10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
33,285 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Chrysler Town & Country electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 9 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #176

Dec 012014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This falls under DP14004 car fails to start have to try 2-3 times and then will start and turn signal will not work some times.

- Orange Park, FL, USA

problem #175

Jan 012015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the repair for NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) exceeded a reasonable time. The dealer placed the contact on a waiting list for over ten months and stated that they only received ten or twelve parts per month. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- The Villages , FL, USA

problem #174

Jan 282015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system). The vehicle was taken to a dealer who disconnected the switch as a temporary remedy due to the part not being available to repair the vehicle. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 6/11/15 the consumer stated the switch was replaced. Updated 06/16/15

- South Bend, IN, USA

problem #173

Jul 192014

Town & Country

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) and stated that the dealer disconnected the rear quarter vent window switch, but the part was not available for several months. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cherry Hill , NJ, USA

problem #172

Mar 232015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
I was issued a recall for the rear quarter vent switch, but Chrysler has not provided the necessary part to my local dealer.

- Columbia City, IN, USA

problem #171

Jan 012015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 72,618 miles
I purchased 2011 Chrysler Town & Country. This vehicle has 1 recall that has been around a year ago and I have been on a list but still isn't fixed. Dealer said they will call me. Now van has another issue and dealer said 88 of these vehicles have same issue that isn't covered by warranty nor is it a recall. Nor does Chrysler have the part available. Plus cost of part and repair is 1,000.00.. it is called the tipm switch in starter and is computer that controls the vehicle running. I believe that with 88 of same vehicles this should be a recall not a customer problem. I called Chrysler and they said if I order the part then they would place me 55th to get part. This vehicle has caught fire and fixed under warranty after I bought it. The defrost light came out and burned plastic.

- Lexington, NC, USA

problem #170

May 072014

Town & Country

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- White Bear Lake, MN, USA

problem #169

Apr 092015

Town & Country

  • 44,632 miles
The blind spot indicator is not working. Many times within the last year and even the years before that, the indicators would chime when there was nothing around to set them off. Now the triangles on the rear view mirrors are on constantly. This van is not even paid off yet and it is already falling apart. I think this module should be recalled. I have noticed many posts that people are having the very same problem. When you buy a new car you do not want to pay thousands of dollars to fix a problem because of a faulty product.

- Metamora, IL, USA

problem #168

Oct 312013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
I was notified that the rear quarter vent window switch may overheat and may cause a burning odor, smoke, or a drivers door fire without warning.

- Port St. Lucie, FL, USA

problem #167

Apr 162015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Auburn, AL, USA

problem #166

Apr 142015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of the time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 5/29/15 updated 9/17/2015

- Whitehall, PA, USA

problem #165

Feb 162015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 5/18/15 the consumer stated the dealer disconnected the switch on the vehicle. Updated 11/16/2015

- Apache Jct, AZ, USA

problem #164

Apr 132015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was not available. The dealer was contacted and stated that the manufacturer was only sending a few parts per week. The contact believed that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay and advised to have the part disconnected until the remedy parts became available. The VIN was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Knoxville, IL, USA

problem #163

Apr 132015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country.the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Leeland, NC, USA

problem #162

Feb 082015

Town & Country

  • 29,000 miles
Safety equipment failure. The blind spot monitoring system quit working. We paid extra for these safety features and this was a major factor in purchasing this mini van. Anything that I have read about this issue indicates that dealerships have stated on multiple times that this is a huge problem with all Chrysler vehicles. The dealers would charge approximately $2,200 to correct the problem with the same defective / poorly designed parts. This is not a solution; pay twice for safety equipment that will just go bad in the future. This appears to be an engineering design issue. Since the vehicle was sold with this safety feature, I feel strongly thatthis is a safety issue. The widespread reported failure of the blind spot monitoring systems should be investigated. Chrysler is aware of the problem but has not issued a recall on this. I hope the NHTSA can spur them to stand behind their safety systems that they actively marketed to the public. I leased the 2011 vehicle in June,2011 and then I purchased it. About 6 months after that the bsm system started acting up with the left mirror triangle turning on erratically with no other car or anything around the vehicle. Then the passenger side mirror triangle turned on and the system indicated a malfunction on the evic. Vehicle was marginally dirty when this happened. It was also cold out (0 degrees F to 30F) it is now close to 70F and the system still does not function. The vehicle had 28,000. Miles on it and was less than 3.5 years old.

- Farmington Hills, MI, USA

problem #161

Feb 232015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
I have been notified of need to replace rear quarter vent window switch. Have called dealer repeatedly every two weeks, same story - no parts available, for the past two months since receiving the notice that parts were available to correct this issue. Dealer has no idea of when they will receive parts. Tried today to reach Chrysler at their 1-800-853-1403 number. They keep telling me repeatedly how important my call is to them. I have spent over 90 minutes on hold awaiting a representative to discuss when I would have a part assigned to me at my dealership dave dennis Chrysler in dayton, oh. Phone contact never made. If this is a critical recall issue because of a potential fire issue then someone needs to step up to the plate and prioritize getting this part to my dealer. I am a retired automotive engineering manager who worked for Chrysler's competitor and believe me I know non-responsiveness when I see it.

- Kettering, OH, USA

problem #160

Jan 072015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) however, the part to needed do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Port Richey , FL, USA

problem #159

Apr 062015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 5/19/15 the consumer stated the ignition switch was replaced. Updated 06/02/15

- Petersburg, MI, USA

problem #158

Apr 052015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
We have received a recall notice via mail (P25/NHTSA 14V-234), and the dealership has disabled the defective part but they have not yet replaced the defective parts now for more than 90 days... this is in my opinion excessive. They have pressured us to buy an extended warranty in lieu of fixing the defective part at a cost of ~$3,000. We are at this time refusing to pay the extended ~$3,000 for something that they are responsible for. The dealership in question is arrigo of sunrise Florida.

- Sunrise, FL, USA

problem #157

Mar 262015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
When driving our Chrysler Town and country, 2011, the van stalled and died at an intersection. After a few cranks, the engine started again. Then after traveling about 200 feet the van died again and the power steering went out. I was able to labor it into a parking lot where it was towed and the dealer could not pin point an issue. Every morning it is extremely difficult to start. It has sat at our home for two days without any luck of starting it. We are waiting until Wednesday when the dealer can see the car again. Each time it is costing us $90 for them to look at it.

- College Station, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?