Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
29,676 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Chrysler Town & Country brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments

problem #15

May 292016

Town & Country

  • 82,379 miles


While driving at about 15 to 20 mph the engine shut off with no steering assist or braking aid or anything powered. After coasting to a stop and shifting into park the engine started normally. There were no warning lights or other indicators of a problem. It was like the switch had simply been turned off except that it was physically still in the run position and had to be turned to off to attempt to restart the engine.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #14

Dec 222015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Chrysler Town and country. While driving 40 mph, the brake pedal was depressed and failed to stop the vehicle and a crash occurred. The air bags did not deploy and the seat belts did not restrain the contact and passenger. A police report was filed. The contact sustained injuries to the neck and spine. The passenger sustained injuries to the left shoulder, neck, and implants. Medical attention was required. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 36,000....updated 06/22/16 * bf the consumer also stated he was unsuccessful at getting the recall regarding the rear window switch rectified. He was informed the parts were not available. Updated 06/28/16.

- Smyrna, DE, USA

problem #13

Dec 222015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,000 miles
The contact owned a 2013 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while driving at 45 mph, the contact crashed into a deer on the front driver side of the vehicle. The brake pedal was depressed but hesitated to stop the vehicle. The seat belt pretensioner failed. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed. The driver sustained injuries to lower back, neck and legs that required medical attention. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 34,000. Updated 02/23/16 the consumer stated there was a second person injured. Updated 02/24/16.

- Smyrna, DE, USA

problem #12

May 252015

Town & Country

  • 12,200 miles


When I was driving in reverse after making a U turn the brake lock up on me causing the car to roll. It was so dangerous I had absolutely no control of the car. There are worse cases, when im driving up a hill imagine that...... I just rolled down the hiil, I thought it was over.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #11

Oct 192015

Town & Country

  • 105,000 miles
Power brake booster has gone bad on a 2013 vehicle. I have spoken with other owners who have the same problem. The current recall #P14 - safety recall - brake booster / 2011-2014 (wd) Dodge durango and (wk) Jeep Grand Cherokee, needs to be expanded to cover this. The booster went out on my car while I was in motion on a roadway that was unoccupied by other drivers at the time. Luckily, I was able to bring the car safely to a stop.

- Denver, PA, USA

problem #10

Aug 312015

Town & Country

  • 7,600 miles
Pulled into parking lot, brakes felt funny, made turn into parking space and brakes froze, resulting into my hitting side of store building - rushed to trauma center. Bags did not deploy, going very slow. Very frightening.

- Brook Park, OH, USA

problem #9

Feb 082015

Town & Country

  • 45,000 miles


The contact owns a 2013 Chrysler Town and country. While driving approximately 25 mph and attempting to engage the brakes, a grinding noise emitted from the vehicle before it came to a stop. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the rotors and brake pads needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #8

Nov 242014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 27,880 miles
I was traveling at 20 mph and turned right onto another street. In mid-turn, the engine cut off without warning and all power steering and power brakes failed. I nearly missed a car on the corner as the car turned. Because I was unable to brake, I am not sure how the van stopped without any response from the brakes. Once I came to a stop, I put the car back into park and restarted the car. We bought this car new on 2/13/2013 and have not had this problem before. We do see reports of many Chrysler Town and country vans and Dodge Caravan reporting this problem going back to 1996, with some recalls along the way. It appears that this is an old issue that has not been properly addressed by Chrysler.

- Hendersonville, NC, USA

problem #7

Mar 142014

Town & Country

  • 15,000 miles
"last March I was driving on highway in rush hour, 60 ? 65 mph. Van shuts off, breaks do not work, and steering wheel is locked. All I could do is wait until the van coasted to a stop; I put it in park and then started it back up again in order to exit the expressway. ?took the van in. They kept it for over a week and then told me that they replaced something with the brakes and now it is working fine. "(11/04/14), I was on vacation in Ohio. Going 40 mph and the same thing happened. Again, I was lucky and no accident. "took the van to nearest dealership. They charged me $79 to check out the car ? and they did not find anything. I would have thought that would have been a covered charge. ?Chrysler ?escalated my ticket to corporate? and they also asked me if I felt safe driving my van home. I did not feel safe ? but really did not see a choice because all the dealership and the surrounding car rental places had to offer me was a small car and I had 3 people, luggage and a wheelchair to get home. ?I drove side roads home " the total trip took me an additional 9 hours instead of 4.5. (11/06/14) the car shut down again on me " no one was on the road at the time. "(11/07/14) ray laetham dealership in grosse pointe, Michigan. "11/12/14 dealership asked several questions about the car and said the engineers at Chrysler have given them additional things to try "11/14/14 dealership tells me I can pick up my van. Engineers have decided that it must have been the E85 gas that I had been using "which has been known to cause problems" even though that is the gas that I was told to use. Hopefully I will survive the last 6 months of my lease. I have a van that I cannot drive my family in.

- Harrison Township, MI, USA

problem #6

Jul 122014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 17,564 miles
When driving in the mountains of Colorado and going down a steep incline when I applied the brakes to slow down the car shuddered like it was going to fall apart, scared my wife and grandchildren badly, afraid to drive in this car now. Appears T O be a problem with the rotors overheating and wrapping per two brake specialist I took the car to. Called Chrysler and they want me to take it into the dealer to have brakes checked out, but want to charge me a diagnostic fee up front and wont do a free brake inspection for a very possible brake rotor defect (cheap rotors?) I don't have the money for the upfront diagnostic fee as I was laid off a year ago. They will not forego the upfront fee so I am stuck with perhaps a faulty brake system. This definitely should be looked into as a safety problem. The Chrysler case number was [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Erie, CO, USA

problem #5

Jul 242014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 18,000 miles


My van with 18,000 miles went in for service and I was told that the grind I feel in my brakes of my Chrysler Town and country was due to 'warped' rotors. The brake pads were fine, but the rotors warped due to excessive heat created when I use the brakes! I am confused, what are brakes for? I paid to have my rotors cut, only because I need this van to Transport young children, it is and has been a problem for years with Chrysler vans that the brakes need to be replace way before the norm. Chrysler should be forced into a recall. The consumer should not have to pay for parts and labor when it is obvious there is a problem here. I would think that 9 times out of 10 a van is purchased because of kids!! shame on Chrysler for allowing our kids to be passengers in vans with faulty parts!

- Kearny, NJ, USA

problem #4

Mar 252014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 19,006 miles
The Michelin tires, energy saver A/S are defective and dry rotting causing a potential blowout and accident. The accelerator is positioned too far forward and the brake is positioned too far back, causing the foot to slide under the brake when changing over from acceleration to braking. A very serious problem and defect in the design and workmanship of this vehicle.

- Clayton, NC, USA

problem #3

Jul 272013

Town & Country

  • 10,000 miles
Rented a minivan from avis at slc airport late July 2013. On the highway immediately after leaving the airport my knee bumped the mass of keyring objects and turned the engine off as I was just getting up to 60mph. I noticed the vehicle slowing down and determined I had accidentally shut it down. It would not start. I shifted to neutral and restarted the engine, shifted back to drive. Only one of the 5 passengers even noticed the slowdown. Under different circumstances this could have resulted in an accident. If it is the practice of rental companies to bind keys like this the problem could be widespread and may have resulted in an accident already, thus this report. Given my experience I believe the practice of binding all the keys and other plastic doo-dahs with a stiff wire cable to be an accident in the waiting. In my case the seat was a little forward and I moved it back a couple of inches to avoid having the keys dance on my knee as we drove. At a stop I cut the wire ring and put all the extras in the glove compartment and continued the trip with a single fob-key. The keys: I was given set of keys bound by a wire cable. Two fobs, two spare keys (normally inserted in the fobs), three plastic add-ons (one held a paper slip identifying the vehicle, one avis call number and one macys loyalty card) I have no issues with the vehicle as it worked fine, nor with the rental company as their service was also fine. I do take issue with the practice of binding the keys with a wire cable that must be cut (leather-man tool in my case) to drive safely. I suspect most renters will not have a tool handy nor risk the wrath of the renter in cutting the wire cable. Note I took a few pictures of the key ring and objects should it be useful. To avis credit they were happy to have all the keys returned and were not concerned I'd cut the cable.

- Dunedin, FL, USA

problem #2

Jun 052013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 5,252 miles
(the following is quoted from the dealer work sheet): "C/S while driving was pulled over by another motorist and was told that smoke was coming from right rear wheel area. Has heard rubbing noise from this area previous to this event. (note that no action was taken this first time. Vehicle had approx. 1,000 miles) check and advise. Test drove check for tsb and rack and inspected: Found both rear brakes got hot. Caliper(s) are sticking. (had this problem occurred on a freeway at 60 - 70 mph it could well have been a very different outcome.) replace rear brakes, pads, rotors and calipers." An ironic side ;note: We were provided with a 2011 Chrysler 200 VIN: [xxx] with 34,972 miles. As we were returning this vehicle I had to make a fast stop. And the right front brake made grinding noise and locked up momentarily. I reported this to the same dealer.... information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #1

May 032013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 10,266 miles
As I was backing out of a parking space, I lost power steering and power brakes. Steering was very stiff and brakes were hard. It was similar to when the car stalls, but the car was still running. I put the car in drive and attempted to pull forward. Still no power steering or power brakes. I put the car in park and no change. I turned off the vehicle, waited a minute or two and then restarted it. Car was fine then. When this occurred, no indicators lit on the dash. I took the car to the dealer and they were unable to replicate the problem or determine any cause of the problem. They did not test drive the car, as it still had the same mileage as when I dropped it off.

- Stephens City, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?