Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
15,645 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Chrysler Town & Country electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 12 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #15

May 162014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 13,000 miles


This is a minivan. The rear hatch/liftback intermittently fails to operate at times. The hatch can either be manually opened and closed, or electrically opened and closed via the remote control or via the button at the rear inside or a button above the dashboard. If the hatch is open and fails to close electronically, then the door will not latch by any means, even if the door is close manually. I have had to hook the bottom of the door with a rope and tie it shut, but the door is not mechanically latched. I have had the minivan to the dealer on 3 separate occasions to get this problem fixed under warranty and the problem is still not fixed. The 1st time the vehicle went in for repairs the center witnessed the problem and replaced the latch. Numerous codes were recorded in the black box. Not sure if Chrysler used these codes to consider further parts replacement, but they won't replace anything at this time. Chrysler is not willing to replace any further components without the problem occurring at the service center. The problem was witness by wife, 3 children and myself. The kids have had to crawl over the rear seat to get access to things in the rear of the van due to the hatch not working. The big concern is the hatch not latching in the closed position when traveling.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #14

Sep 102014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification for NHTSA campaign: 14V234000 (electrical system) and stated that the part was not available. The dealer was uncertain of when the part would become available to service the vehicle under the recall. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Williamsville, NY, USA

problem #13

Jun 142014

Town & Country

  • 37,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler Town and country. While operating the vehicle with the windshield wiper switch in the off position, the wipers would erroneously activate and the instrument panel lighting flashed off and on. The dealer stated that the ground cable was faulty. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 37,000.

- Winona, MO, USA

problem #12

Apr 122013

Town & Country

  • 300 miles


On April 12 2013 was the first problem that started with the vehicle. While driving the windshield wipers turned on while driving. I was unable to turn them off until I disconnected the battery. I have had several experience with the vehicle turning off while driving going highway speeds. It sometimes won't even start up, just flashes blind spot unavailable. Also the alarm goes off at random times. The sliding passenger doors open and close when vehicle is off and sitting in drive way. Both doors will open half way then suddenly start to close with nothing blocking the door. Power stow and go malfunctions all the time!!!!. the vehicle is putting off a very heavy gasoline smell now when it starts. I feel like this car is possessed. Chrysler will not help me with this situation. They are putting my family in danger everyday!

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #11

May 052014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the wires connected to the power outlet burned causing smoke to seep from the air vents without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician diagnosed that the led light strips added to the vehicle caused the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 30,000. Updated 10/10/14 the consumer stated the after market led strip in the front headlights caused the electrical wires to burn inside the vehicle. Updated 03/31/15

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #10

Mar 272014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 37,000 miles
Car wireless ignition would not recognize the key, so car would not start, stranding my wife out of state. Part was replaced at a cost of $650, two dealers told me this was a huge problem and it is hard to get the part. The replacement module is now doing the same thing and not working. Another issue is that the door will not unlock.

- Lawrence, KS, USA

problem #9

May 012014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,400 miles


The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the turn signal indicators on the side mirrors failed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the technician diagnosed that the blind spot module was broken. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware failure. The failure mileage was 50,400. The current mileage was 52,000. Updated 08/11/14 updated 08/12/2014

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #8

Apr 212014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 29,900 miles
I was driving down the highway and my drivers side blind spot detector came on. So I waited for the car to pass. No one was there. Then a car passed and the detector went off. The detector came on again and no one was there. The continued to go in and off even with the wire barrier. Driving in town passing a tree with my blinker on it would light up and ding at me. I became frustrated and less than a week later both lights came on and told me to service blind spot detection and that it was unavailable. Took it to the dealer was told it was a possible update (I'm sick of updates). Come to find out the drivers side blind spot detector took a crap. I'm still under warranty so it will be fixed. I've had nothing but problem with my Town and country since I got it almost 2 years ago. Damaged key warning, key left vehicle when it's sitting right next to me, sliding doors open and just clicks, blind spot detection already took a crap, remote start stopped working has since been fixed with "update", push button would show it was started but it wasn't went to start it and the engine got stuck just turning over, going to accelerate and the engine accelerates and gets stuck in a higher gear and takes a while to shift down unless you push the brake and slow down, go to resume cruise control only 2-3mph away from my set speed and it accelerates to 3-5 mph above my set speed. If I had it in the shop every time something was wrong I would never have it. I have 2 children and work full time. I don't have the time to be without a reliable vehicle. I haven't taken it in every time so I made a list the last time and but everything wasn't fixed. Keep getting told of "updates" really? wow. For the price I paid I would think she should run perfect for at least a few years with regular maintenance. I'm not impressed with Chrysler this far.

- Albion, MI, USA

problem #7

May 012014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 48,500 miles
I own a 2012 Chrysler Town & Country. While driving down the road my blind spot indicator lights up both on the mirrors and the dash. It continues to ding, chime and light up while you are driving. The vehicle was taken to the dealership where I was informed that I had to replace the blind spot indicator and that I had to pay to have this replaced. I have 48,500 on my vehicle this vehicle has been well maintained. This is definitely a problem as there was another Chrysler Town & Country at the dealership at the same time mine was for the same issue.

- Coloma, MI, USA

problem #6

Feb 272014

Town & Country

  • 14,000 miles
Automatic headlights turn off when driving. It has happened twice now. If driver doesn't react quickly and turn lights from automatic on to manual on there could be an accident.

- Effingham, IL, USA

problem #5

Jan 152014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 47,500 miles


Blind spot indicator failed. Constant service reminder. Took in for service. Repair cost is $2,200, failed due to road dirt, salt, corrosion, etc. Warning cannot be turned off since it is a safety feature. Cannot see parts of dash display while the warning is on. Distracting to driver. Seems like bad engineering to me. It's not much of a safety feature is it constantly bothers the driver while driving. If the expense is so great it should work better and if it is distracting there should be a way to turn it off so the distraction goes away.

- Gaylord, MI, USA

problem #4

Jan 182014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
As I was coming home from work at night on January 18th 2014 my lights on my 2012 Chrysler Town and country went out for a couple of seconds and than came back on. I was going 70mph on the highway and very thankful that I did not crash because of this. I took my van in and found it out it is the totally integrated power module. The part I need is on back order and no one has an eta. I have been without my vehicle since January 29, 2014. I have been in contact with Chrysler and they say that there is nothing they can do and basically they are not responsible for the defect part. I have been in contact with multiple dealerships and this has not been an isolated incident. Dealerships have seen multiple incidents on the tipm. The part is on national back order, so that also raises a red flag. I have done some research on this and have found out this has been going on for many years. I'm not understanding why Chrysler is not being held responsible for this defective part. How many people have to get hurt before something is done. There is a class action lawsuit against Chrysler for the tipm. What more needs to be proved that there is a significant defect with this part and have Chrysler held responsible" the dealership where my van is stated to me that the tipm has made my vehicle unsafe to drive. Why does this not scream safety recall?"

- Auburn , MI, USA

problem #3

Jun 072013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler Town & Country. The contact stated that while driving 25 mph, smoke emitted from the driver's side front control panel. The vehicle was moved to the shoulder where a thermal event occurred in the door panel. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 22,000....updated 08/22/13

- Harrison, NJ, USA

problem #2

May 152013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 25,253 miles
Our vehicle is equipped with power opening and closing side doors. My five-year-old son was outside the car, leaning against the car with the passenger side door open and his hand against the B pillar. My wife, not knowing where his hand was, started the door closing using the power feature. The door closed and latched completely, crushing two fingers of my son's hand in the process. Thankfully, there were no broken bones and only minor injury, but the door did not hesitate to close whatsoever despite the obstruction. Upon returning home from the emergency room, I tested the anti-pinch sensor on the door as it closed using a block of wood. The force exerted on the block was significant enough that I had trouble holding on to the block and was surprised at the amount of pressure exerted. The door did eventually reverse, but only after crushing the block of wood to a depth of approximately 1/8 inch. The obstruction sensors are completely insufficient to avoid injury.

- Frederick, CO, USA

problem #1

Feb 072013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
My husband and I purchased a 2012 Chrysler Town & Country touring van on 8/4/2012 at your dealership. VIN [xxx]. this is our 6th or 7th Chrysler/Dodge van. On February 7, 2013 as I was approaching the cvs drug store side parking lot in Plymouth with my right foot on the brake the van suddenly accelerated and went over the sidewalk and contacted the building. The result was substantial damage to the front end of the car, $5734.90 and some cracked ribs, bruised breast bone and whip lash like injury to my neck. I was taken to the emergency room at Plymouth hospital by the Plymouth fire & rescue. They took X-rays and a ct scan. The Plymouth police investigated the accident. The cvs manager said there was no damage to the building. I am very concerned about what happened. This all happened so fast. The air bags did not deploy. I am a good safe driver with no moving vehicle violations. We have a 2007 Chrysler aspen purchased new at carlson motors in concord and a similar thing happened to my husband when exiting a steep driveway on West shore road in hebron. The aspen suddenly accelerated forward but since he was braking to go down the steep driveway, he was able to stop it and put it into neutral. I followed the aspen my husband was driving down I-93 to concord however the aspen engine suddenly quit just before the southbound rest area. He was able to make it into the rest area and called for a tow truck to finish the trip to concord. Carlson?S had the car for 2 or 3 days and said they replaced a computer component under the original factory warranty. I am very worried that there is something that goes wrong with the "fly-by-wire" electronic accelerator on these cars. Things do go wrong with computers! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Hebron, NH, USA

Not what you are looking for?