Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
16,397 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Chrysler Town & Country electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 3 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #201

Sep 252015

Town & Country

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #200

May 072014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Middleburg, VA, USA

problem #199

Sep 122015

Town & Country

  • 71,100 miles
Our 2012 Chrysler Town and country won't start. The dealer said it is a tipm malfunction and fuel pump malfunction. They want to replace them both. They refuse to help us with the repair cost. We are stranded in cancun, Mexico.

- Albany, OR, USA

problem #198

Apr 012015

Town & Country

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lima , OH, USA

problem #197

Jan 052015

Town & Country

  • miles
Last January, 2015, I took my vehicle to jim click Chrysler Jeep, 701 w auto mall dr, tucson, AZ 85705 to fulfill a safety recall, P25/NHTSA 14V-234, to have the rear quarter vent window switch replaced due to a possible overheating condition. At that time I was told the parts were not available to repair the vehicle, I would be contacted when they arrive. I have never been contacted; they have my name, address, phone number and email. I just received another recall notice for the same issue.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #196

Jul 032013

Town & Country

  • miles
We got a notice to send our van in for the recall on the switch for the back windows. We took the van to laurelchryslerjeep in johnstown pa. 15904 on July 3rd 2013. Hve called many times and they said the part is not in. Over 2 years. That is bull sh*t. All they did was unplug the windows and that is the fix"?" I think not. I keep getting a notice from your office to fix it. Try sending the notice to the people that can fix it not to me!!! updated 06/15/16

- Claysburg, PA, USA

problem #195

Sep 012014

Town & Country

  • 27,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have been waiting for over a year for the recall on my minivan vent window switch to be replaced. I went to the dealer (contemporary Chrysler in milford nh) in Dec 2014 & they told me the part was on order & would be in soon. In the meantime, they need to disconnect the switch. I have since called the dealership many times & am told I am on the list but the part is not available. It is very inconvenient to be without these windows for over a year. This car is practically brand new & I have to deal with non-functioning vent windows. Very disappointed in Chrysler. I have just received a 2nd notice on this recall P25/NHTSA 14V-234 tomget it fixed. I don't think a year is a reasonable time to wait for recall repair. I'd get it fixed if the part was available. Please help.

- Nashua, NH, USA

problem #194

Sep 302014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the recall part was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Toluca, IL, USA

problem #193

Jun 152015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000(electrical system) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable timeframe to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure.

- Lakeside, AZ, USA

problem #192

Sep 012015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 11/12/15 updated 1/4/2015

- Carmel, IN, USA

problem #191

Apr 092015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Sub: P25nhtsa 14V-234 rear quarter vent window switch we received a safety recall notice a few months ago that stated, "Chrysler has detected that a defect, which relates to motor vehicle safety, exists in some 2010 through 2014 model year Dodge Grand Caravan and Chrysler Town & Country vehicles.? my vehicle falls within the scope of this problem. We contacted arrigo of West palm beach on April 9, 2015 to schedule an appointment to get the vehicle repaired and was informed that ?the part was on backorder and I would be contacted when the part came in.? it has been five months now and they have still not received the required parts as of September 1, 2015. As stated in the safety recall letter, if the dealer fails or is unable to remedy this defect without charge and with in a reasonable time, I may submit a written complaint to the administrator, national traffic safety administration.? we do not understand why it has taken five months or possibly longer for a dealer to receive a safety recall part, so that this safety hazard may be repaired as well as my peace of mind. The problem as stated, ?the rear quarter vent window switch on your vehicle may overheat if exposed to liquid moisture. An overheated rear quarter vent window switch may cause a burning odor, smoke, or a driver's door fire without warning." I am very concerned for my family's safety because we live in Florida and it is very moist here especially during hurricane season. The longer it takes to receive the correct part and fix this issue creates higher safety risk for my family. Thank you for your time and please help us resolve this issue promptly.

- Loxahatchee, FL, USA

problem #190

Aug 312015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Richland Center, WI, USA

problem #189

Feb 152015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system). The interim repair was performed; however, the part for the recall repair was unavailable for an unreasonable amount of time. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. A failure was not experienced.

- Altadena, CA, USA

problem #188

Feb 162015

Town & Country

  • 61,324 miles
The blind spot system failed. I checked with the dealer, and the sensor that has failed would cost over $1000 to replace. I believe that the there is a possible problem with water intrusion that is the root of the issue. While I understand that the vehicle is long out of warranty, for a safety feature to fail (and based on the internet chatter, and the fact that the dealer had the part on a 20+ part back order)...I think that there is a certain design problem. Additionally, the $1000 cost is certainly excessive.

- Rochester Hills, MI, USA

problem #187

Aug 252014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure; however, they would not use the window due to the affected part being disconnected. The consumer traded the vehicle in September 2015. Updated 01/26/16. The consumer no longer owns the vehicle. It was traded in. The consumer believes it was repurchased. Updated 2/1/2016.

- West Rutland, VT, USA

problem #186

Jan 302015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Independence, MO, USA

problem #185

Jun 112014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Kenner, LA, USA

problem #184

Jan 012015

Town & Country

  • miles
I received a recall notice by mail at the end of 2014 for a rear quarter vent window switch. My 2012 Chrysler Town & Country was taken to the nearest official Chrysler dealership in January, and the switch was disconnected. The dealer did not have it in stock. As of August 2015, the part is still on back order with the manufacturer and this is still an open issue. I find this to be highly unsatisfactory & unacceptable to continue to get recall notices in the mail for a part that the manufacturer cannot support getting out to requested dealers to service their customers!

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #183

May 262014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Marysville, WA, USA

problem #182

Jan 222015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cary, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?