Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,385 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Dodge Avenger seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Dodge Avenger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Dodge Avenger Owner Comments

problem #11

Dec 012010

Avenger 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Avenger. The contact stated that the air bag light would constantly illuminate on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and the contact was informed that the failure was due to a climate change. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure continued. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer and the wiring for the air bags was repaired. The failure continued. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 07V240000 (air bags:frontal). The failure mileage was 40,000. Updaated 12/22/11 updated 03/12/12

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #10

Aug 152010

Avenger

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Avenger. While driving approximately 25 mph the contact noticed the air bag light was illuminating on the instrument panel. The contact stated the air bag light would illuminate intermittently and with time the failure became constant. The manufacturer was notified and stated there was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 07V240000 (air bags: Frontal) but the VIN was not included. The contact stated he disconnected the air bag sensor and after reconnecting it the air bag light would illuminate properly. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #9

Sep 172010

Avenger

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Avenger. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was informed that the air bag sensor would need replacing. The contact inquired in regards to NHTSA campaign id number: 07V240000 (air bags: Frontal) but was told by the dealer that his VIN was not included in the recall. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 58,000.

- Bermuda Dunes, CA, USA

problem #8

Aug 032010

Avenger

  • 67,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On July 31st, 2010 I purchased a 2008 Dodge Avenger. Shortly after the purchase, when adjusting the seat the driver side airbag light would come on and ding. I have contacted daimler Chrysler and drivetime (car dealer) for assistance in resolving this issue but because my VIN number is not included in the recall, basically have been told there is nothing that can be done. I am referring to recall 07V240000. The description fits my vehicle to a perfect match. Depending on how and where the seat is positioned determines if the light is on or off. No one can tell me if the air bag will fail if involved in an accident or not. So, how do I get this addressed and covered in the recall? I can be reached by calling [xxx] or my husband cell [xxx]. he is fully aware of the situation. I am a nurse and unable to take calls at work. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Apex, NC, USA

problem #7

Jul 062010

Avenger

  • 43,535 miles
Front passenger airbag light kept coming on. Dealer found that internal fault w/seat side air bag module.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #6

Jul 192010

Avenger

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,700 miles
Automatic transmission: I was not able to put the car into drive, reverse or neutral.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #5

Feb 082008

Avenger 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Avenger. The drive side air bag warning light would intermittently illuminate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer a minimum of six times in an attempt to repair the failure under factory warranty. Unknown repairs were made to the vehicle but did not correct the failure. The vehicle was currently at the dealer for an additional repair. The dealer advised repairs would be at the owners expense due to the expiration of the factory warranty. The manufacturer had not been contacted. The failure mileage was 43,000 and the current was unknown. Updated 06/03/10

- Shreveport, LA, USA

problem #4

Dec 202008

Avenger

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Avenger which was purchased on 10/20/2008 with 19,000 miles. She stated that the airbag warning light continued to illuminate on the warning panel and the warning chime would continue to beep. The dealer replaced the driver's side seat air bag per the warranty. On a separate occasion, the airbag warning light illuminated and the dealers diagnostic test indicated that the air bags associated with the driver's side air bag and replaced it. She was also unable to start the vehicle after she attempted to turn the key in the ignition. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The dealer stated that there was a broken spring in the shifter and the entire shifter would need to be replaced. The repairs were made per the warranty. The third failure occurred when the air bag warning light illuminated on the warning panel. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was under 20,000 and the current mileage was 33,000.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #3

Aug 162009

Avenger

  • 42,000 miles
An end over end roll of 5 to 8 rolls where the air bags did not deploy. This happened in a 2008 Dodge Avenger, which has an air bag recall but I was told mine was not on the recall list. It is pretty evident that there was a defective problem somewhere that kept the bags from deploying. I am concerned how many other Avengers should have been on that recall and why mine was not or why the bags did not deploy properly.

- Limestone, TN, USA

problem #2

Dec 142008

Avenger

  • 7,000 miles
My son bought a new Dodge Avenger 2008 back in March. He was in a wreck on Sunday Dec 14th. He was exiting the turnpike (road had started to ice over) and he slid into the car in front of him. He hit the car in front of him. Estimated speed at time of impact was about 50 mph. His air bags did not deploy. The car dealer told him that it would only deploy if he hit the car right on the center front.

- Broken Arrow, , OK, USA

problem #1

Jul 242008

Avenger 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Avenger. The driver's side air bag light randomly illuminated in the vehicle and has remained lit. The contact did not take the vehicle to the dealer for inspection; however, she found a recall online for the same failure. She called the manufacturer and was informed that her VIN did not apply to the recall. The current and failure mileages were 20,000. Updated 09/13/08. Updated 09/16/08

- Long Beach, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?