Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
32,440 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Chrysler Town & Country electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 9 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #170

May 072014

Town & Country

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- White Bear Lake, MN, USA

problem #169

Apr 092015

Town & Country

  • 44,632 miles
The blind spot indicator is not working. Many times within the last year and even the years before that, the indicators would chime when there was nothing around to set them off. Now the triangles on the rear view mirrors are on constantly. This van is not even paid off yet and it is already falling apart. I think this module should be recalled. I have noticed many posts that people are having the very same problem. When you buy a new car you do not want to pay thousands of dollars to fix a problem because of a faulty product.

- Metamora, IL, USA

problem #168

Oct 312013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
I was notified that the rear quarter vent window switch may overheat and may cause a burning odor, smoke, or a drivers door fire without warning.

- Port St. Lucie, FL, USA

problem #167

Apr 162015

Town & Country

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Auburn, AL, USA

problem #166

Apr 142015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of the time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 5/29/15 updated 9/17/2015

- Whitehall, PA, USA

problem #165

Feb 162015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 5/18/15 the consumer stated the dealer disconnected the switch on the vehicle. Updated 11/16/2015

- Apache Jct, AZ, USA

problem #164

Apr 132015

Town & Country

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was not available. The dealer was contacted and stated that the manufacturer was only sending a few parts per week. The contact believed that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay and advised to have the part disconnected until the remedy parts became available. The VIN was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Knoxville, IL, USA

problem #163

Apr 132015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country.the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Leeland, NC, USA

problem #162

Feb 082015

Town & Country

  • 29,000 miles
Safety equipment failure. The blind spot monitoring system quit working. We paid extra for these safety features and this was a major factor in purchasing this mini van. Anything that I have read about this issue indicates that dealerships have stated on multiple times that this is a huge problem with all Chrysler vehicles. The dealers would charge approximately $2,200 to correct the problem with the same defective / poorly designed parts. This is not a solution; pay twice for safety equipment that will just go bad in the future. This appears to be an engineering design issue. Since the vehicle was sold with this safety feature, I feel strongly thatthis is a safety issue. The widespread reported failure of the blind spot monitoring systems should be investigated. Chrysler is aware of the problem but has not issued a recall on this. I hope the NHTSA can spur them to stand behind their safety systems that they actively marketed to the public. I leased the 2011 vehicle in June,2011 and then I purchased it. About 6 months after that the bsm system started acting up with the left mirror triangle turning on erratically with no other car or anything around the vehicle. Then the passenger side mirror triangle turned on and the system indicated a malfunction on the evic. Vehicle was marginally dirty when this happened. It was also cold out (0 degrees F to 30F) it is now close to 70F and the system still does not function. The vehicle had 28,000. Miles on it and was less than 3.5 years old.

- Farmington Hills, MI, USA

problem #161

Feb 232015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
I have been notified of need to replace rear quarter vent window switch. Have called dealer repeatedly every two weeks, same story - no parts available, for the past two months since receiving the notice that parts were available to correct this issue. Dealer has no idea of when they will receive parts. Tried today to reach Chrysler at their 1-800-853-1403 number. They keep telling me repeatedly how important my call is to them. I have spent over 90 minutes on hold awaiting a representative to discuss when I would have a part assigned to me at my dealership dave dennis Chrysler in dayton, oh. Phone contact never made. If this is a critical recall issue because of a potential fire issue then someone needs to step up to the plate and prioritize getting this part to my dealer. I am a retired automotive engineering manager who worked for Chrysler's competitor and believe me I know non-responsiveness when I see it.

- Kettering, OH, USA

problem #160

Jan 072015

Town & Country

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) however, the part to needed do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Port Richey , FL, USA

problem #159

Apr 062015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 5/19/15 the consumer stated the ignition switch was replaced. Updated 06/02/15

- Petersburg, MI, USA

problem #158

Apr 052015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
We have received a recall notice via mail (P25/NHTSA 14V-234), and the dealership has disabled the defective part but they have not yet replaced the defective parts now for more than 90 days... this is in my opinion excessive. They have pressured us to buy an extended warranty in lieu of fixing the defective part at a cost of ~$3,000. We are at this time refusing to pay the extended ~$3,000 for something that they are responsible for. The dealership in question is arrigo of sunrise Florida.

- Sunrise, FL, USA

problem #157

Mar 262015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
When driving our Chrysler Town and country, 2011, the van stalled and died at an intersection. After a few cranks, the engine started again. Then after traveling about 200 feet the van died again and the power steering went out. I was able to labor it into a parking lot where it was towed and the dealer could not pin point an issue. Every morning it is extremely difficult to start. It has sat at our home for two days without any luck of starting it. We are waiting until Wednesday when the dealer can see the car again. Each time it is costing us $90 for them to look at it.

- College Station, TX, USA

problem #156

Apr 012015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 84,213 miles
Last month my van started acting up. Not starting all the time and having strange electrical glitches. I assumed it was the battery. I replaced the battery and now it's not starting again. I looked online and found numerous people are having the same exact issue. I am now told this is going to cost me over a thousand dollars to fix. All I want is a reliable vehicle that will get me from point a to point B.

- Zephyrhills , FL, USA

problem #155

Dec 152014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 5/19/15 updated 11/20/2015

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #154

Jun 192014

Town & Country

  • 34,092 miles
In June of 2014 we took our van to shivley motors chambersburg pa for inspection.was told of recall and the switch was disconnected. It is now almost April of 2015 and the switch has not been replaced. Contacted dealer and they said part not available. Called NHTSA and was told the parts were being shipped about 2 months ago. Still no repair. Have attempted to contact Chrysler only to be put on hold for as high as 35 plus minutes and still no help.

- Chambersburg, PA, USA

problem #153

Dec 112014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 5/26/15 the consumer no longer owns the vehicle. Updated 9/17/2015

- Pierz, MN, USA

problem #152

Jun 022014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to a dealer to be serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000(electrical system) but the part was not available. However, the dealer disconnected the wires and uncertain when the parts would become available to service the vehicle under the recall. The manufacturer was notified of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure....updated 05/11/15 updated 05/14/15

- Dunkirk, MD, USA

problem #151

Jan 022015

Town & Country

  • 29,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while attempting to turn the engine off, the key would not turn into the off position until the key was removed. The contact inserted a screw into the key cylinder to turn into the off position. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who replaced the ignition module. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 29,000.

- Rockford, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?