Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
68,625 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Dodge Avenger drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Dodge Avenger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Dodge Avenger Owner Comments (Page 2 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #96

Jan 292014


  • 110,000 miles


We have experienced a drop in RPM's in wet weather, mainly at lower speeds during a deceleration mode that felt like the vehicle would die. A slow response to a panicked foot was always what happened. This began at approx. 25,000-30,000 miles. Never while in the dealer repair shop. While driving our 2008 Avenger, there was a rapid deceleration that occurred accompanied by the etc light coming on and flashing. I applied gas and nothing happened, then a split second later, the vehicle suddenly accelerated, etc light went out. I slowly accelerated to 55 mph and noticed that the rpms were higher than usual (3200) for the speed and also felt a hiccup or cutting out feel. I thought that I had lost 4th gear? my husband and I are seasoned auto service advisors & are very much in tune with our vehicles. Along with the aforementioned issues, now at freeway speeds, RPM's will drop; while the engine feels as if it will cut off & etc light comes on, then goes out. I have done extensive research & found on this NHTSA website, approx. 90% of complaints for like vehicles to be exact or similar to what we are experiencing. I stopped looking after 5 pages.(95% of 1st 5 pages are filled with like concerns). I will be contacting the Chrysler corporation as well. Why an official recall has not been announced, befuddles me. I hope this obvious safety issue does not get ignored any longer. 110,000 is on the vehicle odometer now. The mileage we have on our vehicle is a similar common denominator that is easily seen on the other etc related complaints for 2008 Avengers. *note-stop light sw. & accelerator position sensor have been replaced per recommendation of Chrysler technician. This made no difference. (except in our bank account).

- Fife, WA, USA

problem #95

Feb 102014

Avenger 4-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
Electronic throttle control warning light comes on after the car is started. It will go off if the car is turned off and back on but the car then does not restart smoothly, turns over for quite a while be starting. Also, the malfunction indicator light is on and does not go off. Notice intermittent power loss when accelerating at low speeds.

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #94

Jan 012008


  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Avenger. The contact stated that the vehicle would jerk and lose acceleration power sporadically. In addition, the gear shifter had to be engaged with abnormal force. The failure was recurring and the check engine warning light would illuminate when the failure occurred. The dealer performed a diagnostic and replaced an unknown part, however the repair did not correct the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure mileage was 25,000 and the approximate failure mileage was 100,000. Updated 04/22/14

- Fredericksburg , VA, USA

problem #93

Jul 182012

Avenger 4-cyl

  • 150,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Avenger. The contact stated that while driving approximately 55 mph, the electronic throttle control failed without warning. The failure recurred three times over a period of eighteen months. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or independent mechanic for diagnosis or repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000. Updated 03/31/14 the consumer stated on 3/9/14, while driving, the etc light illuminated again. All power to vehicle was lost. The consumer pulled over and restarted the vehicle. The consumer was then able to continue home. Updated 04/01/2014

- Petersburg, WV, USA

problem #92

Sep 302013

Avenger 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Avenger. While driving 65 mph, the contact stated that the vehicle stalled when the accelerator pedal was depressed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection. The contact was advised that the entire throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the incident. The approximate failure mileage was 89000....updated 03/07/14 also, the transmission did not shift properly.

- Grove City, OH, USA

problem #91

Aug 252013


  • 152,100 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Avenger. The contact stated that while traveling approximately 70 mph, the vehicle downshifted erroneously. The contact also mentioned that the vehicle suddenly stalled. The vehicle was moved to the shoulder and was neither diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 152,100.

- Whitney Point, NY, USA

problem #90

Jul 032013

Avenger 6-cyl

  • 62,595 miles


The car would not shift out of park. It was stuck. The tow truck driver took the shifter apart, a pink piece of plastic flew off, then it worked, so no tow. I had to wait til Monday to bring it to the dealer, and was sure K16 recall, from 6/2011 was the problem. But was told it was not a recall, or covered under my warranty. $292.33. I've seen hundreds of complaints on-line for the same thing. Some were considered a recall, most were not.

- South Park, PA, USA

problem #89

May 272013

Avenger 4-cyl

  • 123,000 miles
I got into my car to leave and the gear shift would not come out of park. I tried several times and it was just stuck. My daughter went online and found that this had been a recall issue an I have never received any type of notification at all. My son found a work around on the internet that allowed me to get to work, however this is a issue that needs to be fixed.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #88

Feb 082013

Avenger 4-cyl

  • 125,975 miles
While driving along freeway at 55 mph throttle light illuminated and engine was non reactive to gas pedal. After a few moment systems went away, but the starting the next day after that the engine was slow to respond to sccelerator and would hesitate and jump to accelerations. Vehicle was taken to shop where throttle body and fuel system was cleaned. It worked fine till April 22, 2013 when vehicle was being driven the throttle light came back on and there was no acceleration at all to the car. Car towed to garage where the throttle body had to be replaced to due failure. The milage was 130,153 and cost over $800.

- Pottstown, PA, USA

problem #87

May 062013

Avenger 6-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
The shifter was stuck in park and wouldn't budge.

- Vallejo, CA, USA

problem #86

Apr 282013


  • 48,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Avenger. The contact stated that while parked, the gear shifter seized and could not be moved from park. The vehicle was towed to a local mechanic for diagnosis. The mechanic stated that the gear shift module would have to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 48,000.

- Succasunna, NJ, USA

problem #85

Nov 152012


  • 90,000 miles
I have had multiple problems with my throttle body and losing power in my car. All my attempts to fix it have failed. Now my car will only get up to about ten mph. With the lighting bolt flashing on my dash board. I have talked to mechanics at a Dodge dealership and the say they haven't heard of this problem and that is a flat out lie. They just keep trying to fix this and that and it does not work. This part needs to be recalled before someone is killed and Dodge trying to cover up what hundreds have complained about is not fair to us as consumers spending hundreds of dollars out of pocket and there is only temporary fixes.

- Napoleon, OH, USA

problem #84

Feb 272013

Avenger 4-cyl

  • 126,000 miles
On 3/11/13, I reported to Dodge case # [xxx] that when driving on wet / damp roads the car will stall out for no reason. This has happend to me while stopped at a light, slowing down going through a toll or even while turning in an intersection. I have felt it to start to stall while driving at 65 and have hit the gas to stop the problem. I phoned Dodge who told me... sorry there are no recalls. I then phoned my local Dodge service department who immediately told me that yes they have had this problem in the past, the suggested is a sensor on the throttle or throttle body. The cost for repair is around $750. I happened to see there was another complaint on your site regarding this. Because I feel as though this is a very serious danger hazard, I filed a complaint with the department of transportation # [xxx]who suggested I contact you. I think this is a very large concern and something that needs to be addressed immediately. I will be paying the money to get my vehicle fixed out of concern for my own and others safety. I drive the interstate everyday to work 65 - 75 mph and have to drive either in the right or left lane in case my car stalls. I was lucky that when my call stalled while trying to pull away from a red light I was not rear ended. I am hopeful you will see the sense of urgency and push Dodge to do a recall. I do not think this should be the consumers espense. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Sturtevant, WI, USA

problem #83

Dec 142012

Avenger 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
It will constantly over heat, even with full anti-freeze in it. It will get to the H in less then 1 min. The transmission light will then come on followed by the lighting bold in the parentheses. All of a sudden it started having a very loud noise (like a diesel truck) and wouldn't let me go over 25 miles without it getting louder. Then I went to turn left to pull over and all the lights came on, went off the heat went from H to C and car steering wheel locked up and car died.. I wouldn't not turn over till 30 mins later.. started having the loud diesel noise and to 3-4 weeks later (today).. still over heats today and still leaks anti-freeze (drains the whole thing in 30 mins). I heard there was a re-call for the 08 Avenger in 2012.. I got my car Dec 2012 and the dealership still sold it.. when I found out there used to be a re-call I tried to call dealership to find out they went out of business the next week after I bought it. Sucks cause im stuck with a broken car and $11K still to pay.

- Lawton, OK, USA

problem #82

Oct 232012


  • 57,000 miles
Leaving home to go to work, started car and noticed lightning bolt indicator light on. Shut car off and restarted - light not there. Put car in gear and noticed shaking and low idling. Attempted to accelerate and was only able to reach a speed of 15 mph. Pulled to side of road and shut car off. Restarted - no light but still not acceleration past 15mph and car still idling slowly and shaking. Pulled back into driveway and left it there. With all the other similar complaints something needs to be done about this.

- Chestertown, MD, USA

problem #81

Mar 282008

Avenger 4-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
I have had nothing but problems with my car. When I first purchased it 2 months later my shifter got stuck I was stranded at work. After that I have had various problems from the alternator, battery, and compressor going out various times and it is not even over 100,000 miles. I looked up there were recalls on the car back in 07 and 08. The dealership says that they fixed it but I feel like it was not fixed and I had the shifter problem right when I purchased that is the only thing they said they can fix.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #80

Mar 062012

Avenger 4-cyl

  • 24,000 miles
Motor mounts failed and this is the second time it has happened. Dealer replaced front mount and said there was a change in the mounts due to problems but did not change the back mount, now the back mount has failed. I think that if Dodge had to make a change in design of the mount due to problems they should have had to change both mounts when they changed the front one. This is just so they don't have to spend any more money on a car than they have to.

- Woodstock, GA, USA

problem #79

Aug 272012


  • 49,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Avenger. The contact stated the dealer issued a safety campaign since the power transmission remained stuck in gear. The vehicle was repaired under the safety campaign; however, the failure continued to occur. The contact stated while driving in reverse, the vehicle remained stuck in reverse gear. The vehicle also accelerated independently while in reverse. The vehicle crashed into a fence and a tree. The contact sustained a contusion on her left leg, and some glass fragments in the left thumb. The rear window broke, the rear bumper and fender were damaged. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 49,000.

- Woodstock, NY, USA

problem #78

Aug 162012

Avenger 4-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
While driving my car, the electronic throttle control light came on and the car lost power and would not accelerate. I have researched this problem and it seems that it is a common occurrence. Please recall now for safety reasons!

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #77

Aug 172012

Avenger 4-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
Car stuck in gear, cant reduce speed, powertrain module needs to be replace, I've had the car only for 1 1/2.

- Rockford , IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?