Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,115 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Chrysler Town & Country steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments

problem #6

Nov 242014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 27,880 miles


I was traveling at 20 mph and turned right onto another street. In mid-turn, the engine cut off without warning and all power steering and power brakes failed. I nearly missed a car on the corner as the car turned. Because I was unable to brake, I am not sure how the van stopped without any response from the brakes. Once I came to a stop, I put the car back into park and restarted the car. We bought this car new on 2/13/2013 and have not had this problem before. We do see reports of many Chrysler Town and country vans and Dodge Caravan reporting this problem going back to 1996, with some recalls along the way. It appears that this is an old issue that has not been properly addressed by Chrysler.

- Hendersonville, NC, USA

problem #5

Mar 142014

Town & Country

  • 15,000 miles
"last March I was driving on highway in rush hour, 60 ? 65 mph. Van shuts off, breaks do not work, and steering wheel is locked. All I could do is wait until the van coasted to a stop; I put it in park and then started it back up again in order to exit the expressway. ?took the van in. They kept it for over a week and then told me that they replaced something with the brakes and now it is working fine. "(11/04/14), I was on vacation in Ohio. Going 40 mph and the same thing happened. Again, I was lucky and no accident. "took the van to nearest dealership. They charged me $79 to check out the car ? and they did not find anything. I would have thought that would have been a covered charge. ?Chrysler ?escalated my ticket to corporate? and they also asked me if I felt safe driving my van home. I did not feel safe ? but really did not see a choice because all the dealership and the surrounding car rental places had to offer me was a small car and I had 3 people, luggage and a wheelchair to get home. ?I drove side roads home " the total trip took me an additional 9 hours instead of 4.5. (11/06/14) the car shut down again on me " no one was on the road at the time. "(11/07/14) ray laetham dealership in grosse pointe, Michigan. "11/12/14 dealership asked several questions about the car and said the engineers at Chrysler have given them additional things to try "11/14/14 dealership tells me I can pick up my van. Engineers have decided that it must have been the E85 gas that I had been using "which has been known to cause problems" even though that is the gas that I was told to use. Hopefully I will survive the last 6 months of my lease. I have a van that I cannot drive my family in.

- Harrison Township, MI, USA

problem #4

Feb 062014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 1,500 miles
Multiple times windshield wipers began going and warning lights flashed inside the car and windows went down with out being powered and doors open and shut by themselves. Three times the car engine spontaneously shut down while driving losing power steering and brakes. Had it to multiple dealers - no code on the computer system so no one would do anything to fix it. Frequent conversations with customer service for Chrysler... nothing they can do. We've been instructed by Chrysler to keel a journal every time our car shuts down while driving... that's their solution. Even with this journal (assuming my family continues to survive the shut downs where we lose control of the brakes and steering while moving down the road) if there is no code Chrysler will have no solution.

- Milton, WI, USA

problem #3

Jun 122013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 20 miles


The vehicle drifts to the right at any speed but the drift is greater at highway speeds. The steering wheel has to be held 8-10 degrees to the left to keep the car straight. The vehicle has been back to the dealer 5 times and still has not been corrected.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #2

Jun 222013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 25 miles
Took delivery of a brand new 2013 Chrysler Town and country touring van with 4 miles on it on Thursday, June 20, 2013. Drove it home approximately 10 miles. Took it out for the first ride on Saturday June 22, 2013 and while driving, engine failed without warning and I lost all power to vehicle. Started it back up and vehicle did this again. Continued to start up and shut down without warning about four times. Called road side assistance and car was towed back to dealership. Service department can not duplicate the problem. Corporate office is of no help. Without fixing the problem, this will happen again. This is a serious problem that can cause a serious or fatal accident and Chrysler has not addressed the problem. They did recall their prior models for this exact problem - recall #72674.the problem is continuing with their newer models but Chrysler does not seem interested. Meanwhile, I have a brand new vehicle sitting at the dealership less than a week old that I am afraid to drive my family in. There have been over 57 reports in the Chrysler Town and country forum of this exact problem - some involving accidents with children as passengers. Chrysler is selling unsafe vehicles putting children at risk of serious harm. I can provide the names of all the people I spoke with at Chrysler - their customer service unit, and their top care unit - along with all those I am dealing with at the dealership. I have a meeting with the dealership Monday, July 1st. However, unless the problem is fixed, this vehicle remains unsafe to drive. I have put Chrysler on notice, the dealership and now you, that this vehicle is unsafe and can cause serious injury to the passengers and other innocent drivers. Please do not wait for a fatality to investigate this.

- Bay Shore, NY, USA

problem #1

May 032013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 10,266 miles
As I was backing out of a parking space, I lost power steering and power brakes. Steering was very stiff and brakes were hard. It was similar to when the car stalls, but the car was still running. I put the car in drive and attempted to pull forward. Still no power steering or power brakes. I put the car in park and no change. I turned off the vehicle, waited a minute or two and then restarted it. Car was fine then. When this occurred, no indicators lit on the dash. I took the car to the dealer and they were unable to replicate the problem or determine any cause of the problem. They did not test drive the car, as it still had the same mileage as when I dropped it off.

- Stephens City, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?