On all three occasions the failure is the result of water infiltration into the sensor which begins to cause occasional false positives which increase in frequency, ultimately resulting in the complete failure of the sensor. By inspecting the sensors, it appears that moisture inside the sensor freezes and expands causing the sensor's two parts to separate slightly. Road sand and salt enter the sensor through this gap and corrode it.

- Pembina, ND, USA

problem #13

Feb 042014

Town & Country

  • 43,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country van. The contact stated that the blind spot detector would remain activated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician diagnosed that both blind spot sensors needed to be replaced. No repairs were performed on the vehicle. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 43,000 and the current mileage was 45,000.

- Amery, WI, USA

problem #12

Mar 202014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 41,264 miles
The blind spot detection system suddenly stopped working on our van. We took it into our dealer to diagnose the problem and to get an estimate. We were told that the part alone for the faulty one on the passenger side would be $1000, and it would take two months to get the part. This is a newer van with relatively low mileage, so we are very disappointed that this system has already failed. Since it is being promoted as a safety feature and other owners are experiencing similar problems, we feel that perhaps a recall is in order.

- West Union, IA, USA

problem #11

Mar 032014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 53,807 miles
Premature failure of important safety equipment - rear blind spot sensors. Diagnosed with internal failure and cost of repairs was verbally estimated by dealer at close to $3,000. Safety equipment like this, one of the reasons this vehicle was purchased by an elderly couple, should not fail this early and at this expense.

- Appleton, WI, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?