Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 6
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,501 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Dodge Avenger engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Dodge Avenger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Dodge Avenger Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #44

May 032016

Avenger 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Avenger. The contact stated that the blower motor fan switch medium and low functions failed to activate. The repairs were performed by the contact and he replaced the blower motor switch relay. The contact had mentioned that prior to the recent failure, the vehicle was taken to the dealer where the engine cooling flushing was performed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000. The VIN was not available. Updated 07/27/16 updated 08/01/16.

- Shelby Township, MI, USA

problem #43

Aug 082011

Avenger

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Avenger. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to accelerate over 50 mph. The vehicle lost acceleration power intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. In addition, the contact stated that when the vehicle was idled, it stalled as the check oil and the check engine warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 50,000.

- North Providence, RI, USA

problem #42

Feb 192013

Avenger

  • 110,630 miles
My vehicle has been in the repair shop for the same issue over four times within the past two years. The first complaint on 2/19/13. The malfunction is with the vehicle heating system. The first heater core was replaced on 1/20/14, the second heater core on 2/27/14, the third heater core on 4/18/14, and the fourth on 11/12/14. The vehicle loses heat. There have been special filters installed in my vehicle as well, trying to resolve any issue before it reaches the heater core, this attempt has failed as well. The current issue with no heat included anti-freeze dripping on my feet inside the vehicle, just above the gas pedal.

- Leroy, MI, USA

problem #41

Feb 102014

Avenger 4-cyl

  • 73,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car has problem with the blower motor N car would jerk bad.

- Merced, CA, USA

problem #40

Jan 092014

Avenger

  • 82,000 miles
Intake manifold defective requiring replacement. Est. $1300.

- Frederick, MD, USA

problem #39

Jul 312013

Avenger

  • 106,000 miles
When I was driving up hill my car started to act sluggish and my check engine light came on. After taking it to meineke and spending $50 for a diagnosis they told me I had to go to Dodge because I had errors P2004 and P2017 that needed to be handled by Dodge directly. After doing some research online all Dodge Avengers built through March 22, 2007 required a new intake manifold (part number 04884495af) because values were getting stuck open. I took my car into the dealership and they tell me it will be $940 because they will need to replace the entire intake manifold and reprogram my car. When I called Chrysler customer service they told me since my car was built in June 2007 I wouldn't qualify for the warranty even if my car had less than 80,000 miles. I did tons of research online and every post that I have read about 2008 Dodge Avengers with P2004 and P2017 codes must pay about $1,000 to get the intake manifold replaced and reprogram the car. This is the 1st Dodge I have ever purchased and will definitely be my last! if everyone that buys this car is having to replace that intake manifold anywhere between 15,000 miles and 110,000 miles Dodge should have to pay for the repairs. They had an issue with the 1st intake manifold design and the cars built after March 22, 2007 don't have any better of a design.

- Beaverton, OR, USA

problem #38

Mar 212013

Avenger

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In my 2008 Dodge Avenger the engine sometimes ether stalls out when I put it into park or sometimes the engine revs up really high and then goes back to normal. This all happens whenever it rains outside. Sometimes when I go threw a puddle the engine like begins to stutter almost like it is going to stall out on me or it is going to rev up.

- Shoreham, NY, USA

problem #37

Dec 142012

Avenger 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
It will constantly over heat, even with full anti-freeze in it. It will get to the H in less then 1 min. The transmission light will then come on followed by the lighting bold in the parentheses. All of a sudden it started having a very loud noise (like a diesel truck) and wouldn't let me go over 25 miles without it getting louder. Then I went to turn left to pull over and all the lights came on, went off the heat went from H to C and car steering wheel locked up and car died.. I wouldn't not turn over till 30 mins later.. started having the loud diesel noise and to 3-4 weeks later (today).. still over heats today and still leaks anti-freeze (drains the whole thing in 30 mins). I heard there was a re-call for the 08 Avenger in 2012.. I got my car Dec 2012 and the dealership still sold it.. when I found out there used to be a re-call I tried to call dealership to find out they went out of business the next week after I bought it. Sucks cause im stuck with a broken car and $11K still to pay.

- Lawton, OK, USA

problem #36

Mar 282008

Avenger 4-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
I have had nothing but problems with my car. When I first purchased it 2 months later my shifter got stuck I was stranded at work. After that I have had various problems from the alternator, battery, and compressor going out various times and it is not even over 100,000 miles. I looked up there were recalls on the car back in 07 and 08. The dealership says that they fixed it but I feel like it was not fixed and I had the shifter problem right when I purchased that is the only thing they said they can fix.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #35

May 012012

Avenger

  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Avenger. While driving approximately 50 mph, the engine stalled with an intermittent illumination of the warning indicator. The vehicle was coasted to the side of the road where the engine restarted. The contact was able to resume in operation. The vehicle had not been diagnosed for the malfunction. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 83,000.

- Monterey, TN, USA

problem #34

Feb 152012

Avenger

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Avenger. The contact stated that the front passenger side window was opened but could not be closed. The window regulator motor was replaced. In addition, the vehicle was overheating abnormally. The contact refilled the coolant reservoir but the failure recurred. The vehicle had also become resistant to acceleration attempts while driving 10 mph. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but the dealer was unable to diagnose the failures. The manufacturer was contacted and advised that the vehicle was not included in any recalls. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 90,000 and the current mileage was 96,000.

- San Jose , CA, USA

problem #33

Apr 042012

Avenger

  • 141,000 miles
I have been receiving electronic throttle control errors for about a year now (lightning bolt between inverted parenthesis). It happens sporadically but seems to occur more frequently. The last episode occurred today on my morning commute to work - 04/04/2012, approximately 0725. The error code will flash and it becomes more difficult to accelerate. When I take my foot off of the gas pedal to decelerate, the car will 'jerk'. so far, I have been fortunate enough to continue driving the vehicle until I can find a place to pull over. Usually, I can turn the car off then back on and the error code disappears. The car will drive normally. I am now experiencing these issues 3-4 times per week. This issue is chronicled on the internet with details in different forums. This seems to be an on-going frequent issue that Dodge is aware of. From what I have researched, the dealership mechanics seem to be at a loss on how to repair and suggest different repairs that don't work...unless that is their aim. In a time that people are financially struggling, these manufacturers need to repair the issues they know about.

- Kinsman, OH, USA

problem #32

Feb 192009

Avenger 4-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
Pulley making loud noise and alternator have whine noise like it about to start a fire.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #31

Feb 192012

Avenger 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Going 65 mph the etc light turn on and I lost power.then I turn off the engine for about 30 minutes and it turn off but it keeps losing power all the time.

- Pico Rivera , CA, USA

problem #30

Jan 242012

Avenger

  • 56,949 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Avenger. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled while driving 25 mph with the illumination of the etc warning light. The contact referred to the owner's manual regarding the etc and the owner's manual advised parking the vehicle. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer or a mechanic for repairs or inspection. The failure mileage was 56,949.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #29

Nov 012010

Avenger 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
My 2008 Avenger stalls when accelerating. It seems to happen when it is wet and cold out. It happens mostly when you are at a complete stop and push the gas or when you are slowing down and the accelerate. I have almost been in several accidents due to this happening. I have taken it to the Dodge dealership and they said they can't find anything wrong. There is definitely something wrong.

- Beaver, PA, USA

problem #28

Mar 012011

Avenger

  • miles
Vehicle engine cuts-out or stalls at during deceleration or when stopped at a light, and only on days in which it is raining. I have taken vehicle to dealer with no luck in solving problem. This is a safety concern because the vehicle becomes hard to control when the engine cuts-out all of a sudden losing power to the brakes and steering. Vehicle still exhibits symptoms of problem.

- Clinton Twp, MI, USA

problem #27

Apr 122011

Avenger 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
I purchased this vehicle from a used car lot a year and a half ago. From the very first day I purchased the car, I had problems which are recorded with the place of purchase. I was told I could not get my money back. The only remedy offered was for the actual car dealership who sold me the vehicle would fix the problem. The first problem iv'E had started with the head lights, it then went onto my entire electrical system that gives mileage, warnings ect went out. Soon after that the alarm system, horn, and door locking system. There after "a pin" in which holds the gear in place went out and would not operate. The next thing that went out was the entire air conditioning and heating system. On or around April 12 there was a what looked like a spark near the air conditioning panel. When I removed the panel, there was evidence that there was a small spark or fire that actually melted a switch on the cooling and heating elements. It has yet to work since then. Today the 11/29/11 my car completely stalled while I was turning into a very dangerous intersection. This car is a total death trap waiting to happen. Unfortunately I am a single mother of 3 children with very little options financially to do otherwise. I have attempted several times to schedule recalls to be fixed by the Dodge dealer and they have not been helpful at all. There is no rental car offered and the estimated time of repair is not feasible. I hope this information will help.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #26

Feb 012011

Avenger

  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Avenger. The contact was driving 55 mph when a semi-truck crashed into the front and driver side of the vehicle. The contact lost control of the vehicle and crashed into a wall. The air bags did not deploy upon impact. The contact was injured and a police report was filed. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 07V240000 (air bags:frontal) but the vehicle was not included in the recall. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. In addition, the contact stated that prior to the crash, there were several failures in which the vehicle continuously stalled without warning. A local mechanic replaced the electronic throttle control. The dealer offered to assist the contact with the stalling defect. The failure mileage was 66,000 and the current mileage was 84,000.

- Park Forrest, IL, USA

problem #25

Nov 072011

Avenger

  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Avenger. The contact was driving 65 mph when the vehicle began to loose power abnormally. The contact had to restart the vehicle for the vehicle to driving normally. The dealer was not contacted. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and the contact filed a complaint. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 92,000 and the current mileage was 92,050.

- North Las Vegas, NV, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?