Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
16,397 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Chrysler Town & Country electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 7 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #121

Apr 082015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) six months ago and the part needed to do the repair was still not available. The contact stated that six months ago the dealer disconnected the vent window as a temporary fix. The contact believed that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay...updated 05-26-15 updated 6/30/2015

- Abington, MD, USA

problem #120

Sep 012014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler town country. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number:14V234000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 5/19/15

- Omaha , NE, USA

problem #119

Jul 022014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
There was a recall for a defect in the elec switch for the rear quarter vent window. There was the chance that it may over heat and could cause a fire. I took it to the dealer and had the switch disconnected as the recall suggested. That was in July of 2014. I always use these windows and it has been an inconvenience not being able to do so. I understand that the parts are available now and I have been trying to get it fixed for the last couple months now. My Chrysler says it is impossible to get the parts and that only a couple are sent out T the most at a time. I have been first on a waiting list at the dealer waiting for this part for over two months now. They said my interior light color is blue and that they are not getting any of that color in. Not sure what that has to do with the elec.switch I need? it has been almost a year and I am very disappointed in Chrysler as to how long it has taken to solve this recall and the inconvenience that this has caused me. I am getting very impatient and expect this to be solved as soon as possible. Please follow up on this and help me get this solved as soon as you can.

- Fleming, CO, USA

problem #118

Apr 082015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system). The contact stated that that the dealer informed that the recall parts were not available. The contact mentioned that the recall notification was received in January of 2015. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure...updated 05/20/15 updated 7/6/2015

- Big Lake, MN, USA

problem #117

Nov 202014

Town & Country

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler Town and country. While driving approximately 10 mph, both rear windows released in an open position independently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, where they disengaged the vent window switch. The part was unavailable to repair the vehicle according to NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 35,000.

- Coeur D' Alene, ID, USA

problem #116

Apr 012015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Maryville, IL, USA

problem #115

Jun 162014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is already a known issue and a recall was issued in June 2014. Nine months have elapsed and repair parts are still on back order. This is ridiculous and the manufacturer should not be allowed to hide behind a claimed parts shortage. Suppliers can certainly produce parts in less than nine months.

- Sugar Grove , IL, USA

problem #114

Sep 022014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
Driver side door open on it's own. Wife closed it, after that it would not open or close at all.called dealer ship and they had to replace the locking system on that door because it had begun to make a noise when it finally start opening. And about a month later the passenger door did the same and I'm having problems getting it fixed. I feel this is a safty issue.if I were in a wreck and this was the only way out or my children need to get out and this door jam or want open we would be in a lot of trouble.

- Deridder, LA, USA

problem #113

Jun 012010

Town & Country

  • 15,000 miles
I have a 2012 Chrysler T&C minivan. I spoke with people at Chrysler world hq. There is a 2013 recall on the rear vent window electric switch. For approx. One year the dealership cannot perform the recall-fix because "the part is not available". the part is never available. How do the get repairs made?

- Grosse Pointe Park, MI, USA

problem #112

Oct 082014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 10V234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Saratoga Spring, NY, USA

problem #111

Jul 102014

Town & Country

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the vehicle was unable to be serviced under the recall because the part needed was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Villages, FL, USA

problem #110

Sep 052014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) and stated that the parts needed were not available. The dealer did not provide a specific date when the parts would become available and as an interim repair the dealer indicated that they disconnected the rear quarter vent window switch. The contact stated that upon further inspecting the vehicle, it was noticed that the component was not disconnected. The dealer was notified and provided an appointment to re-inspect the vehicle. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Maple Grove, MN, USA

problem #109

Mar 022015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
2012 Chrysler Town & Country. Consumer writes in regards to rear quarter vent window switch recall notice issues. The consumer stated he has been waiting for seven months, for the parts to arrive. Recall # 14V234000.

- Kokomo, IN, USA

problem #108

Mar 022015

Town & Country

  • miles
2012 Chrysler Town and country. Consumer writes in regards to parts not available to complete recall.

- Wisconsin Rapids, WI, USA

problem #107

Mar 042015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lady Lake, FL, USA

problem #106

Jan 012015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
My 2 year old son exited the van on the passenger side, through power sliding door. The door closed on his hand and did not retract automatically. We reached out to Chrysler who sent an inspector. The inspector tested the door with a folded terry cloth. I provided him with a doll, which has a hand the same size and shape of a child's. the passenger door closed completely on the doll hand. The drivers side door opened automatically. So there existed a difference between the two doors. Chrysler stated they believe there is nothing wrong with the van. We took the van to the dealership, they also stated the door closes normally. We reached out to the local news station wftv who agreed to assist because the passenger side door still closed on the doll hand, while the driver side door did not. The van was taken to zembower's auto center where immediate testing revealed the car needed a new battery. The comment was made, how is Chrysler able to diagnose a potential electrical issue without first checking the electrical system to be sure its operating normally. I took the van to the dealership who then agreed, the van does need a new battery. We took the van back to zembowers for a battery replacement. Upon replacement the passenger door now seems to be operating normally. So the issue still remains, why is it that when the battery is in need of replacement in the van, that the passenger power door is less sensitive than the drivers side, allowing it to close on hands of children" and it should be noted that no service engine lights were illuminated, so no indication was given as to the van needing a new battery. So, based on this experience, are we to assume that anytime the van battery is depleted, even before giving any indication through the service engine lights, that the passenger side power door will become insensitive" this issue remains unresolved.

- Sanford, FL, USA

problem #105

Feb 262015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Denham Springs, LA, USA

problem #104

Feb 252015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Occala, FL, USA

problem #103

Feb 202015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- The Villages, FL, USA

problem #102

Jun 132014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) and stated that the parts were not available for several months. The dealer was unable to provide a specific date for when the parts would become available. The dealer disconnected the rear quarter vent window switch as an interim repair. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- The Villages, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?