Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
32,440 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Chrysler Town & Country electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 5 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #250

Sep 052015

Town & Country

  • 128,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2011 Chrysler town and county van has a bad fuel pump relay - causing the fuel pump to not shut off. This drains the battery and is also a fire hazard to me and my 4 children that I drive in this van every day. It is the same exact engine and problem that was included in a recall for Dodge durangos and Jeep Cherokee, yet Chrysler refuses to fix the vehicle under recall. I called Chrysler and they told me "they do not feel bad not do they care if I catch on fire and sue them", and that they "will not increase the recall to include other vehicles regardless of complaints" the dealership is now telling me that the fuel pump module is part of the total integrated power module and will be $1100 to replace, and that the parts are on back order and they have no clue when they will be in. I feel like Chrysler is putting myself and other safety in jeopardy and something should be done about this. They are trying to kill us, and are not even giving us a chance to fix it. Please help.

- Rio Rancho, NM, USA

problem #249

Sep 142015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Albany , OH, USA

problem #248

Jul 022014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler town and county. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V2340000(electrical system) was received in June of 2014. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Jackson, NJ, USA

problem #247

Aug 242015

Town & Country

  • 49,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car would not start. Once the car started it would die while driving with no warning. Dealer had to replace the tipm to fix problem.

- Westerville, OH, USA

problem #246

Dec 192014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Ponte Vedra Beach, FL, USA

problem #245

Jun 052015

Town & Country

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while driving approximately 65 mph, the blind spot monitoring detection warning light illuminated and a chime sounded. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the sensors and the computer board needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Marcus, IA, USA

problem #244

May 012015

Town & Country

  • 62,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

-Jan 2015- the key was lodged in the ignition and would not come out. I had it towed to nearest chry dealer to fix. - Jan to may- car intermittently stalls/won't start. Sometimes starts with a jump. -may- mechanic/battery installed $268. -June/July- car intermittently stalls/won't start. Starts if you wait a while. -August-won't start/wont jump/stranded with kids/towed to mechanic. -changed my batteries in my key fobs at least 3 times in 2015. -I am constantly stranded with my children and spend days without my car waiting for mechanics to find out the problem. The Chrysler dealer informs me that it's a minimum of $200 just to look at it. It will most likely be more if it's electrical and they need a day or two. I have to get my kids to and from school and can't pay for another car. Mechanic said to look at bulletins/info on tipm and win. Other chry year/makes have had exact same issues and were recalled. There is a class action suit for this year/make and many more. How am I still driving? I was given a tip by a mechanic: Open the hood and then the fuse box. Remove the M27 fuse. Wait 10 seconds. Replace fuse. Start car. It's been working so far! apparently, this clears a software lockup in the module.

- Whitman, MA, USA

problem #243

Jun 082015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure; however, the vent window did not open due to an interim repair where the technician disconnected the switch.

- Clear Water, FL, USA

problem #242

May 202015

Town & Country

  • miles
I have been waiting since May 2015 for the replacement part for my rear quarter vent window. I am still on a waiting list and have many, many more people ahead of me. Why would it take so long to get the necessary part to the dealership? this recall is from June 2014! I drive with small children in my van every day. They are strapped into car seats and I can't imagine the horror if a fire broke out. Please provide a resolution.

- Holmen, WI, USA

problem #241

Sep 012015

Town & Country

  • 78,000 miles
The car had power, but would not start. Continued to try, but would not start. Popped hood, slapped tipm, car started.

- Geneseo, NY, USA

problem #240

Apr 012015

Town & Country

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We have received a safety recall notice for our vehicle regarding the rear quarter window switch. Multiple calls to the local Chrysler dealerships have all gotten the same response...the part is on back order and they have no idea when it will be in. And they will not take down our name and call us when it comes in. They suggested just calling back every few months. This is quite frustrating. In the recall notice it said to contact if the dealer could not replace part in a reasonable amount of time. I feel that this time frame is no longer reasonable.

- Happy Valley, OR, USA

problem #239

Aug 192014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) and stated that the parts needed for the repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #238

Dec 172014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000(electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Forest, IN, USA

problem #237

Jul 022014

Town & Country

  • miles
I received a safety recall in June 2014 advising of rear quarter vent window switch on my vehicle may overheat. On July 3, 2014 I took my car in for service at croton auto park service dept, croton, NY and showed them my recall notice. I was told that they wire had been disconnected and that when the part came in I would be contacted. It has been a year and 1 month and am still waiting to be called by the service department to make repairs to the defected electrical wires. Upon my last visit around June 2015 to the service department I was advised that they still had not received the parts, my name was on a list and that Chrysler was backed up making the corrected part. This car has been nothing but a headache since I drove it off the lot with several manufacturer defects. The first less than 750 miles on the car. And the service dept at croton auto park is atrocious, with repairs taking excessive time to make repairs.

- Ossining, NY, USA

problem #236

Aug 212015

Town & Country

  • 67,000 miles
We purchased this vehicle 6 months ago. We had no issues until recently the vehicle would not start. We made several attempts to start the vehicle and finally it would turn on. The following morning we tried to turn it on and it wouldn't. this time the vehicle would not turn on. I took it to a mechanic who tested the fuel pump and discovered there may be an issue with the tipm box. After looking this information up I found that others are having the similar issue and so I decided to report this issue.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #235

Dec 192014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) and stated that the parts needed for the recall repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. MA 10/14 when the consumer arrived at the dealer, to have the part replaced, she was informed the part was not available. Updated 01/25/16

- Nashville , TN, USA

problem #234

Jul 102014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) and stated that the part was not available to schedule the recall repair appointment within a reasonable time frame. The dealer disconnected the rear quarter vent window switch several months ago. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contacts vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure. MA 10/19/15

- Raeford, NC, USA

problem #233

Aug 152015

Town & Country

  • 53,896 miles
Car cranks but will not start. My tipm is faulty in my 2011- Chrysler Town & Country @53896 miles causing our vehicle not to run. We were lucky that this issue did not occur while driving on the highway with my children. Chrysler charged $395 in labor and $22 for the part plus tax. As you are probably already aware, this fix was not permanent; yet the dealership says "all ┐┐work is completed". no you did not fix tipm; just "installed external fuel pump relay". we would like our vehicle restored to its original condition.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #232

Aug 242015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experience a failure. The failure mileage was 85,000. MA 10/16/15

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #231

Aug 212015

Town & Country

  • 64,500 miles
Car will turn over but not start. Had it towed to a dealer while away from home on a family road trip. After several hours of waiting the dealer said the problem was a fault with the tipm and that it would need to be replaced at a cost of over $1100 dollars. I have no other alternative, but what an expensive repair.

- Merritt Island, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?