Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2007 Dodge Caliber has all kinds of suspension problems at relatively low mileage: typically 40-50,000 miles.

The most commonly reported problems are with ball joints & control arms going bad. Tie rods & leaking struts are also reported failing in the same mileage range.

Unfortunately all the suspension problems means some owners only find out after they notice their tires are ruined.

We've given the 2007 Caliber our worst rating because these problems happen at such low mileage, & it involves a wide range of apparently defective parts. With most other cars, major suspension work is pretty rare under 50,000 miles.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
64,670 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Dodge Caliber suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Dodge Caliber:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Dodge Caliber Owner Comments (Page 6 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #18

May 012011


  • 27,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Caliber. The contact heard a grinding noise at the front end of the vehicle while driving various speeds. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times for the failure. The dealer performed a diagnostic and test drove the vehicle. The failure was located at the front ball joint, the tie rod end and the lower control arm. The dealer replaced the front ball joint, tie rod end, lower control arm and the front tires. The manufacturer assisted with the tire replacement cost. The failure mileage was 27,000 and the current mileage was 28,000.

- Brunswick Hill , OH, USA

problem #17

May 212011

Caliber 4-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
Front end started clunking at approx 57,000 miles. Had checked and replaced tie rod ends and ball joints.

- Saxonburg, PA, USA

problem #16

Oct 192010


  • miles
I own a 2007 Dodge Caliber. While driving approximately 50 km, I heard a knocking noise coming from the front suspension. At the time I thought nothing of it because I hit some bumps in the road and thought it might of been my brakes, but later that week I had it in for an oil change and they looked at the front end for me and the technician stated that the control arm, outer tie rod ends and ball joints would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired because I could not afford to fix it on my own as I am a single mom and in school as a full time student. The vehicle only had 76000km. This is ridiculous for Chrysler to be selling vehicles with these kind of parts..every forum I have been on for the 2007 Dodge Calibers these are the main parts to be replaced. I even contacted the dealerships in the province of newfoundland and they told me, you would not believe the amount of replacements done for these parts. Just as well if I had of bought a Toyota, at least they owned up to there mistakes on the parts etc..Chrysler is making a killing on sales of these parts...whatever you do, don't buy a Dodge lesson is well learned..first time I ever had a Dodge and it is my last time..if the damn thing don't kill me first..or is that what it will take for Chrysler to wake up and do a recall on these parts. Well I am giving some news reporter a call and broadcast this across the nation..see what happens then to Chrysler image....disgusted....almost two $2000 plus it will cost me, not to mention the wear on my tires and there is more money....could of been an accident!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

- Marystown, 00, USA

problem #15

Apr 042011

Caliber 4-cyl

  • 42,000 miles


I have a 2007 Dodge Caliber with 42,000 miles that I was told was a death trap!! several times I had to exit highways because I felt I was going to lose control of my car. I thought I was in need of tires. Not only was I in need of tires but the ball joints were completely worn. I was told by my mechanic in no way should this happen with a car with only 42,000. He also informed me he has seen many Calibers with the same issue. The cost to replace the ball joints/arms and tires was $1,000. Dodge needs to do something about this problem before someone is killed....issue a recall and refund to those who have had this problem!

- Point Pleasant, NJ, USA

problem #14

Feb 222011

Caliber 4-cyl

  • 51,236 miles
I started to notice a noise coming from the back end of the car. We took the car to chrsyler/Dodge dealer & was told that we have to replace the following:rear hubs, the right & left lower control arms & replace the tires. We had just brought new tires in November 2010 for the winter & now they have to be replace again.Chrysler is putting my life, my husband & mother's life line on the line. Why is it that when they had the May 2007 recall, this problem was not included and why are they getting away with murder by putting our lives in jeopardy. I thought I purchased a car that would kept me safe. The estimated cost they quoted us $1800. Chrysler/Dodge should be ashame of themselves. Is profit more important to them than our lives. The car is worthless & can't afford to trade it in either.

- Garfield Hts, OH, USA

problem #13

Jan 262011


  • 50,000 miles
Ball joints are failing on these cars. This occurred around 50,000 and again at 100,000. I drive mostly highway miles therefore these should rarely go out. Dodge did nothing to correct this and the cost of repair is over $1000.

- Perry, MI, USA

problem #12

Mar 202010


  • 59,000 miles


The ball joints and tie rods on 2006 to current Dodge Calibers. They have premature wear which the company knows about. I have researched for several days and have found hundreds of complaints on the ball joints and tie rods. They begin to fail with as little as 30,000 miles on the vehicle. I have not repaired my vehicle yet due to the $1000 it will cost only to fail again in two years. If one of the tie rods break steering will be lost resulting in loss of control of the vehicle.

- Johnston City, IL, USA

problem #11

Aug 202010


  • 62,000 miles
Lower ball joints and control arms are defective on 2007 Dodge Calibers.

- Mahwah, NJ, USA

problem #10

Aug 302010


  • 52,000 miles
2007 Dodge Caliber. Ball joints and tie rods failing at 52,000 miles. Very premature. The dealer said the vehicle was not safe to drive off the lot.

- North Webster, IN, USA

problem #9

Jun 212010

Caliber 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Caliber. The contact stated while driving at 30 mph, there was an abnormal rattle coming from the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a local repair facility where the front passenger side ball joints and tie rod were replaced. The failure recurred but on the driver side. The contact was able to secure a future appointment with the dealer for further diagnostic testing. The manufacturer would not provide any assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 41,000 and the current mileage was approximately 41,200. Updated 9/22/10 the consumer stated the left front control arm and bushings were replaced. Updated 09/24/10

- Baltimore, OH, USA

problem #8

Aug 162007


  • 36,000 miles


I purchased my 2007 Dodge Caliber August 2007. Nothing happened until the warranty was up. Here is what has happened and mileage. 40,000 right front strut 45,000 left front strut 50,000 outer tie rods replace L and R 55,000 ball bearings and lower control arms have to be replaced 65,000 replace 2 sensors that are not communicating so car is stalling and now hot water spraying on my foot when gas is pushed down and burnt my foot this car should of had many more recalls than it has. Dodge/Chrysler has done nothing to help me with these costs and now I am stuck.

- Natick, MA, USA

problem #7

Jul 102007


  • 20,000 miles
2007 Dodge Caliber SE (and other models) may have a problem with its suspension or alignment that causes tire "cupping" which can result in tire failure or loss of control. Tire cupping on my Caliber began prior to 20,000 miles. Other reports I've seen online began much earlier - some with slightly more mileage. My vehicle was properly maintained and tires were always inflated properly and rotated according to the manufacturer's recommendation. My vehicle was still under warranty and taken to a Chrysler dealership for inspection on the problem. They indicated the vehicle was "fine" but the tires needed replaced. The tires on my vehicle were dunlop 205/70 R15S, which came from the factory. Others I've talked to had problems with those tires and other brands from the factory and in the aftermarket. The cost to replace tires is $300 minimum, which is bad enough, but a bigger concern of mine is possible tire failure or loss of control on wet roads due to the irregular tire wear. There are several Dodge Caliber forums online that document this problem. For months the sites claim Dodge/Chrysler will issue a recall or service bulletin on the issue, but so far this has not happened.

- Marietta, OH, USA

problem #6

Jan 202006


  • 6,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Caliber. The vehicle has Firestone tires, size P215/55/R18, and dot number vn0af31. While driving approximately 25 mph, the contact heard a noise coming from the tires. At 4,000 miles, the dealer and manufacturer were notified of the noise and advised him to call the tire manufacturer. The tire manufacturer was unable to assist unless they received a replacement order from the dealer. The dealer, who is no longer in business, refused to assist. The contact purchased four new tires in January of 2007; however, at 10,000 miles, the noise recurred and tread separation was visible on all 12 tires. The dealer was notified and inspected the alignment on the vehicle, but the noise continued. The dealer also stated that if the contact signed an agreement to release them from the matter, they would replace all four tires. The tires were replaced at no cost to the owner and the failure recurred at 8,000 miles. After receiving another diagnosis from a tire mechanic, the contact was informed that the camber suspension in the wheel area was inaccurate. They further stated that no adjustment could be made unless the frame was adjusted. The contact would have to pay $300 to make the adjustment; however, there was no guarantee that it would correct the failure. The manufacturer stated that they would not reimburse or assume any liability for the repair costs. The vehicle has not been repaired. The contact has twelve tires that have failed. The initial failure mileage was 6,000 and current mileage was 54,000.

- Rutherford , NC, USA

problem #5

Jan 012008


  • 10,000 miles
We've had this '07 Dodge Caliber since 9 of '07 and have had several problems to occur at about 2 months after purchase. The car stalls at low speed, we've had brake problems which when we first took it in to our dealer was told nothing was wrong with the brakes. Upon several visits about noise coming from the front tires and while pressing the brakes they would putter after about 40mph, was told the wheel bearings needed to be replaced. Since then we would still experience the noise till it got so bad, Chrysler finally said - your rotors need changing. Since we were over 20,000 miles we weren't covered by warranty. Was told this was normal wear and tear. I could understand if these problems had just started, but they didn't. Chrysler has said they cannot assist me with a refund nor would the senior staff agent give me his bosses name to complain further. I am very dissatisfied with Chrysler. My mom is about 80 years old and purchased this car believing that the company was reliable and would stand behind any problems. We would like our money back or trade this vehicle in for a comparable amount.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #4

May 012008


  • 7,500 miles
About 3 weeks ago, my Dodge Caliber started to make an odd noise from the suspension and wheels. I took it in to the dealership and they said that there is nothing wrong with my car. After that, I did a google search and found out that there are a ton of people who are having the same issue that I am.

- Harrison Township, MI, USA

problem #3

Sep 282007


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I was driving a rental car Dodge Caliber 2007 on Sept. 28th 2007 when I heard a loud bang and the car suddenly crashed into a stationary SUV that was parked on the street. The cops came and no ticket was issued. I went online to find out if this car was involved in a recall because when I was driving the car I noticed it had an alignment problem. And also the guy that rented the car at enterprise told me to call him first if anything happened so based on that I decided to do a little investigation and I found out that 50,000 units of this vehicle was involved in a recall due to a sudden crash that could occur from wheel alignment. I contacted the manufacture which is Chrysler to report the incident and they said they were going to investigate they are claiming that this vehicle is not was not in a recall but I will appreciate further investigation as I suspect foul play.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #2

Jul 312006

Caliber 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles
My 2007 Dodge Caliber has experience a pulling in the front end that started after 3,000 miles. The car has been at the shop 3 times in a time period expanding approx. 6-12 weeks. The dealer working on the car could not achieve success after three attempts. The car is now at another dealer who has had the car over 48 hrs with no response to the front end issue. The car now at 7400 miles as a front brake "jatter" and is at the dealer for this as well. Also, the car's rear washer fluid nozzle leaks at highway speed and the stereo's sound will distort suddenly without warning. I am beyond upset with how much problems I have had on a 19,000.00$ brand new automobile. I do not want to believe that all Chrysler vehicles have this kind of issues. I also wanted to believe that my problem was minor and would be just fine once it was fixed. However, the problems just keep coming. I purchased a new car in good faith that I received dependable transportation. I don't think I have gotten the fair end of the deal. I would be a happy customer if daimler Chrysler refunded my money on this car. In trade I will purchase a new Dodge 1500 pickup. I feel like if daimler Chrysler will take care of me, I will be a happy customer who will continue to purchase their products. I don't want to take my business elsewhere but I will do what is needed.

- Gilmer, TX, USA

problem #1

Aug 292006

Caliber 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 350 miles
I purchased a 2007 Dodge Caliber SE from jim cogdill Dodge in knoxville Tennessee on August 23rd, 2006. This vehicle has a vibration at 60-75 mph. I have had the car in the shop on three separate occasions and the service manager has told me he believes that it is the tires; however they are telling me that I would have to purchase new tires for this vehicle to fix the problem. I first reported this to the dealer on August 29th, and it was told to me that the tires were out of balance. After their attempt to balance them I then drove the vehicle and it still had a vibration. They then told me that they would order me a new tire (because they believed that one of them was bad). When the tire arrived I brought the vehicle back and they replaced the tire. This did not fix the problem so they started taking tires and rims off of other 2007 Dodge Caliber SE that they had on the lot. This did not fix the problem either. On Friday, September 1st I left the car with gary sergeant (the service manager at jim cogdill Dodge) and he later called and told me that they were unable to fix the car because there was not an issue with it. He stated, "this is a characteristic of this particular vehicle and the only thing that I could do was to upgrade to another model." He stated he drove three other Dodge Caliber SE's and they all did the same thing. When I went back to the dealership they had me drive another SE model and he was correct when he said they do the same thing. I then drove a SXT model and it did not. The only difference between them was the tires and rims (as far as drivablity is concerned). I ask him about upgrading tires and rims and they told me I would not be able to, I ask about upgrading to SXT model and they said I would have to eat the loss because my car is now considered used. The fact that the SE model of Caliber are all have this so called characteristic does not make it a legitimate reason for them not to fix the car.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

Not what you are looking for?